DETAILED ACTION
Second Action Non-Final
It is noted that this Office action is a Second Action Non-Final. The Office has reconsidered the allowable subject matter of now-cancelled claim 2, and is re-opening prosecution to make a new rejection over that limitation.
Status of Claims
The amendments received on 12/16/2025 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending.
Claims 2, 28, and 40 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1 and 3-15 are examined in this Office action.
Objections and Rejections that are Withdrawn
All rejections to claims 2, 28, and 40 are rendered moot in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
The 35 USC 112 Indefiniteness rejection to claim 7 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
The 35 USC 112 Written Description rejection to claims 1 and 3-15 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
The 35 USC 102 rejection to claims 1 and 3-12 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claims. However, Applicant’s amendments have raised a new 35 USC 102/103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claim 1 recites “[a] genetically modified plant, plant cell or plant tissue, comprising an exogenous nucleic acid which comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding a Receptor-like Protein 33 (RLP33), wherein the RLP33 is expressed in the plant, plant cell or plant tissue, and wherein the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue comprises an increase in expression of endogenous cation/H+ exchanger 20 (CHX20) gene in the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue as compared to CHX20 gene expression in a wild-type plant, plant cell, or plant tissue.”
Applicant describes that overexpression of RLP33 (instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1) in transgenic Arabidopsis regulates CHX20 under water stress.
Applicant has claimed an extremely large genus of all plants and all RLP33 genes and encoded proteins thereof. It is noted that at the time of filing the Applicant had only reduced to practice the overexpression of RLP33 (instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 which encodes instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 2) in transgenic Arabidopsis, which regulated CHX20 under water stress. Example 1 of the instant Specification (pages 28-34) describes the generation of overexpression lines of RLP33 in transformed Arabidopsis. Figures 4A-4D show that overexpression of RLP33 in Arabidopsis plants enhanced tolerance to water deficit stress. However, the instant Specification does not disclose any other exogenous RLP33 gene, other than instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1, expressed in any plant other than Arabidopsis, which is capable of regulating endogenous CHX20. A Written Description rejection is based on what the Applicant was in possession of at the time of filing. Applicant tested one RLP33 gene (instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 which encodes instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 2) in one plant, transgenic Arabidopsis, which regulated CHX20 under water stress. Given that there have not been an adequate number of species reduced to practice to be representative of the broad genus, there is not an adequate description to support the breadth of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KONDO (Kondo et al., Pub. No.: US 2011/0225677 A1; Pub. Date: Sep. 15, 2011; included on IDS dated 02/03/2025). This is a modified rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim 1 recites “[a] genetically modified plant, plant cell or plant tissue, comprising an exogenous nucleic acid which comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding a Receptor-like Protein 33 (RLP33), wherein the RLP33 is expressed in the plant, plant cell or plant tissue, and wherein the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue comprises an increase in expression of endogenous cation/H+ exchanger 20 (CHX20) gene in the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue as compared to CHX20 gene expression in a wild-type plant, plant cell, or plant tissue.”
In regard to claim 1, Kondo teaches and claims a plant, into which the AT3G05660 gene encoding a receptor-like protein having a leucine-rich repeat structure or a gene functionally equivalent to such a gene is introduced (i.e., a genetically modified plant, plant cell or plant tissue, comprising an exogenous nucleic acid which comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding a Receptor-like Protein 33 (RLP33)) (Kondo, claim 19); a plant in which the LRR-RLP gene is expressed in all plant tissues or at least some plant tissues (i.e., wherein the RLP33 is expressed in the plant, plant cell or plant tissue) (Kondo, page 2, paragraph 0023).
Although Kondo does not explicitly teach wherein the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue comprises an increase in expression of endogenous cation/H+ exchanger 20 (CHX20) gene in the plant, plant cell, or plant tissue as compared to CHX20 gene expression in a wild-type plant, plant cell, or plant tissue, Kondo does teach the AT3G05660 gene (which shares 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1; see claim 3 rejection), which encodes a protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (which shares 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 2; see claim 4 rejection), expressed in all plant tissues or at least some plant tissues. Therefore, the instantly claimed property of an increase in expression of endogenous cation/H+ exchanger 20 (CHX20) gene would be inherent to the compositions taught by Kondo. Since all the structural elements recited in the instant claims are taught by Kondo, and function follows structure, the instantly claimed function would follow in the endogenous CHX20 gene.
Applicants are reminded that the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103. “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.” In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See MPEP § 2112.
Applicants are also reminded that prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present but not recognized in the prior art. See MPEP § 2145. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. Id.; In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). Indeed, courts have held that “[t]he fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.” Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
As the nucleic acid and amino acid sequences of the instant application that were reduced to practice by the Applicant mirror those taught by Kondo, it would be inherent to the Arabidopsis and Populus plants of Kondo to exhibit the same (allegedly unexpected and superior) technical effects as described in the instant application.
In regard to claim 3, Kondo teaches and claims the At3G05660 gene (Kondo, SEQ ID NO: 2), which encodes a receptor-like protein (RLP) amino acid sequence , which shares 100% identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 (see sequence alignment below) (i.e., wherein the nucleotide sequence encoding the RLP33 has at least 90% sequence identity to the nucleotide sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1).
KONDO SEQ ID NO: 2 ALIGNED WITH INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 1
Qy 1 ATGAGTCTCATTCCTATTACTTTTTATTTTCTCTTCTTGTTCTTTTCTAATTTTCGAGGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGAGTCTCATTCCTATTACTTTTTATTTTCTCTTCTTGTTCTTTTCTAATTTTCGAGGT 60
Qy 61 GTTTTTGCTGTTCCTAATATACACTTATGTCATTTCGAACAAAGAGATGCACTTCTCGAG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GTTTTTGCTGTTCCTAATATACACTTATGTCATTTCGAACAAAGAGATGCACTTCTCGAG 120
Qy 121 TTCAAGAACGAGTTTAAGATTAAGAAGCCTTGTTTTGGTTGTCCAAGTCCTCTGAAGACA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TTCAAGAACGAGTTTAAGATTAAGAAGCCTTGTTTTGGTTGTCCAAGTCCTCTGAAGACA 180
Qy 181 AAGTCATGGGAGAATGGCAGCGACTGTTGTCATTGGGATGGTATTACTTGCGATGCTAAG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 AAGTCATGGGAGAATGGCAGCGACTGTTGTCATTGGGATGGTATTACTTGCGATGCTAAG 240
Qy 241 ACCGGGGAAGTAATCGAGATAGACCTTATGTGCAGCTGCCTCCATGGCTGGTTTCATTCC 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 ACCGGGGAAGTAATCGAGATAGACCTTATGTGCAGCTGCCTCCATGGCTGGTTTCATTCC 300
Qy 301 AACAGTAATCTTTCTATGCTTCAAAATTTCCATTTTCTAACCACTCTAGACCTTTCATAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AACAGTAATCTTTCTATGCTTCAAAATTTCCATTTTCTAACCACTCTAGACCTTTCATAT 360
Qy 361 AATCATTTGAGTGGTCAAATCTCATCTTCTATTGGAAACCTTTCTCATCTCACCACTCTC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AATCATTTGAGTGGTCAAATCTCATCTTCTATTGGAAACCTTTCTCATCTCACCACTCTC 420
Qy 421 GACCTTTCTGGAAATAACTTCAGTGGTTGGATTCCTTCTTCCCTTGGAAACCTTTTTCAC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 GACCTTTCTGGAAATAACTTCAGTGGTTGGATTCCTTCTTCCCTTGGAAACCTTTTTCAC 480
Qy 481 CTCACCTCTCTCCACCTCTATGATAACAATTTTGGTGGTGAAATCCCATCTTCACTTGGA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 CTCACCTCTCTCCACCTCTATGATAACAATTTTGGTGGTGAAATCCCATCTTCACTTGGA 540
Qy 541 AATCTGTCGTATCTCACCTTTCTCGACCTATCTACTAACAATTTTGTTGGTGAAATCCCT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 AATCTGTCGTATCTCACCTTTCTCGACCTATCTACTAACAATTTTGTTGGTGAAATCCCT 600
Qy 601 TCTTCTTTTGGCAGTTTGAACCAATTGTCTATTTTACGTCTTGATAATAATAAGCTTAGT 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TCTTCTTTTGGCAGTTTGAACCAATTGTCTATTTTACGTCTTGATAATAATAAGCTTAGT 660
Qy 661 GGTAACCTCCCACTTGAAGTAATCAATCTTACAAAGTTGTCAGAGATATCACTCTCTCAC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 GGTAACCTCCCACTTGAAGTAATCAATCTTACAAAGTTGTCAGAGATATCACTCTCTCAC 720
Qy 721 AATCAGTTCACAGGCACGCTTCCTCCTAACATCACTTCACTCTCCATCTTGGAGTCCTTT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 AATCAGTTCACAGGCACGCTTCCTCCTAACATCACTTCACTCTCCATCTTGGAGTCCTTT 780
Qy 781 TCGGCAAGTGGAAACAATTTCGTTGGAACTATCCCTTCCTCTCTCTTCACCATTCCTTCT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 TCGGCAAGTGGAAACAATTTCGTTGGAACTATCCCTTCCTCTCTCTTCACCATTCCTTCT 840
Qy 841 ATAACTCTTATTTTTTTGGACAATAACCAACTCAGCGGCACTCTTGAGTTTGGGAATATA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 ATAACTCTTATTTTTTTGGACAATAACCAACTCAGCGGCACTCTTGAGTTTGGGAATATA 900
Qy 901 TCTTCACCGTCTAATTTACTAGTGTTACAACTTGGCGGTAACAACTTGAGAGGTCCAATC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 TCTTCACCGTCTAATTTACTAGTGTTACAACTTGGCGGTAACAACTTGAGAGGTCCAATC 960
Qy 961 CCTACATCTATTTCCAGATTAGTCAACCTTAGGACACTTGACCTTTCCCATTTCAACATC 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CCTACATCTATTTCCAGATTAGTCAACCTTAGGACACTTGACCTTTCCCATTTCAACATC 1020
Qy 1021 CAAGGCCAAGTTGACTTTAATATCTTCTCGCATCTCAAGTTGCTAGGAAACCTTTACCTA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 CAAGGCCAAGTTGACTTTAATATCTTCTCGCATCTCAAGTTGCTAGGAAACCTTTACCTA 1080
Qy 1081 TCCCATTCCAACACCACCACTACAATTGACTTGAATGCAGTCTTATCATGTTTCAAGATG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TCCCATTCCAACACCACCACTACAATTGACTTGAATGCAGTCTTATCATGTTTCAAGATG 1140
Qy 1141 CTCATTTCATTGGATCTCTCAGGCAACCATGTTTTAGTCACAAACAAAAGTTCAGTTTCT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 CTCATTTCATTGGATCTCTCAGGCAACCATGTTTTAGTCACAAACAAAAGTTCAGTTTCT 1200
Qy 1201 GACCCTCCTTTGGGATTGATAGGCTCTTTGAACTTATCAGGATGCGGTATCACCGAGTTT 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GACCCTCCTTTGGGATTGATAGGCTCTTTGAACTTATCAGGATGCGGTATCACCGAGTTT 1260
Qy 1261 CCAGATATCCTAAGAACGCAACGCCAAATGAGGACGCTAGACATTTCCAACAACAAAATC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 CCAGATATCCTAAGAACGCAACGCCAAATGAGGACGCTAGACATTTCCAACAACAAAATC 1320
Qy 1321 AAAGGCCAAGTGCCTAGCTGGTTACTATTACAGTTGGAGTACATGCATATCTCCAACAAC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 AAAGGCCAAGTGCCTAGCTGGTTACTATTACAGTTGGAGTACATGCATATCTCCAACAAC 1380
Qy 1381 AATTTCATCGGTTTCGAAAGATCAACGAAACTTGAAAAAACCGTAGTCCCAAAACCATCT 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 AATTTCATCGGTTTCGAAAGATCAACGAAACTTGAAAAAACCGTAGTCCCAAAACCATCT 1440
Qy 1441 ATGAAGCACTTTTTTGGCTCCAATAACAATTTCAGTGGAAAGATTCCATCTTTCATATGC 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 ATGAAGCACTTTTTTGGCTCCAATAACAATTTCAGTGGAAAGATTCCATCTTTCATATGC 1500
Qy 1501 TCGTTGCGCTCTCTAATCATTCTCGATTTATCTAACAACAACTTCAGTGGTGCAATCCCT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 TCGTTGCGCTCTCTAATCATTCTCGATTTATCTAACAACAACTTCAGTGGTGCAATCCCT 1560
Qy 1561 CCTTGTGTGGGAAAATTCAAGAGTACTCTTTCAGATCTTAACCTACGTCGGAATCGTCTT 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 CCTTGTGTGGGAAAATTCAAGAGTACTCTTTCAGATCTTAACCTACGTCGGAATCGTCTT 1620
Qy 1621 AGTGGAAGTCTTCCAAAGACTATAATAAAAAGTTTAAGGTCTCTTGATGTGAGTCATAAC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1621 AGTGGAAGTCTTCCAAAGACTATAATAAAAAGTTTAAGGTCTCTTGATGTGAGTCATAAC 1680
Qy 1681 GAACTGGAGGGAAAGCTTCCAAGATCTTTGATCCACTTCTCTACTCTTGAAGTTTTGAAT 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1681 GAACTGGAGGGAAAGCTTCCAAGATCTTTGATCCACTTCTCTACTCTTGAAGTTTTGAAT 1740
Qy 1741 GTAGAAAGCAACAGAATCAACGACACGTTTCCGTTCTGGTTGAGTTCTCTAAAAAAGCTG 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1741 GTAGAAAGCAACAGAATCAACGACACGTTTCCGTTCTGGTTGAGTTCTCTAAAAAAGCTG 1800
Qy 1801 CAAGTTCTTGTCTTACGCTCCAACGCATTTCACGGACGGATACACAAGACTCGGTTTCCT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1801 CAAGTTCTTGTCTTACGCTCCAACGCATTTCACGGACGGATACACAAGACTCGGTTTCCT 1860
Qy 1861 AAGTTGCGAATCATCGACATATCCCGTAATCACTTCAATGGGACATTGCCATCAGATTGC 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 AAGTTGCGAATCATCGACATATCCCGTAATCACTTCAATGGGACATTGCCATCAGATTGC 1920
Qy 1921 TTTGTGGAGTGGACTGGGATGCACTCACTTGAAAAAAATGAAGATCGGTTTAACGAAAAG 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 TTTGTGGAGTGGACTGGGATGCACTCACTTGAAAAAAATGAAGATCGGTTTAACGAAAAG 1980
Qy 1981 TACATGGGATCAGGCTATTACCATGATTCAATGGTTCTGATGAATAAAGGCTTAGAGATG 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1981 TACATGGGATCAGGCTATTACCATGATTCAATGGTTCTGATGAATAAAGGCTTAGAGATG 2040
Qy 2041 GAGCTGGTACGTATCCTAAAAATCTATACAGCTCTCGACTTCTCTGGAAACAAATTTGAA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2041 GAGCTGGTACGTATCCTAAAAATCTATACAGCTCTCGACTTCTCTGGAAACAAATTTGAA 2100
Qy 2101 GGAGAGATTCCAAGATCCATCGGTCTATTGAAAGAACTTCATATCCTCAACTTGTCAAGC 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2101 GGAGAGATTCCAAGATCCATCGGTCTATTGAAAGAACTTCATATCCTCAACTTGTCAAGC 2160
Qy 2161 AATGGTTTCACCGGCCACATCCCATCATCTATGGGGAACCTGAGAGAGCTCGAGTCACTG 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2161 AATGGTTTCACCGGCCACATCCCATCATCTATGGGGAACCTGAGAGAGCTCGAGTCACTG 2220
Qy 2221 GATGTTTCCCGAAACAAGCTTTCAGGAGAAATTCCACAAGAACTAGGGAACCTCTCGTAC 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2221 GATGTTTCCCGAAACAAGCTTTCAGGAGAAATTCCACAAGAACTAGGGAACCTCTCGTAC 2280
Qy 2281 CTTGCGTACATGAACTTTTCTCATAACCAGCTTGTCGGTCAAGTACCAGGAGGCACCCAG 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2281 CTTGCGTACATGAACTTTTCTCATAACCAGCTTGTCGGTCAAGTACCAGGAGGCACCCAG 2340
Qy 2341 TTTCGAACGCAATCCGCTTCGTCTTTTGAAGAAAACCTTGGACTTTGTGGTCGTCCTCTC 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2341 TTTCGAACGCAATCCGCTTCGTCTTTTGAAGAAAACCTTGGACTTTGTGGTCGTCCTCTC 2400
Qy 2401 GAAGAATGTAGAGTTGTCCATGAGCCGACGCCTTCAGGGGAATCAGAAACATTGGAATCA 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2401 GAAGAATGTAGAGTTGTCCATGAGCCGACGCCTTCAGGGGAATCAGAAACATTGGAATCA 2460
Qy 2461 GAACAAGTCTTGAGTTGGATTGCAGCTGCCATAGGGTTCACACCTGGTATCGTGCTTGGA 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2461 GAACAAGTCTTGAGTTGGATTGCAGCTGCCATAGGGTTCACACCTGGTATCGTGCTTGGA 2520
Qy 2521 TTGACCATTGGGCACATCGTGCTTTCCTCCAAACCGCGTTGGTTCTTCAAGGTGTTGTAC 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2521 TTGACCATTGGGCACATCGTGCTTTCCTCCAAACCGCGTTGGTTCTTCAAGGTGTTGTAC 2580
Qy 2581 ATCAACAACAGTCGTAGACGCAGACGAACTCGTTCTGAGAAATCCTAA 2628
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2581 ATCAACAACAGTCGTAGACGCAGACGAACTCGTTCTGAGAAATCCTAA 2628
In regard to claim 4, Kondo teaches and claims SEQ ID NO: 3, the receptor-like protein (RLP) amino acid sequence encoded by the AT3G05660 gene, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 2 (see sequence alignment below) (i.e., wherein the RLP33 has at least 90% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 2 (instant claim 4)).
KONDO SEQ ID NO: 3 ALIGNED WITH INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 2
Qy 1 MSLIPITFYFLFLFFSNFRGVFAVPNIHLCHFEQRDALLEFKNEFKIKKPCFGCPSPLKT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MSLIPITFYFLFLFFSNFRGVFAVPNIHLCHFEQRDALLEFKNEFKIKKPCFGCPSPLKT 60
Qy 61 KSWENGSDCCHWDGITCDAKTGEVIEIDLMCSCLHGWFHSNSNLSMLQNFHFLTTLDLSY 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 KSWENGSDCCHWDGITCDAKTGEVIEIDLMCSCLHGWFHSNSNLSMLQNFHFLTTLDLSY 120
Qy 121 NHLSGQISSSIGNLSHLTTLDLSGNNFSGWIPSSLGNLFHLTSLHLYDNNFGGEIPSSLG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NHLSGQISSSIGNLSHLTTLDLSGNNFSGWIPSSLGNLFHLTSLHLYDNNFGGEIPSSLG 180
Qy 181 NLSYLTFLDLSTNNFVGEIPSSFGSLNQLSILRLDNNKLSGNLPLEVINLTKLSEISLSH 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 NLSYLTFLDLSTNNFVGEIPSSFGSLNQLSILRLDNNKLSGNLPLEVINLTKLSEISLSH 240
Qy 241 NQFTGTLPPNITSLSILESFSASGNNFVGTIPSSLFTIPSITLIFLDNNQLSGTLEFGNI 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 NQFTGTLPPNITSLSILESFSASGNNFVGTIPSSLFTIPSITLIFLDNNQLSGTLEFGNI 300
Qy 301 SSPSNLLVLQLGGNNLRGPIPTSISRLVNLRTLDLSHFNIQGQVDFNIFSHLKLLGNLYL 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 SSPSNLLVLQLGGNNLRGPIPTSISRLVNLRTLDLSHFNIQGQVDFNIFSHLKLLGNLYL 360
Qy 361 SHSNTTTTIDLNAVLSCFKMLISLDLSGNHVLVTNKSSVSDPPLGLIGSLNLSGCGITEF 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 SHSNTTTTIDLNAVLSCFKMLISLDLSGNHVLVTNKSSVSDPPLGLIGSLNLSGCGITEF 420
Qy 421 PDILRTQRQMRTLDISNNKIKGQVPSWLLLQLEYMHISNNNFIGFERSTKLEKTVVPKPS 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 PDILRTQRQMRTLDISNNKIKGQVPSWLLLQLEYMHISNNNFIGFERSTKLEKTVVPKPS 480
Qy 481 MKHFFGSNNNFSGKIPSFICSLRSLIILDLSNNNFSGAIPPCVGKFKSTLSDLNLRRNRL 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 MKHFFGSNNNFSGKIPSFICSLRSLIILDLSNNNFSGAIPPCVGKFKSTLSDLNLRRNRL 540
Qy 541 SGSLPKTIIKSLRSLDVSHNELEGKLPRSLIHFSTLEVLNVESNRINDTFPFWLSSLKKL 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 SGSLPKTIIKSLRSLDVSHNELEGKLPRSLIHFSTLEVLNVESNRINDTFPFWLSSLKKL 600
Qy 601 QVLVLRSNAFHGRIHKTRFPKLRIIDISRNHFNGTLPSDCFVEWTGMHSLEKNEDRFNEK 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 QVLVLRSNAFHGRIHKTRFPKLRIIDISRNHFNGTLPSDCFVEWTGMHSLEKNEDRFNEK 660
Qy 661 YMGSGYYHDSMVLMNKGLEMELVRILKIYTALDFSGNKFEGEIPRSIGLLKELHILNLSS 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 YMGSGYYHDSMVLMNKGLEMELVRILKIYTALDFSGNKFEGEIPRSIGLLKELHILNLSS 720
Qy 721 NGFTGHIPSSMGNLRELESLDVSRNKLSGEIPQELGNLSYLAYMNFSHNQLVGQVPGGTQ 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 NGFTGHIPSSMGNLRELESLDVSRNKLSGEIPQELGNLSYLAYMNFSHNQLVGQVPGGTQ 780
Qy 781 FRTQSASSFEENLGLCGRPLEECRVVHEPTPSGESETLESEQVLSWIAAAIGFTPGIVLG 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 FRTQSASSFEENLGLCGRPLEECRVVHEPTPSGESETLESEQVLSWIAAAIGFTPGIVLG 840
Qy 841 LTIGHIVLSSKPRWFFKVLYINNSRRRRRTRSEKS 875
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 LTIGHIVLSSKPRWFFKVLYINNSRRRRRTRSEKS 875
In regard to claim 5, Kondo teaches that a DNA that contains a protein coding region alone of a target gene having no transcriptional unit may be used herein, as long as it is integrated into a host's transcriptional unit and then the target gene can be expressed (i.e., wherein the exogenous nucleic acid is stably integrated into the plant genome) (Kondo, page 5, paragraph 0047).
In regard to claim 6, Kondo teaches a technique for introducing an expression vector in which the LRR-RLP gene is arranged under control of a promoter that enables expression in a target plant; the LRR-RLP gene and the promoter are linked to construct an expression cassette and then the cassette may be introduced into a vector (i.e., wherein the nucleotide sequence is operably linked to a heterologous promoter) (Kondo, page 3, paragraph 0034; page 4, paragraph 0043). The instant Specification describes the term "operably linked" as referring to positioning of a regulatory region and a sequence to be transcribed in a nucleic acid so as to influence transcription or translation of such a sequence; for example, to bring a coding sequence under the control of a regulatory region (instant Specification, page 11, paragraph 0042).
In regard to claims 7 and 8, Kondo teaches a promoter to be used is not particularly limited, as long as it enables expression of the LRR-RLP gene in a plant. Any known promoter can be appropriately used. An example of such a promoter includes a cauliflower mosaic virus 35S promoter (CaMV35S). CaMV35S is a constitutive promoter (i.e., wherein the heterologous promoter is a constitutive promoter, or an inducible promoter; wherein the heterologous promoter is a 35S promoter) (Kondo, page 4, paragraph 0037).
In regard to claims 9-12, Kondo teaches examples of target plants include dicotyledons and monocotyledons, such as plants belonging to the families Brassicaceae: Arabidopsis thaliana, and Salicaceae: poplar (Populus trichocarpa, Populus nigra, or Populus tremula) (i.e., wherein the plant is a monocot or a dicot; wherein the plant is selected from the group consisting of genera Acer, Afzelia, Allium, Arabidopsis, Agrostis, Avena, Betula, Brassica, Capsicum, Citrullus, Cucumis, Eucalyptus, Fagus, Festuca, Fraxinus, Fragaria, Glycine, Gossypium, Hordeum, Ipomoea, Jatropha, Juglans, Lemna, Lolium, Malus, Manihot, Medicago, Micropus, Milium, Miscanthus, Nicotiana, Oryza, Pennisetum, Phalaris, Phleum, Picea, Pinus, Poa, Populus, Prunus, Quercus, Rosa, Salix, Solanum, Sorghum, Spinacia, Tectona, Trifolium, Triticum, Panicum, Saccharum, Setaria, Zea, and Zoysia; wherein the plant is Arabidopsis; wherein the plant is Populus) (Kondo, page 5, paragraph 0049).
In regard to claims 13, 14, and 15, Kondo teaches and claims a method for increasing the production of biomass, by which the AT3G05660 gene encoding a receptor-like protein having a leucine-rich repeat structure or a gene functionally equivalent to such a gene, which encodes a protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, is introduced (i.e., an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a Receptor-like Protein 33 (RLP33)) (Kondo, claim 24, and entire document); a plant in which the LRR-RLP gene is expressed in all plant tissues or at least some plant tissues (i.e., wherein the RLP33 is expressed in the plant, plant cell or plant tissue) (Kondo, page 2, paragraph 0023).
Although Kondo does not explicitly teach a plant that displays one or more of the following characteristics: retains water within its cell by altering its stomatal aperture; has altered stomatal aperture length compared to a wild type plant; has improved gaseous exchange, transpiration, and photosynthesis under severe water deficit conditions compared to a wild type plant; has higher survival rate under water deficit conditions compared to a wild type plant; and has delayed leaf senescence in drought conditions compared to a wild type plant (claim 13); wherein the drought condition is a cyclic drought condition or a short-term drought condition (claim 14); or a method of improving drought tolerance and water loss in a plant, plant cell, or plant tissue (claim 15), Kondo does teach the AT3G05660 gene (which shares 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1), which encodes a protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (which shares 100% sequence identity to instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 2), expressed in all plant tissues or at least some plant tissues.
Therefore, the instantly claimed properties would be inherent to the compositions taught by Kondo; because they contain all the structural elements recited in the instant claims (see explanation in the claim 1 rejection above).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the incorporation of the limitations of claim 2 into amended claim 1 overcomes the 35 USC 102/103 rejection.
However, as outlined in the 35 USC 102/103 rejection above, the limitations of claim 2 are inherent to the plants, plant cells, and plant tissues of claim 1.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663