DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the following: “… in a case that a ReconfigurationWithSync IE sent by the network device is not received, determine to maintain a primary cell of the terminal device unchanged”. The wording is awkward here with respect to “terminal device unchanged” and it is unclear what this actually means. Specifically, it is unclear what the term “unchanged” means in the context of the claim and the terminal device, given the primary cell is already maintained. The same language is further repeated in paragraphs [0445-446] of applicant’s published specification with no further context or clarification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s specification repeatedly uses the words “In some embodiments …” yet it is unclear what specific embodiment or embodiments each claimed feature refers to in the specification. Applicant should use exact terms, when possible, to identify specific embodiments. By way of example, see the above 112(b) rejection with respect to cited paragraphs [0445-445]. When formulating any arguments or response to this action, Applicant is encouraged to point out how features relate to the same embodiment and are further required by the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 10-11, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0377842 A1 to XU et al. “XU”.
Independent claims
As to claim 1, XU teaches a network device (network equipment 202, see e.g., [0051-52]), wherein the network device comprises at least one processor (see e.g., Fig. 10B and processing unit 950), a first connection is established between the network device and a terminal device (Claimed “terminal device” = UE. See e.g., [0061] with respect to established), and the at least one processor is configured to:
send first indication information (see e.g., [0032]) to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used for adding a second connection between the terminal device and the network device (while XU does not expressly use the term “adding”, it teaches the concept of path switching and\or link switching to a new connection which is analogous. It is further worth nothing that this could be a single link or multiple links switched [0047], [0061], [0064]. This new connection \ link can also be a multi-link connection [0061-63], [0074]. Thus, the claim as broadly written is fully anticipated.)
As to claim 10, XU teaches a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises at least one processor, a first connection is established between the terminal device and a network device, and the at least one processor is configured to: receive first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information is used for adding a second connection between the terminal device and the network device (see similar rejection to claim 1. Structure of the terminal device is shown e.g., Fig. 10A and [0167] with respect to a processor).
As to claim 19, XU teaches a wireless communication method, applied to a network device, wherein a first connection is established between the network device and a terminal device, and the method comprises: sending, by the network device, first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used for adding a second connection between the terminal device and the network device (see similar rejection to claim 1 where the device of claim performs the method).
As to claim 20, XU teaches a wireless communication method, applied to a terminal device, wherein a first connection is established between the terminal device and a network device, and the method comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information is used for adding a second connection between the terminal device and the network device (see similar rejection to claim 10 where the device of claim performs the method).
Dependent claims
As to claim 2, XU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of following information: frequency information or resource information that is related to the second connection (the path switch / link switch signal contains information needed for path switching and this contains “resource information that is related to the second connection” [0067]).
As to claim 5, XU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: maintain a primary cell of the terminal device unchanged (Given the change can occur within the actual cell, and out outside a cell, the primary cell of the terminal device is unchanged / maintained).
As to claim 6, XU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: send identity information of a relay terminal and/or timer-related information to the terminal device; wherein the timer-related information is used for controlling setup of the second connection; wherein the identity information of the relay terminal and/or the timer-related information is not comprised in a ReconfigurationWithSync IE. (XU teaches providing timer information [0087], [0134] which does not expressly comprise ReconfigurationWithSync IE. Thus, the limitation is broadly met.)
As to claim 7, XU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the first connection is a direct connection between the terminal device and the network device, and the second connection is an indirect connection between the terminal device and the network device (see e.g., [0047], [0059] where links can include at least a relay link (or indirect link), and a direct link. The term first connection is relative to claim).
As to claim 8, XU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the first connection is an indirect connection between the terminal device and the network device, and the second connection is a direct connection between the terminal device and the network device (see e.g., [0047], [0059] where links can include at least a relay, or indirect link, and a direct link. The term first connection is relative to claim).
As to claim 11, XU teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of following information: frequency information or resource information that is related to the second connection. See similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 16, XU teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the first connection is a direct connection between the terminal device and the network device, and the second connection is an indirect connection between the terminal device and the network device. See similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 17, XU teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the first connection is an indirect connection between the terminal device and the network device, and the second connection is a direct connection between the terminal device and the network device. See similar rejection to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0377842 A1 to XU et al. “XU” in view of US 2025/0071628 A1 to WU et al. “WU”.
As to claim 3, XU in combination with WU teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: send second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is used for handing over a primary cell of the terminal device from the first connection to the second connection; wherein the second indication information is carried by using a reconfiguration with sync ReconfigurationWithSync IE.
In particular, XU teaches sending indication information (see e.g., [0064], [0068]) to the UE (claimed terminal device) for a cell (primary cell) (Fig. 2 and [0038]).
XU is silent to wherein the second indication information is carried by using a reconfiguration with sync ReconfigurationWithSync IE.
WU teaches wherein the second indication information is carried by using a reconfiguration with sync ReconfigurationWithSync IE (see e.g., [0082], [0085] which further inclues CHO configuration(s) for handover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XU, which teaches sending reconfiguration signal, and apply it to teaching of including the ReconfigurationWithSync IE as taught by WU. Doing so allows for facilitating handover as taught by WU [0082].
As to claim 12, XU in combination with WU teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive second indication information sent by the network device, wherein the second indication information is used for handing over a primary cell of the terminal device from the first connection to the second connection, wherein the second indication information is carried by using a reconfiguration with sync ReconfigurationWithSync IE. See similar rejection to claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0377842 A1 to XU et al. “XU” in view of US 2023/0397081 A1 to WANG et al. “WANG”.
As to claim 4, XU in combination with WANG teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: send fourth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information is used for determining an association relationship between a bearer between the terminal device and the network device and a connection between the terminal device and the network device; wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate at least one of following: that a first bearer between the terminal device and the network device is associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the first connection; that a first bearer between the terminal device and the network device is not associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the first connection; that a second bearer between the terminal device and the network device is associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the second connection; or that a second bearer between the terminal device and the network device is not associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the second connection.
In particular, XU teaches an adaptation entity (relay UE) but may not expressly teach an adaptation layer entity.
WANG teaches and adaption layer entity, see e.g., Fig. 4 with respect to Adaptation Relay and bearers [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XU, which teaches a UE relay, and apply it to teaching of including the adaptation layer as taught by WANG. Doing so allows further differentiation of signaling taught by WANG [0082].
As to claim 9, XU in combination with WANG teaches the network device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: send sixth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the sixth indication information is used to indicate at least one of following operations: setting up an access layer configuration on the direct connection; or reserving an access layer configuration on the indirect connection.
XU may not expressly teach an access layer per se.
WANG teaches an adaptation layer as part of adaptation layer [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XU, which teaches a UE relay, and apply it to teaching of including the adaptation layer as taught by WANG. Doing so allows further differentiation of signaling taught by WANG [0082].
As to claim 13, XU in combination with WANG teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive fourth indication information sent by the network device, wherein the fourth indication information is used for determining a mapping relationship between a bearer between the terminal device and the network device and a connection between the terminal device and the network device; wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate at least one of following: that a first bearer between the terminal device and the network device is associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the first connection; that a first bearer between the terminal device and the network device is not associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the first connection; that a second bearer between the terminal device and the network device is associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the second connection; or that a second bearer between the terminal device and the network device is not associated with an RLC entity and/or an adaptation layer entity on the second connection. See similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 18, XU in combination with WANG teaches the terminal device according to claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive sixth indication information sent by the network device, wherein the sixth indication information is used to indicate at least one of following operations: setting up an access layer configuration on the direct connection; or reserving an access layer configuration on the indirect connection. See similar rejection to claim 9.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0377842 A1 to XU et al. “XU” in view of US 20230189110 A1 to WU.
As to claim 14, XU in combination with WU teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: in a case that a ReconfigurationWithSync IE sent by the network device is not received, determine to maintain a primary cell of the terminal device unchanged.
WU teaches [0111] where WithSync UE can be used for mobility purposes. If the message is not received, then there is no handover, i.e., “determine to maintain a primary cell of the terminal device unchanged”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XU, which teaches a UE relay and cell, and apply it to teaching of including maintaining a primary cell in WU.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0377842 A1 to XU et al. “XU” in view of US 20210360702 A1 to JANG.
As to claim 15, XU in combination with JANG teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive identity information of a relay terminal and/or timer-related information that is sent by the network device, wherein the timer-related information is used for controlling setup of the second connection; wherein the identity information of the relay terminal and/or the timer-related information is comprised in a ReconfigurationWithSync IE.
XU is silent to a ReconfigurationWithSync IE.
JANG teaches wherein the second indication information is carried by using a reconfiguration with sync ReconfigurationWithSync IE (see e.g., [0125] with respect to UE identifier information and timer information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XU, which teaches sending reconfiguration signal, and apply it to teaching of including the ReconfigurationWithSync IE as well as UE identifier and timer information as taught by JANG. Doing so allows for facilitating handover and detection of handover failure as taught by JANG [0125].
Examiner Note – Applicant’s own specification notes that ReconfigurationWithSync IE may include identify information of relay terminal or may not include identity information of relay terminal [0179] (no patentable weight). As such, it is a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411