DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on July 30, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1, 3, and 23 are amended; claims 4 and 7-10 are canceled; claims 11-22 are withdrawn; claim 24 is new; resulting in claims 1-3, 5, 6, 23, and 24 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa (JP 2020-002030, cited on IDS and ISR, machine translation previously provided) in view of Nakano (JP 2017-064032, machine translation previously provided).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Morikawa teaches a tablet (9) comprising a tablet body (91) and an ink layer (92) fixed on the surface of the tablet body ([0034], Fig. 1). Since the tablet is to be orally administered to a human, the ink layer is preferably formed from an edible material (edible ink) [0038]. The ink contains a colorant and a solvent, wherein the colorant may be a dye that dissolves in the solvent or a pigment that is dispersed in the solvent [0037]. The colorant (food dye) may include Red No. 3, Red No. 104, Red No. 105, Red No. 106, or the like [0154].
The ink layer is used to form a multidimensional barcode (MC1) containing coloring material, where each cell (C1) in the barcode expresses multiple values according to the print density ([0129], Fig. 1). The print density may be controlled based on the size of the halftone dots (921; isolated dots) or the number of halftone dots formed in the cell (C1) ([0131], Figs. 3-4). In the cells (C11) with the highest print density, either by including relatively large halftone dots or by including a large number of relatively small halftone dots, the halftone dots (921) occupy a large area ratio relative to the cells, so that the cell appears black macroscopically [0048].
The high print density cells (C11; image, printed area) shown in Figs. 3 and 4 each have a ratio of (i) the total area of the halftone dots to (ii) the total area of the cell which falls within the claimed range of 30-80%.
Morikawa differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach an optical density (OD value) of the high print density cells (image) formed by the ink layer. However, Morikawa does further teach that the cells (C1) in the multidimensional barcode (MC1) represent multiple values based on differences in print density in the grayscale (e.g., black, gray, white) or by differences in print density at a predetermined saturation (e.g., dark red, red, light red) ([0042], [0109]). Morikawa teaches that the print density (optical density) of each of the cells (C1) may be controlled based on the size of the halftone dots, the number of halftone dots formed in the cell, or by the concentration (content) of the coloring material in the ink layer in each cell ([0048]-[0051], Figs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet taught by Morikawa by setting an optical density (OD value) of the high print density cell (C11; image) within the claimed range of 0.3 or more and 0.5 or less in order to ensure that the values expressed by the three different cells (C11, C12, C13) can be distinguished by their different optical characteristics. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to set the OD value of the high print density cell to any value, such as to a value within the claimed range, depending upon the desired aesthetic appearance of the cells (e.g., light vs. dark colors). It is noted that the selection of a desired OD value for an image is a matter of aesthetic design choice which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art absent sufficient evidence demonstrating the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Although Morikawa teaches that each of the halftone dots (921) has a circular shape, and that the print density of the cell can be adjusted by controlling the size and/or number of halftone dots therein ([0047]-[0049], [0101], Figs. 3-4), the reference is silent to a value of the diameter of the halftone dots.
However, in the analogous art of printed tablets, Nakano teaches a tablet printing method that can reduce distortion of printed image caused by inconsistent spacing between an inkjet printing nozzle and the tablet [0009]. Nakano teaches that because the surface of the tablet is not flat, the vertical distance between the nozzle and the tablet surface varies with the horizontal distance from the center of the tablet, resulting in an uneven distribution of the size of the ink droplets disposed on the surface of the tablet ([0007]-[0008], Fig. 12). Accordingly, Nakano teaches that the printing apparatus has a control unit that corrects the size of the ink droplets ejected from each nozzle of the print head according to the vertical distance from the nozzle to the surface of the tablet ([0044], Fig. 5-11). Nakano teaches that the diameter of the ink droplet after it adheres to the tablet may be controlled within the range of 20 µm to 52 µm, wherein the diameter of the printed ink droplet can be adjusted by controlling the size of the ink droplet to be ejected from the nozzle based upon the vertical distance between the nozzle and the surface of the tablet in order to achieve a printed image having reduced distortion ([0060], Figs. 8, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed tablet taught by Morikawa by setting a diameter of the circular halftone dots within the claimed range, as suggested by Nakano, in order to achieve the desired print density for the respective cells and to reduce the distortion of the printed ink droplets across the surface of the tablet. Furthermore, it is noted that Nakano teaches a diameter of the printed dots which falls squarely within the claimed range of 17 µm to 170 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Morikawa in view of Nakano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Morikawa further teaches that the tablets may be film-coated or sugar-coated tablets [0033].
Regarding claim 5, Morikawa in view of Nakano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Morikawa further teaches that the multidimensional barcode (MC1) is printed onto the surface of the tablet body (91) by ink droplets using an inkjet method [0106].
Regarding claim 24, Morikawa in view of Nakano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As noted above with respect to claim 1, Morikawa differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach an optical density (OD value) of the high print density cells (image) formed by the ink layer.
It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet taught by Morikawa by setting an optical density (OD value) of the high print density cell (C11; image) within the claimed range of 0.3 or more and 0.42 or less in order to ensure that the values expressed by the three different cells (C11, C12, C13) can be distinguished by their different optical characteristics. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to set the OD value of the high print density cell to any value, such as to a value within the claimed range, depending upon the desired aesthetic appearance of the cells (e.g., light vs. dark colors). It is well settled that features relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa (JP 2020-002030, cited on IDS and ISR, machine translation previously provided) in view of Nakano (JP 2017-064032, machine translation previously provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto et al. (JP 2018-100336, cited on IDS and ISR, machine translation previously provided).
Regarding claim 6, Morikawa in view of Nakano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, but the combination of references does not expressly teach that the ink comprises a discoloration inhibitor as claimed.
However, in the analogous art of printed tablets, Enomoto et al. teaches an aqueous ink composition for inkjet printing on solid preparations such as pharmaceuticals and foods ([0001]-[0002]). The aqueous inkjet ink comprises an edible dye and a discoloration inhibitor, where the dye comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of Red No. 2, Red No. 4, Red No. 40, Red No. 102, Yellow No. 4, Yellow No. 5, Green No. 3, Blue No. 1, and sodium copper chlorophyllin [0016]. The discoloration inhibitor may be a monosaccharide, disaccharide (e.g., lactose), or sugar alcohol (e.g., reduced isomaltulose), and serves to inhibit penetration of the dye into the solid preparation ([0016]-[0017], [0024], [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet taught by Morikawa in view of Nakano by including a discoloration inhibitor such as reduced isomaltulose or lactose in the ink composition, as suggested by Enomoto et al., in order to inhibit the penetration of dye into the tablet, thus reducing the occurrence of discoloration.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa (JP 2020-002030, cited on IDS and ISR, machine translation previously provided) in view of Nakano (JP 2017-064032, machine translation previously provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwasaki (JP 2019-174923, machine translation via EPO provided).
Regarding claim 23, Morikawa in view of Nakano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As noted above, Morikawa teaches that the ink layer (92) is used to form a multidimensional barcode (MC1) containing coloring material with each cell (C1), where the barcode is used to contain information about the tablet, such as the name of the drug, lot number, manufacturing date, expiration date, dosage, security code, etc. ([0002], [0043], [0129], Fig. 1). Morikawa therefore does not expressly teach that the only image on the tablet body is not a barcode.
However, in the analogous art of printed pharmaceutical tablets, Iwasaki teaches a method for managing pharmaceuticals on which information is printed [0008]. Similar to Morikawa, Iwasaki teaches that the surface of each tablet can have information printed on it, such as the name of the drug, the amount of active ingredient it contains, and the company name, allowing users to identify the tablet ([0003], [0027], Fig. 3A). Iwasaki further teaches that the information can be printed in multiple colors, and that the information can be printed as letters or numbers or as unreadable code information such as barcodes ([0003]-[0004], [0027], Figs. 3A-3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet taught by Morikawa in view of Nakano by forming the ink layer as letters and/or numbers (only image on the tablet body) rather than as a barcode, given that Iwasaki teaches the equivalence of both letters and numbers and barcodes printed on the surface of a tablet for the purpose of containing information related to the tablet.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 1 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to the claim in the response filed July 30, 2026.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement is overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to the claim in the response filed July 30, 2026.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments, see page 6 of the remarks filed July 30, 2026, with respect to Morikawa in view of Nakano have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that the cited references do not teach or suggest the limitation requiring that the image has an optical density (OD value) of 0.5 or more and 0.5 or less, as none of the cited references identifies the optical density of the image as a result-effective variable that can be optimized or provides any starting point for optimizing the optical density of the image.
This argument is not persuasive. As explained in the prior art rejections above, Morikawa teaches that the print density (optical density) of each of the cells (images) may be controlled based on the size of the halftone dots, the number of halftone dots formed in the cell, or by the concentration (content) of the coloring material in the ink layer in each cell ([0048]-[0051], Figs. 3-5). Morikawa therefore establishes that the optical density of each of the cells can be optimized through routine experimentation, e.g., by adjusting the size of the halftone dots, the number of halftone dots in each cell, and/or the concentration of colorant in the ink used to form the halftone dots.
Morikawa further teaches that the cells (C11, C12, C13) are used to represent different values based on differences in print density in each of the cells ([0042], [0109]), such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the print density (optical density) in each of the respective cells to arrive at the desired optical differences therebetween. Furthermore, it is noted that the selection of a desired OD value for an image is a matter of aesthetic design choice which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art absent any evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
The Applicant further argues on page 6 of the remarks that any prima facie case of obviousness is overcome by the evidence of criticality for the optical density range recited in claim 1. Specifically, the Applicant submits that Tables 1-2 in the instant specification provide evidence of superiority of Examples 1-5, 7, and 9-25 over Comparative Examples 1-12, 14, and 15 in the lightfastness evaluation provided in the last four rows of Tables 1-2.
This argument is not persuasive, as it is not clear how the data provided in Tables 1-2 establish criticality for the claimed optical density range recited in claim 1. The evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, and the Applicant has the burden of explaining the data they offer as evidence on non-obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(b).
In the instant case, the data provided in Tables 1-2 is insufficient to establish that Examples 1-5, 7, and 9-25 exhibit unexpected results as a result of the OD value being specified within the claimed range, as compared to Comparative Examples 1-12, 14, and 15 which have OD values outside of the claimed range. In particular, with respect to the lightfastness (ΔE) results shown in Tables 1-2, the inventive examples cited by the Applicant exhibit ΔE values ranging from 9 to 25, while the comparative examples exhibit ΔE values ranging from 18 to 42. Certain comparative examples having an OD value outside of the claimed range have a better lightfastness property (i.e., lower ΔE) than some of the inventive examples which have OD values within the claimed range (see, e.g., Comp. Ex. 14 as compared to Ex. 1). The evidence provided in Tables 1-2 therefore does not support the conclusion that an OD value within the claimed range necessarily results in a superior lightfastness as compared to an image having an OD value outside of the claimed range.
In this regard, it is noted that the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data in Tables 1-2 associated with the alleged unexpected results. The objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. See MPEP 716.02(d). In particular, the ink compositions disclosed in Tables 1-2 include varying amounts and/or types of specific edible colorants, solvents, and discoloration inhibitors, each of which would be expected to result in differences in the lightfastness (ΔE) property of the resulting printed image.
Moreover, with respect to the last three rows in Tables 1-2, it is noted that the alleged superiority of the lightfastness evaluation indicated by the “reduction rate from comparison target ΔE” property cannot be compared between the inventive examples and the comparative examples because the comparative examples do not have any data for this property.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nissing (US 2003/0044578) teaches a printed substrate exhibiting a local variation in color density of a given color within one or more printed areas of the substrate (Abstract). Nissing teaches how the color density (optical density) of a printed image increases as the % dot coverage increases between 5% and 100% ([0102], [0121], Table 2).
Zeira (US 2023/0183504) teaches edible ink formulations for printing on edible substrates (e.g., any food or solid material), wherein an ink image may be printed on the substrate at various coverage fractions to achieve an image having different shades a single color (Abstract, [0029], [0155]-[0156], [0159], Fig. 32). Zeira further teaches that the edible ink has sufficient optical density to print an image on a food item, where the natural pigment must be present in the ink formulation at a sufficient concentration to provide a requisite optical density [0096].
/REBECCA L GRUSBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785