DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 of U.S. Application No. 18/899310 filed on 09/27/2024 have been examined.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Regarding claims 10, claim limitations “control” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, because it uses a non-structural term “part” coupled with functional languages “permit”, “control”, “display”, “halts” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier. Since this claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, claims 10-17 are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph limitation: “control part 40a…” (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, block 30, block 40a; paragraph: 0042)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. § 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyota et al. [US 2020/0291614 A1], hereinafter referred to as Kiyota.
As to Claim 1, Kiyota discloses an excavator comprising: an upper turning body ([See at least Fig.2 and 0072]); a lower traveling body ([See at least Fig.2 and 0072]); and a control part configured to permit changing of a parameter relating to control of the excavator by a remote operation from a management apparatus managing the excavator ([See at least 0048 and 0196]).
As to Claim 2, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the control part permits the changing of the parameter when a state of the excavator satisfies a safety condition ([see at least 0056, 0057, 0061 and 0164]).
As to Claim 3, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the safety condition includes at least one of a state in which an engine included in the excavator is turned off, a state in which an operation by an operation device of the excavator is disabled, or a state in which an operation lever included in the operation device is in neutral ([see at least Fig. 6A, 0204 and 0205]).
As to Claim 4, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the control part causes a display device to display an approval screen for making an approval, upon receiving, from the management apparatus, an approval request requesting the approval for the changing of the parameter relating to the control of the excavator, and permits the changing of the parameter relating to the control of the excavator when the approval is made in the approval screen ([see at least Fig. 8, Fig. 9 and 0209]).
As to Claim 5, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the control part causes a display device to display information indicating that the parameter is being changed by the remote operation by the management apparatus, while the parameter relating to the control of the excavator is being changed ([see at least Fig. 5, Fig. 9, 0222 and 00422]).
As to Claim 6, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the control part causes the display device to also display an image captured by an imaging device ([see at least Fig. 5, Fig. 6A, 0140 0204 and 0207]).
As to Claim 7, Kiyota discloses an excavator, wherein the control part halts a process of changing the parameter when the excavator enters a state in which a safety condition is not satisfied, while the parameter relating to the control of the excavator is being changed ([see at least Fig. 5, Fig. 9, 0222 and 00422]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668