DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ filing on 05/11/2026. Claims 1-20 were previously pending, of which claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 19 have been amended, claims 2 and 8 have been cancelled, and claim 21 has been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, and 9-21 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant's remarks, see pages 7-10, filed 05/11/2026; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), the amendment renders this rejection moot, the amended claims are no longer rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Further consideration of the prior art of record determined that Gantt does appear to disclose the repetition metric including a periodicity of occurrences, as amended in claim 1. As previously mapped in cancelled claim 2, Gantt refers to determining a vehicle operation schedule by identifying patterns of vehicle user travel through analyzing prior use, this is used to create the plan which varies by forecasted travel and associated patterns; this shows a consideration for the periodic usage of vehicle components. Further indicated by Gantt, the forecasted operation of the vehicle component is determined using historical data over a predetermined number of trips and result in an average actual energy usage metric, see [0086]. Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained, and have been clarified in the final office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11-12 recite the dependency on claim 8. However, claim 8 has been cancelled and the claims are now improperly dependent. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent on rejected claim 12 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gantt et al. (US 2020/0393259 A1), hereinafter Gantt.
With respect to claims 1 and 7, Gantt discloses apparatus for vehicle power management, the apparatus comprising: a memory including instructions; and processing circuitry, configured by the instructions when in operation, to: (see at least [0111] “the method 200, the process 300, and/or step(s) or parts thereof can be implemented… in one or more computer readable mediums and including instructions usable (e.g., executable) by one or more processors”)
obtain a log of power use for a component connected to a power supply of a vehicle, the log including a time-based record of power consumption for the component over a time period; (see at least [0087] “propulsion system usage data can be generated based on previous propulsion system usage data that was collected or obtained as a part of one or more previous vehicle trips… previous vehicle trip data, data in the geographical roadway information database, and/or data in other vehicle information database.”)
obtain context data for the time period; (see at least [0039] “The actual energy usage metrics can include an amount of energy that was used by a vehicle for a particular roadway segment, for a particular vehicle trip, and/or at a particular time period.”)
derive a repetition metric based on the power consumption for the component in the time period, wherein the repetition metric includes a periodicity of occurrences of the power consumption; (see at least [0082] “A previous vehicle operation schedule is an observed schedule of the vehicle, which can include one or more actual vehicle trips, vehicle start locations, vehicle end locations, and/or time periods.” [0084] “patterns of vehicle user travel and vehicle operation can be identified through analyzing the previous vehicle operation schedules in conjunction with certain vehicle-related information and/or environment-related information.” [0086] “The forecasted vehicle energy data can be used to provide insight into expected consumption and generation of electrical energy at the vehicle during the vehicle operation schedule… The propulsion system usage data, the accessory electronics usage data, and/or the battery system usage data can be information that was collected during previous vehicle trips of the vehicle… usage data can be taken from a predetermined number of previous vehicle trips”)
locate a scenario context from the context data based on an occurrence of the power consumption in the time period and the repetition metric; (see at least [0085-0086] “The forecasted vehicle trip data includes forecasted or predicted parameters or other information pertaining to the location and the travel of the vehicle during the vehicle operation schedule… based on propulsion system usage data, accessory electronics usage data, and battery system usage data… that was collected during previous vehicle trips of the vehicle, including previous vehicle trips that are coextensive with at least one of the expected vehicle trip(s).”)
create a vehicle power profile based on the scenario context; and enable the vehicle power profile in the vehicle to control a power function. (see at least [0093] “a vehicle energy plan for the vehicle is determined based on the forecasted vehicle trip data and the forecasted vehicle operation data… the vehicle energy plan can specify a particular battery management profile or mode usable by the vehicle during the vehicle operation schedule.”)
With respect to claims 3 and 9, Gantt discloses the scenario context includes additional use of power by other components of the vehicle during a period of power consumption for the component. (see at least [0090] “The accessory electronics usage data includes data that relates to electronic components of the vehicle that are not a part of the propulsion system of the vehicle… forecasted effect these electronic components have on the vehicle battery (or other electrical energy storage or generation components) during the vehicle operation schedule.”)
With respect to claims 4 and 10, Gantt discloses the vehicle power profile includes reducing power consumption of a component in the other components that is not used during the period of power consumption. (see at least [0096] “certain vehicle sensors or entertainment functions that are not critical to vehicle propulsion and that use more than a negligible amount of electrical energy can be disabled when in a charge recovery mode.”)
With respect to claim 11, Gantt discloses the scenario context includes a schedule of activity for a user of the vehicle. (see at least [0047] “the historical energy usage data… include the particular vehicle driver or passengers (e.g., a schedule or calendar for a particular vehicle user, driving habits or patterns of a particular vehicle driver (e.g., rate of acceleration, average speed with respect to the speed limit, use of cruise control, use of autonomous vehicle (AV) features when the vehicle is an AV”)
With respect to claim 12, Gantt discloses the scenario context includes a trip plan that includes a segment of the trip plan that uses the vehicle. (see at least [0039] “The actual energy usage metrics can include an amount of energy that was used by a vehicle for a particular roadway segment, for a particular vehicle trip, and/or at a particular time period.”)
With respect to claim 13, Gantt discloses the vehicle power profile includes modifying a range estimate for the vehicle based on the power consumption. (see at least [0108] “The vehicle energy plan can be updated in real time based on the monitored operation of the vehicle, and this updating can include selecting a new battery management profile and/or changing parameters used as a part of the battery management profile… when the vehicle determines that there is an unexpected charge loss for the vehicle battery, the vehicle energy plan can transition to a more aggressive charge profile” Note: The aggressive charge profile would work to charge the vehicle quickly, increasing the estimated range after the unexpected charge loss.)
With respect to claim 14, Gantt discloses the range estimate is modified by weather, temperature, elevation, or route in the segment of the trip plan. (see at least [0084-0085] “the forecasted vehicle trip data includes weather information… traffic conditions (e.g., expected or predicted traffic volumes or other conditions, road construction and maintenance, closure of roadways), roadway dimensions and geometries (i.e… incline of the roadway, altitude of the roadway”)
With respect to claim 15, Gantt discloses the component is installed in the vehicle. (see at least [0060-0061] “the vehicle 12 includes an internal combustion engine (ICE)… when the vehicle is a hybrid or electric vehicle…status information regarding the primary mover (including electrical motor(s) and battery information).”)
With respect to claims 16 and 21, Gantt discloses the component is powered by a plug or wireless port of the vehicle. (see at least [0047] “the historical energy usage data (including the vehicle-specific historical energy usage data) can include data representing habits or patterns of a vehicle with respect to various factors… personal mobile devices at the vehicle and/or connected to the vehicle”)
With respect to claim 20, Gantt discloses deriving the repetition metric, locating the scenario context, or creating the vehicle power profile are performed by an artificial intelligence model. (see at least [0045] “data of the vehicle energy usage database, data of the vehicle trip history database can be used… for purposes of selecting a vehicle energy plan to be carried out… the vehicle energy plan can be learned through use of an artificial intelligence technique, such as through the use of one or more neural networks.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gantt as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Breed (US 2012/0089299 A1), hereinafter Breed.
With respect to claims 5 and 17, Gantt discloses management of battery resources based on historical component power usage, but does not explicitly disclose the deviation of power usage expected from the component.
However, Breed teaches the repetition metric indicates that there is no repetition of the power consumption of the component. (see at least [0298] “sensor 7 is a voltmeter” [0300-0301] “potential component failures and the sensors from the list in FIG. 4 that might provide information to predict the failure of the component… Alternator deterioration 1, 2, 7, 8, 15, 19” [305] “the pattern recognition algorithm may analyze a signal from a single sensor and determine abnormal operation of one or more components.”)
As both pertain to the working conditions of components in vehicles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component power usage detection of Gantt to include the abnormal component detection disclosed in Breed, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide various ways to manage power distribution in the case of a failing component, see Breed [0221, 0305].
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Gantt discloses management of battery resources based on historical component power usage, but does not explicitly disclose communicating a fault diagnosed in the system.
However, Breed teaches the processing circuitry is, when in operation, configured by the instructions to communicate a fault for the component. (see at least [0954] “When a fault is detected, a message is sent to a display unit located typically in the instrument panel.”)
As both pertain to the working conditions of components in vehicles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component power usage detection of Gantt to include the abnormal component detection disclosed in Breed, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide various ways to manage power distribution in the case of a failing component, see Breed [0221, 0305].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gantt as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 2022/0258713 A1), hereinafter Ito.
With respect to claim 19, Gantt discloses vehicle system modules that monitor the associated subsystem for status and can be controlled by using particular commands from the vehicle energy plan, but does not explicitly disclose that these vehicle system modules host a descriptor file with power state parameters.
However, Ito teaches the vehicle power profile is enabled via a Vehicle Platform Power Management (VPPM) agent that hosts an element descriptor file describing power state parameters for a component. (see at least [0046] “The plurality of ECUs refers to an energy manager ECU 110, a motor generator ECU 130, a battery ECU 140, an auxiliary machine ECU 150, an air-conditioning ECU 160.” [0056] “the submanagers sm1 to sm5 periodically transmit the “requested power value,” an “actual power value,” “availability,” and a “stored-energy quantity” to the energy manager EM.” [0062] “Energy availability” refers to a limit value of an amount of energy that can be inputted/outputted in each domain… prescribed by taking into consideration safety requirements (such as a legal speed limit), component protection requirements” Note: Each ECU periodically outputs energy values and limits. These limits are determined by predefined component requirements, indicating the use of a memory storing both temporary and long term information, needing some form of a file.)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system modules of Gantt to include the transferred energy values disclosed in Ito, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the input/output power value for each submanager to reduce the amount of consumed energy, see Ito [0068].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669