DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 13-20 and Species C figs 8-9, claims 13-14 and 16-19 in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12, 15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14, 16, 17 and 19 recites the limitation "to each other" or “from each other”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since it is unclear as to what “each other” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US Patent No.: 6,360,814 hereinafter “Tanaka”).
With respect to claim 13, Tanaka discloses a boiling cooler (Fig. 1, 1) comprising: a boiler (Fig. 1, 2) for vaporizing a refrigerant by transferring heat from a heat source (Fig. 3, heat source from 4 and Col. 2, lines 4-10); and a condenser (Fig. 1, 3) for condensing the vaporized refrigerant and returning the condensed refrigerant to the boiler, wherein the boiler includes a mount (2a), the mount including: a mounting surface onto which the heat source is mounted (Fig. 3, 4 is mounted to bottom surface of 2a); and a boiling surface portion formed on a surface opposite to the mounting surface and is in contact with the refrigerant (Fig. 4, top surface of 2a where 6 is located and Col. 4, lines 49-65), and the boiling surface portion includes a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 4, protrusions 6) whose widths gradually increase from bases to ends of the protrusions (Fig. 15c, protrusions 23b can have widths gradually increase from base end at 28 to 23a).
With respect to claim 14, Tanaka discloses the boiling cooler according to claim 13 as discussed above. Tanka also discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions are aligned in a matrix shape in the boiling surface portion in first and second directions substantially perpendicular to each other in a plane substantially parallel to the boiling surface portion (Fig. 15c, 23b is in a matrix and perpendicular to each other in a plane parallel to a boiling surface).
With respect to claim 16, Tanaka discloses the boiling cooler according to claim 13 as discussed above. Tanka also discloses wherein the boiling surface portion includes a plurality of linear protrusions that extend in a first direction in the plane substantially parallel to the boiling surface portion and aligned to each other in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction in the plane substantially parallel to the boiling surface portion, and the plurality of protrusions that are aligned to each other on the linear protrusions and parts between the plurality of linear protrusions in the second direction (Fig. 11, linear protrusions 6a).
With respect to claim 17, Tanaka discloses the boiling cooler according to claim 13 as discussed above. Tanka also discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions are aligned at a pitch smaller than the width of each protrusion away from each other in the boiling surface portion (Fig. 15c, protrusions 23b are aligned at a pitch smaller than the width of each protrusion away from each other on boiling surface).
With respect to claim 19, Tanaka discloses the boiling cooler according to claim 13 as discussed above. Tanka also discloses wherein a distance between the ends of the protrusions adjacent to each other is smaller than the width of the end of one of the protrusions, and a distance between the bases of the protrusions adjacent to each other is greater than the width of the end of one of the protrusions (Fig. 15c, distance between protrusions 23b at end located on 28 is larger than distance between protrusions on the end at 23a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US Patent No.: 6,360,814 hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Chikagawa (US Publication No.: 2020/0049422 hereinafter “Chikagawa”).
With respect to claim 18, Tanaka discloses the boiling cooler according to claim 13 as discussed above. Tanka is silent to the protrusions are prismoid-shaped protrusions.
Chikagawa teaches protrusions that can have a prism shape (Para 0041). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the protrusion of Tanaka to be prism shaped as taught by Chikagawa to enhance capillary forces and heat transfer (Para 0007-0008).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763