DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. “He” US 2024/0187967.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, He teaches a method, non-transitory medium (Paragraph 101) and a communication apparatus (Figure 3), comprising at least a processor (305 Figure 3) configured to cause the communication apparatus to:
Receive, by a base station, information indicating reduced capabilities of a terminal device in a random-access procedure (base station receives Msg3 from the UIE (step 425 of Figure 4. Msg3 can include an indication that the device is redcap type (i.e. reduced capabilities); Paragraph 97),
wherein the information indicating the reduced capabilities of the terminal device is indicated by a logical channel identifier of a Msg3 of the random-access procedure (base station receives Msg3 from the UE (step 425 of Figure 4. Msg3 can include a logical channel ID indication that the device is redcap type (i.e. reduced capabilities); Paragraph 97).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, He teaches the information indicating reduced capabilities is indicated by usage of a dedicate resources for a Msg1 of the random access procedure (The redcap can be identified in the msg1 for dedicates PRACH resources; Paragraph 56).
Regarding claims 3, 9,15, He teaches the information indicating reduced capabilities is defined in a feature combination information element (the indication of the redcap device is an information element received as part of a Msg3 during RACH; Paragraph 96. Paragraphs 55 and 57 also discuss IEs with respect to Msg1).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, He teaches a method, non-transitory medium (Paragraph 101) and a communication apparatus (Figure 2), comprising at least a processor (205 Figure 2) configured to cause the communication apparatus to:
Transmit, by a terminal device to a base station, information indicating reduced capabilities of a terminal device in a random-access procedure (base station receives Msg3 from the UE (step 425 of Figure 4. Msg3 can include an indication that the device is redcap type (i.e. reduced capabilities); Paragraph 97),
wherein the information indicating the reduced capabilities of the terminal device is indicated by a logical channel identifier of a Msg3 of the random-access procedure (base station receives Msg3 from the UIE (step 425 of Figure 4. Msg3 can include a logical channel ID indication that the device is redcap type (i.e. reduced capabilities); Paragraph 97).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, He teaches the information indicating reduced capabilities is indicated by usage of a dedicate resources for a Msg1 of the random access procedure (The redcap can be identified in the msg1 for dedicates PRACH resources; Paragraph 56).
Regarding claims 6, 12,18, He teaches the information indicating reduced capabilities is defined in a feature combination information element (the indication of the redcap device is an information element received as part of a Msg3 during RACH; Paragraph 96. Paragraphs 55 and 57 also discuss IEs with respect to Msg1).
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411