DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim .
Re claims 1, 11 and 13, Kim discloses receiving a Trigger frame from the other first communication apparatus in an Awake state of the communication apparatus (figure 18, step 1810), the Trigger frame permitting sharing of a first period, which is at least part of transmission opportunity (TXOP) acquired by the other first communication apparatus (figure 18, step 1820), with at least one communication apparatus participating in the wireless network for communication and conforming to IEEE 802.11 series standard (figure 1); and causing the communication apparatus to make a transition from the Awake state to a Power save state during the first period if the communication apparatus is not permitted to share the first period in the received Trigger frame (figure 18, steps 1820 and 1830).
Re claim 6, Kim discloses information indicating whether the communication apparatus that is not permitted to share the first period makes a transition to the Power save state is included in the Trigger frame (figure 18, step 1830).
Re claim 7, Kim discloses making a transition from the Power save state to the Awake state if the TXOP continues after the first period is terminated (figure 18, step 1840).
Re claim 8, Kim discloses a frame is intermittently received in the Power save state (paragraph [0067]).
Re claim 9, Kim discloses the Trigger frame is Multi User-Request to Send TXOP sharing Trigger frame (MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame) (paragraph [0078]).
Re claims 10, 12 and 14, Kim discloses transmitting a Trigger frame to another communication apparatus participating in the wireless network built by the communication apparatus (figure 18, step 1810), the Trigger frame permitting sharing of a first period, which is at least part of transmission opportunity (TXOP) acquired by the communication apparatus (figure 18, step 1820), with at least one communication apparatus participating in the wireless network for communication and conforming to IEEE 802.11 series standard (figure 1); wherein information indicating whether a communication apparatus that is not permitted to share the first period in the Trigger frame makes a transition to a Power save state is included in the Trigger frame (figure 18, steps 1820 and 1830).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467