DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prov. DP rejection is overturned due to the amendments. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims in the co-pending application state that “in response to DHI mode is enabled, deriving, by the decoder using a predefined method, a high precision intra mode under a predefined condition” {Claim 1}. Claims 3 or 4 in the co-pending app further defines the predefined method selecting a high precision intra mode based on cost or Claims 6-7 in the co-pending app further define a high precision intra mode based on a histogram of DIMD.
Claim 15 was rejected under a 112b/102 rejection for a product by process rationale. However, it is unclear (without any provided rationale from the applicant) why claim 15 was cancelled and is now being presented as newly added claim 30. Claim 30 is being rejected under a 112b/102 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites a product by process claim (i.e. a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream, wherein the bitstream is generated by an video decoding method). A bit stream generated by a method... is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(IIl). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 30 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by the Chen reference as shown below in the office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/927,806 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application is narrower in scope than this instant application. Furthermore, the newly added limitations of where the DHI mode is derived based on a cost of TIMD or a histogram of DIMD appears to be located in the dependent claims of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20110099594)
Regarding claim 30, Chen discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 21. [See Chen [0015] Storing video data after it has been encoded. Also, see 0031, Computer-readable storage medium comprising stored video data.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 21 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippov (US 20240259565) in view of Filippov et al. (US 20240244194).
Regarding claim 1, Filippov discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
obtaining, by a decoder, a first control flag signaled at a specified level that comprises one of following levels: a Transform Block (TB) level, a Coding Block (CB) level, a slice level, a picture level, or a sequence level, [See Filippov [0169] “bExtIntraDir” Flag. It is inherent that this flag will be included at some level within the bitstream.]
wherein the first control flag indicates whether a Decoder-side High Precision Intra Mode Derivation (DHI) mode is enabled, and [See Filippov [0135-0137] An indication of extended precision based on “bExtIntraDIr”. Also, see 0169, “bExtIntraDir” Flag, and 0174, flag is utilized in combination with TIMD.]
Fillipov does not explicitly disclose
wherein the DHI mode is derived based on a cost of Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) mode or a histogram of Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) mode.
However, Fillipov ‘194 does disclose
wherein the DHI mode is derived based on a cost of Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) mode or a histogram of Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) mode. [See Fillipov ‘194 [0151] select one or more intra prediction modes (e.g., the two highest peaks in the HoG) from the increased set of intra prediction modes available to TIMD 2004. For example, DIMD 2012 is configured to determine or select one or more intra prediction modes (e.g., the two highest peaks in the HoG) from 129 angular intra prediction modes. Alternatively, see 0138, TIMD intra prediction mode selected from the larger set of intra prediction modes (e.g. the set of 129 angular modes) available to TIMD. Also, see 0142, Selects TIMD mode based on a RD cost. Also, see 0143.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Filippov to add the teachings of Fillipov ‘194, in order to incorporate the obvious details of selecting an intra prediction mode when dealing with a greater precision of intra prediction modes. Also, this improves upon compression gain for intra prediction [See Fillipov ‘194 [0124]].
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 28, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 30.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippov (US 20240259565) in view of Filippov ‘194 (US 20240244194) and in further view of Wang et al. (herein after will be referred to as Wang) (US 20240137529).
Regarding claim 2, Filippov (modified by Filippov ‘194) disclose the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Filippov does not explicitly disclose
further comprising: in response to determining that the first control flag is enabled, obtaining, by the decoder, a second flag of DHI indicating whether the DHI mode is used at the specified level.
However, Wang does disclose
further comprising: in response to determining that the first control flag is enabled, obtaining, by the decoder, a second flag of DHI indicating whether the DHI mode is used at the specified level. [See Wang [0174] When DIMD flag is one, another CU-level DIMD control flag is signaled to indicate the level at which the DIMD is performed. Also, see 0414.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Filippov (modified by Filippov ‘194) to add the teachings of Wang, in order to improve upon problems of the current design of DIMD [See Wang [0278]].
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 22.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 23-27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and the non-statutory double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486