Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species 1 (identifying claims 6-20) in the reply filed on 3/30/26 is acknowledged.
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13 recite the limitation "the handgun" in lines 2 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. In light of the above, the claims will be further treated on the merits as best understood only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowers (US 10,066,900 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Bowers discloses a thumbrest (paddle 208) for a handgun, the thumbrest comprising: a support base (204 – fig. 3E) configured for mounting to the handgun; a thumb support (paddle 208) pivotable relative to the support base between a collapsed position wherein the thumb support is folded up adjacent to the support base and an extended position wherein the thumb support is pivoted away from the support base (col. 2, lines 53–63); a spring (spring 216) configured to bias the thumb support toward the extended position (col. 2, lines 53–63); and a stop structure (fig. 4B) configured to limit pivotal movement of the thumb support to define the extended position.
Regarding claim 14, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 13, wherein in the collapsed position the thumb support is in a range of 0 degrees to 10 degrees measured with respect to the support base (0 degrees as shown in fig. 4B), and in the extended position the thumb support is in a range of 70 degrees to 100 degrees measured with respect to the support base (in-use position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 15, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 13, further comprising a hinge (224) configured to allow pivotable movement of the thumb support relative to the support base.
Regarding claim 16, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 15, wherein the support base includes a sideplate portion (fig. 3E), and the hinge is oriented such that the pivot axis forms an angle relative to the support base as shown in figs. 3E and 4B.
Regarding claim 17, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 13, wherein the thumb support is pivotable relative to the support base about a pivot axis (col. 2, lines 53–63), and the thumb support and support base have respective dimensions as shown in figs. 3E and 4B, such that the support base is smaller than the thumb support.
Regarding claim 18, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 17, wherein the thumb support and support base have respective widths perpendicular to the pivot axis, as shown in figs. 3E and 4B.
Regarding claim 19, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 13, wherein the thumb support is pivotable relative to the support base about a pivot axis, and the thumb support and support base have respective widths perpendicular to the pivot axis as shown in figs. 3E and 4B.
Regarding claim 20, Bowers discloses the thumbrest of claim 13, wherein the thumb support includes a far edge and a near edge, and the support base includes a corresponding edge, as shown in figs. 3E and 4B, such that the components align when in the collapsed position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
In the alternative, claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 10,066,900 B2).
Regarding claims 6-20, Bowers discloses the claimed invention except he does not explicitly disclose the exact recited arrangement or shapes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the same arrangement, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70, or to have the same shapes, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12117262.
Claims 5 and 11 of the prior patent are representative independent claims directed to a thumbrest for a handgun including a support base and a thumb support pivotable between a collapsed position and an extended position, with optional spring biasing and stop structure, and configured for mounting to a handgun and/or replacing a removable component of the handgun. The claimed subject matter of the instant application differs only in minor variations of structure, geometry, or scope, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claim 6 is unpatentable over claim 5 of the prior patent. The prior patent discloses a thumbrest for a handgun including a thumb support and support base, wherein the thumb support is pivotable between collapsed and extended positions, and wherein the thumbrest is configured to replace a removable component of the handgun. The recited elongated support member represents an obvious variation of the mounting structure disclosed in the prior patent.
Claim 7 is unpatentable over claim 6 of the prior patent, which depends from claim 5 and recites a spring and stop structure configured to bias and limit pivotal movement of the thumb support.
Claim 8 is unpatentable over claim 7 of the prior patent, which recites the angular positioning of the thumb support in collapsed and extended positions.
Claim 9 is unpatentable over claim 8 of the prior patent, which recites a hinge configured to allow pivotable movement of the thumb support.
Claim 10 is unpatentable over claim 10 of the prior patent, which recites that the thumbrest is configured to replace a removable component such as a slide lock, disassembly lever, or takedown lever.
Claim 11 is unpatentable over claim 11 of the prior patent, which discloses a thumbrest including a support base, pivotable thumb support, spring, and stop structure configured for mounting to a handgun and/or replacing a removable component.
Claim 12 is unpatentable over claim 12 of the prior patent, which recites the angular positioning of the thumb support.
Claim 13 is unpatentable over claim 11 of the prior patent. The prior patent discloses a thumbrest for a handgun including a support base configured for mounting to the handgun, a thumb support pivotable relative to the support base between collapsed and extended positions, a spring configured to bias the thumb support toward the extended position, and a stop structure configured to limit pivotal movement of the thumb support to define the extended position. Although claim 13 does not explicitly recite that the thumbrest is configured to replace a removable component of the handgun, the prior patent teaches such configuration, and the omission of this limitation merely renders the claim broader and does not patentably distinguish over the prior patent. Accordingly, claim 13 is an obvious variation of claim 11 of the prior patent.
Claim 14 is unpatentable over claim 12 of the prior patent, which recites the angular positioning of the thumb support in collapsed and extended positions.
Claim 15 is unpatentable over claim 13 of the prior patent, which recites a hinge configured to allow pivotable movement of the thumb support.
Claim 16 is unpatentable over claim 14 of the prior patent, which recites relative orientation of hinge and support base components, and any specific angular relationship represents an obvious variation in design geometry.
Claim 17 is unpatentable over claim 15 of the prior patent, which recites dimensional relationships between the thumb support and support base.
Claim 18 is unpatentable over claim 16 of the prior patent, which recites width relationships between the thumb support and support base.
Claim 19 is unpatentable over claim 17 of the prior patent, which recites width relationships between the thumb support and support base.
Claim 20 is unpatentable over claim 18 of the prior patent, which recites structural relationships between edges of the thumb support and support base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641