DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/11/2026 has been entered following the filing of the RCE on 6/11/2026. Therefore, claims 1-20 as filed 5/11/2026 are pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Villepoix et al. (US Patent 5,655,752).
Regarding Claim 1, De Villepoix discloses a valve capable of handling fuel (it is noted that the term “fuel nozzle valve” is a name given to the claimed device in the preamble of the claim and therefore this limitation is not accorded patentable weight) comprising: a fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (the body 1 is at least capable of handling fuel as described above and is capable of being connected to a fuel nozzle; it is noted that the claim is not seen to positively recite a fuel nozzle, only a valve capable of use with a fuel nozzle; alternatively, in the event that the claim is seen to require a nozzle structure, the valve itself creates a nozzle effect due to the throttled opening that is achievable between the valve head and the seat when the valve is placed in a slightly opened position) having a channel (channel extending through 10 and 11) with an opening (opening at the end of 10) for allowing fuel to flow therethrough (capable of allowing fuel to flow therethrough as described above), and a seat 27 (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 below); a plunger (including rod 4 and valve head 6) having a stud 4 and a base 6 substantially perpendicular to the stud (as shown in Figure 1, portion 6 extends radially outward substantially perpendicular to the axially extending portion 4), the plunger being configured to move relative to the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (via flywheel 5) to seal or to open the opening of the fuel nozzle valve (sealing or opening communication between 10 and 11); and a metal resilient member 31 (the outer casing 31 is metallic as described in col. 1, lines 52-60) comprising a radially extending washer (at least the portion 32 as shown in Figure 7 extends radially; it is noted that the term “washer” itself does not require any particular shape) having a curved or conical profile (portion 31 as shown in Figure 7 has a curved profile) configured to contact the base 6 of the plunger (at surface 28 as shown in Figure 7) and the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 below) to seal the opening of the fuel nozzle valve when the plunger is moved to seal the fuel nozzle valve (as shown in Figure 7), wherein the metal resilient member 31 is attached to a wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner (attached at portion 32 via fixed flange 35 as shown in the annotated Figure 7 below) and extends radially inward from the wall toward the seat (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 below, portion 32 extends radially inward from the wall which is radially outside the groove 33 toward the seat which is radially inside the groove 33), wherein the metal resilient member 31 is configured to be compressed between the base 6 of the plunger and an edge of the seat of the fuel nozzle valve liner (compressed between 6 and the edge of 27 which may include the edge defining the groove 33), and wherein a contact surface of the metal resilient member (i.e. the surface of 31 contacting 28) with the base of the plunger is located between an inner edge of the metal resilient member and a portion of the metal resilient member attached to the wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 below, the contact surface of 31 is between inner edge of 31 and the portion attached to the wall of the liner when viewed along the length of 31).
Regarding Claim 2, De Villepoix further discloses the base 6 of the plunger is configured to abut and to push the metal resilient member 31 against the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (as shown in Figure 7; the resilient member 31 is compressed as described in col. 1, lines 60-63).
Regarding Claim 3, De Villepoix further discloses the plunger has a T-shape (the plunger extends substantially vertically along the rod 4 and substantially horizontally along the lower end 6 to form a T-shape).
Regarding Claim 4, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is configured to be compressed between the base 6 of the plunger and the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner (as described above; col. 1, lines 60-63).
Regarding Claim 6, De Villepoix is seen as further disclosing the metal resilient member comprises a metal that can withstand heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity (De Villepoix discloses the resilient member 31 is formed from stainless steel as described in col. 3, lines 30-33 and therefore is seen to withstand heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s metal member which is also formed of stainless steel).
Regarding Claim 7, De Villepoix further discloses the contact surface is configured to form a crisp contact line with the base 6 of the plunger (as shown in Figure 7, the contact surface of 31 forms a crisp contact line with surface 28 of base 6).
Regarding Claim 8, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is curved (as shown in Figure 7) so as to provide a spring characteristic to the metal resilient member (i.e. the member 31 is elastically deformable) to enable the metal resilient member to deform under an applied force and to return to or towards an initial conformation when the applied force is ceased (member 31 necessarily has some elasticity as claimed).
Regarding Claim 9, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is configured to bend until the metal resilient member comes in contact with and abuts against the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner (the shape of the resilient member 31 includes a portion that bends – around core 30 – until it comes in contact with and abuts the seat 27 as shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 10, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is clamped or compressed to the wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (clamped via flange 35 as shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 11, De Villepoix is seen as disclosing a turbine engine (the limitation of a “turbine engine” is merely a name given to the claimed device in the preamble of the claim and therefore is not accorded patentable weight; the body of the claim does not define any structure of the turbine engine beyond the valve) comprising: a fuel nozzle valve (the valve of De Villepoix at least capable of handling fuel and delivering it to a nozzle) comprising: (a) a fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (the body 1 is at least capable of handling fuel as described above and is capable of being connected to a fuel nozzle; it is noted that the claim is not seen to positively recite a fuel nozzle, only a valve capable of use with a fuel nozzle; alternatively, in the event that the claim is seen to require a nozzle structure, the valve itself creates a nozzle effect due to the throttled opening that is achievable between the valve head and the seat when the valve is placed in a slightly opened position) having a channel (channel extending through 10 and 11) with an opening (opening at the end of 10) for allowing fuel to flow therethrough (capable of allowing fuel to flow therethrough as described above), and a seat 27 (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above); (b) a plunger (including rod 4 and valve head 6) having a stud 4 and a base 6 substantially perpendicular to the stud (as shown in Figure 1, portion 6 extends radially outward substantially perpendicular to the axially extending portion 4), the plunger being configured to move relative to the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (via flywheel 5) to seal or to open the opening of the fuel nozzle valve (sealing or opening communication between 10 and 11); and (c) a metal resilient member 31 (the outer casing 31 is metallic as described in col. 1, lines 52-60) comprising a radially extending washer (at least the portion 32 as shown in Figure 7 extends radially; it is noted that the term “washer” itself does not require any particular shape) having a curved or conical profile (portion 31 as shown in Figure 7 has a curved profile) configured to contact the base 6 of the plunger (at surface 28 as shown in Figure 7) and the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above) to seal the opening of the fuel nozzle valve when the plunger is moved to seal the fuel nozzle valve (as shown in Figure 7), wherein the metal resilient member 31 is attached to a wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner (attached at portion 32 via fixed flange 35 as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above) and extends radially inward from the wall toward the seat (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above, portion 32 extends radially inward from the wall which is radially outside the groove 33 toward the seat which is radially inside the groove 33), wherein the metal resilient member 31 is configured to be compressed between the base 6 of the plunger and an edge of the seat of the fuel nozzle valve liner (compressed between 6 and the edge of 27 which may include the edge defining the groove 33), and wherein a contact surface of the metal resilient member (i.e. the surface of 31 contacting 28) with the base of the plunger is located between an inner edge of the metal resilient member and a portion of the metal resilient member attached to the wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner (as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above, the contact surface of 31 is between inner edge of 31 and the portion attached to the wall of the liner when viewed along the length of 31).
Regarding Claim 12, De Villepoix further discloses the base 6 of the plunger is configured to abut and to push the metal resilient member 31 against the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (as shown in Figure 7; the resilient member 31 is compressed as described in col. 1, lines 60-63).
Regarding Claim 13, De Villepoix further discloses the plunger has a T-shape (the plunger extends substantially vertically along the rod 4 and substantially horizontally along the lower end 6 to form a T-shape).
Regarding Claim 14, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is configured to be compressed between the base 6 of the plunger and the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner (as described above; col. 1, lines 60-63).
Regarding Claim 16, De Villepoix is seen as further disclosing the metal resilient member comprises a metal that can withstand heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity (De Villepoix discloses the resilient member 31 is formed from stainless steel as described in col. 3, lines 30-33 and therefore is seen to withstand heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s metal member which is also formed of stainless steel).
Regarding Claim 17, De Villepoix further discloses the contact surface is configured to form a crisp contact line with the base 6 of the plunger (as shown in Figure 7, the contact surface of 31 forms a crisp contact line with surface 28 of base 6).
Regarding Claim 18, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is curved (as shown in Figure 7) so as to provide a spring characteristic to the metal resilient member (i.e. the member 31 is elastically deformable) to enable the metal resilient member to deform under an applied force and to return to or towards an initial conformation when the applied force is ceased (member 31 necessarily has some elasticity as claimed).
Regarding Claim 19, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is configured to bend until the metal resilient member comes in contact with and abuts against the seat 27 of the fuel nozzle valve liner (the shape of the resilient member 31 includes a portion that bends – around core 30 – until it comes in contact with and abuts the seat 27 as shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 20, De Villepoix further discloses the metal resilient member 31 is clamped or compressed to the wall of the fuel nozzle valve liner 1 (clamped via flange 35 as shown in Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Villepoix et al. (US Patent 5,655,752) view of Yamasaki et al. (US Patent 4,282,643).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, De Villepoix does not disclose the metal resilient member is coated with a coating material to provide additional hardness and/or resistance to particles in the fuel.
Yamasaki teaches a metal gasket (abstract) includes a coating material to improve sealing (col. 1, lines 38-39; col. 3, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of De Villepoix such that the metal resilient member is coated with a coating material as taught by Yamasaki for the purpose of providing improved sealing (as taught by Yamasaki). It is noted that the coating as taught by Yamasaki will provide at least some resistance to particles in fuel, at least because the coating acts as an additional layer and prevents any particles from contacting and damaging the layer beneath the coating.
Claims 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Villepoix et al. (US Patent 5,655,752).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, De Villepoix is seen as disclosing all of the elements of these claims as described above.
Alternatively, in the event that De Villepoix is not seen as necessarily disclosing the metal resilient member comprises a metal that can withstand heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity, it has been generally held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of De Villepoix such that the metal resilient member is formed of any desired material, including a metal that can withstand relatively heat at temperatures between 800°F and 1500°F without losing resilience or elasticity, for the purpose of utilizing a material suitable for a particular environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that De Villepoix does not disclose a radially extending washer attached to a wall and extending inward toward a seat as claimed. These arguments are not persuasive because, as shown in the annotated Figure 7 above, element 31 of De Villepoix does include a portion which extends radially inward from a wall (wall outside of the groove 33) toward a seat (seat inside of the groove 33). As described above, the term “washer” is not seen to require any particular shape. Applicant argues that element 31 is not a “washer”, however these arguments are not persuasive because the term “washer” is a broad term and the element 31 of De Villepoix includes all of the recited features of the claimed washer (and it is noted that element 31 also includes a central through opening, which may be required by the term “washer”). Applicant argues that a washer defines a “disc-like geometry”. These arguments are not persuasive because the claim further recites the washer having a curved or conical profile. Therefore, applicant’s washer does not have a disc-like geometry as argued. Applicant’s arguments regarding the contact surface are not persuasive because, as described above, the contact surface of element 31 is provided at an intermediate location along 31.
Conclusion
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753