DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 8-9 in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the claimed “gloss level” in claim 1, as it is not specified what kind of glass measurement, e.g., 20o, 60o, or 85o gloss, any kind of gloss measurement of 15 or less will be considered to meet the claimed gloss level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishine et al. (WO2022/054645) with citations from (US 2023/0364640) and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2008/0070005).
Regarding claims 1 and 8-9, Nishine discloses a decorative sheet comprising a primary film layer (5) and surface protective layer (4) disposed on one side of the primary film layer (Fig. 4). The surface protective layer having a gloss level of 20 or less (0199), overlapping the claimed gloss level of 15 or less and having a surface comprising a ridged portion projecting in a ridged pattern forming an uneven shape (Fig. 3-13). The surface having an RSm/Ra of the uneven shape of about 8-900 or less (calculated from the ratio of RSm and Ra ranges disclosed in 0055 and 0063), overlapping the claimed RSm/Ra in a range of 10 or greater and 300 or less in claim 1, 50 or greater and 300 or less in claim 8, and 100 or greater and 300 or less in claim 9. Nishine further discloses the surface protective layer comprising an ionizing radiation curable resin (0172).
Nishine fails to teach a Martens hardness of the surface protective layer in a range of 20 N/mm2 or greater and 200 N/mm2 or less and while teaching the ionizing radiation curable resin including polyfunctional (meth)acrylates (0179), does not teach a tetrafunctional acrylic resin containing a repeating structure where the number of repetitions is 12 or more.
Kobayashi, in the analogous field of decorative members (0001), teaches a UV curable coating composition comprising trifunctional or higher acrylate compounds modified by e.g., ethylene oxide, having a chain number n of repeat units of from 2 to 20 (0072-0072).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the surface protective layer of Nishine to include ethylene oxide-modified-poly(meth)acrylate compound, as taught by Kobayashi, providing chemical and mechanical surface properties including oil and scratch resistance (0071).
Given Nishine in view of Kobayashi teaches an ionizing radiation curable resin including tetrafunctional acrylic resin and repeating structure of ethylene oxide of 12 or more as discussed above, the surface protective layer having an overlapping range for Martens hardness of 20 N/mm2 or greater and 200 N/mm2 or less would be expected for the prior art film.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Regarding claim 3, Nishine teaches the surface protective layer having at hickness in a range of 1 µm or larger and 300 µm or less (0165), overlapping the claimed thickness of 2 µm or greater and 20 µm or less.
Regarding claim 4, Nishine teaches the suface protective layer comprising particles having a diameter of 30 µm or less (0130), overlapping the claimed diameter of 10 µm or less.
Regarding claim 5, Nishine teaches the particles added in an amount of 0.5 part by mass or more 6 parts by mass or less (0133), overlapping the range of 0.5 parts by mass or more and 10 parts by mass or less.
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed in claims 1, 3-5, and 8-9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishine et al. (WO2022/054645) with citations from (US 2023/0364640) and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2008/0070005) and Kataoka et al. (US 2016/0214345).
Regarding claims 1 and 8-9, Nishine discloses a decorative sheet comprising a primary film layer (5) and surface protective layer (4) disposed on one side of the primary film layer (Fig. 4). The surface protective layer having a gloss level of 20 or less (0199), overlapping the claimed gloss level of 15 or less and having a surface comprising a ridged portion projecting in a ridged pattern forming an uneven shape (Fig. 3-13). The surface having an RSm/Ra of the uneven shape of about 8-900 or less (calculated from the ratio of RSm and Ra ranges disclosed in 0055 and 0063), overlapping the claimed RSm/Ra in a range of 10 or greater and 300 or less in claim 1, 50 or greater and 300 or less in claim 8, and 100 or greater and 300 or less in claim 9. Nishine further discloses the surface protective layer comprising an ionizing radiation curable resin (0172).
Nishine fails to teach a Martens hardness of the surface protective layer in a range of 20 N/mm2 or greater and 200 N/mm2 or less and while teaching the ionizing radiation curable resin including polyfunctional (meth)acrylates (0179), does not teach a tetrafunctional acrylic resin containing a repeating structure where the number of repetitions is 12 or more.
Kobayashi, in the analogous field of decorative members (0001), teaches a UV curable coating composition comprising trifunctional or higher acrylate compounds modified by e.g., ethylene oxide, having a chain number n of repeat units of from 2 to 20 (0072-0072).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the surface protective layer of Nishine to include ethylene oxide-modified-poly(meth)acrylate compound, as taught by Kobayashi, providing chemical and mechanical surface properties including oil and scratch resistance (0071).
Given Nishine in view of Kobayashi do not expressly teach the Martens hardness.
Kotaoka teaches a decorative sheet comprising an ionizing-radiation-curable resin composition having a Martens hardness in a range of 10-120 N/mm2, overlapping the claimed range of 20 to 200 N/mm2.
Kotaoka is analogous art in the field of decorative sheets comprising ionizing radiation curable surface layers. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the surface protective layer of modified Nishine to have a Martens hardness as taught by Kotaoka, to inhibit cracking during molding and providing excellent scratch resistance of the cured product (0026).
Regarding claim 3, Nishine teaches the surface protective layer having at hickness in a range of 1 µm or larger and 300 µm or less (0165), overlapping the claimed thickness of 2 µm or greater and 20 µm or less.
Regarding claim 4, Nishine teaches the suface protective layer comprising particles having a diameter of 30 µm or less (0130), overlapping the claimed diameter of 10 µm or less.
Regarding claim 5, Nishine teaches the particles added in an amount of 0.5 part by mass or more 6 parts by mass or less (0133), overlapping the range of 0.5 parts by mass or more and 10 parts by mass or less.
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed in claims 1, 3-5, and 8-9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/828345 in view of Kataoka et al. (US 2016/0214345).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-9, claims 1-5 and 8 of copending application 18/828345 disclose all of the limitations of these claims except for the limitation of the surface protective layer having a Martens hardness in the range of 20 N/mm2 or greater and 200 N/mm2 or less.
Kotaoka teaches a decorative sheet comprising an ionizing-radiation-curable resin composition having a Martens hardness in a range of 10-120 N/mm2, overlapping the claimed range of 20 to 200 N/mm2.
Kotaoka is analogous art in the field of decorative sheets comprising ionizing radiation curable surface layers. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the surface protective layer of copending application 18/828345 to have a Martens hardness as taught by Kotaoka, to inhibit cracking during molding and providing excellent scratch resistance of the cured product (0026).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781