Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “intermediate moving element”, “a connection” of claim 10; “slide” of claim 11” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11, and 13-15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-11 recites “A linear”, in line-1 this limitation is already cited in claim-1, it should be “The linear”.
Claims 13-15 recites “A method”, in line-1 this limitation is already cited in claim-1, it should be “The method”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the support system” in line-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ITO (JP 2018001223).
Regarding claim-1. ITO discloses a linear motor conveyor system (1, Fig.2,5) comprising:
a track (rail 11);
at least two moving elements (100 and 200, Fig.2) configured to move on the track, wherein the at least two moving elements comprise a primary moving element (100) and a secondary moving element (200);
a tooling plate (300) mounted on the at least two moving elements (100, 200), the tooling plate mounted to the at least two moving elements by a support apparatus (110, 120) comprising:
a first pivot assembly (100 including 110A-B) provided to the primary moving element (100); and
a second pivot assembly (120 including 120A-B) provided to the secondary moving element (200),
wherein the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly support the tooling plate (300) such that the tooling plate can move in relation to the at least two moving elements (100, 200) through at least two degrees of freedom (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-2. ITO discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-3. ITO discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise three degrees of freedom and the three degrees of freedom comprise pitch, yaw and roll (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-4. ITO discloses wherein the first pivot assembly (110A-B) and second pivot assembly (120A-B) have the same configuration (See Fig.3, 10).
Regarding claim-5. ITO discloses wherein the first pivot assembly (110A-B) is configured to provide rotation about each of a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element carrying the first pivot assembly (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-6. ITO discloses wherein the second pivot assembly (120A-B) is configured to provide rotation about each of a pitch, yaw and roll axis, relative to the moving element carrying the second pivot assembly (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-7. ITO discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly (110A-B) and the second pivot assembly (120A-B) comprise: a body (See Figures for 100 and 200);
a T-shaped member (See Figures for 100 and 200); and
ball bearings (Gears) supporting the T-shaped member relative to the body to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-8. ITO discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly (110) and the second pivot assembly (120) further comprise a flexure section (140) provided to the T-shaped member to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a roll axis, relative to the moving element (Fig.10).
Regarding claim-9. ITO discloses wherein the second pivot assembly (120A-B) is configured to rotate about a yaw axis, rotate about a pitch axis, perpendicular to the yaw axis and rotate, to at least a predetermined amount, about a roll axis, perpendicular to both the yaw and pitch axes (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-12: ITO discloses a method for carrying a heavy/large payload on a linear motor conveyor system (1, Fig.2, 5), the method comprising: configuring at least two moving elements (100, 200) to support a tooling plate (300) by providing each moving element with a pivot assembly (110, 120) supporting the tooling plate, wherein each of the pivot assemblies allow the tooling plate to move in relation to the moving element in at least two degrees of freedom.
Regarding claim-13. ITO discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-14. ITO discloses wherein the method further comprises configuring at least one pivot assembly to allow the tooling plate to move in a third degree of freedom (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-15. ITO discloses wherein the third degree of freedom is roll (See Figures 2, 4, 7, 9, 11 for Tilting, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong (KR 102420754).
Regarding claim-1. Kong discloses a linear motor conveyor system (10, Fig.1) comprising:
a track (R, Fig.4); at least two moving elements (100, 200) configured to move on the track, wherein the at least two moving elements comprise a primary moving element (100) and a secondary moving element (200);
a tooling plate (400) mounted on the at least two moving elements, the tooling plate mounted to the at least two moving elements by a support apparatus (Fig.3-4) comprising:
a first pivot assembly (410) provided to the primary moving element (100); and a second pivot assembly (410) provided to the secondary moving element (200), wherein the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly support the tooling plate such that the tooling plate can move in relation to the at least two moving elements through at least two degrees of freedom (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-2. Kong discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-3. Kong discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise three degrees of freedom and the three degrees of freedom comprise pitch, yaw and roll (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-4. Kong discloses wherein the first pivot assembly and second pivot assembly have the same configuration (See Fig.4, 8).
Regarding claim-5. Kong discloses wherein the first pivot assembly is configured to provide rotation about each of a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element carrying the first pivot assembly (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-6. Kong discloses wherein the second pivot assembly is configured to provide rotation about each of a pitch, yaw and roll axis, relative to the moving element carrying the second pivot assembly (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-7. Kong discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly (100) and the second pivot assembly (200) comprise: a body; a T-shaped member (410) (See Fig.4); and ball bearings (rotating body or 712) supporting the T-shaped member relative to the body to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-8. Kong discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly further comprise a flexure section (410 in combination with 420) provided to the T-shaped member to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a roll axis, relative to the moving element (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-9. Kong discloses wherein the second pivot assembly (200) is configured to rotate about a yaw axis, rotate about a pitch axis, perpendicular to the yaw axis and rotate, to at least a predetermined amount, about a roll axis, perpendicular to both the yaw and pitch axes (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-10. Kong discloses further comprising at least one intermediate moving element (300) between the primary (100) and secondary moving elements (200), the support system further including a connection between the at least one intermediate moving element (300) and the tooling plate (400) (connection between 300 and 400 is via 100 and 200).
Regarding claim-11. Kong discloses wherein the connection between the at least one intermediate moving element and the tooling plate comprises a slide (110) that allows for movement of the tooling plate (400) in relation to the intermediate moving element (300) in at least one degree of freedom (See Fig.7).
Regarding claim-12: Kong discloses A method for carrying a heavy/large payload on a linear motor conveyor system (10, Fig.1), the method comprising: configuring at least two moving elements (100, 200) to support a tooling plate (400) by providing each moving element with a pivot assembly (410) supporting the tooling plate, wherein each of the pivot assemblies allow the tooling plate to move in relation to the moving element in at least two degrees of freedom (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-13. Kong discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-14. Kong discloses wherein the method further comprises configuring at least one pivot assembly to allow the tooling plate to move in a third degree of freedom (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-15. Kong discloses wherein the third degree of freedom is roll (See Fig.6-14 for Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uwe (US 2017024720).
Regarding claim-1. Uwe discloses a linear motor conveyor system (Fig.1-7) comprising: a track (20);
at least two moving elements (35, 36) configured to move on the track, wherein the at least two moving elements comprise a primary moving element (35) and a secondary moving element (36);
a tooling plate (41) mounted on the at least two moving elements, the tooling plate mounted to the at least two moving elements by a support apparatus (Fig.3, 5, 7) comprising:
a first pivot assembly (44) provided to the primary moving element (35); and a second pivot assembly (45) provided to the secondary moving element (36), wherein the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly support the tooling plate such that the tooling plate can move in relation to the at least two moving elements through at least two degrees of freedom (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-2. Uwe discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-3. Uwe discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise three degrees of freedom and the three degrees of freedom comprise pitch, yaw and roll (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-4. Uwe discloses wherein the first pivot assembly (44) and second pivot assembly (45) have the same configuration (See Fig.3, 5, 7).
Regarding claim-5. Uwe discloses wherein the first pivot assembly is configured to provide rotation about each of a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element carrying the first pivot assembly (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-6. Uwe discloses wherein the second pivot assembly is configured to provide rotation about each of a pitch, yaw and roll axis, relative to the moving element carrying the second pivot assembly.
Regarding claim-7. Uwe discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly comprise: a body; a T-shaped member; and ball bearings (rotating body) supporting the T-shaped member relative to the body to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a yaw axis and a pitch axis, relative to the moving element (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-8. Uwe discloses wherein at least one of the first pivot assembly and the second pivot assembly further comprise a flexure section (44, and 45) provided to the T-shaped member to allow the T-shaped member to provide rotation about a roll axis, relative to the moving element (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-9. Uwe discloses wherein the second pivot assembly is configured to rotate about a yaw axis, rotate about a pitch axis, perpendicular to the yaw axis and rotate, to at least a predetermined amount, about a roll axis, perpendicular to both the yaw and pitch axes (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-10. Uwe discloses further comprising at least one intermediate moving element (46) between the primary (35) and secondary moving elements (36), the support system further including a connection between the at least one intermediate moving element and the tooling plate (See Fig.3, 5, 7).
Regarding claim-11. Uwe discloses wherein the connection between the at least one intermediate moving element (46) and the tooling plate (41) comprises a slide (46) that allows for movement of the tooling plate in relation to the intermediate moving element in at least one degree of freedom (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-12: Uwe discloses A method for carrying a heavy/large payload on a linear motor conveyor system (Fig.1), the method comprising: configuring at least two moving elements (35, 36) to support a tooling plate (41) by providing each moving element with a pivot assembly (44, 46) supporting the tooling plate, wherein each of the pivot assemblies allow the tooling plate to move in relation to the moving element in at least two degrees of freedom (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-13. Uwe discloses wherein the at least two degrees of freedom comprise pitch and yaw (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-14. Uwe discloses wherein the method further comprises configuring at least one pivot assembly to allow the tooling plate to move in a third degree of freedom (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Regarding claim-15. Uwe discloses wherein the third degree of freedom is roll (See Figures for Sliding, Tilting, Rotating, Pitching, Rolling and Yawing).
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggest applicant to take a look at PTO-892 as there are multiple references that can be sued to reject Independent as well as some dependent claims.
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651