DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 23 Feb. 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: rod 31.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rod (claim 16) and a Bowden cable extending outside of the casing (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 11, reference element 3 appears to point to the lever (29) but should indicate the casing structure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuation means” and “blocking means” in claim clam 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “clamp” in claim 19 is used by the claim to mean a ledge on the lever that engages an edge of the casing, while the accepted meaning is “a device designed to bind or constrict or to press two or more parts together so as to hold them firmly” according to Merriam-Webster. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
The clamp described by the specification and depicted in the drawings is not structured to bind, constrict, or press two or more parts together. Further, the clamp hooks on the casing and does not hold two or more parts together. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted in light of the disclosure as: a ledge or indentation configured to hook on the casing.
Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and therefore includes the indefinite language of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 23, 24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miwa, US 2019/0234119 A1.
Claim 14: Miwa discloses a vehicle door latch, comprising:
a casing configured to be arranged on a door of a vehicle (depicted in Fig. 6) and comprising an opening configured to receive a striker (40) in the closed position of the door (depicted in Fig. 6), the striker being arranged on a vehicle body (Fig. 1; [0028]);
a rotatable hook (32) disposed in the casing and configured to get detachably engaged with the striker by rotating between a closed position and an opened position ([0030]);
a pawl mechanism (34) disposed in the casing and configured to move between a blocking position wherein the pawl mechanism blocks the rotation of the rotatable hook ([0031]) and a release position (Fig. 6);
an electrical motor (M2) linked to the pawl mechanism and configured to move the pawl mechanism from the blocking position to the release position and conversely ([0036]); and
a manual release mechanism comprising actuation means (50) linked to the pawl mechanism ([0042]) and extending outside of the casing and comprising a lever (60) that is configured to be grabbed by a user to manually move the pawl mechanism from the blocking position to the release position ([0042]) and conversely, the manual release mechanism also comprising blocking means (80) for blocking the actuation means in the release position (Fig. 7c) or in the blocking position (Fig. 7a) of the pawl mechanism ([0048] (the blocking means blocks the actuation means in the release position)).
Claim 23: Miwa discloses the vehicle door latch in accordance with claim 14, further comprising elastic means for constraining the pawl mechanism in the blocking position ([0031]).
Claim 24: Miwa discloses a vehicle door (4), comprising: the vehicle door latch in accordance with claim 14 (shown above).
Claim 26: Miwa discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1), comprising: the vehicle door in accordance with claim 24 (shown above).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura, US 2017/0350172 A1.
Claim 14: Tamura discloses a vehicle door latch, comprising:
a casing (base 14 and case 15 form a casing) configured to be arranged on a door of a vehicle (Fig. 1) and comprising an opening configured to receive a striker (2) in the closed position of the door (Fig. 1), the striker being arranged on a vehicle body (Fig. 1);
a rotatable hook (10) disposed in the casing and configured to get detachably engaged with the striker by rotating between a closed position and an opened position (Figs. 6-7);
a pawl mechanism (11) disposed in the casing and configured to move between a blocking position wherein the pawl mechanism blocks the rotation of the rotatable hook and a release position (Figs. 6-7);
an electrical motor (23) linked to the pawl mechanism and configured to move the pawl mechanism from the blocking position to the release position and conversely ([0043-44]); and
a manual release mechanism (handle 16 and wire 17 form a manual release mechanism) comprising actuation means (17) linked to the pawl mechanism ([0046-47]) and extending outside of the casing ([0035]) and comprising a lever (41) that is configured to be grabbed by a user to manually move the pawl mechanism from the blocking position to the release position and conversely ([0047], [0055-56]), the manual release mechanism also comprising blocking means (54) for blocking the actuation means in the release position or in the blocking position of the pawl mechanism (Fig. 10 (projections 54 block the actuation means in the blocking position of the pawl mechanism)).
Claim 15: Tamura discloses the vehicle door latch in accordance with claim 14, wherein the lever is configured to be pulled by the user to move the pawl mechanism from the blocking position to the release position ([0047]; Fig. 8) and is pushed by the user to move the pawl mechanism from the release position to the blocking position ([0055]; the lever is configured to be pushed by the user to engage the blocking means (shown by movement from Fig. 11 to Fig 10)).
Claim 16: Tamura discloses the vehicle door latch in accordance with claim 14, wherein the actuation means comprise a rod (wire 17 correlates with a rod) linked to the pawl mechanism and extending outside of the casing ([0054]; Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hansen, DE 102010022826 A1.
Claim 17: Miwa discloses vehicle door latch in accordance with claim 14, wherein the actuation means comprise a cable (50) linked to the pawl mechanism and extending outside of the casing (Fig. 6). However, Miwa does not explicitly disclose a Bowden cable.
The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court, quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that “‘rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
See MPEP § 2143 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using KSR Rationale A, to modify the cable disclosed by Miwa to be a Bowden cable. Use of a Bowden cable is well known and common in the art, as evidenced by Hansen ([0017]). The prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and further recognized the results of the combination were predictable, namely the actuation means includes a Bowden cable linked to the pawl mechanism and extending outside of the casing.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Cumbo et al., US 2022/0316244 A1.
Claim 25: Miwa discloses a vehicle door in accordance with claim 24, wherein the vehicle door comprises a housing (70) arranged next to the latch ([0046]; Fig. 6) and wherein the lever is disposed in the housing (Fig. 7a).
However, Miwa is silent to the housing closed by a flap arranged on the inner side of the door. Cumbo teaches a housing closed by a flap (106) arranged on the inner side of a door ([0102-03]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a flap arranged on the inner side of the door, as taught by Cumbo, with the housing disclosed by Miwa in order to prevent inadvertent movement of the lever (Cumbo [0017]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of Applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 19-21.
In regards to claim 19, Miwa fails to disclose the blocking means comprise a clamp configured to hook on the casing in the release position of the pawl mechanism. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the blocking means disclosed by Miwa to comprise a clamp configured to hook on the casing without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure of the device.
Tamura teaches a clamp but fails to disclose the blocking means comprises the clamp configured to hook on the casing in the release position of the pawl mechanism. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the blocking means disclosed by Tamura to comprise a clamp configured to hook on the casing without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure of the device.
In regards to claim 20, the prior art fails to disclose each and every limitation of claim 19 from which the claim depends.
Regarding claim 21, Miwa discloses an additional opening through which the actuation means extend outside of the casing, but does not teach the additional opening has a shape of a hollow cylinder, and wherein the actuation means comprise a cylindrical part which is complementary with the hollow cylinder and which is configured to be introduced within the hollow cylinder in the blocking position of the pawl mechanism to provide waterproofness. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the opening and the actuation means disclosed by Miwa so that the additional opening is shaped as a hollow cylinder and the actuation means has a cylindrical part that is complementary with the hollow cylinder and provides waterproofness without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure.
Tamura discloses an additional opening through which the actuation means extend outside of the casing through which the actuation means extend outside of the casing. However, Tamura does not teach a hollow cylinder and the actuation means comprises a cylindrical part which is complementary with the hollow cylinder and is configured to be introduced within the hollow cylinder in the blocking position of the pawl mechanism to provide waterproofness. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the actuation means disclosed by Tamura to comprises a cylindrical part which is complementary with the hollow cylinder and is configured to be introduced within the hollow cylinder in the blocking position of the pawl mechanism to provide waterproofness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haaf et al. (US 6761384 B1) and Lawrence et al. (US 2015/0096337 A1) are related to a vehicle door latch comprising a housing closed by a flap, wherein a lever is disposed in the housing that releases the latch.
Fuchs (US 2023/0074045 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch comprising a manual release mechanism that is configured to move a release lever for actuating the pawl from a blocking position to a release position and reverse to reset the release lever so the pawl can move to the blocking position, but a blocking means to hold the release lever either position is not explicit.
Bishop et al. (US 2021/0175660 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch casing includes an opening for an actuation means and a seal on a part of the actuation means for waterproofness but does not include a clamp that hooks on the casing.
Dimig et al. (US 2004/0069028 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch comprising a casing comprising an opening shaped as a hollow cylinder through which an actuation means extends, but does not teach the actuation means has a cylindrical part within the hollow cylinder to provide waterproofness.
Rogers et al. (DE 4100524 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch comprising a casing with an opening and a hollow cylinder in the opening to provide waterproofness.
Guerin et al. (US 2022/0136289 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch comprising a manual actuation means and a blocking means for blocking the actuation means in the blocking position.
Kubo et al. (US 2022/0074241 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch comprising a manual release mechanism with an actuation means to manually move the pawl mechanism and a blocking means that blocks the actuation means in a release position of the pawl mechanism when the actuation means is pulled by a user and blocks the actuation means in a blocking position when the user moves the actuation means back to its initial position.
Lawrence et al. (US 2015/0096337 A1) is related to a vehicle door latch mechanism comprising a lever to manually move the pawl that is disposed in a housing and covered by a flap.
/EGB/Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675