DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, last paragraph, recites:
at least one light guide mechanism, at least one of the optical transmitter and the optical receiver misaligned with the two refractive portions in the thickness direction, each said light guide mechanism connected between one of the two refractive portions and one of the optical transmitter and the optical receiver.
It is not clear how to interpret the transmitter and receiver “misaligned ... in the thickness direction”. It is not clear what is meant by “misaligned”, or what extent of misalignment is required to be within the scope of the claim. For example, it is not clear if this requires a misalignment in which the optical connection would not be made without the light guide mechanism, or if it means that the alignment is sufficient for an optical connection but the alignment is imperfect, or if it means something else. The Examiner notes that no physical system or physical alignment is perfect, and it is not clear what degree of misalignment is required to be within the scope of this claim.
Also, in the interests of compact prosecution, it is not clear what is meant by misalignment “in the thickness direction”. The plain meaning of the claim language suggests that the transmitter and receiver are offset in/along the thickness direction (e.g., higher or lower relative to the surface of the substrate), but this does not appear to be a “misalignment”. On the other hand, the application at FIGS. 4, 5, 7, and 8 appears to show misalignment perpendicular to the thickness direction, but this does not appear to be consistent with the claim language. Clarification is required.
Claims 6-14 are rejected because they depend from claim 1 and fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or § 103
US 11,502,757 (Chen) qualifies under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. In particular, Chen was available as a printed patent publication before the effective filing date of the present application.
Chen qualifies under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) because it has a common Applicant with the instant application and has an earlier effectively filed date. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by:
(1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A);
(2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or
(3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 11,502,757 (Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an optical transmission module, including:
a substrate, defining a thickness direction, including a optical transmission channel and two refractive portions located at two opposite sides of the optical transmission channel (FIG. 5: substrate with optical waveguides 112 and refractive portion 14; FIG. 6: waveguide with refractive portions 14, 14a on opposite sides),
the optical transmission channel including two first reflective surfaces respectively inclined to the thickness direction (FIG. 5: reflector 111; FIG. 6: reflectors on either side of waveguide),
each of the two first reflective surfaces corresponding to one of the two refractive portions (FIG. 5: reflective portion 111 corresponds to refractive portion 14; FIG. 6: two reflective surfaces corresponding to two refractive portions 14, 14a),
each of the two refractive portions provided with a progressive refractive index which is progressively increased or progressively decreased in the thickness direction (the paragraph spanning cols. 3-4);
a transmitting side, including an optical transmitter and a driver disposed on the substrate, the optical transmitter electrically connected with the driver by wire bonding (FIG. 6: transmitting side 50 including transmitter 20 and driver 70 on substrate and connected by wire bonding 40); and
a receiving side, including an optical receiver and a transimpedance amplifier disposed on the substrate, the optical receiver electrically connected with the transimpedance amplifier by wire bonding (FIG. 6: receiving side 60 including receiver 20a and TIA 80 on substrate and connected by wire bonding 40);
wherein at least one of the optical transmitter and the optical receiver includes a light transmission face and a conductive surface opposite to each other, and each said light transmission faces toward one of the two refractive portions (FIG. 5: light transmission face 21 facing refractive portion 14 and reflector 111, and a conductive surface on the opposite side and connected to wire bonding 40; FIG. 6 illustrates a similar arrangement on both the transmitter end 50 and the receiver end 60).
FIG. 5 is reproduced for reference.
FIG. 5 illustrates an optical communication device with reflectors 111 angled relative to a substrates and coupling light to/from an optical waveguide 112 and through refractive portion 14.
This also illustrates a refractive portion 14 corresponding to the reflective surface 111.
Chen also teaches that the refractive portion 14 is progressively increased or progressively decreased in the thickness direction. See the paragraph spanning cols. 3-4:
(17) Thereby, a transmission device being made by the method as described above is provided. Preferably, the substrate 10 further includes a refractive portion 14 (region between dashed lines) connected between the light transmission face 21 and the reflective face 111, and the refractive portion 14 is provided with a progressive refractive index which is progressively increased or progressively decreased from the light transmission face 21 to the reflective face 111. The refractive portion 14 includes a plurality of layers of different refractive indices for effectively and reliably refracting the transmission signal. The plurality of layers may be integrally formed or formed layer by layer. In this embodiment, a refractive portion 14 is provided with a progressive refractive index progressively increasing and includes a part 141 of the adhesive material 30 with a refractive index of 1.49 and a part 142 of the first layer 113 with a refractive index of 1.554, and the transmission layer 112 is provided with a refractive index of 1.57. In other embodiments, a refractive portion may be provided with a progressive refractive index progressively decreasing and includes an upper layer with a refractive index of 1.64, an interposed layer with a refractive index of 1.60 and an part of the first layer 113 with a refractive index of 1.554, and the transmission layer is provided with a refractive index of 1.57. It is noted that the refractive portion may include two or more than three layers of different refractive indices and that their refractive indices may not be limited to those values mentioned above.
In other words, Chen teaches that the refractive portion provides a progressive refractive index which is progressively increased or progressively decreased in the thickness direction
FIG. 5 illustrates the transmitter end of the device, but does not illustrate the receiver end on the other side of the waveguide. FIG. 6 illustrates the entire device with a transmitter 20 in the transmitter end 50 and a receiver 20a in the receiver end 60, with corresponding reflectors and refractive portions 14, 14a, and including a driver 70 connected to the transmitter 20 via a wire bond, and a TIA 80 connected to the receiver 20a via a wire bond, and the transmitter 50 and receiver 60 portions connected by the optical waveguide.
See also:
(18) In an exemplary embodiment as shown in FIG. 6, the transmission device further includes a transmitting (Tx) end 50, a receiving (Rx) end 60, a driver IC 70 and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 80. The driver IC 70 and the transimpedance amplifier 80 may be mounted to the substrate 10 before or after assembling the optical component, as shown in FIG. 2. The optical transmitter 20 (such as vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) or LED) is arranged at the Tx end 50 and is electrically connected with the driver IC 70 via the one said wire 40, and an optical receiver 20a (such as photodiode (PD)) is arranged at the Rx end 60 and is electrically connected with the transimpedance amplifier 80 via one said wire 40. The optical transmitter 20 and the optical receiver 20a are respectively received within one said cavity 13 and correspond to one said refractive portion 14, 14a, and the driver IC 70 and the transimpedance amplifier 80 are connected with the at least one electric conductive layer 121.
In other words, FIG. 6 illustrates the entire device with a transmitter 20 in the transmitter end 50 and a receiver 20a in the receiver end 60, with corresponding reflectors and refractive portions 14, 14a, and including a driver 70 connected to the transmitter 20 and a TIA 80 connected to the receiver 20a, and the transmitter 50 and receiver 60 portions connected by the optical waveguide.
If FIGS. 5 and 6 are considered to be different embodiments, then it would have been obvious that the embodiment of FIG. 5 can be implemented in a known manner, such as the arrangement of FIG. 6.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the optical transmission module of claim 1, wherein at least one of the transmitting side and the receiving side further includes two wires, and the two wires are non-intersected with each other and connected between one said conductive surface and one of the driver and the transimpedance amplifier (FIG 6: wire 40 connected between conductive surface of transmitter 20 or receiver 20a and driver 70 (via conductive layer 12) and TIA 80 (via conductive layer)).
See also the bottom of col. 3:
(16) In this embodiment, an electric conductive face 22 of the optical component is electrically connected with the electric conductive structure 12 by at least one wire 40. Therefore, in the step of mounting the optical component, the light transmission face 21 can be aligned with the reflective face 111 at first, and then the at least one wire 40 is connected between the electric conductive face 22 and the electric conductive structure 12, which provides accurate alignment and less light loss. Preferably, the electric conductive face 22 and the light transmission face 21 are located at two opposite sides of the optical component so that the at least one wire 40 is easy to be attached to the electric conductive face 22. In other embodiments as shown in FIGS. 12 to 14, the substrate 10 is formed with at least one contact 122 electrically connected with the electric conductive structure 12, 12a, 12b, and at least one pin 23 of the optical component is connected with the at least one contact 122. It is noted that the electrical connection between the optical component and the electric conductive structure may be provided in any suitable way according to various requirements and/or applications.
In other words, Chen teaches that more than one (“at least one”) wire 40 can be used. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use two or more wires 40. Regarding the two wires not intersected, this would have been obvious. In particular, there are only two possibilities on this point. Either the wires are intersected (in which case electrical signals will be shared between the wires) or they are non-intersected (in which case they will not share signals along their lengths). The results would have been predictable and both would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the optical transmission module of claim 1, further including at least one first covering component disposed on the substrate, wherein each said first covering component covers and integrally connects the optical transmitter and the driver, or the optical receiver and the transimpedance amplifier (FIG. 15: covering component 90).
FIG. 15 is reproduced for reference.
See also the bottom of col. 5 which discusses advantages of the covering component 90:
(23) Preferably, the optical component is covered with a covering component 90, and the covering component 90 may be molding compound and is provided with electromagnetic wave shielding and a thermal conductivity greater than 3 W/mK, which can lower the electromagnetic wave interference and improves thermal effect. Specifically, the covering component 90 is filled up the cavity 13 and entirely covers the at least one wire 40 so as to avoid relative movement of components and have good assembling stability. In another exemplary embodiment as shown in FIG. 16, the optical component may be electrically connected with the electric conductive structure 12c by said pins 23 and said contacts 122.
See also a similar embodiment in FIG. 16.
It would have been obvious that the device of FIGS. 5 and 6 can be implemented in a known manner, such as with the covering component 90 of FIGS. 15 and 16. This combination would realize benefits discussed with regard to the covering compound 90 (see the bottom of col. 5, reproduced above).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the optical transmission module of claim 1, wherein the optical transmission channel includes a transmission layer and a first layer arranged at a side of the transmission layer (FIG. 5: transmission layer 112 and first layer 113), and the two refractive portions are integrally connected with the first layer (FIG. 5: refractive portion 14 are part of and integrally connected with first layer 113; see also FIG. 6 which shows both refractive portions and the first layer) and exposed on a side of the substrate (FIG. 5: the refractive portion 14 is exposed to the signal guide 11 on the bottom side of the substrate/first layer 113 and exposed to the transmission face 21 and transmitter on a top face of the substrate/first layer 113; FIG. 6: both refractive portions 14, 14a are exposed on the top and bottom sides).
FIG. 5 is reproduced for reference.
See also the paragraph spanning cols. 2-3:
(13) Specifically, the signal guide 11 includes a transmission layer 112 and a first layer 113 located a side of the transmission layer 112 adjacent to the electric conductive structure 12. The reflective face 111 is angled to the bottom side 131 and configured to reflect a transmission signal from the optical component toward the transmission layer 112 or configured to reflect the transmission signal from the transmission layer 112 toward the optical component. At least one of the transmission layer 112 and the first layer 113 is exposed to the cavity 13, and the optical component is disposed on one of the transmission layer 112 and the first layer 113. In this embodiment, the optical component is an optical transmitter 20; the first layer 113 is exposed to the bottom side 131 and the optical transmitter 20 is disposed on the first layer 113, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, so that the distance between the light transmission face 21 and the reflective face 111 is largely decreased to increase coupling efficiency. In other embodiments, the first layer 113a is exposed to a lateral side 132 of the cavity 13a and the transmission layer 112 is exposed to the bottom side 131a, and the optical transmitter 20 is disposed on the transmission layer 112, as shown in FIG. 10, which provides good coupling efficiency, less loss and easy assembling.
See also FIG. 6 and the discussion of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2004/0136639 (Kondo) at FIG. 1 illustrates a substrate 10 with optical waveguides 30 connecting optical elements 200.
Kondo teaches that elements 200 (i.e., an optical transmitter or receiver) convert between optical and electrical signals. See, for example:
[0078] The micro tile element 200 is a micro tile element having a light emitting or light receiving function. Furthermore, the micro tile element 200 having a light emitting function is paired with the micro tile element 200 having a light receiving function, being provided to each end of a single of the optical wave-guide 30. Namely, the micro tile element 200 having a light emitting function and the micro tile element 200 having a light receiving function are optically connected each other through the optical wave-guide 30.
Kondo at FIG. 2 illustrates a cross-sectional view showing the micro-tile element 200.
It also teaches that a wide variety of materials can be used for the substrate. See also:
[0078] The micro tile element 200 is a micro tile element having a light emitting or light receiving function. Furthermore, the micro tile element 200 having a light emitting function is paired with the micro tile element 200 having a light receiving function, being provided to each end of a single of the optical wave-guide 30. Namely, the micro tile element 200 having a light emitting function and the micro tile element 200 having a light receiving function are optically connected each other through the optical wave-guide 30.
US 7,703,993 (Darbinyan) at FIG. 1A illustrates a substrate 104 with an optical device 130 (e.g., transmitter or receiver) coupled to optical fiber 120 via angled reflector 150.
The phonic device 130 can be an optical transmitter or receiver . See col. 3, fifth full paragraph:
(16) The photonic device 130 may be any type of device that includes at least one photonic element that transmits or receives light signals. By way of example, in various embodiments, the photonic device 130 may include a semiconductor laser diode, as for example, a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL). In these embodiments, the photonic device 130 may be configured to emit a laser beam. In one specific embodiment, the VCSEL may be configured to emit light having a wavelength of approximately 850 nm. In other embodiments, the photonic device 130 may include a photodetector that receives and detects light. In still other embodiments, the photonic device may function as a transceiver that both emits and receives light signals. Additionally, the photonic device 130 may have any desired number of photonic elements. As will be appreciated with those familiar with the art, there are a number of commercially available photonic devices that include multiple laser diodes and/or multiple photodetectors. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 1, a single photonic device having a single photonic element is provided. However, it should be appreciated that in other embodiments multiple (indeed any desired number of) photonic devices may be mounted on the bottom substrate 104 and each photonic device may have any desired number of photonic elements. When multiple numbers of photonic devices are provided, appropriate traces 135 may be formed on the bottom surface 105 of the bottom substrate 104 to provide the desired electrical connections between components.
Furthermore, it teaches to use two reflective surfaces respectively inclined to the thickness direction for coupling optical signals between an optical waveguide and optical transmitters and receivers. See, for example, Darbinyan at FIG. 1A which illustrates a substrate 104 with an optical device (e.g., transmitter or receiver) coupled to optical fiber 120 via angled reflector 150.
US 2012/0141143 (Hayashi) at FIG. 1 illustrates optical components 20 covered with a covering component 140.
See also:
[0054] The OSA 1 includes a base (holding unit) 10 that is formed in a plate shape and is a substantial square shape in a plain view. The OSA 1 further includes a conductive plate (second conductive plate) 30, a light-passing board 70, a laser diode 20 and the like at one side of the base 10 (top side in FIG. 1, hereinafter referred to as "top side" simply), and a cylindrical portion 50 connected to the optical fiber 9 at the opposite side (bottom side in FIG. 1, hereinafter referred to as "bottom side" simply). The base 10 and the light-passing board 70 are made of transparent synthetic resin. The base 10 includes a peripheral wall 12 along the periphery on the top surface. The top surface of the base 10 and the peripheral wall 12 configure a recess portion 12a that accommodates the laser diode 20 and is sealed by a cover 40.
US 4,735,677 (Kawachi) at FIG. 7 illustrates a substrate 1 including an optical signal guide 2, and an optical transmitter (laser) 3 on the substrate 1.
Kawachi teaches that adhesives were known to be used to securely fix optical components. See, for example, col. 13, last full paragraph:
(16) In this case, if the distance between the pair of guides 7 is selected to be 70-75 .mu.m, the optical alignment can be automatically attained only by inserting the optical fiber between the guides 7. The optical fiber 5 can be securely fixed in position with an adhesive or by means of the melting process using a CO.sub.2 laser.
US 8,355,605 (Wach) teaches that it was known that both electrical 155 and optical conductors 150 can be provided on a substrate 125, and the electrical conductors 155 are electrically connected with an opto-electrical component 165, 170. See FIG. 1B:
See also, for example, col. 7, last full paragraph:
(33) Electrical traces 155 conduct electricity and electrical signals to and from the detector array 165. A power supply 175 receives monitoring light from one of the optical waveguides 150 and adjusts the array of detectors 165 according to the monitored power. A edge emitting laser 170 sends back signals to the array of lasers 160 over one of the optical waveguides 150. Thus, the array of optical waveguides 150 can operate bidirectionally. A signal processor 180 processes electrical signals output by the array of detectors 165.
In other words, it was known to use electrical conductors on a substrate along with optical conductors, and to connect the electrical conductors to electro-optical devices on the substrate.
Wach also teaches that it was known to affix a variety of optical and electrical components to a substrate. See, for example, col 9, the para beginning at line 13:
In certain exemplary embodiments, the waveguides 150 (and other elements illustrated in FIG. 1B and/or other waveguide embodiments disclosed herein) can be mounted on the substrate 125. … In certain exemplary embodiments, the waveguides 150 are integrated in or grown on a semiconductor material, such as a silicon-based material, a crystalline material, a single crystal, InGaAs, germanium, InP, III-V material, III-V semiconductor material, etc. (along with other optical, electrical, and/or optoelectronic elements). Such components can be either monolithically integrated or hybrid integrated, for example. The waveguides 150 and associated devices can be grown on, embedded in, or bonded to a common substrate (for example the substrate 130). The substrate 130 can provide a foundation comprising (or substantially consisting of) silicon with attached optical waveguides, for example as a crystal or as a monolithic platform. Further the waveguides 150 can have a format of "silicon-on-insulator," "silica-on-silicon," or "ribbed waveguide." Accordingly, the optical, optoelectronic, and/or electronic components of the system 100 can be a unitary structure, a monolithic system or "chip," or a collection of elements fastened or bonded together. …
US 5,221,984 (Furuyama) at FIG. 4 illustrates an electrically conductive face of lasers 118 electrically connected to electrical conductor 136, 120 via wires 122.
See, for example col. 6, last full paragraph:
(20) The mounting substrate 116 may be a ceramic plate of high heat-conductivity having a metallized surface or a metal plate; this substrate 116 will be called "mother board" or "main board" in the following description. A semiconductor laser section 112 is securely mounted on a certain edge section of the main board 116. The laser section 112 has a selected number of semiconductor laser devices 118 arranged in an array. According to the illustrated embodiment, four semiconductor lasers 118a, 118b, 118c and 118d are arranged in parallel so as to constitute a 4-channel array type laser section. Each of these semiconductor lasers 118 has a wire bonding contact face defined on its top. Each semiconductor laser 118i (i=a, b, c or d) is, for example, a semiconductor laser of a gallium-indium-arsenic-phosphorus/indium-phosphorus (hereinafter simply called "GaInAsP/InP") base.
The paragraph spanning cols. 6-7:
(21) On a drive-signals transmission line substrate 114. signal transmission lines 120a, 120b, 120c and 120d to be connected to a drive circuit (not shown) are formed in parallel by a patterning technique. These wiring lines 120 define square-shaped pad patterns at those portions which terminate at an edge portion of the substrate 114.
The second full paragraph in col. 7:
(23) Bonding wires 122 are provided to electrically connect the array type laser section 112 and the drivesignals transmission line substrate 114, thereby to permit signal exchange therebetween. More specifically, bonding wire 122i (i=a, b, c,...) may be an ordieach nary wire with a diameter of 25 micrometers, made of gold, copper or aluminum. Each bonding wire 122 has one end pressure-bonded to the pad pattern end portion of a certain drive-signals transmission line 120i by a known technique, and the other end likewise pressure-bonded to the corresponding semiconductor laser 118i associated with this line 120i. The technique of bonding the bonding wires 122 may be heat-press bonding, ultrasonic bonding or both combined. The bonding wires 122 stably run in the air with approximately constant intervals while maintaining a constant arc shape upward known as "loop" among those skilled in the art.
Col. 8, first full paragraph:
(27) Ground lines 146a, 146b, 146c, 146d and 146e running in parallel are additionally formed on the top surface of the transmission line substrate 114 in association with the terminals G1 to G5. These ground lines 146 and the aforementioned drive-signals transmission lines 120a to 120d are alternately arranged, as shown in FIG. 6. In other words, each drive-signals transmission line 120i is electrically and magnetically shielded on both sides by two ground lines 146 that are each neighboring thereto.
US 2019/0158183 (Butrie) at FIG. 1A illustrates optical components on a substrate 102.
As can be seen in FIG. 1A, there are lasers 106, PDs 108, lenses 112, PLC 116, optical fibers 118, and MEMS on substrates 102, 104, 114.
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634