Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 12–20 are generic. This is not found persuasive because claims 12–20 are directed to the specifics of the electrical portion of the position indicator.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5–8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dowdall (USPN 4651969).
Figure 1 - Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding Claim 1, Dowdall discloses a device, comprising: a valve actuator (17); an actuator output gear (47); a shaft (64) that includes a first end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4) that is opposite a second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4); an electrical position indicator (121) at the first end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4) of the shaft (64); a mechanical position indicator (123) at the second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4) of the shaft (64); and a first gear (126) on the shaft (64) between the first and second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4), the first gear (126) configured to interact with the actuator output gear (47).
Regarding Claim 2, Dowdall discloses a housing (1) around the actuator output gear (47) and the shaft (64), the mechanical position indicator (123) being outside the housing (1), as seen in Fig. 4.
Regarding Claim 5, Dowdall discloses a slip clutch on the shaft (64), the slip clutch (39/40/41/42/43A/43B) being closer to the first end than the second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Dowdall discloses the first gear (126) is between the slip clutch (39/40/41/42/43A/43B) and the second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Dowdall discloses a device, comprising: a valve actuator (17) that includes: an actuator output gear (47); a shaft (64); a gear (126) on the shaft (64); a slip clutch (39/40/41/42/43A/43B) on the shaft (64); an electrical position indicator (121) on the shaft (64); a coupler (51/65) on the shaft (64); a mechanical position indicator (121) on the shaft (64), the gear (126) between the mechanical position indicator (123) and the electrical position indicator (121).
Regarding Claim 8, Dowdall discloses the coupler (51/65) is adjacent to the electrical position indicator (121), the coupler (51/65) being further from the second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4) than the slip clutch (39/40/41/42/43A/43B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3–4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdall (USPN 4651969) in view of Ballun et al. (USPN 4702275).
Regarding Claim 3, Dowdall the shaft (64) but not an extension between the first end and the second end.
Ballun teaches the shaft (106) includes an extension (112) between the first end and the second end in order to adjust lengths (Col.5, Lines 17–27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Dowdall with an extension as taught by Ballun in order to accommodate varying lengths.
Regarding Claim 4, the Dowdall–Ballun combination teaches the shaft (Dowdall 64) includes a first dimension along a first direction between the first end and the second end (Dowdall Annotated Fig. 4), the extension including a second dimension in a second direction that is transverse to the first direction, the second dimension being less than the first dimension.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9–10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitation “the coupler is between the slip clutch and the electrical position indicator.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pond (USPN 4635901) discloses position indicators.
/Angelisa L. Hicks/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753