DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The removal of the term “based on the displacement vector” from the determining motion information step changes the scope of the claimed invention to now refer to conventional candidate list generation from reference blocks. Motion vector candidates are now simply those associated with reference blocks rather than derived based at least in part on a displacement vector associated with the current block as previously claimed.
The non-statutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 12,167,019 has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (12,167,006).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 16, Sun discloses a method for decoding video data using temporal motion vector prediction (TMVP), the method being executed by one or more processes, the method comprising:
obtaining a coded video comprising a coded current picture (done by receiver as the inverse of the encoding process, col. 2 lines 57-61),
determining a displacement offset, the displacement offset identifying a block in a reference picture associated with a current block in the coded current picture (col. 3 lines 50-63);
determining a motion information associated with the identified block, the motion information being used as a motion vector predictor (MVP) from a temporal motion vector prediction (TMVP) candidate (col. 3 line 64 – col. 4 line 11); and
decoding the coded current block using the motion information (performed by decoder, col. 3 lines 38-42).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Sun discloses the method and apparatus of claims 1 and 7, wherein a displacement vector associated with the identified block indicates at least one respective position of at least one motion vector predictor in a temporal motion vector predictor candidate list (col. 6 lines 13-21).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Sun discloses the method and apparatus of claims 1 and 7, wherein a displacement vector associated with the identified block indicates at least one respective displacement vector among a plurality of displacement vectors associated with respective candidates in a temporal motion vector predictor candidate list (col. 6 lines 13-21).
Regarding claims 5, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 Sun discloses the method, apparatus, and computer readable medium of claims 1, 10, 16, and 18 wherein the displacement offset indicates a motion vector difference with adaptive motion vector resolution techniques (conventional indexing using a table) (col. 1 line 66 – col. 2 line 4).
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 18, Sun discloses the method, apparatus, and computer readable medium of claims 2, 8, and 16 wherein the displacement vector has a displacement vector resolution in a specific number of samples (inherent, as a displacement vector must have a resolution of at least one sample).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Chuang et al. (2018/0098086) [Chuang].
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 8, but fails to specifically disclose a TMVP candidate list is reordered based on a template matching cost, said list generated using a pre-defined scan order based on a magnitude of the displacement vector.
In an analogous art, Chuang teaches this to be a conventional approach to generating motion vector candidate lists, fist scanning in ascending order based on relative distances (paragraph 0110) then reordering the candidate list after applying template matching to find the optimal cost (paragraphs 0199-0200).
It would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Sun to include a TMVP candidate list is reordered based on a template matching cost, said list generated using a pre-defined scan order based on a magnitude of the displacement vector, as suggested by Chuang, for the conventional and predictable benefit of quickly determining the best motion vector candidate during video coding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421