DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are currently pending in this Application.
Priority
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a CON of PCT/US2023/017213 03/31/2023
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/432,208 12/13/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/431,530 12/09/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/403,481 09/02/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/374,362 09/01/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/356,653 06/29/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/352,107 06/14/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/341,828 05/13/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/341,281 05/12/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/341,279 05/12/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/341,269 05/12/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/326,129 03/31/2022
PCT/US2023/017213 has PRO 63/326,132 03/31/2022
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statement, filed on September 27, 2024, has been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/199864 A1 to Shah.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating a subject having a fibrotic-mediated pulmonary disease or disorder comprising administering to the subject in need thereof a total daily dose from about 825 to about 2475 mg of a therapeutically effective amount of a deuterium-enriched pirfenidone having the structure shown below:
(LYT-100).
Dependent claims 2-7 further limit the total daily doses administered to the subject.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Shah teaches administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a N-aryl pyridinone for treating fibrotic-and/or collagen-mediated disorders (Abstract; para [0005-0007]). Shah particularly teaches administering the deuterium-enriched compound of the instant claims for treating pulmonary fibrosis (para [0011-0022], [0058-0060]). Shah teaches the compound can be administered in the form of one, two, three, four, five, six, or more doses at appropriate times throughout the day, and that each dose ranges from about 0.1-1000 mg (para [00245]). Oral administration is taught (para [0029], [00143]). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to have orally administered deuterium enriched pirfenidone to treat pulmonary fibrosis at a dose of 500 mg. provided twice daily for a total dose of 1000 mg.; a dose of 750 mg. provided twice daily for a total dose of 1500 mg; a dose of 500 mg. provided three times daily for a total dose of 1500 mg; and a dose of 750 mg. provided three times daily for a total dose of 2250 mg., as recited in claims 82-85 respectively, since these doses are included within the dosage range taught by Shah, and Shah further teaches each dose can be administered up to six or more times per day.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Shah does not specifically recite the total daily dose from about 825 to about 2475 mg.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See
MPEP § 2142-2143)
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" — choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel. Here one or more of rationales (C) and (G) apply.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to have orally administered deuterium enriched pirfenidone to treat pulmonary fibrosis at a range of doses that are covered by the instant claims. Since shah teach the dose of 500 mg. provided twice daily for a total dose of 1000 mg.; a dose of 750 mg. provided twice daily for a total dose of 1500 mg; a dose of 500 mg. provided three times daily for a total dose of 1500 mg; and a dose of 750 mg. provided three times daily for a total dose of 2250 mg., and these doses fall within the dosage range of the instant claims. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the relative dosage and length of the treatment during routine optimization to find the therapeutically effective dosage and schedule.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05,II.A.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Telephone Inquiry
/Kamal A Saeed/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626