This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 8A-8L and 27 contain one or more photographs. 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1) only permits photographs in the drawings when “photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.” To clarify when photographs might be acceptable, 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1) lists the following “examples”: “electrophoresis gels, blots ( e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, [and] crystalline structures.” The subject matter of the instant application does not fall into any of these categories. 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1) further states that “If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph.” As illustrated by the drawings of the cited prior art references, the subject matter of the instant application clearly “admits of illustration by a drawing.” Applicant is therefore required to furnish line drawing(s) in place of the aforementioned photograph(s).
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 10A-10B and 11-17 include three-dimensional shading (grayscale) and are not simply black line drawings (see the cited references for examples). Per MPEP 608.02(VII)(A), “Black and white drawings are normally required in utility patent applications. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings.” Moreover, per MPEP 608.02(VII)(B), “Black And White Photographs And Grayscale Drawings” are only acceptable “in lieu of India ink drawings . . . to illustrate inventions which are incapable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings” (emphasis added). Examples of such situations include “electrophoresis gels, blots, (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, metallurgical microstructures, textile fabrics, grain structures and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects.” The structure disclosed in the instant application is not “incapable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings,” and clearly does not fall into any of the above categories. Applicant is therefore required to furnish line drawing(s) in place of the aforementioned shaded drawings.
The drawings are objected to because the lines, numbers, and letters are produced by pencil causing several instances of illegible reference numbers/letters. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction.” Applicant is therefore required to furnish lines, numbers, and letter that are durable, clean, black, and sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick, and well-defined.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pivot axis disposed within one of said upper slot and said lower slot” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 20 shows a pin 155, which acts as a pivot axis, is disposed within upper slot 151, however none of the Figures nor the Specification disclose any pivot axis disposed within the lower slot 152. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 19 recites the term “overly” which should be “overlie”.
Claim 4, line 3 recites “said locking lower end of said locking bar” which should read “said lower end of said locking bar” to be consistent with the language used in similar claim 8, line 3, “said lower end of said locking bar”.
Claim 6, line 1 recites “the drawer storage module recited in claim 6” which should be dependent from claim 5.
Claim 8, line 4 recites “through said through said” which should be “through said”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “further comprising a pivot pin disposed within said upper slot and defining the pivot axis” which directly contradicts the limitation of claim 2 “wherein said locking bar is pivotably mounted about a pivot axis disposed within one of said upper slot and said lower slot”. It is unclear if the pivot pin of claim 3 is only required when the pivot axis of claim 2 is disposed within the upper slot, or if the pivot pin of claim 3 is an additional pivot axis separate from a pivot axis when the pivot axis is disposed in the lower slot. Therefore, claim 3 is indefinite.
Claims 5, 9, and 11 recite “wherein when one said drawer storage module is stacked on a second said drawer storage module” which contradicts the preamble of claim 1, which claims only “a drawer storage module comprising…”. It is unclear how a drawer storage module of claim 1 can comprise another drawer storage module. It is further unclear which limitations are required of the second drawer storage module. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For purposes of examination, the second drawer storage module of claims 5, 9, and 11 will be interpreted broadly as any module related to storage, and consisting of a locking bar with a through hole as claimed in claims 5, 9, and 11. The examiner suggests amending the preamble to recite “A drawer storage module system comprising: a drawer storage module comprising a drawer storage housing…” and further specifying the limitations of the second drawer storage module.
Claim 6 recites “said at least one storage drawer of both the one drawer storage module and the second drawer storage modules comprise a plurality of storage drawers”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the second storage module having a storage drawer.
Claim 7 recites “said at least one storage drawer comprising a plurality of storage drawers”. This appears to be redundant of the limitation of claim 6 from which claim 7 depends.
Claims 4-7, 10, and 12 are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN218641454) in view of Huddleston (U.S. Pub. No. 20140338263).
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses a drawer storage module (Fig. 7, drawer box 13) comprising: a drawer storage housing (box body 132) having a first side and a second side (left and right sides of box body 132); an upper surface extending between said first side and said second side (see annotated Fig. 7, upper surface extends horizontally from left side to right side of box body 132), said upper surface including an upper surface slot (Fig. 9, opening of first protrusion 1361); a lower surface extending between said first side and said second side (see annotated Fig. 7, lower surface extends horizontally from left side to right side of box body 132), said lower surface including a lower surface slot (Figs. 7 and 9, opening of second protrusion 1362); an open side defined between said first side, said second side, said upper surface and said lower surface (Fig. 7, box body 132 has an open front side for accommodating layered boxes 131); at least one storage drawer (layered box 131) slidable into and out of said drawer storage housing through said open side (Fig. 10, layered box 131 slides into and out of box body 132 along track assembly 134) and a locking bar (Fig. 9, locking plate 136) having an upper locking bar through opening (Fig. 9, locking hole 1365 of locking plate 136) adjacent an upper end thereof (upper end of locking plate 136), said locking bar (locking plate 136) movable between a locking position in which it extends vertically between said upper surface and said lower surface (Fig. 7, locking plate 136 is in a locked position) with said upper end of said locking bar extending through said upper surface slot with said upper locking bar through opening disposed above said upper surface slot (Fig. 7 shows the upper end of locking plate 136 extends above the opening of the first protrusion 1361, and the locking hole 1365 of locking plate 136 is position above the first protrusion 1361) and with said lower end of said locking bar extending through said lower surface slot (Fig. 7 shows the lower end of locking plate 136 extends below the opening of the second protrusion 1362), said locking bar (136) overlaying said at least one drawer (131) when in the locking position to prevent said at least one drawer from being slidable out of said drawer storage housing (in the locked position of Fig. 7, locking plate 136 prevents layered box 131 from sliding out), and an unlocking position (Fig. 9, locking plate 136 is removed from the box body 132 and therefore in an unlocked position) in which said locking bar (136) does not overlay said at least one drawer (131) and does not prevent said at least one drawer from being slidable out of said drawer storage housing (Figs. 9 and 10 show layered box 131 may slide out via track assembly 134 when the locking plate 136 is removed).
Annotated Fig. 7
Chen fails to disclose the locking bar has a lower locking bar through opening adjacent a lower end thereof and said lower locking bar through opening is disposed below said lower surface slot when the locking bar is in the locking position.
Huddleston discloses a locking bar (Fig. 1, locking bar 3) has a first locking bar through opening (hole in stop portion 12) and a second locking bar through opening (hole 8 for accommodating padlock 9 as shown in Fig. 4) adjacent a second end thereof and said second locking bar through opening (hole 8) is disposed below a second surface slot (rectangular slot of right-side end bracket 1) when the locking bar is in the locking position (Figs. 1 and 3, locking bar 3 is in a locked position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking plate of Chen such that the lower/second end includes a hole for accommodating a padlock, such as taught by Huddleston, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional security to the storage box and prevent the unwanted or unauthorized removal of the locking bar and access to the contents within the drawers.
With respect to claim 8, Chen in view of Huddleston discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein, when said locking bar (Chen, locking plate 136) is in the locking position (Chen, locking position of Fig. 7) a locking may be disposed through said lower locking bar through opening (Huddleston, padlock 9 in hole 8) to preclude said lower end of said locking bar from being moved through said lower surface slot to thereby preclude said locking bar from being moved out of said locking position (locking plate 136 of Chen as modified by Huddleston would not be able to move upward through the opening of second protrusion 1362 when the padlock 9 is in use) or through said through said upper locking bar through opening (Chen, locking hole 1365 of locking plate 136 accommodates a padlock) to preclude said upper end of said locking bar from being moved through said upper surface slot to thereby preclude said locking bar from being moved out of the locking position (Chen, paragraph 0063, “users can use a padlock to lock the locking plate 136 and the box 132” therefore the upper end of locking plate 136 cannot move upward through the opening of the first protrusion 1361).
With respect to claim 13, Chen in view of Huddleston discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses wherein, when said locking bar (136) is in the locking position (locking position of Fig. 7) a lock may be disposed through said upper locking bar through opening (locking hole 1365 of locking plate 136 accommodates a padlock) to preclude said upper end of said locking bar from being moved through said upper surface slot to thereby preclude said locking bar from being moved out of said locking position (paragraph 0063, “users can use a padlock to lock the locking plate 136 and the box 132” therefore the upper end of locking plate 136 cannot move upward through the opening of the first protrusion 1361).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN218641454) in view of Huddleston (U.S. Pub. No. 20140338263) in further view of Efron (U.S. Pat. No. 2164133).
With respect to claim 2, Chen in view of Hiddleston discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein, said locking bar is pivotably mounted about a pivot axis disposed within one of said upper slot and said lower slot, said locking bar movable between said locking position and said unlocking position by pivoting about the pivot axis.
Efron discloses a locking bar (Fig. 2, bar 30) is pivotably mounted about a pivot axis (pin 41) disposed within one of an upper slot (see annotated Fig. 2 below, upper bracket) and a lower slot, said locking bar (bar 30) movable between a locking position (Fig. 1 show bar 30 in locked position which prevents the opening of drawers 36, 37, 38) and an unlocking position by pivoting about the pivot axis (Fig. 2 shows bar 30 is translated vertically and pivots about pin 41 via longitudinal slot 40 into an unlocked position which permits the opening of drawers 36, 37, 38).
Annotated Fig. 1
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking plate and the opening of the upper convex part (upper slot) of Chen in view of Huddleston such that the locking plate includes a longitudinal slot that pivots about a pin disposed within the upper slot, such as taught by Efron, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to quickly and easily move the locking plate into an unlocked position and to further allow the locking plate to remain attached to the drawer box and reduce the likelihood of misplacing the locking plate.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN218641454) and Huddleston (U.S. Pub. No. 20140338263) in view of Efron (U.S. Pat. No. 2164133) in further view of Marchand (U.S. Pat. No. 8727400).
With respect to claim 3, Chen in view of Huddleston in further view of Efron discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses a pivot pin (Efron, pin 41) disposed within said upper slot (Chen, opening of first protrusion 1361) and defining the pivot axis (Chen, locking plate 136 as modified by Efron pivots about the pin 41), wherein, in the locking position said locking bar extends substantially vertically (Chen, Fig. 7, locking plate 136 extends vertically in the locked position) and substantially perpendicular to said upper surface (Chen, horizontally extending upper surface of drawer box 13).
The combination fails to disclose in the unlocking position said locking bar extends substantially horizontally and substantially parallel to said upper surface.
Marchand discloses a pivot pin (Fig. 2, pivot point 24) disposed within a slot (Fig. 2, brackets 23 with an open upper end for pivoting securing bar 40) and defining a pivot axis (axis of pivot point 25), wherein, in the locking position a locking bar extends substantially perpendicular to a surface (Fig. 1, securing bar 40 is in a locking position and extends perpendicular to channel 20) and in the unlocking position said locking bar extends substantially parallel to said surface (Figs. 2 and 3, securing bar 40 is secured by magnets 43 and 21 into an unlocking position and extends parallel to channel 20 in a position ninety degrees from the locking position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drawer box of Chen in view of Huddleston in further view of Efron such that the first protrusion (1361) has an open end and the box/locking plate include magnets for retaining the locking plate in a locking position, such as taught by Marchand, resulting in a locking position in which the locking plate is parallel to the upper surface of the box, in order to retain the locking plate in a position that is stowed away during use of the drawers, but remains easily accessible for quick locking of the box.
With respect to claim 4, Chen and Huddleston in view of Efron in further view of Marchand discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein when said locking bar is in the locking position (Chen, locking position of locking plate as shown in Fig. 7) a locking may be disposed through said lower locking bar through opening (Huddleston, padlock 9 in hole 8) to preclude said locking lower end of said locking bar from being moved through said lower surface slot (padlock 9 would precent locking plate 136 of Chen from moving upwardly through the opening of second protrusion 1362) to thereby preclude said locking bar from being moved out of said locking position (Chen, locking position of Fig. 7) or through said through said upper locking bar through opening (Chen, paragraph 0063, “the first protrusion 1361 and the bent portion 1364 are also provided with corresponding locking holes 1365. Users can use a padlock to lock the locking plate 136 and the box 132”) to preclude said upper end of said locking bar from being moved through said upper surface slot to thereby preclude said locking bar from being moved out of the locking position (since the padlock locks the locking plate 136 to the box body 132, the upper end of locking plate 136 cannot move upward through the opening of the first protrusion 1361).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN218641454), Huddleston (U.S. Pub. No. 20140338263), and Efron (U.S. Pat. No. 2164133) in view of Marchand (U.S. Pat. No. 8727400) in further view of Yu (U.S. Pub. No. 20230212880).
With respect to claim 5, Chen and Huddleston in view of Efron in further view of Marchand discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses one of said drawer module is stacked on a second drawer storage module (paragraph 0041, “the toolbox system 100 includes multiple types of storage boxes 10, such as storage boxes. The storage boxes have a box body 132” as shown in Fig. 1, therefore drawer box 13 is stackable with other storage boxes 10).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose a second drawer storage module with an upper locking bar through opening, however it would be obvious to modify another one of the stackable storage boxes 10 to be a drawer box 13 since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI(B).
The combination as modified discloses the lower locking bar through opening (Chen, locking plate 136 as modified to include hole 8 of Huddleston on its lower end) of said one drawer storage module (first/upper drawer box 13) is disposed adjacent the upper locking bar through opening (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13) of said second drawer storage module (when stacked, the locking plates 136 of the first/upper and second/lower storage modules would be aligned, therefore the lower end of one locking plate would be adjacent to the upper end of the other locking plate) and further discloses locking (paragraph 0063 “padlock”) may be disposed through the upper locking bar through opening (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13).
The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the locking may be disposed through both said lower locking bar through opening of said one drawer storage module and said upper locking bar through opening of said second drawer storage module to simultaneously secure said one drawer storage module to said second drawer storage module with said locking bars of each said drawer storage modules precluded from being moved out of the locking position.
Yu discloses a locking (Figs. 3-6, cable lock 1, 2) which is flexible (Fig. 5, twistable cable 21) and therefore capable of being disposed through two adjacent through holes (Paragraph 0021, “the locking member is used to go through…any object that requires locking”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper padlock of Chen and Huddleston in view of Efron in further view of Marchand such that it is a flexible lock, such as taught by Yu, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the locking of various items and to allow for twisting of the padlock, therefore allowing a user to more easily hold the padlock and access the combination dials.
The combination as modified further discloses wherein the locking (Yu, cable lock 1, 2) may be disposed through both said lower locking bar through opening (hole 8 of Huddleston) of said one drawer storage module (first/upper drawer box 13) and said upper locking bar through opening of said second drawer storage module (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13) to simultaneously secure said one drawer storage module to said second drawer storage module (Yu, flexible cable 21 through the holes of modified locking plate 163 of Chen would secure first/upper storage box 13 to second/lower storage box 13) with said locking bars of each said drawer storage modules (upper and lower locking plates 136) precluded from being moved out of the locking position (lock 1, 2 of Yu would prevent upper locking plate 136 from moving upward out of the locking position of the first/upper drawer box 13 and would further lock the lower locking plate to the box body 132 of the second/lower drawer box 13).
With respect to claim 6, Chen, Huddleston, and Efron in view of Marchand in further view of Yu discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses wherein at least one storage drawer of both the one drawer storage module (first/upper drawer box 13) and the second drawer storage modules (second/lower drawer box 13) comprise a plurality of storage drawers (Fig. 7 shows the at least one drawer 131 of each drawer box 13 is three layered boxes 131).
With respect to claim 7, Chen, Huddleston, and Efron in view of Marchand in further view of Yu discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses at least one storage drawer comprising a plurality of storage drawers (Fig. 7 shows the at least one drawer 131 of each drawer box 13 is three layered boxes 131).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN218641454) in view of Huddleston (U.S. Pub. No. 20140338263) in further view of Yu (U.S. Pub. No. 20230212880).
With respect to claims 9 and 11, Chen in view of Huddleston discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses one of said drawer module is stacked on a second drawer storage module (paragraph 0041, “the toolbox system 100 includes multiple types of storage boxes 10, such as storage boxes. The storage boxes have a box body 132” as shown in Fig. 1, therefore drawer box 13 is stackable with other storage boxes 10).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose a second drawer storage module with an upper locking bar through opening, however it would be obvious to modify another one of the stackable storage boxes 10 to be a drawer box 13 since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI(B).
The combination as modified discloses the lower locking bar through opening (Chen, locking plate 136 as modified to include hole 8 of Huddleston on its lower end) of said one drawer storage module (first/upper drawer box 13) is disposed adjacent the upper locking bar through opening (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13) of said second drawer storage module (when stacked, the locking plates 136 of the first/upper and second/lower storage modules would be aligned, therefore the lower end of one locking plate would be adjacent to the upper end of the other locking plate) and further discloses locking (paragraph 0063, “padlock”) may be disposed through the upper locking bar through opening (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13).
The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the locking may be disposed through both said lower locking bar through opening of said one drawer storage module and said upper locking bar through opening of said second drawer storage module to simultaneously secure said one drawer storage module to said second drawer storage module with said locking bars of each said drawer storage modules precluded from being moved out of the locking position.
Yu discloses a locking (Figs. 3-6, cable lock 1, 2) which is flexible (Fig. 5, twistable cable 21) and therefore capable of being disposed through two adjacent through holes (Paragraph 0021, “the locking member is used to go through…any object that requires locking”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper padlock of Chen in view of Huddleston such that it is a flexible lock, such as taught by Yu, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the locking of various items and to allow for twisting of the padlock, therefore allowing a user to more easily hold the padlock and access the combination dials.
The combination as modified further discloses wherein the locking (Yu, cable lock 1, 2) may be disposed through both said lower locking bar through opening (hole 8 of Huddleston) of said one drawer storage module (first/upper drawer box 13) and said upper locking bar through opening of said second drawer storage module (locking hole 1365 on locking plate 136 of second/lower drawer box 13) to simultaneously secure said one drawer storage module to said second drawer storage module (Yu, flexible cable 21 through the holes of modified locking plate 163 of Chen would secure first/upper storage box 13 to second/lower storage box 13) with said locking bars of each said drawer storage modules (upper and lower locking plates 136) precluded from being moved out of the locking position (lock 1, 2 of Yu would prevent upper locking plate 136 from moving upward out of the locking position of the first/upper drawer box 13 and would further lock the lower locking plate to the box body 132 of the second/lower drawer box 13).
With respect to claims 10 and 12, Chen in view of Huddleston in further view of Yu discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Chen) further discloses said at least one storage drawer comprising a plurality of storage drawers (Fig. 7 shows the at least one drawer 131 of each drawer box 13 is three layered boxes 131).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637