0DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 100728581 B1) (“Lee '581”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0187650 A1) (“Lee '650”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, Lee '581 discloses:
an electronic lock comprising a processing unit and memory (Lee '581 [paragraph 21]; digital door lock control unit executing a stored program; memory storing passwords);
a keypad comprising a plurality of predefined keypad regions (Lee '581 [paragraph 21]; keypad with a plurality of number buttons and a “*” button);
each predefined keypad region including one or more lighting elements, wherein in response to a signal from the processing unit, the one or more lighting elements illuminate the predefined keypad region in any of a plurality of colors (or ornamental, claim 9) (Lee '581 [paragraph 18]; control unit applies signals to the red, green, and blue leads of multicolor LED(s) to emit red, orange, yellow, green, purple, blue, and indigo; Lee '581 expressly teaches installing a plurality of multicolor light emitting diodes);
a memory device storing instructions defining a plurality of presentation modes and illumination in accordance with a selected one of the plurality of presentation modes (Lee '581 [paragraph 34]; distinct color/flash schemes selected per operating state: standby, per-digit password entry, unlock, lock, password-storage, emergency, and battery-level warning).
Lee '581 thus teaches multi-color, processor-controlled, mode-dependent illumination of a lock keypad, but does not explicitly disclose that each predefined keypad region is independently programmable to illuminate in a selected display color from the plurality of colors.
Lee '650 teaches a keypad apparatus having a plurality of transparent color regions ([0057], regions 111) each capable of being selectively transformed to display a plurality of colors such as red, green, blue, black, white, and transparent; according to an electrical signal applied through electrode layers ([0021], [0056], [0063], [0064]). Lee '650 further teaches that the color displayed at the key regions is driven by variable color display parts under electrical-signal control, such that different color states are produced at the keypad surface ( [0081] - [0089], [0099]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of multicolor lighting elements of Lee '581 such that each predefined keypad region is independently programmable to a selected color, as informed by Lee '650’s teaching of a keypad having a plurality of individually color-transformable regions driven by electrical signals. The motivation to do so would be to provide richer, region-specific visual feedback and design flexibility at the keypad (Lee '650, [0016]-[0019]; Lee '581 “more colorful functional expression and decoration effect”). This constitutes the use of a known technique (per-region electrical-signal-driven color control, Lee '650) to improve a similar device (the multicolor lock keypad of Lee '581) in the same way, yielding the predictable result of independently selectable per-region keypad color. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee ‘581 discloses the selected one of the plurality of presentation modes is selected by the processing unit, (Lee '581, [paragraph 31] teaches a processor-driven multicolor LED keypad in which the controller selects and drives the displayed color/flash scheme according to the lock’s operating state (standby, password entry, unlock, lock, error). Thus the processing unit itself selects the active presentation mode.)
Regarding claim 4, Lee ‘581 discloses the processing unit initiates a presentation mode based on input at the keypad, (Lee '581, [paragraphs 29 and 35] teaches the controller changing the displayed color scheme in response to key/password entry at the keypad (e.g., entering a password-entry display state upon key actuation).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Lee ‘581 discloses the selected one of the plurality of presentation modes is a status message presentation mode, (Lee '581, [paragraph 31] color/flash schemes that convey lock status (standby, unlock, lock, error, low-battery indications), i.e., a status message presentation mode.)
Regarding claim 7, Lee ‘581 discloses the status presentation mode, the one or more lighting elements illuminate the plurality of predefined keypad regions to display an indication that an actuation passcode entered at the keypad is valid, (Lee '581, [paragraphs 21 and 31] the user's operation status, after entering the correct password, can be visually recognized by the emission color of the multi-color LED and the lighting and blinking, and the closing or opening operation of the digital door lock can be identified by the color change without checking the opening and closing state separately).
Regarding claim 12, Lee ‘581 discloses the one or more lighting elements further illuminate the predefined keypad region in a pattern in accordance with the selected one of the plurality of presentation modes, (Lee '581 [paragraph 34]; distinct color/flash schemes selected per operating state: standby, per-digit password entry, unlock, lock, password-storage, emergency, and battery-level warning).
Regarding claim 13, Lee ‘581 discloses the signal from the processing unit is received by the one or more lighting elements through a chain of lighting elements, (Lee '581 [paragraph 34]; The controller controls the multi-color LEDs so that when the password entered through the keypad matches the password stored in the memory or when the open button is pressed, the color light of a specific color is sequentially turned on as soon as the motor is rotated forwardly through the driving unit. Multicolor emission control method for displaying the status of the digital door lock.)
Regarding claim 14 (method of claim 1), the combination of Lee’581 and Lee ‘650 teach each step: selecting a presentation mode from among a plurality of stored presentation modes (Lee '581- selecting the color scheme corresponding to the lock’s operating state); sending one or more signals from a processing unit to one or more lighting elements based on the selected presentation mode (Lee '581; control unit applies signals to the red, green, and blue leads of multicolor LED(s) to emit red, orange, yellow, green, purple, blue, and indigo; Lee '581 expressly teaches installing a plurality of multicolor light emitting diodes);Lee '581 - control unit driving R/G/B LED leads); illuminating one or more predefined keypad regions in any of a plurality of colors ((Lee '581; control unit applies signals to the red, green, and blue leads of multicolor LED(s) to emit red, orange, yellow, green, purple, blue, and indigo; Lee '581 expressly teaches installing a plurality of multicolor light emitting diodes). Lee ‘581 does not specifically disclose wherein each predefined keypad region is independently programmable to illuminate in a selected display color (Lee '581 in view of Lee '650, same rationale as claim 1). In the same field of endeavor, Lee '650 teaches a keypad apparatus having a plurality of transparent color regions ([0057], regions 111) each capable of being selectively transformed to display a plurality of colors such as red, green, blue, black, white, and transparent; according to an electrical signal applied through electrode layers ([0021], [0056], [0063], [0064]). Lee '650 further teaches that the color displayed at the key regions is driven by variable color display parts under electrical-signal control, such that different color states are produced at the keypad surface ( [0081] - [0089], [0099]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of multicolor lighting elements of Lee '581 such that each predefined keypad region is independently programmable to a selected color, as informed by Lee '650’s teaching of a keypad having a plurality of individually color-transformable regions driven by electrical signals. The motivation to do so would be to provide richer, region-specific visual feedback and design flexibility at the keypad (Lee '650, [0016]-[0019]; Lee '581 “more colorful functional expression and decoration effect”). This constitutes the use of a known technique (per-region electrical-signal-driven color control, Lee '650) to improve a similar device (the multicolor lock keypad of Lee '581) in the same way, yielding the predictable result of independently selectable per-region keypad color. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Lee ‘581 discloses one or more signals are further based on a status of an electronic lock, (Lee '581, [paragraph 31] color/flash schemes that convey lock status (standby, unlock, lock, error, low-battery indications), i.e., a status message presentation mode.)
Regarding claim 16, Lee ‘581 discloses the status of the electronic lock is a battery level of the electronic lock, (Lee '581, [paragraph 31] color/flash schemes that convey lock status (standby, unlock, lock, error, low-battery indications), i.e., a status message presentation mode.)
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 100728581 B1) (“Lee '581”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0187650 A1) (“Lee '650”) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Van Wiemeersch et al. (US 2022/0258695 A1) (further referred to as Van).
Regarding claims 3, 18, neither (“Lee '581”) nor Lee et al. (“Lee '650”) disclose the processing unit “initiates one of the plurality of presentation modes based on detection of a user proximate to the keypad. In the same field of endeavor, Van teaches (presence/proximity-triggered activation: the system generates a processor initialization or presence detection through cameras or other electromagnetic sensing and in response to a user approaching/touching the keypad ([0063]; an electronic lock, wherein the processing unit initiates one of the plurality of presentation modes based on detection of a user proximate to the keypad [0060]–[0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Van’s proximity/presence detection to initiate Lee’s keypad illumination is combining known elements to yield the predictable result of waking/illuminating the keypad when a user approaches.
Regarding claims 10, 17, neither (“Lee '581”) nor Lee et al. (“Lee '650”) disclose the predefined keypad regions comprise predefined regions of a touch interface.
In the same field of endeavor, Van teaches ([0082] a capacitive keypad surfaces for actuating; [0092] capacitive numerical pads). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Van’s capacitive keypad (touch interface) as a way for substituting/implementing the keypad as a known capacitive touch interface is the use of a known technique with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the system of independent claim 19, and in particular fails to teach or suggest “a computing device… executing an electronic lock application, wherein the electronic lock application includes options for customizing at least one of the plurality of presentation modes,” in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 19.
The closest prior art of record includes Lee (KR '581), Lee et al. (US 2011/0187650 A1), Chiti et al. (US 2023/0287711 A1), and Van Wiemeersch et al. (US 2022/0258695 A1). Lee '581 discloses a digital door lock keypad employing processor-driven multicolor LEDs that display state-dependent color schemes. Lee '650 discloses a keypad apparatus having a plurality of color regions selectively transformable to a plurality of colors via electrical signals. Chiti discloses a multi-unit access-control locking mechanism in which a mobile device and gateway provide credential and key-code management (adjusting code expirations, revoking authorizations) and a GUI displaying unit/area status, with a single multicolor status LED indicating lock status. Van Wiemeersch discloses a biometric wireless vehicle entry keypad paired with a mobile application (app 235) that performs user enrollment/unenrollment and credential management, wherein the keypad LEDs provide fixed, system-driven status indication (e.g., flashing to indicate enrollment-mode entry).
While the cited references disclose multicolor keypad illumination (Lee '581, Lee '650) and mobile- or network-based management of electronic lock credentials and enrollment (Chiti, Van), none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggests an electronic lock application that includes options for customizing at least one of a plurality of presentation modes governing the keypad’s color-illumination behavior. The illumination disclosed in Chiti and Van is fixed, system-driven status indication that is not user-customizable through the respective applications, which are directed to credential and enrollment management rather than to customization of the keypad’s presentation modes. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the cited art to provide the claimed presentation-mode customization, and any such modification would be based upon impermissible hindsight derived from Applicant’s own disclosure.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art is considered relevant, but not used to reject the pending claims.
Chiti et al. (US 2023/0287711 A1): An electronic keypad/lock access-control system with wireless (e.g., BLE) connectivity enabling networked settings/credential updates.
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689