Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230370527 to Xu in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240187374 to Tang et al.
Referring to claim 1, Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-18 a communication method, comprising:
Sending (step 4.3), by a source EES (source EES), first information (EAS discovery request) to a target EES (target EES), wherein the first information comprises information (EAS discovery query filters) about a group of EASs (registered or cached EASs), the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs (registered or cached EASs associated with the source EES), where an EAS serves a first application (Sections 0021, 0031, 0034, 0040, and 0044: an EAS is selected for application traffic). Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filters matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs (claimed “group of EASs”) that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters. Step 4.5: if the source EES discovers the target EASs, the flow continues. Step 4.3: if the source EES does not discover the target EASs, the source EES retrieves a target EES address from ECS. The source EES transmits an EAS discovery request to the target EES. The source EES discovery request includes an EES ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filters obtained in step 4.1.
Receiving (step 4.4), by the source EES, information about at least one group of target EASs (target EASs satisfying the EAS discovery filters) from the target EES, wherein the at least one group of target EASs is determined based on the information about the group of EASs (target EASs satisfying the EAS discovery filters, wherein the EAS discovery filters are obtained in step 4.1 and apply to the registered or cached EASs of the source EES). Step 4.4: the target EES discovers the target EASs (claimed “at least one group of target EASs”) satisfying the EAS discovery filters, and then responds with the discovered target EASs to the source EES. Step 4.5: the source EES responds to the source EAS with the target EASs. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Xu does not disclose … sending, by a source EES, first information to a target EES, wherein the first information comprises information about a group of EASs, the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs, where the plurality of associated EASs serve a first application …
Tang et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0002, 0027, and 0028 wherein one application is served by multiple EASs. Before UE starts to connect to the application, UE discovers the IP address of a suitable EAS, such as the one closest to the UE, so that the traffic can be locally routed to the EAS, and service latency, traffic routing path and user service experience can be optimized. Refer to Sections 0021-0173. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … sending, by a source EES, first information to a target EES, wherein the first information comprises information about a group of EASs, the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs, where the plurality of associated EASs serve a first application … One would have been motivated to do so since if there are a plurality of EASs serving one application, UE can select the EAS closest to the UE to access the application, thereby improving service latency and user service experience.
Referring to claim 2, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein:
The plurality of associated EASs correspond to the source EES. Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filters matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs (claimed “plurality of associated EASs correspond to the source EES”) that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters.
Or, the plurality of associated EASs correspond to the source EES and at least one EES other than
the source EES (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 3, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein the method further comprises:
Sending (step 4.3 and steps 5.1-5.2), by the source EES, the first information (EAS discovery query filters) to an ECS (ECS). Step 4.3: if the source EES does not discover the target EASs, the source EES retrieves a target EES address from an ECS. Specifically at step 5.1: the source EES sends a Retrieve EES request, containing EAS discovery query filters parameters and UE location information or UE identity, EAS ID of the source EAS, and target DNAI, to the ECS in order to identify the target EESs which have an EAS available to serve the UE and satisfies EAS discovery query filters. Step 5.2: The ECS determines target EESs using the parameters of the Retrieve EES request of step 5.1 and the EAS discovery query filters.
Receiving (step 5.3), by the source EES, information about the target EES from the ECS, wherein the target EES is determined based on the first information. Step 5.3: the ECS sends a Retrieve EES response, containing EAS ID of the source EAS, list of target EESs information, to the source EES. The list of target EESs information includes an endpoint for each of the target EESs, wherein each target EES comprises EASs that satisfies EAS discovery query filters. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 4, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein the target EES is a plurality of target EESs (target EESs). Step 5.1: the source EES sends a Retrieve EES request, containing EAS discovery query filters parameters and UE location information or UE identity, EAS ID of the source EAS, and target DNAI, to the ECS in order to identify the target EESs which have an EAS available to serve the UE and satisfies EAS discovery query filters. Step 5.2: The ECS determines target EESs using the parameters of the Retrieve EES request of step 5.1 and the EAS discovery query filters. Step 5.3: the ECS sends a Retrieve EES response, containing EAS ID of the source EAS, list of target EESs information, to the source EES. The list of target EESs information includes an endpoint for each of the target EESs. Sections 0013, 0014, 0029, 0077, 0102, and 0116 discloses “target EES(s)” and “one or more target EESs”. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 6, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein the method further comprises:
Receiving (step 5.3), by the source EES, second information (retrieve EES response) from the ECS, wherein the second information indicates that the plurality of target EESs serve the group of EASs. Step 5.1: the source EES sends a Retrieve EES request, containing EAS discovery query filters parameters and UE location information or UE identity, EAS ID of the source EAS, and target DNAI, to the ECS in order to identify the target EESs which have an EAS available to serve the UE and satisfies EAS discovery query filters. Step 5.2: The ECS determines target EESs using the parameters of the Retrieve EES request of step 5.1 and the EAS discovery query filters. Step 5.3: the ECS sends a Retrieve EES response, containing EAS ID of the source EAS, list of target EESs information, to the source EES. The list of target EESs information includes an endpoint for each of the target EESs, wherein each target EES comprises EASs that satisfies EAS discovery query filters. Each target EES serves the group of EASs since each target EES satisfies the EAS discovery query filters required to serve the group of EASs as indicated by the EAS discovery query filters of the EAS discovery request of steps 4.1 and 4.3 (claimed “the plurality of target EESs serve the group of EASs”). Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 7, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein the method further comprises:
Receiving, by the source EES, the first information from a terminal device (not in reference; claim is in “or” form).
Or, receiving, by the source EES, the first information from one or more EASs (source EAS) in the group of EASs. Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filter matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters. Sections 0008, 0009, 0011, 0023, 0027, and 0035: The source EAS is registered with the source EES, and the source EES also comprises other registered EASs. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 10, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein the first information further comprises information indicating that the plurality of associated EASs in the group of EASs serve the first application (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or wherein the information about the group of EASs comprises at least one of the following: identifiers (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or type information of the plurality of associated EASs (EAS discovery filters, which indicates EASs that satisfy the EAS discovery filters). Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filter matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 11, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 a communication apparatus (source EES), comprising:
At least one processor (processor 1420) coupled to at least one memory (memory 1430) storing instructions, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (processor 1420 executes instructions stored in memory 1430 to perform source EES functions):
Send (step 4.3) first information (EAS discovery request) to a target EES (target EES), wherein the first information comprises information (EAS discovery query filters) about a group of EASs (registered or cached EASs), the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs (registered or cached EASs associated with the source EES), where an EAS serves a first application (Sections 0021, 0031, 0034, 0040, and 0044: an EAS is selected for application traffic). Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filters matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs (claimed “group of EASs”) that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters. Step 4.5: if the source EES discovers the target EASs, the flow continues. Step 4.3: if the source EES does not discover the target EASs, the source EES retrieves a target EES address from ECS. The source EES transmits an EAS discovery request to the target EES. The source EES discovery request includes an EES ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filters obtained in step 4.1.
Receive (step 4.4) information about at least one group of target EASs (target EASs satisfying the EAS discovery filters) from the target EES, wherein the at least one group of target EASs is determined based on the information about the group of EASs (target EASs satisfying the EAS discovery filters, wherein the EAS discovery filters are obtained in step 4.1 and apply to the registered or cached EASs of the source EES). Step 4.4: the target EES discovers the target EASs (claimed “at least one group of target EASs”) satisfying the EAS discovery filters, and then responds with the discovered target EASs to the source EES. Step 4.5: the source EES responds to the source EAS with the target EASs. Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Xu does not disclose … send first information to a target EES, wherein the first information comprises information about a group of EASs, the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs, where the plurality of associated EASs serve a first application …
Tang et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0002, 0027, and 0028 wherein one application is served by multiple EASs. Before UE starts to connect to the application, UE discovers the IP address of a suitable EAS, such as the one closest to the UE, so that the traffic can be locally routed to the EAS, and service latency, traffic routing path and user service experience can be optimized. Refer to Sections 0021-0173. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … send first information to a target EES, wherein the first information comprises information about a group of EASs, the group of EASs comprising a plurality of associated EASs, where the plurality of associated EASs serve a first application … One would have been motivated to do so since if there are a plurality of EASs serving one application, UE can select the EAS closest to the UE to access the application, thereby improving service latency and user service experience.
Referring to claim 12, Xu discloses in Figures 1-18 wherein:
The plurality of associated EASs correspond to the apparatus (source EES). Step 4.1: the source EAS transmits an EAS discovery request to the source EES. The EAS discovery request includes the EAS ID, security credentials, and EAS discovery filter matching its EAS profile. Step 4.2: upon receiving the request, the source EES checks if there exists registered or cached target EASs (claimed “plurality of associated EASs correspond to the source EES”) that can satisfy the requesting EAS discovery query filters.
Or, the plurality of associated EASs correspond to the apparatus and at least one EES other than
the apparatus (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0002-0018 and 0064-0134.
Referring to claim 13, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 14, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection to claim 6.
Referring to claim 17, refer to the rejection to claim 7.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 10.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230370527 to Xu in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240187374 to Tang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250048220 to Pateromichelakis et al.
Referring to claim 5, Xu and Tang et al do not disclose wherein the plurality of target EESs correspond to a same data center.
Pateromichelakis discloses in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0072, 0087, 0091, 0092, and 0103 wherein a plurality of T-EES corresponds to a same EDN (claimed “data center”): an alternate T-EES 518 is in the same EDN as an original T-EES 512, or an alternate T-EES 616 is in the same EDN as an original T-EES. Refer to Sections 0016-0155. An EDN reads on the claimed “data center” since an EDN is a data center for processing edge data network communication; the claimed does not specifically define a claimed “data center”. Also, the pending application 18/899,664 discloses in the Specification in Sections 0122, 0153, 0188, 0197, and 0251 wherein an EDN corresponds to a data center. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the plurality of target EESs correspond to a same data center. One would have been motivated to do so to include the plurality of target EESs in the same data center to simplify the system by allowing data communications from the same data center.
Referring to claim 15, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230239343 to Ge et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0135-0146, 0157, 0175, 0182, 0187, 0198, and 0208 wherein a source EES associated with the source EAS discovers, by using the ECS, a target EES corresponding to a current terminal location, and the source EES needs to request the target EES for information about the target EAS that needs to be accessed by the application in the terminal. Refer to Sections 0064-0359.
U.S. Publication No. 20240121740 to Takakura et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0051-0065 and 0084-0085 wherein an ECS attempts to identify one or more EESs in response to a request from UE, or an ECS attempts to identify a T-EES upon request from a S-EES during edge application mobility or application context relocation. Refer to Sections 0036-0129.
U.S. Publication No. 20230269300 to Roy et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0098, 0113-0119, and 0139 wherein EEC sends an EAS relocation request to the S-EES, wherein the request contains the EAS or a list of EAS(s) and a UE identifier; a T-EES then instantiates the T-EAS; once the T-EAS is ready, the T-EAS endpoint address is relayed back to the S-EES which provides to the S-EAS. Refer to Sections 0023-0140.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
July 18, 2026