DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 214544506 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses an adjustable device system (mobile photographing accessory of fig. 1) comprising:
a main housing (supporting connecting plate structure 4 of fig. 2) comprising at least one lens (A of fig. 3) defining a focal axis (shown in the examiners illustration below);
a base (telescoping rod 41 of fig. 2) coupled to and extending from the main housing (illustrated in fig. 2);
a device holder (clamping structure 2 of fig. 1) coupled to the base (4), the device holder (2) configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone 1 of fig. 1) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 1); and
an adjuster (fixing holes 21 of fig. 2) comprising at least one of:
a track (moving groove 32) extending along the base (4), wherein the device holder (2) slidably engages the track (32) such that a position of the device holder is adjustable relative to the at least one lens in a direction generally aligned with the focal axis (illustrated in fig. 2); or a support configured to adjust an orientation of the focal axis (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses wherein the main housing (2) comprises a main housing body and a lens holder (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 3 below), wherein the at least one lens is held by the lens holder (shown in fig. 3), and wherein the lens holder is adjustable between a retracted configuration and an extended configuration relative to the main housing body (pg. 4 5th para.; the telescopic rod 41 on the rotating supporting column 43 pushes the optical lens structure 5 rises to the height of the mobile phone).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses wherein the device holder (2) is slidable on the track (32) between at least a first position (closed/together) and a second position (open/ spread further apart), wherein the device holder (2) is closer to the at least one lens (5) in the second position than in the first position (based on the orientation of the support arm 43, if the device holder 2 is aligned parallel to the telescopic rod 41 (because it is rotatable) then the holder is closer to the lens in the open/spread apart position).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses wherein the base (41) is pivotably coupled to the main housing (pg. 4 3rd para.; a fixing end 42 and a rotating supporting column 43; one side of the connecting plate structure 4 is movably connected with a rotating supporting column 43), and wherein the main housing (43) is movable relative to the base between a plurality of designated projection orientations (pg. 4 3rd. para.; a fixing end 42 and a rotating supporting column 43; one side of the connecting plate structure 4 is movably connected with a rotating supporting column 43, the top of the rotating supporting column fixedly connected with of the telescopic rod 41).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses wherein the plurality of designated projection orientations (pg. 4 3rd para.; the top of the rotating supporting column fixedly connected with of the telescopic rod 41…is rotatable through a plurality of angles) comprises a substantially horizontal projection orientation in which the main housing is substantially perpendicular to the base and an intermediate projection orientation in which there is an acute angle between the main housing and the base (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column…further, illustrated in fig. 2 the support column 4 can be rotated through a wide range of angles).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses wherein the support (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 3 below) comprises a main housing support adapted for selectively supporting the main housing in the plurality of designated projection orientations (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column…further, illustrated in fig. 2 the support column 4 can be rotated through a wide range of angles).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses wherein the main housing support (41) is configured to collapse relative to the main housing when the main housing is placed in a collapsed orientation relative to the base (the telescopic rod comprises concentric tubular sections designed to slide into one another).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses wherein the support comprises a stand coupled to the base (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 3), the stand being movable between at least a first position (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 3, the stand is coupled to the base and the main housing…the main housing is able to rotate through a wide range of angles), in which the base is oriented at a first angle (horizontal or 0 degrees) relative to a support surface on which the base is placed, and a second position (vertical or 90 degrees), in which the base is oriented at a second angle relative to the support surface, the second angle being greater than the first angle (90 > 0).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses wherein the adjuster (21) comprises both the track (32) and the support (illustrated in figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses wherein the main housing (4) further comprises an adjustable post (telescopic rod 41) configured to manipulate an elevation of the at least one lens relative to a support surface on which the base is placed (the telescopic rod comprises concentric tubular sections designed to slide into one another).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asaga (JP2005051600A).
Regarding claim 17, Asaga discloses a device projection system (projector 100 of fig. 4(A)) and a light board system (screen 104), the device projection system comprising at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A)) and a device holder (rotating shaft 10C of fig. 4(A));
wherein the device holder (10C) is configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone body 10 of fig. 4(A)) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A));
wherein the device projection system (100) is configured to transmit an image generated by a display of a device held by the holder through the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 4(A)); and
.
wherein the light board system comprises a light-transmissive drawing surface (screen 104 of fig. 4(A)) through which the image can be transmitted (pg. 5 4th para.; image on the screen plate 104 may be viewed from either the front or back side).
Regarding claim 18, Asaga discloses wherein the light board system and the device projection system can be positioned independently relative to each other to manipulate the image projected to the light board system by the device projection system (illustrated in figs. 4(A) - 4(E)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 214544506 U).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses a device holder (clamping structure 2 of fig. 1) coupled to the base (4), the device holder (2) configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone 1 of fig. 1) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 1); and an adjuster (fixing holes 21 of fig. 2) comprising at least one of: a track (moving groove 32) extending along the base (4), wherein the device holder (2) slidably engages the track (32) such that a position of the device holder is adjustable relative to the at least one lens in a direction generally aligned with the focal axis (illustrated in fig. 2); or a support configured to adjust an orientation of the focal axis (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column).
Yang fails to teach wherein the device is configured to support a tablet computer; however, lacking any criticality, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the device of Yang making the device holder larger in order to accommodate a tablet computer because the tablet computer is easier for the user to see without having to squint his/her eyes.
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the device holder is configured to hold the mobile phone in a substantially vertical display orientation and a substantially horizontal display orientation (illustrated in figs. 1-3).
Yang fails to teach wherein the device is configured to support a tablet computer; however, lacking any criticality, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the device of Yang making the device holder larger in order to accommodate a tablet computer because the tablet computer is easier for the user to see without having to squint his/her eyes.
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses adjustable device system comprising:
a main housing (supporting connecting plate structure 4 of fig. 2) comprising at least one lens (A of fig. 3) defining a focal axis (shown in the examiners illustration below);
a base (telescoping rod 41 of fig. 2) coupled to and extending from the main housing (illustrated in fig. 2);
a device holder (clamping structure 2 of fig. 1) coupled to the base (4), the device holder (2) configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone 1 of fig. 1) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 1);
the device holder is adjustable relative to the at least one lens in a direction generally aligned with the focal axis (illustrated in fig. 2); or a support configured to adjust an orientation of the focal axis (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column); the lens holder (2) is configured to be adjustably positioned within the main housing to selectively adjust a focus of the at least one lens (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column).
Yang fails to teach wherein when an image is transmitted from the display of the device held by the device holder. Yang teaches a photographing lens/camera lens; however, a reversed camera lens is a projection lens.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the device holder (2) and the lens holder (5) are configured to be independently adjusted (the device holder can adjust horizontally to accommodate the mobile device and the lens holder can be adjusted vertically to place the lens over the camera portion of the mobile device and can rotated about the central axis of the main housing).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses wherein the main housing support (41) is configured to collapse relative to the main housing when the main housing is placed in a collapsed orientation (the telescopic rod comprises concentric tubular sections designed to slide into one another) and at least one designation projection orientation (the telescopic rod comprises concentric tubular sections designed to slide into one another).
Yang fails to teach wherein when an image is transmitted from the display of the device held by the device holder. Yang teaches a photographing lens/camera lens; however, a reversed camera lens is a projection lens.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 214544506 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asaga (JP2005051600A).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses a device holder (clamping structure 2 of fig. 1) coupled to the base (4), the device holder (2) configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone 1 of fig. 1) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 1); and an adjuster (fixing holes 21 of fig. 2) comprising at least one of: a track (moving groove 32) extending along the base (4), wherein the device holder (2) slidably engages the track (32) such that a position of the device holder is adjustable relative to the at least one lens in a direction generally aligned with the focal axis (illustrated in fig. 2); or a support configured to adjust an orientation of the focal axis (pg. 2 8th para.; the rotating supporting column and the moving block can be moved by the connecting plate structure; the optical lens structure can be rotated by rotating the supporting column).
Yang fails to teach a light board system adapted for displaying an image generated by a display of a device held by the holder; wherein the light board system comprises a light-transmissive drawing surface through which the image can be transmitted; and wherein the light board system and the device projection system can be positioned independently relative to each other to manipulate the image projected to the light board system by the device projection system.
Asaga discloses a light board system (illustrated in fig. 4(A)) adapted for displaying an image generated by a display (projector 100 of fig. 4(A)) of a device held by the holder (extendable arms 102 of fig. 4(A)); wherein the light board system comprises a light-transmissive drawing surface (screen 104 of fig. 4(A)) through which the image can be transmitted (pg. 5 4th para.; image on the screen plate 104 may be viewed from either the front or back side); and wherein the light board system and the device projection system can be positioned independently relative to each other to manipulate the image projected to the light board system by the device projection system (illustrated in figs. 4(A) - 4(E)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify device holder of Yang with the adjustable screen of Asaga in order for the user to easily view an image that is on the mobile device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaga (JP2005051600A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 214544506 U).
Regarding claim 19, Asaga discloses a projection system (projector 100 of fig. 4(A)); a light board system (screen 104), the device projection system comprising at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A)) and a device holder (rotating shaft 10C of fig. 4(A)); wherein the device holder (10C) is configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone body 10 of fig. 4(A)) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A)).
Asaga fails to teach wherein the device projection system holds the at least one lens in a selectively adjustable configuration so that a focus of the at least one lens can be selectively adjusted.
Yang discloses wherein the device holds the at least one lens (illustrated in fig. 4) in a selectively adjustable configuration so that a focus of the at least one lens can be selectively adjusted (pg. 4 5th para.; focusing end 52 can adjust the focal length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Asaga with the adjustable lens of Yang in order to increase the versatility of the projection system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaga (JP2005051600A) and Yang et al. (CN 214544506 U) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zhan et al. (CN 104108350A).
Regarding claim 20, Asaga as modified by Yang discloses a projection system (projector 100 of fig. 4(A)); a light board system (screen 104), the device projection system comprising at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A)) and a device holder (rotating shaft 10C of fig. 4(A)); wherein the device holder (10C) is configured to hold at least one of a mobile phone (mobile phone body 10 of fig. 4(A)) or a tablet generally in optical alignment with the at least one lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4(A)).
Asaga as modified by Yang fails to teach wherein the light board system comprises a diffusive panel positioned between the drawing surface and the at least one lens, and wherein the light board system further comprises a backlight configured to illuminate a region between the drawing surface and the diffusive panel.
Zhan discloses wherein the light board system comprises a diffusive panel (optical unit 29 in a ground glass diffuser; para. 0097) positioned between the drawing surface (screen) and the at least one lens (projector lens 25 of fig. 5), and wherein the light board system further comprises a backlight (light from within the projector 25 of fig. 5) configured to illuminate a region between the drawing surface and the diffusive panel (para. 0097; optical unit (29) set in the portable projector 25 and in the optical path between the optical screen 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Asaga and Yang with the diffuser of Zhan in order to maintain consistent brightness and color perception across different viewing angles, reducing eye strain and making the image appear more natural.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882