DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harvey et al. US 2024/0338602 (“Harvey”).
Harvey discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, data descriptive of operation of equipment (e.g., [0049], [0055]);
storing, by the at least one processor, the data in a data store (e.g., Fig. 2, [0049], [0055]);
building, by the at least one processor, a digital twin of the equipment using the data (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, [0049], [0055]), the building comprising:
training at least one machine learning (ML) model on at least a portion of the data in the data store (e.g., Fig. 1 #125, “Training Process”); and
building a model accessible by a user interface (UI) and comprising at least one parameter determined by the trained ML model (e.g., Fig. 1 #125, [0058]-[0059]), wherein the model includes at least one user-variable input (e.g., [0043], [0105]); and
simulating, by the at least one processor, operation of the equipment using the digital twin in response to receiving an entry in the at least one user-variable input (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, Fig. 12, [0043], [0058]-[0059]).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the data is received from at least one of the equipment, one or more sensors, one or more energy meters, and one or more controllers (e.g., [0049], [0055]).
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-processing, by the at least one processor, the data before the training (e.g., [0057], [0102]-[104]).
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the pre-processing comprises at least one of:
identifying one or more zero values;
converting at least a portion of the data to a numeric format;
removing at least one data column with a missing data count above a threshold;
filling in at least one missing data entry with dummy data (e.g., [0103]);
performing one-hot encoding for categorical data; and
summing at least two data entries (e.g., [0057], [0102]-[0104]).
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising evaluating, by the at least one processor, performance of the ML model before the building of the model accessible by the UI (e.g., [0058]-[0059]).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the evaluating comprises at least one of:
using a test dataset to run the trained ML model;
calculating mean squared error of the trained ML model;
calculating an R-squared score for the trained ML model;
calculating mean absolute error of the trained ML model; and
evaluating feature importance for features within the data (e.g., [0043]).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the building of the model accessible by the UI comprises building a 3D model of the equipment (e.g., [0094]).
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the simulating comprises running the trained ML model with the entry as an input (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, Fig. 12, [0043]).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the simulating comprises at least one of updating the UI with results of the simulating (e.g., Fig. 14) and adjusting an operational input to the equipment based on the results of the simulating (e.g., Fig. 13).
11. A system comprising:
at least one processor (e.g., Fig. 2); and
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform processing (e.g., Fig. 2) comprising:
storing, by the at least one processor, data descriptive of operation of equipment in a data store (e.g., [0049], [0055]);
building a digital twin of the equipment using the data (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, [0049], [0055]), the building comprising:
training at least one machine learning (ML) model on at least a portion of the data in the data store (e.g., Fig. 1 #125, “Training Process”); and
building a model accessible by a user interface (UI) and comprising at least one parameter determined by the trained ML model (e.g., Fig. 1 #125, [0058]-[0059]), wherein the model includes at least one user-variable input (e.g., [0043], [0105]); and
simulating operation of the equipment using the digital twin in response to receiving an entry in the at least one user-variable input (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, Fig. 12, [0043], [0058]-[0059]).
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the data is received from at least one of the equipment, one or more sensors, one or more energy meters, and one or more controllers (e.g., [0049], [0055]).
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the processing further comprises pre-processing the data before the training (e.g., [0057], [0102]-[104]).
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the pre-processing comprises at least one of:
identifying one or more zero values;
converting at least a portion of the data to a numeric format;
removing at least one data column with a missing data count above a threshold;
filling in at least one missing data entry with dummy data (e.g., [0103]);
performing one-hot encoding for categorical data; and
summing at least two data entries (e.g., [0057], [0102]-[0104]).
16. The system of claim 11, wherein the processing further comprises evaluating performance of the ML model before the building of the model accessible by the UI (e.g., [0058]-[0059]).
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the evaluating comprises at least one of:
using a test dataset to run the trained ML model;
calculating mean squared error of the trained ML model;
calculating an R-squared score for the trained ML model;
calculating mean absolute error of the trained ML model; and
evaluating feature importance for features within the data (e.g., [0043]).
18. The system of claim 11, wherein the building of the model accessible by the UI comprises building a 3D model of the equipment (e.g., [0094]).
19. The system of claim 11, wherein the simulating comprises running the trained ML model with the entry as an input (e.g., Fig. 1 #110, Fig. 12, [0043]).
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the simulating comprises at least one of updating the UI with results of the simulating (e.g., Fig. 14) and adjusting an operational input to the equipment based on the results of the simulating (e.g., Fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey et al. in view of Ng et al. US 2024/0329626 (“Ng”).
Harvey discloses that the ML model comprises regression (e.g., [0049]), but does not disclose that the ML model comprises a random forest regression model, as recited in claims 5 and 15.
Ng (in combination with Harvey) discloses:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the ML model comprises a random forest regression model (e.g., [0060]).
15. The system of claim 11, wherein the ML model comprises a random forest regression model (e.g., [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harvey with Ng since Ng teaches that random forest can be used to effectively to train a machine learning model (e.g., [0060]).
Conclusion
/RYAN A JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
10/07/26