DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group III in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant canceled claims directed to groups I and II.
Newly submitted claims 116 and 117 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Group III claims 57-59, 65-67 and 104-115, drawn to a pack of surgical instruments, classified in 606/211
Group IV, claims 116-117 drawn to a surgical method of organizing a pack 606/53
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions III and IV are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus can be used without identifying the order of instruments.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The groups require different searches such as different text-based searches.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 116 and 117 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 112 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 19, the claim reads “at a second hand.” This should read “at a second end.” Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 67 be found allowable, claim 109 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 65, 104 and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 65 the claims recite “a hemostat” and “a forceps” it is unclear if these are the same as “at least one hemostat; at least one forceps” in independent claim 57. Claim 65 should read “wherein the at least one hemostat comprises… the at least one forceps comprises.”
Likewise claim 104 claims “an Allis forceps” making it unclear if this is an additional forceps then required in claim 57.
Likewise claim 105 claims “a hemostat” making it unclear if this an additional hemostat than required in claim 57.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 57-59, 65,105, 108, 110 and 111 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramkhelawan et al. (US Pub 2013/0108503) in view of Bartels et al. (US Pub 2014/0088639).
With respect to claim 57, Ramkhelawan discloses a preorganized pack of surgical instruments (See figs 3E-G below) comprising: a package (fig 3); at least one hemostat (paragraph 43); at least one forceps (paragraph 43).
With respect to claim 58, Ramkhelawan wherein the package comprises: a semi-rigid material (paragraph 61); plurality of tabs (fig 3, 368) ;the plurality of tabs being cut out from a portion of the semi-rigid material (fig 3);one or more openings (fig 3, 350) in the plurality of tabs; wherein the plurality of tabs are bent away from the semi-rigid material (fig 3G) and the one or more openings are configured to secure at least a portion of a surgical instrument (fig 3G, R).
With respect to claim 59, Ramkhelawan wherein the plurality of tabs are configured such that a first surgical instrument is secured by one or more openings (fig 3G); and a second surgical instrument is secured by one or more different openings (fig 3E); and wherein at least a portion of the second surgical instrument is located above the first surgical instrument (fig 3E, shows the instruments are stacked and paragraph 63 slanted relationship).
With respect to claim 105, Ramkhelawan wherein the second surgical instrument is a hemostat (paragraph 43).
With respect to claim 107, Ramkhelawan wherein the second surgical instrument is a ring blade holder (paragraph 43, clips and retractors and ring handles).
With respect to claim 108, Ramkhelawan where preorganized pack of surgical instruments comprises at least one multi-function surgical instrument (paragraph 43, forceps for many functions and procedures).
With respect to claim 110, Ramkhelawan further comprising a curette (paragraph 43).
With respect to claim 111, Ramkhelawan further comprises a palate retractor (paragraph 43, retractors for facial and dental procedures).
With respect to claim 57, Ramkhelawan discloses the claimed invention except for wherein one of the hemostat and the forceps are readily separatable into two pieces; wherein the at least one hemostat and the at least one forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts.
Bartels discloses forceps or hemostats (abstract and fig 3 below) that readily separatable into two pieces (title); wherein the at least one hemostat and the at least one forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts (abstract “pinless joint”) to allow for easier assembly and disassembly to clean the devices (paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ramkhelawan to include wherein one of the hemostat and the forceps are readily separatable into two pieces; wherein the at least one hemostat and the at least one forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts in view of Bartels in order to allow for easier assembly and disassembly to clean the devices.
With respect to claim 65, Ramkhelawan in view of Bartels discloses comprises: a hemostat comprising a first shank and a second shank (Ramkhelawan (fig 1A) and Bartels (fig 3, 22 and 21) discloses hemostats with a first and second shank) connectable by a releasable connector (Bartels discloses a releasable connector (fig 3, 31)); a forceps (paragraph 43 of Ramkhelawan) comprising a first shank and a second shank (fig 1A of Ramkhelawan) connectable by a releasable connector (fig 3m 31 of Bartels); and a multi-functional surgical instrument comprising at least two of a mirror, a spatula and a retractor (paragraph 43 of Ramkhelawan discloses multifunction tools including a spatula or retractor).
Claim(s) 66, 67 and 109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramkhelawan et al in view of Bartels et al as applied to claim 65 above, and further in view of Milo (US Patent 10,548,584).
With respect to claim 66, Ramkhelawan in view Bartels discloses a ring blade holder (paragraph 43 of Ramkhelawan, ring handled retractors) and discloses many different instruments can be provided for different procedures (paragraph 43) but does not specifical disclose suction tongue blade.
Milo discloses a suction tongue blade (abstract and fig 4) to allow for removing of fumes during procedures (Col. 2, ll. 63-66).
With respect to claims 67 and 109 (which are identical) Milo discloses wherein the suction tongue blade has a suction inlet (fig 4, 422; and wherein the suction inlet is located along a centerline of the suction tongue blade (fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of Ramkhelawan in view Bartels to include a suction tongue blade in view of Milo in order to allow for removing of fumes during procedures.
Claim(s) 104 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramkhelawan et al in view of Bartels et al as applied to claim 59 above, and further in view of Lolagne (US Patent 5,865,835).
With respect to claim 104, Ramkhelawan in view of Bartels discloses the forceps can be of various types (paragraph 43) but does not specifically disclose an Allis Forceps.
Lolagne discloses a forceps being an Allis forceps (col. 2, ll. 22) to clamp tissue (col. 2, ll. 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of Ramkhelawan in view Bartels to include the Forceps being Allis forceps in view of Lolagne in order to clamp tissue.
Claim(s) 106 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramkhelawan et al in view of Bartels et al as applied to claim 59 above, and further in view of Canan (US Patent 3,162,191).
With respect to claim 106, Ramkhelawan in view Bartels discloses many different instruments can be provided for different procedures (paragraph 43) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first surgical instrument is a multi-function surgical instrument comprising a spatula shaped elevator, a mirror and a retractor.
Canan discloses a first surgical instrument is a multi-function surgical instrument (fig 1) comprising a spatula shaped elevator, a mirror and a retractor (col. 1, ll. 27-29) to be a versatile instrument that is better adapted to the needs of the profession (col. 1, ll. 30-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of Ramkhelawan in view Bartels to include wherein the first surgical instrument is a multi-function surgical instrument comprising a spatula shaped elevator, a mirror and a retractor in view of Canan in order to be a versatile instrument that is better adapted to the needs of the profession.
Claim(s) 112-115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramkhelawan et al. (US Pub 2013/0108503) in view of Bartels et al. (US Pub 2014/0088639) in view of Milo (US Patent 10,548,584) and in view of Canan (US Patent 3,162,191).
With respect to claim 112, Ramkhelawan discloses a preorganized pack of surgical instruments comprising: a package (fig 3); at least one non-metallic (paragraph 39, could be made from ceramics) multi-function hemostat (paragraph 43);wherein the multi-function hemostat has a first shank (Fig 1, S1) and a second shank (fig 1, S2); at least one non-metallic (paragraph 39) multi-function forceps (paragraph 43); wherein the non-metallic multi-function forceps comprise a first shank (fig 1, S1) and a second shank (FIG 1, S2); at least one non-metallic (paragraph 39) ring holder (paragraph 43 ring holders).
With respect to claim 113, Ramkhelawan discloses wherein the package comprises a plurality of retention tabs (fig 3, 368) configured to secure one or more surgical instruments (fig 3E).
With respect to claim 114, Ramkhelawan discloses wherein the package wherein package comprises a semi-rigid material (paragraph 61) and one or more retention tabs are cut from the semi-rigid material and bent into an upright position (fig 3F).
With respect to claim 115, Ramkhelawan discloses wherein at least one of the surgical instruments are located at least partially on top of a second one of the surgical instruments (fig 3E and paragraph 63, organized slanted relationship).
Ramkhelawan discloses the claimed invention except for the hemostat and forceps being separable into two pieces wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function hemostat and the second shank of the multi-function hemostat are configured to be a retractor; wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function forceps and the second shank of the multi-function forceps are configured to be a retractor wherein the at least one multi-function hemostat and the at least one multi-function forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts and Ramkhelawan does not disclose at least one non-metallic suction tongue blade and Ramkhelawan does not disclose at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument; wherein the at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument comprises a mirror located at a first end and curved hook at a second end.
Bartels discloses a hemostat or forceps being separable into two pieces (Fig 2) wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function hemostat and the second shank of the multi-function hemostat are configured to be a retractor (end can be used to retract if held); wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function forceps and the second shank of the multi-function forceps are configured to be a retractor (end can be used to retract if held) wherein the at least one multi-function hemostat and the at least one multi-function forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts (abstract, pin-less) to allow for easier assembly and disassembly to clean the devices (paragraph 4).
Milo discloses disclose at least one non-metallic (col. 3, ll. 60) suction tongue blade (fig 4) to allow for removing of fumes during procedures (Col. 2, ll. 63-66).
Canan discloses at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument (fig 1); wherein the at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument comprises a mirror (col. 1, ll. 29) located at a first end and curved hook (col. 1, ll. 29, retractor) at a second end to be a versatile instrument that is better adapted to the needs of the profession (col. 1, ll. 30-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pack of Ramkhelawan to include the hemostat and forceps being separable into two pieces wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function hemostat and the second shank of the multi-function hemostat are configured to be a retractor; wherein when separated, at least one of the first shank of the multi-function forceps and the second shank of the multi-function forceps are configured to be a retractor wherein the at least one multi-function hemostat and the at least one multi-function forceps are devoid of rivets, screws or bolts in view of Bartels in order to allow for easier assembly and disassembly to clean the devices and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pack of Ramkhelawan to include at least one non-metallic suction tongue blade in view of Milo in order to allow for removing of fumes during procedures and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pack of Ramkhelawan to include at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument; wherein the at least one multi-function tri-view surgical instrument comprises a mirror located at a first end and curved hook at a second end in view of Canan in order be a versatile instrument that is better adapted to the needs of the profession.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2323183 A disclose a forceps that is separable and used as a retractor
US 20090317002 A1 discloses a pack including hemostats, forceps and retractors
US 20190133573 A1 discloses a packaging for hemostats and retractors in kits
US 20210248923 A1 discloses a pack including hemostats, forceps and retractors, mirrors and suction devices
US 20120171637 A1 discloses a multifunction tool having a mirror and hook
US 20050186536 A1 discloses a separable forceps
US 20100239635 A1 discloses a pack including hemostats, forceps and retractors
US 20040093020 A1 discloses a separable forceps
US 20250026522 A1 discloses a pack including hemostats, forceps and retractors, mirrors and suction devices
US 8152834 B2 discloses a separable forceps
US 3265069 A discloses a separable forceps
/S.J.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773