Detail Action
Claims 1-14 submitted on 9/27/2024 are pending for examination.
Applicants’ election on 8/12/2026 without traverse of group I (claims 1-9) directed to a E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects,
in their response against the restriction requirement of 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-14 comprise non elected subjected are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 are for examination. Election made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9//27/2024, 9//10/2025 and 2//20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the IDS statement.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1, 2-9 (depends on claim 1) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 1 is indefinite in reciting “E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin”, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin” make the claims unclear because of following reason:
It is unclear what is E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin. Is it recombinant human microplasmin or It is E.coli expressing a recombinant human microplasmin.
Correction required.
Claim 1 is indefinite in reciting “surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects” make the claims unclear because of following reason:
It is unclear what is surface residues of the catalytic domain. Is it Surface residue of the E. coli or that of recombinant human microplasmin. If it meant to be surface residues of the catalytic domain is the Surface residue of recombinant human microplasmin or human microplasmin than it make no sense because it unclear what it mean surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin. And also makes the claim rendered vague and indefinite for the recitations of "surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects". It is unclear if each of the argued "product by process steps" are intended in the alternative, are all required, or are conditional in nature .
Correction required.
Claim 2 is indefinite in reciting “the surface residues of the catalytic domain that are changed with the Alanine scanning mutagenesis method in the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin are respectively shown as loops 1-6” for the following reason:
It is unclear the recited loops belong to what the sequence of human microplasmin. To designate the loops The Sequence NO; of the human microplasmin need to defined with a sequence of the wild-type human microplasmin.
Correction required.
.
Claim 3 is indefinite in reciting “Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala” make the claims unclear because without Sequence Identifier or SEQ ID NO, Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala are undefined. Need SEQ ID NO: of human microplasmin polypeptide. Correction required.
Claim 3 is indefinite in reciting “Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala” make the claim unclear because It is unclear whether mutation comprise all of Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala or at least one of Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala . Correction required.
.
Claim 3 is indefinite in reciting “the catalytic domain after mutation as: Gly739Ala, Arg582Ala, Met585Ala, Lys607Ala, Phe587Ala, Ser608Ala, Arg610Ala, Glu641Ala, Pro642Ala” make the claims unclear as claim 3 lack antecedent basis. Claim 3 depends on claim 1; and claim 1 does not recite any Sequence Identifier or SEQ ID NO: of human microplasmin
Correction required.
Claim 6 is indefinite in reciting “the human recombinant microplasmin” make indefinite as claim 3 lack antecedent basis. Claim 6 depends on claim 1; and claim 1 does not recite human recombinant microplasmin. Correction required.
Claim Rejections, 35 U.S.C 112(a) 1st Paragraph
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It is noted that MPEP 2111.01 states that "[d]uring examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." In this case, in light of the specification, the examiner has broadly interpreted the claims by reciting “E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects ( claims 1, 3-9) or recombinant human microplasmin of claim 1, wherein the surface residues of the catalytic domain that are changed with the Alanine scanning mutagenesis method in the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin are respectively shown as loops 1-6, among them a nucleotide sequence of the loop 1 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 3 and an amino acid sequence of the loop 1 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 4; a nucleotide sequence of the loop 2 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 5 and an amino acid sequence of the loop 2 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 6; a nucleotide sequence of the loop 3 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 7 and an amino acid sequence of the loop 3 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 8; a nucleotide sequence of the loop 4 is shown as cagggtgac and an amino acid sequence of the loop 4 is shown as QGD; a nucleotide sequence of the loop 5 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 9 and an amino acid sequence of the loop 5 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 10; a nucleotide sequence of the loop 6 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 11 and an amino acid sequence of the loop 6 is shown as SEQ ID NO: 12 “ recombinant human microplasmin having any structure or having the loop of SEQ ID NO: 4, 6, 8 , 10 and 12 changed of wild-type human micropsmin hang any structure to rest of the wild-type sequence having specific activity of dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects. Therefore in light of the specification, claims are broadly interpreted to comprise any recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects.
The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has recently held that a "written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 18221, at *23, quoting Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993). To fully describe a genus of genetic material, which is a chemical compound, applicants must (1) fully describe at least one species of the claimed genus sufficient to represent said genus whereby a skilled artisan, in view of the prior art, could predict the structure of other species encompassed by the claimed genus and (2) identify the common characteristics of the claimed molecules, e.g., structure, physical and/or chemical characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or a combination of these (paraphrased from Enzo Biochemical).University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. (69 USPQ2d 1886 (2004)) specifically points to the applicability of both Lilly and Enzo Biochemical to methods of using products, wherein said products lack adequate written description. While in University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. the methods were held to lack written description because not a single example of the product used in the claimed methods was described, the same analysis applies wherein the product, used in the claimed methods, must have adequate written description (see Enzo paraphrased above).
There is no structure-function correlation with regard to the members of the genus of recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects and having any function having specified activity recited in the claims. Therefore one of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that applicants were in possession of the claimed invention.
The genus of recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus while avoiding α2-Antiplasmin inhibition and bleeding side effects in the claimed invention is an extremely large structurally and functionally variable genus. An argument can be made that any or more of the gene of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the parent application 17/709403 for coding wild-type human can be used to find appropriate genes to modify the human microplasmin an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method. However, the art clearly teaches there is a practical limits to predict function of a polypeptide based structural homology:
A. Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that "Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, and page 105).
B. Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340,) also highlight the difficulties associated with "Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure": "To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground", closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein's role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1).
C. This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function and many functionally similar proteins will have little or no structural homology to disclosed proteins. For example, proteins having similar structure have different activities (structure does not always correlate to function); Witkowski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999) teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a beta -ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates beta-ketoacyl synthase activity. The art also teaches that functionally similar molecules have different structures; Kisselev L., (Structure, 2002, Vol. 10: 8-9) teach that polypeptide release factors in prokaryotes and eukaryotes have same function but different structures.
As stated above, no information beyond the characterization of a few species; such as gene of SEQ ID NO: 1 gene of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the parent application 17/709403 for coding wild-type human can be used to find appropriate genes to modify the human microplasmin an Alanine scanning mutagenesis has been provided by the applicants’, which would indicate that they had the possession of the invention of claims 1-9. The claimed genera of genus of recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method having any function having specified activity recited in the claims have widely variable structures and associated functions. As it is discussed above, a minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function, since, the specification provided no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed. Furthermore, "Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed ,genus or how to identify their common structural features" (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895). A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the .gene does (function), rather what it is (structure), see University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, thus above claims lack adequate written description.
Applicants' are referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, as the disclosure is not enabling the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin of claim 1 as a thrombolytic agent, or a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form thereof for treating any diseases related to thromboembolism-related disease.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required, are summarized in re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988) [ Ex parte Forman [230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1986)]. The Wands factors are: (a) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (b) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (c) the presence or absence of working example, (d) the nature of the invention, (e) the state of the prior art, (f) the relative skill of those in the art, (g) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (h) the breadth of the claim.
It is neither taught nor any data is provided for using or administering to the mammal any therapeutically effective amount of E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin for the treatment of any of the diseases or disorders associated thromboembolism. There is no evidence presented that any E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin is associated with any of the known diseases or disorders associated E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin or can be treated by administering any c E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin of any amount. Without such a data or evidence, using pharmaceutical composition comprising E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin, as potential drug for treatment for any disorder or disease associated with it or by using any pharmaceutical composition comprising any E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin one of skill in art is not enabled to treat any diseases or disorders associated thromboembolism. Given the lack of direction or guidance and the nature of the invention, obtaining such pharmaceutical composition comprising any E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin for treating thromboembolism-related diseases for one of skill in the art would be highly unpredictable. This is because the polypeptide like E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin when associated with a particular disease or disorder would be expressed differentially. Manipulating or controlling these levels depends upon the disease or disorder and may not always be controlled by supplementing with such a E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin composition. Further, no guidance in provided, pertaining to the fate of the administrated polypeptide in vivo.
Since it is not routine in the art to engage in de novo experimentation to prepare numerous compositions where the expectation "of success is unpredictable", the skilled artisan would require additional guidance, specific to individual disorder or disease, in order to make and use any therapeutically effective pharmaceutically acceptable dosage of E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin compositions in a manner reasonably commensurate with the scope of the claims. Without such guidance, the experimentation left to those skilled in the art is undue.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
According to MPEP 2143:"Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictableresults;(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel."
Claims 1, 3-9,are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over D1: Lin et al. ( US2010/0144622 in view of Kaur et al. ( PLOS one, 2019, pp 1-18)); and Yan et al. ( Nature Research, 2020, pp 1-12).
/0144622) in view of Kaur et al. (2019); and further in view of Yang et al. (2020).
Lin teaches recombinant microplasmin that is expressed in E.coli (0015, 0042, examples), has thrombolytic activity (p.1), biologically active ( 0011), Pharmaceutically active ( 0073). Lin teaches the microplasmin for pharmaceutical use in thrombolytic therapy (0011, 0006).
Lin does not teach the recombinant microplasmin wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis, nor the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin with the claimed half-life nor resulting in inefficient clot dissolution.
Kaur discloses microplasmin has a short half-life in vivo, resulting in inefficient clot dissolution and suggests extending the half-life of therapeutic recombinant microplasmim through PEGylation (abstract). Kaur teaches the resulting microplasmin has a significantly enhanced functional half-life (abstract) of 5 – 10 minutes (Table 5), which falls in the claimed range of 2.75 – 28.5 minutes of instant claim 5. At the time the claims instant application were filed, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to PEGylate the therapeutic microplasmin of Lin for the desired effects of extended half-life and improved thrombolytic therapy as disclosed by Kaur.
Regarding claim 3, Lin does not teach the microplasmin having the claimed alanine substitutions. However, Yang teaches a microplasmin having an F587A (Phe587Ala) mutation wherein the mutation affords the best catalytic efficiency and avoidance of alpha 2 antiplasmin inhibition, which are disclosed to be necessary for therapeutic applications (Discussion). In this regard, when following the teachings of Lin to make biologically active recombinant microplasmin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by Yang to incorporate the F587A mutation, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective and biologically active recombinant microplasmin of Lin.
Yang teaches that such inhibition is necessary in therapeutic applications (Discussion). In this regard, when following the teachings of Lin to make biologically active recombinant microplasmin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by Yang to use a human, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective and biologically active recombinant microplasmin of Lin.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting Rejection
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The instant Claims are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of US PAT11964004. The instant application is a CON of US PAT11964004. An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim not is patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant application is a CON of US PAT11964004. The claims 1-7 of US PAT 11964004 are directed to recombinant human microplasmin expressed in bacteria like E. coli, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus. The Instant claims also are directed to E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus. The specification that teach recombinant human microplasmin expressed in bacteria like E. coli, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus claims 1-7 of that patent can also teach in different embodiment the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombus in the instant claims of the instant application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select this specific embodiment of the genera of recombinant human microplasmin, wherein surface residues of the catalytic domain in contact with the α2-Antiplasmin in a human microplasmin are individually changed with an Alanine scanning mutagenesis method to enable the E.coli expressed recombinant human microplasmin to dissolve a disease causing thrombusthat practiced for the claims of that patent to use of instant claims. Therefore claims 1-9 of instant application are obvious over claims 1-7 of US PAT11964004.
TD submission would overcome the above ODP rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected and no claim is allowable.
examiner should be directed to Mohammad Meah whose telephone number is 571-272-
1261. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30-5PM.
supervisor, Robert Mondesi can be reached on 4089187584. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system.
/MOHAMMAD Y MEAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1652