Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2025, 01/24/2025 and 09/27/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II corresponding to claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11 and 19-20 in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election requirement inasmuch as the content corresponding to Paragraphs [0238]-[0262] of the detailed description related to Figure 11 describes detecting designated identification information by analyzing a first image, contrary to the assertion in the election requirement. For example, this disclosure does not require obtaining of a second image to detect designated identification information. Consequently, Applicant respectfully submits that the basis of the election requirement is improper and that the requirement should be withdrawn. This is not found persuasive because the claims to the different species still recite mutually exclusive characteristics that each define particular and unique configurations and methods of operating an electronic device in regard to displaying and providing a captured image.
As mentioned in the Requirement for Restriction/Election (01/13/2026), Species I differs from Species II to VII because it requires the display of a graphic element on a display right after determining a designated shooting mode. Following that step, a capture of an image is obtained through a designated camera based on detecting a shooting request. Species II differs from Species I and III to VII because it requires, prior to the display of a graphic element, the steps of obtaining image from first and second camera, detecting designated identification information based on analyzing image, determining a shooting mode based on the identification information, and determining a camera to operate based on the designated shooting mode.
Species III differs from Species I-II and IV to VII, because it provides additional steps of determining if an electronic device is in a designated state and if a designated identification is detected. If an electronic device is not in a designated state, an image capturing operation is processed based on an activated camera in a general shooting mode. If a designated identification is not detected, a guide is provided to execute a designated shooting mode followed by an executing of a designated shooting mode or a general shooting mode based on interaction with a user.
Species IV differs from Species I to III and VII in that after determining a designated camera to operate in a designated shooting mode among first and second cameras, a camera is turned off other than a designated camera followed by the generating of a graphic element based on situation awareness. The graphic element is then displayed on a display positioned on a same surface as the designated camera and the execution is performed of a display preview of an image obtained by designated camera on display on opposite surface.
Species V differs from Species I to VII in that a display preview is performed on a first display and a display graphic element is displayed on a second display. The graphic element is identified to see if it’s identifiable. If identifiable, a corresponding operation is performed according to a user request. If the graphic element is not identifiable, a process is performed of a designated function for a graphic element and this is followed by a display function processing result on a first display and/or second display.
Species VI differs from Species I to V and VII and is related to displaying a preview on a first display and a display graphic element on a second display. A check is done to see if a user input is based on a designated object detected in a preview. If yes, a process designated function is performed based on a user input and a change and display is performed on the graphic element on the second display based on a processing function followed by a check on if shooting request is detected. This is then followed by the capturing, mapping and storing of the captured image onto metadata based on the graphic element. If no user input is based on a designated object detected in preview, a check is made on if user input is based on an area other than designated object detected. A change and display preview on first display is based on the processing function.
Species VII differs from Species I to VI in that it requires the importing of metadata corresponding to a graphic element after detecting user input based on designating a graphic element in an image. The function is then analyzed corresponding to the metadata and is then executed prior to the displaying of content corresponding to the execution of the function.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 7, 10 and 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species I and III to VII, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4.) Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0185518A1).
In regard to Claim 1, Yang et al. disclose an electronic device (Video playing method and device, Abstract; Paragraphs 0101-0102; Figure 1A) comprising:
a first camera (Rear-facing camera, Paragraph 0102);
a second camera disposed on an opposite surface to the first camera (Front-facing camera, Paragraphs 0102, 0104; Figures 1B-1E);
a first display (Display preview interface of video recording, Paragraphs 0101-0104);
at least one processor comprising a processing circuit (Processor, Paragraphs 0046-0047); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Processor coupled to the memory and one or more computer programs, Paragraphs 0046-0047), cause the electronic device to:
obtain at least one first image from at least one of the first camera and the second camera (In the dialog box 106, the user may be prompted to select different shooting modes, including but not limited to a wide-angle mode+a zoom mode, a wide-angle mode+a front-facing mode, and a front-facing mode+a zoom mode. During dual-view recording, there may be a plurality of combinations of cameras for collecting two channels of video images, for example, a combination 1: a rear-facing camera+a rear-facing camera; a combination 2: a rear-facing camera+a front-facing camera; and a combination 3: a front-facing camera+a front-facing camera. The rear-facing camera may include but is not limited to a rear-facing wide-angle camera, a rear-facing zoom camera, a rear-facing fixed-focus camera, a rear-facing long-focus camera, and the like. The rear-facing camera+the rear-facing camera may be any two cameras of the rear-facing wide-angle camera, the rear-facing zoom camera, the rear-facing fixed-focus camera, and the rear-facing long-focus camera. The front-facing camera may include but is not limited to a front-facing wide-angle camera, a front-facing zoom camera, a front-facing fixed-focus camera, and the like. The front-facing camera+the front-facing camera may be any two cameras of the front-facing wide-angle camera, the front-facing zoom camera, and the front-facing fixed-focus camera. The rear-facing camera+the front-facing camera may be one of the rear-facing wide-angle camera, the rear-facing zoom camera, the rear-facing fixed-focus camera, and the rear-facing long-focus camera+one of the front-facing wide-angle camera, the front-facing zoom camera, and the front-facing fixed-focus camera, Paragraphs 0104-0106; Figures 1B-1E);
analyze the at least one first image (Image content 104) (FIG. 1B shows the shooting preview interface after the camera application 101 is entered. The shooting preview interface includes a setting control 105, image content 104, and a multi-function bar 103. When the user taps the setting control 105, a setting interface of the camera application 101 may be entered. After entering the setting interface, the user may change setting information such as resolution, reference lines, and sound control shooting. The reference lines are longitude and latitude lines displayed in a shooting interface to assist shooting, Paragraphs 0102-0106; Figures 1B-1G);
determine a designated shooting mode, based on analyzing the at least one first image (As shown in FIG. 1B and FIG. 1C, after the user taps the dual-view function, the dual-view mode is entered, and a dialog box 106 may pop up by default (or the dialog box 106 may pop up by tapping the setting control 105). In the dialog box 106, the user may be prompted to select different shooting modes, including but not limited to a wide-angle mode+a zoom mode, a wide-angle mode+a front-facing mode, and a front-facing mode+a zoom mode, Paragraphs 0102-0108; Figure 1C);
display a graphic element on the first display (zoom indication control 110), based on determining the designated shooting mode (On the shooting preview interface, an image collected by the zoom camera includes image content 109, and the image content 109 may be a figure image collected by the zoom camera after double zooming is performed. In the image collected by the zoom camera, there is also a zoom multiple indication control 110, Paragraphs 0102-0108; Figures 1A-1G); and
capture a second image (Image 111) by using a designated camera, the designated camera being one of the first camera or the second camera (After the preset time period expires, dual-view recording is completed. In this mode, the image content 109 collected by the zoom camera and image content 111 collected by the front-facing camera are included, Paragraphs 00102-0108; Figures 1A-1G).
With regard to Claim 2, Yang et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: detect identification information in the at least one first image, based on analyzing the at least one first image; and determine the designated shooting mode based on detecting the identification information (The image content 104 may be, by default, an image collected by a wide-angle camera. The image content 104 in FIG. 1B is a walking figure. The multi-function bar 103 may include functions for the user to select. For example, the multi-function bar 013 includes a dual-view function, and may further include various functions such as a wide aperture function, a shooting function, a recording function, and/or a professional function. The wide aperture function can be used to control an aperture size of a lens on the camera, to control a depth of field, lens imaging quality, and a shutter to coordinately control an amount of entered light. If the user uses the wide aperture function, for example, uses a wide aperture to perform shooting, the wide aperture may make the depth of field shallower, so that a focus is clear, and another part of an image is relatively blurred. This helps highlight a subject and simplify the image. The shooting function is a default function used after the camera application is entered. A photo is shot when the shooting function is enabled. During shooting, a focal length may be changed by using a zoom-in or zoom-out gesture. After the user taps a shooting button, the camera performs a shooting operation, and stores a shot photo in an album. In an implementation, camera switching may be further implemented by using the zoom-in or zoom-out gesture. The recording function enables the user to use the camera to perform video recording and store a recorded video in an album or a folder. The professional function provides more adjustments to camera parameters for the user, such as professional parameters of exposure, sensitivity, and white balance, so that the user can shoot a desired photo. The shooting preview interface may further include the shooting button. In the shooting function, the user may tap the shooting button to perform shooting. In the dual-view function, the user may perform dual-view recording by tapping the shooting button. In an implementation, the shooting preview interface further includes an album button and a lens switch button. When tapping the album button, the user may enter a gallery folder of the mobile phone 100, to view a photo and a multimedia file such as a recorded video or audio that are shot by the user. When the user taps the lens switch button, a rear-facing camera that is being used may be switched to a front-facing camera (certainly, the front-facing camera may alternatively be switched to the rear-facing camera), Paragraph 0102).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: determine the designated camera from among the first camera and the second camera based on determining the designated shooting mode (In the dialog box 106, the user may be prompted to select different shooting modes, including but not limited to a wide-angle mode+a zoom mode, a wide-angle mode+a front-facing mode, and a front-facing mode+a zoom mode. During dual-view recording, there may be a plurality of combinations of cameras for collecting two channels of video images, for example, a combination 1: a rear-facing camera+a rear-facing camera; a combination 2: a rear-facing camera+a front-facing camera; and a combination 3: a front-facing camera+a front-facing camera.
The rear-facing camera may include but is not limited to a rear-facing wide-angle camera, a rear-facing zoom camera, a rear-facing fixed-focus camera, a rear-facing long-focus camera, and the like. The rear-facing camera+the rear-facing camera may be any two cameras of the rear-facing wide-angle camera, the rear-facing zoom camera, the rear-facing fixed-focus camera, and the rear-facing long-focus camera. The front-facing camera may include but is not limited to a front-facing wide-angle camera, a front-facing zoom camera, a front-facing fixed-focus camera, and the like. The front-facing camera+the front-facing camera may be any two cameras of the front-facing wide-angle camera, the front-facing zoom camera, and the front-facing fixed-focus camera. The rear-facing camera+the front-facing camera may be one of the rear-facing wide-angle camera, the rear-facing zoom camera, the rear-facing fixed-focus camera, and the rear-facing long-focus camera+one of the front-facing wide-angle camera, the front-facing zoom camera, and the front-facing fixed-focus camera, Paragraph 0104; Figures 1A-1G).
In regard to Claim 8, Yang et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 6, comprising: a second display (Display area with 111, Figure 1E; Paragraphs 0106-0107), wherein the first display is positioned on the same surface of the electronic device as the designated camera (First display with 109 is positioned on the same surface as the front-facing camera, Paragraphs 0104-0108; Figure 1F); wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display a preview of an image obtained by the designated camera on the second display (See shooting preview interface of the dual-view mode, Paragraphs 0104-0108; Figure 1E); and wherein the second display is positioned on an opposite surface to the designated camera (The second display (display with 111) is on an opposite surface to the rear facing camera and across/opposite/further down from the front facing camera, Paragraphs 0104-0108; Figures 1E).
With regard to Claim 11, Yang et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: detect a user input, based on an object corresponding to the graphic element in the preview (A zoom multiple indication control 110 is controlled by the user, Paragraph 0105; Figures 1D-1E); process a designated function related to the graphic element displayed on the first display, based on the user input; and display a result of processing the function, based on the first display and/or the second display (The user selects the wide-angle mode+the zoom mode, and uses the rear-facing wide-angle camera and the rear-facing zoom camera. As shown in FIG. 1D, in the shooting mode, the wide-angle camera and the zoom camera are used to perform shooting together. On the shooting preview interface, an image collected by the zoom camera includes image content 109, and the image content 109 may be a figure image collected by the zoom camera after double zooming is performed. In the image collected by the zoom camera, there is also a zoom multiple indication control 110. The control may indicate a zoom multiple currently used when the zoom camera collects an image. The user may perform a zoom operation on the image content 109 (or zoom either of two pieces of image content). When the user performs the zoom operation on the image, a focal length of the camera may be changed. When the camera zooms, the zooming may be optical zooming or digital zooming, Paragraph 0105; Figures 1D-1E).
In regard to method Claim 19 and computer program storing Claim 20, the claims correspond to device claim 1 and are rejected as discussed in the above rejection to device claim 1 (Also see Paragraph 0220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.) Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0185518A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub No.: 2020/0265234A1).
With regard to Claim 3, Yang et al. do not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the identification information comprises an image object designated in advance to determine whether the designated shooting mode is executed, and wherein the designated image object comprises at least one of a designated face object or a designated identifier. Lee et al. teach of an electronic device wherein the identification information comprises an image object designated in advance to determine whether the designated shooting mode is executed, and wherein the designated image object comprises at least one of a designated face object or a designated identifier, (Lee et al. teach of an electronic device according to an embodiment that may include: a camera module; a display; and a processor, wherein the processor may be configured to: obtain a preview image corresponding to an external object using the camera module; determine attributes of the external object, based on the obtained preview image; synthesize the preview image with a virtual character image, based on the attributes of the external object; and output the synthesized preview image through the display, Abstract of Lee et al..
Lee et al. teach of a shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the external object is a person, and may determine different shooting modes depending on whether or not the external object is a person. For example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine a first shooting mode (e.g., figurine mode), as shown in FIG. 8, if the external object is not a person. Again, the determination of whether the external object is a person may be based on the attributes of the external object. For example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the extracted distinguished features correspond to a person, thereby determining whether or not the external object is a person. As another example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the extracted distinguished features correspond to a face, and if the external object includes a face, may determine that the external object is a person. According to an embodiment, in the figurine mode, a specified virtual character image 811 is displayed in the image area corresponding to a plane area 812 included in the external object in the preview image, Paragraphs 0064-0069; Figures 5-8 of Lee et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the electronic device in the teachings of Yang et al. to have identification information comprise an image object designated in advance to determine whether the designated shooting mode is executed, and wherein the designated image object comprises at least one of a designated face object or a designated identifier as taught by Lee et al., because it provides the benefits of automatically proposing or suggesting a specific photographing function suitable for a current photographing state, Paragraphs 0024, 0099 of Lee et al.).
In regard to Claim 4, Yang et al. and Lee et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the at least one first image comprises an image of the first camera and/or an image of the second camera, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: compare each of the at least one first image with a preset image; and determine the designated shooting mode based on identifying the designated face object from the at least one first image (As taught above, Lee et al. teach of a shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the external object is a person, and may determine different shooting modes depending on whether or not the external object is a person. For example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine a first shooting mode (e.g., figurine mode), as shown in FIG. 8, if the external object is not a person. Again, the determination of whether the external object is a person may be based on the attributes of the external object. For example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the extracted distinguished features correspond to a person, thereby determining whether or not the external object is a person. As another example, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine whether or not the extracted distinguished features correspond to a face, and if the external object includes a face, may determine that the external object is a person.
According to an embodiment, in the figurine mode, a specified virtual character image 811 is displayed in the image area corresponding to a plane area 812 included in the external object in the preview image. For example, it may be determined that a face area has a predetermined size or more or a predetermined ratio or more, based on the size of the image area corresponding to the face in the preview image. If so, the shooting mode determination module 325 may determine a 2-1.sup.st shooting mode (e.g., mask mode) as shown in FIG. 6. In this mode, the shooting mode determination module 325 may display a virtual character image 611 that replaces the face area of the preview image, Paragraphs 0064-0069; Figures 5-8 of Lee et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the electronic device in the teachings of Yang et al. to have identification information comprise an image object designated in advance to determine whether the designated shooting mode is executed, and wherein the designated image object comprises at least one of a designated face object or a designated identifier as taught by Lee et al., because it provides the benefits of automatically proposing or suggesting a specific photographing function suitable for a current photographing state, Paragraphs 0024, 0099 of Lee et al.).
6.) Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0185518A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Goldberg et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0020578A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang et al. do not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the preview of an image obtained by the designated camera comprises a reflector and an image reflected by the reflector, and wherein the image reflected by the reflector comprises one or more objects corresponding to the electronic device, the first display, and the graphic element displayed on the first display. Goldberg et al. disclose an electronic device where an image obtained by the designated camera comprises a reflector and an image reflected by the reflector, and wherein the image reflected by the reflector (mirror) comprises one or more objects corresponding to the electronic device, the first display, and the graphic element displayed on the first display,
(Goldberg et al. disclose a method may be implemented on a mobile device having at least a processor, a camera and a display screen. The method may include capturing at least one image of a user using the camera of the mobile device; interactively guiding the user to a predetermined distance from the display screen of the mobile device based on the at least one image; presenting material on the display screen upon a determination that the user is at the predetermined distance from the display screen; and receiving input from the user in response to the material presented on the display screen. The material presented on the display screen may be for assessing at least one characteristic of the user's vision, Abstract and Figure 5 of Goldberg et al..
Goldberg et al. disclose a mobile device having at least a processor, a camera and a display screen, for assessing a user's vision, is disclosed. The method may include guiding the user to hold the mobile device, such that both the user and the display screen of the mobile device are facing a mirror in front of the user; capturing, using the camera of the mobile device, at least one image of a reflection of the mobile device in the mirror; interactively guiding the user to a predetermined distance from the mirror based on at least one image; presenting material on the display screen upon a determination that the user is at the predetermined distance from the mirror, wherein the material presented on the display screen is for assessing at least one characteristic of the user's vision; and receiving input from the user in response to the material presented on the display screen and reflected in the mirror, Paragraphs 0008, 0091, 0143 and Figure 5 of Goldberg et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the electronic device in the teachings of Yang et al. to have an image obtained by the designated camera comprise a reflector and an image reflected by the reflector, and wherein the image reflected by the reflector comprises one or more objects corresponding to the electronic device, the first display, and the graphic element displayed on the first display as taught by Goldberg et al., because the mirror/reflector allows a user to more easily capture a self-image).
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638