DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Independent claims 1, 9, and 17 are directed to a method, non-transitory computer-readable medium, and apparatus, respectively, or indoor wayfinding. Therefore, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The other analogous independent claims, claims 9 and 17, are rejected for the same reasons as the representative claim 1 as discussed here. Claim 1 recites:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a server from a user device, a first message indicating a request for a map including a route between a first location and a second location, wherein the first message comprises a header including first information associated with the user device, second information associated with route data, and third information associated with feature data;
retrieving, from one or more databases and based at least in part on the first message, the route data, the feature data, a raster image of a floor plan, and a raster image of a site, wherein the feature data comprises a first set of data associated with the first location and a second set of data associated with the second location, wherein the first set of data and the second set of data each comprises a feature type, feature properties, and feature geometry associated with the first location or the second location, and wherein the route data comprises an indication of path directions relative to one or more objects corresponding to the raster image of the floor plan;
generating, by the server, the map comprising a plurality of layers based at least in part on retrieving the feature data, the route data, the raster image of the floor plan, and the raster image of the site, wherein the plurality of layers comprise a first layer including the raster image of the site, a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan, a third layer including a vector image of a plurality of features corresponding to the floor plan, and a fourth layer including a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location; and
transmitting, by the server to the user device and in response to the first message, a second message comprising the generated map including the route between the first location and the second location.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. “generating a map…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data received (collected, detected, etc._ and forming a simple judgment (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either mentally or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a server from a user device, a first message indicating a request for a map including a route between a first location and a second location, wherein the first message comprises a header including first information associated with the user device, second information associated with route data, and third information associated with feature data;
retrieving, from one or more databases and based at least in part on the first message, the route data, the feature data, a raster image of a floor plan, and a raster image of a site, wherein the feature data comprises a first set of data associated with the first location and a second set of data associated with the second location, wherein the first set of data and the second set of data each comprises a feature type, feature properties, and feature geometry associated with the first location or the second location, and wherein the route data comprises an indication of path directions relative to one or more objects corresponding to the raster image of the floor plan;
generating, by the server, the map comprising a plurality of layers based at least in part on retrieving the feature data, the route data, the raster image of the floor plan, and the raster image of the site, wherein the plurality of layers comprise a first layer including the raster image of the site, a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan, a third layer including a vector image of a plurality of features corresponding to the floor plan, and a fourth layer including a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location; and
transmitting, by the server to the user device and in response to the first message, a second message comprising the generated map including the route between the first location and the second location.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations above, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In particular, the steps of receiving a first message, and retrieving data are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of requesting and receiving information for use in the generation step), and amounts to no more than mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The step of transmitting a second message is also recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere post solution action, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitations regarding the plurality of layers are directed towards additional aspects of the abstract idea. Lastly, claims 1, 9, and 17 further recite a server, a user device, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, a processor, an apparatus, a memory, and instructions. These limitations merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose mapping environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 9 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a processor, non-transitory medium, and instructions to perform the steps amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Generally applying an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations discussed above are insignificant extra-solution activities.
The additional limitations of requesting and receiving route data and feature data are well-understood, routine and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the server is anything other than a conventional computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. The additional limitation of displaying is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11-12, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200080865 A1, filed 09/08/2019, hereinafter “Ervin”, in view of US 20200082029 A1, filed 08/09/2019, hereinafter “Hartfiel”, and further in view of US 20130321456 A1, filed 09/14/2012, hereinafter “Hultquist”.
Regarding claim 1, Ervin teaches A method, comprising: receiving, by a server from a user device, a first message indicating a request for a map including a route between a first location and a second location. See at least [0065] and figure 3, block 220, wherein a client device requests plot data related to pickup (first location) and destination (second location) locations from a server. See at least [0011] and [0049], wherein the map information request corresponds to a route from a starting point to an ending point.
wherein the first message comprises a header including first information associated with the user device, second information associated with route data, and third information associated with feature data. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, blocks 220-230, wherein the request is formatted as a message with header parameters. The request includes client UID information, location information, and requested response data information.
retrieving, from one or more databases and based at least in part on the first message, the route data, the feature data, an image of a floor plan, and an image of a site. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the plot data includes route data 730, feature data 750 and 770, floor plan 760, and a raster image of a site 710. See at least [0056] and figure 2b, wherein the server retrieves plot information from databases including route database 130, feature/building database 150, and image database 135. See at least [0023], wherein the building information includes image data representing blueprints of the interiors of buildings.
wherein the feature data comprises a first set of data associated with the first location and a second set of data associated with the second location. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves selected plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0049], wherein the selected plot data includes stored detail information corresponding to the starting and ending points of the route.
wherein the first set of data and the second set of data each comprises a feature type, associated with the first location or the second location. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature information includes a feature type.
and wherein the route data comprises an indication of path directions relative to one or more objects corresponding to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0049], [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the route data 730 comprises a wayfinding path and directions, the directions being relative to landmarks or other POI.
generating, by the server, the map comprising a plurality of layers based at least in part on retrieving the feature data, the route data, the raster image of the floor plan, and the raster image of the site, wherein the plurality of layers comprise a first layer including the raster image of the site. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
and transmitting, by the server to the user device and in response to the first message, a second message comprising the generated map including the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, block 234, wherein the selected plot data is transmitted to the client device in the desired response format (JSON, SOAP). See at least [0057] and figure 2B, wherein the map is generated by the server and transmitted to the client device. See at least [0072] and figure 8, wherein the generated map includes the route between the starting location and the destination location.
Ervin remains silent on the feature data including feature properties and feature geometry, and the map layers including a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan, a third layer including a vector image of a plurality of features corresponding to the floor plan, and a fourth layer including a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. Ervin additionally remains silent as to the specifics of image data being raster image data.
Hartfiel teaches feature data including feature properties and feature geometry. See at least [0092], wherein the map data includes feature data concerning facility units, the feature data including attribute data and geometric data.
a raster image of a floor plan and a raster image of a site. See at least [0155], wherein a set of CAD files is retrieved, and see at least [0157]-[0159], wherein raster images of a site plan and of a floor plan are extracted from the CAD files.
the generated map comprising a plurality of layers, including a first layer comprising a raster image of the site, a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0155] and [0157]-[0159], wherein a set of CAD files is processed to generate a map. The CAD files are used to draw a raster image of the site plan and a raster image of the floor plan, and the images are layered to form the electronic map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of requesting feature and route data through a representational state transfer call, and generating a map comprising a plurality of layers including a raster image of a site and a raster image of a floor plan. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Hultquist teaches the layers comprising a vector image of a plurality of features and a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0033], [0062]-[0063], and [0187] wherein the map view is generated with multiple layers, by overlaying vector graphics of objects in the area and vector graphics of transportation paths on top of the raster image background layer.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Hultquist’s technique of the generate map layers comprising a vector image of features and a vector image of a transportation route. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables a reduction in the size and quantity of processing transactions needed to provide users with map and navigation information, as recognized by Hultquist (see at least [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein the feature data further comprises respective information for each feature of the plurality of features, the method further comprising: and generating the fourth layer based at least in part on the map coordinates. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data includes respective location information for each feature of the plurality of features, and latitude/longitude or GPS coordinate information of the features. See at least [0077], wherein the GIS layer includes features placed at specific latitude and longitude coordinates.
Ervin remains silent on converting the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. However, Ervin does teach the respective information for each feature comprising map coordinates, as discussed above.
Hultquist teaches converting the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. See at least [0143]-[0145], wherein the computer graphics coordinate system (map image) has a coordinate system relative to origin (0, 0), and the CAD objects (features) are converted to the map coordinates
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of converting feature information for each of the plurality of features into map coordinates relative to an origin. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein each feature of the plurality of features is represented as an object that corresponds to a room, an office, a workstation, a desk, a space, an elevator, or any combination thereof. See at least [0056], wherein the feature data 150 is related to offices in the building. See at least [0058] and [0083], wherein the features displayed on the map additionally include elevators.
Regarding claim 8, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein: the first set of data comprises an identifier associated with the first location, a floor associated with the first location, an intersection associated with the first location, a type of the first location, an indicator of a remaining portion of a route to the first location, alternative route information for the first location, or any combination thereof; and the second set of data comprises an identifier associated with the second location, a floor associated with the second location, an intersection associated with the second location, a type of the second location, an indicator of a remaining portion of a route to the second location, alternative route information for the second location, or any combination thereof. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data for features in the plot data include (2) an identifier associated with the feature, (10) floor level of the location of interest, or (8) a type of the location of interest. See at least [0049], wherein the selected plot data is associated with the desired starting and ending locations.
Regarding claim 9, Ervin teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code. See at least [0049].
the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: receive, by a server from a user device, a first message indicating a request for a map including a route between a first location and a second location. See at least [0065] and figure 3, block 220, wherein a client device requests plot data related to pickup (first location) and destination (second location) locations from a server. See at least [0011] and [0049], wherein the map information request corresponds to a route from a starting point to an ending point.
wherein the first message comprises a header including first information associated with the user device, second information associated with route data, and third information associated with feature data. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, blocks 220-230, wherein the request is formatted as a message with header parameters. The request includes client UID information, location information, and requested response data information.
retrieve, from one or more databases and based at least in part on the first message, the route data, the feature data, an image of a floor plan, and an image of a site. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the plot data includes route data 730, feature data 750 and 770, floor plan 760, and a raster image of a site 710. See at least [0056] and figure 2b, wherein the server retrieves plot information from databases including route database 130, feature/building database 150, and image database 135. See at least [0023], wherein the building information includes image data representing blueprints of the interiors of buildings.
wherein the feature data comprises a first set of data associated with the first location and a second set of data associated with the second location. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves selected plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0049], wherein the selected plot data includes stored detail information corresponding to the starting and ending points of the route.
wherein the first set of data and the second set of data each comprises a feature type, associated with the first location or the second location. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature information includes a feature type.
and wherein the route data comprises an indication of path directions relative to one or more objects corresponding to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0049], [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the route data 730 comprises a wayfinding path and directions, the directions being relative to landmarks or other POI.
generate, by the server, the map comprising a plurality of layers based at least in part on retrieving the feature data, the route data, the raster image of the floor plan, and the raster image of the site, wherein the plurality of layers comprise a first layer including the raster image of the site. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
and transmit, by the server to the user device and in response to the first message, a second message comprising the generated map including the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, block 234, wherein the selected plot data is transmitted to the client device in the desired response format (JSON, SOAP). See at least [0057] and figure 2B, wherein the map is generated by the server and transmitted to the client device. See at least [0072] and figure 8, wherein the generated map includes the route between the starting location and the destination location.
Ervin remains silent on the feature data including feature properties and feature geometry, and the map layers including a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan, a third layer including a vector image of a plurality of features corresponding to the floor plan, and a fourth layer including a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. Ervin additionally remains silent as to the specifics of image data being raster image data.
Hartfiel teaches feature data including feature properties and feature geometry. See at least [0092], wherein the map data includes feature data concerning facility units, the feature data including attribute data and geometric data.
a raster image of a floor plan and a raster image of a site. See at least [0155], wherein a set of CAD files is retrieved, and see at least [0157]-[0159], wherein raster images of a site plan and of a floor plan are extracted from the CAD files.
the generated map comprising a plurality of layers, including a first layer comprising a raster image of the site, a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0155] and [0157]-[0159], wherein a set of CAD files is processed to generate a map. The CAD files are used to draw a raster image of the site plan and a raster image of the floor plan, and the images are layered to form the electronic map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of requesting feature and route data through a representational state transfer call, and generating a map comprising a plurality of layers including a raster image of a site and a raster image of a floor plan. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Hultquist teaches the layers comprising a vector image of a plurality of features and a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0033], [0062]-[0063], and [0187] wherein the map view is generated with multiple layers, by overlaying vector graphics of objects in the area and vector graphics of transportation paths on top of the raster image background layer.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Hultquist’s technique of the generate map layers comprising a vector image of features and a vector image of a transportation route. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables a reduction in the size and quantity of processing transactions needed to provide users with map and navigation information, as recognized by Hultquist (see at least [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein the feature data further comprises respective information for each feature of the plurality of features the instructions further executable by the one or more processors to: generate the fourth layer based at least in part on the map coordinates. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data includes respective location information for each feature of the plurality of features, and latitude/longitude or GPS coordinate information of the features. See at least [0077], wherein the GIS layer includes features placed at specific latitude and longitude coordinates.
Ervin remains silent on convert the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. However, Ervin does teach the respective information for each feature comprising map coordinates, as discussed above.
Hultquist teaches convert the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. See at least [0143]-[0145], wherein the computer graphics coordinate system (map image) has a coordinate system relative to origin (0, 0), and the CAD objects (features) are converted to the map coordinates
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of converting feature information for each of the plurality of features into map coordinates relative to an origin. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein each feature of the plurality of features is represented as an object that corresponds to a room, an office, a workstation, a desk, a space, an elevator, or any combination thereof. See at least [0056], wherein the feature data 150 is related to offices in the building. See at least [0058] and [0083], wherein the features displayed on the map additionally include elevators.
Regarding claim 16, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein: the first set of data comprises an identifier associated with the first location, a floor associated with the first location, an intersection associated with the first location, a type of the first location, an indicator of a remaining portion of a route to the first location, alternative route information for the first location, or any combination thereof; and the second set of data comprises an identifier associated with the second location, a floor associated with the second location, an intersection associated with the second location, a type of the second location, an indicator of a remaining portion of a route to the second location, alternative route information for the second location, or any combination thereof. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data for features in the plot data include (2) an identifier associated with the feature, (10) floor level of the location of interest, or (8) a type of the location of interest. See at least [0049], wherein the selected plot data is associated with the desired starting and ending locations.
Regarding claim 17, Ervin teaches An apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processor. See at least [0049].
to cause the apparatus to: receive, by a server from a user device, a first message indicating a request for a map including a route between a first location and a second location. See at least [0065] and figure 3, block 220, wherein a client device requests plot data related to pickup (first location) and destination (second location) locations from a server. See at least [0011] and [0049], wherein the map information request corresponds to a route from a starting point to an ending point.
wherein the first message comprises a header including first information associated with the user device, second information associated with route data, and third information associated with feature data. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, blocks 220-230, wherein the request is formatted as a message with header parameters. The request includes client UID information, location information, and requested response data information.
retrieve, from one or more databases and based at least in part on the first message, the route data, the feature data, an image of a floor plan, and an image of a site. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the plot data includes route data 730, feature data 750 and 770, floor plan 760, and a raster image of a site 710. See at least [0056] and figure 2b, wherein the server retrieves plot information from databases including route database 130, feature/building database 150, and image database 135. See at least [0023], wherein the building information includes image data representing blueprints of the interiors of buildings.
wherein the feature data comprises a first set of data associated with the first location and a second set of data associated with the second location. See at least [0066] and figure 3, block 232, wherein the server retrieves selected plot data in response to the request message. See at least [0049], wherein the selected plot data includes stored detail information corresponding to the starting and ending points of the route.
wherein the first set of data and the second set of data each comprises a feature type, associated with the first location or the second location. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature information includes a feature type.
and wherein the route data comprises an indication of path directions relative to one or more objects corresponding to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0049], [0069], [0072], figure 5, and figure 8, wherein the route data 730 comprises a wayfinding path and directions, the directions being relative to landmarks or other POI.
generate, by the server, the map comprising a plurality of layers based at least in part on retrieving the feature data, the route data, the raster image of the floor plan, and the raster image of the site, wherein the plurality of layers comprise a first layer including the raster image of the site. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
and transmit, by the server to the user device and in response to the first message, a second message comprising the generated map including the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0065]-[0066] and figure 3, block 234, wherein the selected plot data is transmitted to the client device in the desired response format (JSON, SOAP). See at least [0057] and figure 2B, wherein the map is generated by the server and transmitted to the client device. See at least [0072] and figure 8, wherein the generated map includes the route between the starting location and the destination location.
Ervin remains silent on the feature data including feature properties and feature geometry, and the map layers including a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan, a third layer including a vector image of a plurality of features corresponding to the floor plan, and a fourth layer including a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. Ervin additionally remains silent as to the specifics of image data being raster image data.
Hartfiel teaches feature data including feature properties and feature geometry. See at least [0092], wherein the map data includes feature data concerning facility units, the feature data including attribute data and geometric data.
a raster image of a floor plan and a raster image of a site. See at least [0155], wherein a set of CAD files is retrieved, and see at least [0157]-[0159], wherein raster images of a site plan and of a floor plan are extracted from the CAD files.
the generated map comprising a plurality of layers, including a first layer comprising a raster image of the site, a second layer including the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0155] and [0157]-[0159], wherein a set of CAD files is processed to generate a map. The CAD files are used to draw a raster image of the site plan and a raster image of the floor plan, and the images are layered to form the electronic map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of requesting feature and route data through a representational state transfer call, and generating a map comprising a plurality of layers including a raster image of a site and a raster image of a floor plan. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Hultquist teaches the layers comprising a vector image of a plurality of features and a vector image of the route between the first location and the second location. See at least [0033], [0062]-[0063], and [0187] wherein the map view is generated with multiple layers, by overlaying vector graphics of objects in the area and vector graphics of transportation paths on top of the raster image background layer.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Hultquist’s technique of the generate map layers comprising a vector image of features and a vector image of a transportation route. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables a reduction in the size and quantity of processing transactions needed to provide users with map and navigation information, as recognized by Hultquist (see at least [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding Claim 19, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein the feature data further comprises respective information for each feature of the plurality of features the instructions further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: generate the fourth layer based at least in part on the map coordinates. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data includes respective location information for each feature of the plurality of features, and latitude/longitude or GPS coordinate information of the features. See at least [0077], wherein the GIS layer includes features placed at specific latitude and longitude coordinates.
Ervin remains silent on convert the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. However, Ervin does teach the respective information for each feature comprising map coordinates, as discussed above.
Hultquist teaches convert the respective information for each feature of the plurality of features into map coordinates. See at least [0143]-[0145], wherein the computer graphics coordinate system (map image) has a coordinate system relative to origin (0, 0), and the CAD objects (features) are converted to the map coordinates.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ervin with Hartfiel’s technique of converting feature information for each of the plurality of features into map coordinates relative to an origin. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to quickly and easily create, edit, and maintain facility maps with their preferred customizations, allowing for easier facility wayfinding in view of GPS-restricted areas, as recognized by Hartfiel (see at least [0003]-[0004]).
Claims 2, 5-7, 10, 13-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20110172906 A1, filed 01/10/2011, hereinafter “Das”.
Regarding claim 2, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches generating the fourth layer using the feature data and a plurality of objects including the one or more objects. See at least [0072]-[0073] and figure 8, wherein the GIS overlapping layer is generated using the feature data 770, wherein the feature data 770 indicates access point objects such as doors.
Ervin remains silent on wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan.
Hartfiel teaches having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0142]-[0145], wherein objects in the CAD files have a defined position relative to the image canvas. Additionally, see at least [0158]-[0161], wherein objects in the CAD file of the floor plan are rendered into the floor plan image in the image’s coordinate system.
Das teaches wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections. See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of one or more objects comprising respective intersections. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein generating the map comprises: setting the raster image of the site as the first layer. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
Ervin remains silent on setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site; and setting the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location.
Das teaches setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site. See at least [0048] and figure 6, wherein when the route is intra-building (the start and destination points are at the same site), the indoor layout of the building is defined in the map. See at least [0042] and figure 5, which shows how the building layout is not used in map generation when the start and destination points are not at the same site. Additionally, see at least [0044], wherein, when the user’s location aligns with POI 510, and the start point is now within the same building as the destination, the generated map switches to the building layout.
and setting the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the generated map includes floor plan 600 when the start point 510 and the destination point 632 are in the same floor of the building 500. Additionally, see at least [0049], wherein the floor plan used in the generated map switches based on the current user location point and the destination point being on different floors.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of setting the floor plan and site images as layers based on the floor or site containing both the first location and second location. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ervin remains silent on wherein the route data further comprises one or more intersection objects associated with the route between the first location and the second location, each intersection object comprising a name, a floor identifier, a parent intersection identifier, or any combination thereof.
Das teaches wherein the route data further comprises one or more intersection objects associated with the route between the first location and the second location, each intersection object comprising a name, a floor identifier, a parent intersection identifier, or any combination thereof. See at least [0048], [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624 associated with the path. Intersection objects comprising floor information are represented in the feature data as vertices of a routing graph. The vertices are connected by edges representing hallways, so each intersection in the graph comprises parent intersections.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of route data including intersection objects associated with the route, each intersection object comprising parent intersection identifiers. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Ervin, Hartfiel, Hultquist, and Das in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches generating the fourth layer based at least in part on the respective map coordinates. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data includes respective location information for each feature of the plurality of features, and latitude/longitude or GPS coordinate information of the features. See at least [0077], wherein the GIS layer includes features placed at specific latitude and longitude coordinates.
Ervin remains silent on converting the one or more intersection objects into respective map coordinates relative to an origin.
Hartfiel teaches converting the one or more objects into respective map coordinates relative to an origin. See at least [0143]-[0145], wherein the computer graphics coordinate system (map image) has a coordinate system relative to origin (0, 0), and the CAD objects (features) are converted to the map coordinates.
Das teaches intersection objects. See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of one or more objects comprising respective intersections. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches generating the fourth layer using the feature data and a plurality of objects including the one or more objects. See at least [0072]-[0073] and figure 8, wherein the GIS overlapping layer is generated using the feature data 770, wherein the feature data 770 indicates access point objects such as doors.
Ervin remains silent on wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan.
Hartfiel teaches having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0142]-[0145], wherein objects in the CAD files have a defined position relative to the image canvas. Additionally, see at least [0158]-[0161], wherein objects in the CAD file of the floor plan are rendered into the floor plan image in the image’s coordinate system.
Das teaches wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections. See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of one or more objects comprising respective intersections. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein, to generate the map, the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: set the raster image of the site as the first layer. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
Ervin remains silent on setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site; and set the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location.
Das teaches setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site. See at least [0048] and figure 6, wherein when the route is intra-building (the start and destination points are at the same site), the indoor layout of the building is defined in the map. See at least [0042] and figure 5, which shows how the building layout is not used in map generation when the start and destination points are not at the same site. Additionally, see at least [0044], wherein, when the user’s location aligns with POI 510, and the start point is now within the same building as the destination, the generated map switches to the building layout.
and set the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the generated map includes floor plan 600 when the start point 510 and the destination point 632 are in the same floor of the building 500. Additionally, see at least [0049], wherein the floor plan used in the generated map switches based on the current user location point and the destination point being on different floors.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of setting the floor plan and site images as layers based on the floor or site containing both the first location and second location. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ervin remains silent on wherein the route data further comprises one or more intersection objects associated with the route between the first location and the second location, each intersection object comprising a name, a floor identifier, a parent intersection identifier, or any combination thereof.
Das teaches wherein the route data further comprises one or more intersection objects associated with the route between the first location and the second location, each intersection object comprising a name, a floor identifier, a parent intersection identifier, or any combination thereof. See at least [0048], [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624 associated with the path. Intersection objects comprising floor information are represented in the feature data as vertices of a routing graph. The vertices are connected by edges representing hallways, so each intersection in the graph comprises parent intersections.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of route data including intersection objects associated with the route, each intersection object comprising parent intersection identifiers. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Ervin, Hartfiel, Hultquist, and Das in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches generate the fourth layer based at least in part on the respective map coordinates. See at least [0069] and figure 5, wherein the feature data includes respective location information for each feature of the plurality of features, and latitude/longitude or GPS coordinate information of the features. See at least [0077], wherein the GIS layer includes features placed at specific latitude and longitude coordinates.
Ervin remains silent on convert the one or more intersection objects into respective map coordinates relative to an origin.
Hartfiel teaches convert the one or more objects into respective map coordinates relative to an origin. See at least [0143]-[0145], wherein the computer graphics coordinate system (map image) has a coordinate system relative to origin (0, 0), and the CAD objects (features) are converted to the map coordinates.
Das teaches intersection objects. See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of one or more objects comprising respective intersections. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches generate the fourth layer using the feature data and a plurality of objects including the one or more objects. See at least [0072]-[0073] and figure 8, wherein the GIS overlapping layer is generated using the feature data 770, wherein the feature data 770 indicates access point objects such as doors.
Ervin remains silent on wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan.
Hartfiel teaches having a defined position relative to the raster image of the floor plan. See at least [0142]-[0145], wherein objects in the CAD files have a defined position relative to the image canvas. Additionally, see at least [0158]-[0161], wherein objects in the CAD file of the floor plan are rendered into the floor plan image in the image’s coordinate system.
Das teaches wherein the one or more objects comprise respective intersections. See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the path data includes intersection objects 621-624.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of one or more objects comprising respective intersections. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Ervin, Hartfiel, and Hultquist in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above, and Ervin additionally teaches wherein, to generate the map, the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: set the raster image of the site as the first layer. See at least [0073], wherein the map generated by the server comprises a plurality of layers, including at least one layer comprising the image of the site 710, and a GIS overlapping layer comprising the plots including route data 730, feature data 750/770, and floor plan data 760.
Ervin remains silent on setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site; and set the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location.
Das teaches setting the first layer based at least in part on the first location and the second location being at the site. See at least [0048] and figure 6, wherein when the route is intra-building (the start and destination points are at the same site), the indoor layout of the building is defined in the map. See at least [0042] and figure 5, which shows how the building layout is not used in map generation when the start and destination points are not at the same site. Additionally, see at least [0044], wherein, when the user’s location aligns with POI 510, and the start point is now within the same building as the destination, the generated map switches to the building layout.
and set the raster image of the floor plan as the second layer based at least in part on a floor at the site including the first location and the second location See at least [0050] and figure 6, wherein the generated map includes floor plan 600 when the start point 510 and the destination point 632 are in the same floor of the building 500. Additionally, see at least [0049], wherein the floor plan used in the generated map switches based on the current user location point and the destination point being on different floors.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ervin with Das’ technique of setting the floor plan and site images as layers based on the floor or site containing both the first location and second location. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to traverse routes within multiple floors of an indoor area without needing to change maps, as recognized by Das (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Conclusion
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667