DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-28 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/046856 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to composition containing organic precursor resin, silver particles and reducible metal ions wherein the total metal content would meet the limitations of instant claim 1. The reference reads upon the instant claims in an anticipatory manner.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1 it is unclear to the Examiner whether the “total metal weight” includes only the weight of the metal particulates, the metal particulates and the reducible metal composition or the metal particulates and the reducible metal composition after a step of reduction has been completed. For purposes of examination, the limitation is taken as the weight of the metal particulates and the reducible metal composition.
Claims 8 and 9 recites the limitation “the precursor” in line 1 of the respective claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim is construed as reciting -- organic precursor --.
Claims 12 and 13 recites the limitation “the precursor” in line 1 of the respective claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim is construed as reciting -- organic precursor --.
In Claim 22, it is unclear to the Examiner whether the silver nanowires further limit the silver particles of Claim 1 or are in addition to the metal particulates of Claim 1. For purposes of examination, the nanowires are construed to be in addition to the metal particulates of Claim 1.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “precursor” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim is construed as reciting -- organic precursor --.
Claims 27 and 28 recites the limitation “ the precursor” in line 1 of the respective claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim is construed as reciting -- organic precursor --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7,14-17,24,27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2487215 (EP ‘215).
As to Claim 1, EP ‘215 discloses an adhesive composition comprising 3-25 wt % thermosetting resin, 70-90 wt% metal particles which can be silver, 0.3-5 wt% metal precursor (para. 0034,0091) wherein the total metal content would meet the instant claimed limitation.
As to Claims 2-5, examples of silver precursor include silver acetate (para. 0053) at weight percentage discussed above.
As to Claim 7, the composition can further contain a thermosetting resin which is defined as a precursor monomer material (para. 0016) which can be acrylate resin (para. 0019) which the Examiner construes as equivalent to the instant claim limitation.
As to Claims 14-16, the reference disclose the use of bisphenol A epoxy resins which have been cured using anhydride curing agents (para. 0023, 0083).
As to Claim 17, the metal particles can be flake shaped (para. 0017) and can have diameters of 3 to 20 microns (para. 0038).
As to Claim 24, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 27, the prior art composition is thermally curable (para. 0001).
As to Claim 28, the Examiner respectfully submits due to the similarity of the prior art composition and those of the instant claims, the prior art composition would inherently be UV curable.
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP ‘215.
As to Claims 25 and 26, EP ‘215 discloses the use of a solvent which includes alcohols (para. 0068), however, fails to disclose the wt % of the solvent used in the composition.
As to the difference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts of solvent in the prior art composition for obvious advantages of improving the rheological properties of the adhesive composition when applying the prior art adhesive.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
As to Claim 8-13, pending resolution of the 112 issues discussed above, none of the prior art discloses the organic resin precursors as required by the claims used in conjunction with the composition of Claim 1 nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation as to why to use those specific resins over others in the prior art.
As to Claims 18-21, pending resolution of the 112 issues discussed above ,the prior art discloses silver flake loading levels which are considerably higher than the claimed range and there is no suggestion, teaching or motivation to optimize the prior art composition to the lower loading levels.
As to Claims 6,22 and 23, pending resolution of the 112 issues discussed above, the prior art is silent on utilizing the silver nanowires in conjunction with the composition of Claim 1 nor is a teaching, suggestion or motivation to utilize the silver nanowires to modify the prior art teaching.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 3/5/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762