Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments revolve around the limitation of the back opening being positioned so as to directly face said second hole. In the rejection (see below), Figures 1-5, 8-9 were relied upon to show a front opening (502), a back opening (504), a first hole (112), and a second hole (112). Figs. 8-9 are opposing views of the speaker (142). In Figure 8, a back opening (adjacent 504) is clearly directly facing a second hole (112). Additionally, on the opposite side of speaker (142), a front opening (here numbered 602) is additionally facing a first hole (112). Thus the claimed limitations are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (US 10904667 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhong teaches: A head-mountable device (Figs. 1-5) comprising at least a temple (106; Col. 4, ln 42-62), said temple having a cavity open to the outside through a first hole (ports 112) and a second hole (112) positioned opposite from each other along a transversal direction (Y) (Y, see Figs. 1B; Col. 7, ln 53-66: the top and bottom holes 112 are also visible in Figs. 8-9), the eyewear comprising a speaker assembly (120) mounted inside said cavity, said speaker assembly comprising a speaker (transducer 142) operable to reproduce a sound (Fig. 2; Col. 6, ln 5-8 and Col 6., ln 36-41), a speaker enclosure (118, 136, 156) that houses said speaker (142) and a processing unit configured to control the operation of said speaker (146; Col. 7, ln 9-19), said speaker comprising a diaphragm (membrane in transducer 142) designed to move in order to produce said sound (Col. 6, ln 42-44), said diaphragm dividing an internal volume of said speaker enclosure into a front cavity and a back cavity that are open to the outside of said speaker enclosure respectively through a front opening (second duct 502) and a back opening (first duct 504; Col. 9, ln 1-24; Fig. 4, Col. 8, ln 48-67 disclosing the routing of the audio signals 402 and 404 from first and second side of the transducers 142 to the upper and lower ports 112), the speaker assembly being mounted inside said cavity so as to create an air communication between said front opening (504) and said first hole (112; Col. 9, ln 6-18) and between said back opening (502) and said second hole (112; Col. 9, ln 6-18), wherein said back opening is positioned so as to directly face said second hole (Fig. 5; Col. 9, ln 8-9).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhong teaches: wherein said speaker enclosure has a top wall that faces said second hole, said back opening being realized in said top wall (Fig. 2: top wall of 136 with openings 118).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhong teaches: wherein said diaphragm is substantially perpendicular to said top wall (as shown).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhong teaches: wherein said speaker enclosure has a back wall that delimits said back cavity and is opposite to said diaphragm (as shown), said processing unit being connected to said speaker through said back wall (FPC 146 located within 118, 136, 156).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhong teaches: wherein said processing unit is mounted on a printed circuit board that is fixed to said back wall (FPC 146).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhong teaches: wherein said printed circuit board is flexible (Flexible Printed Circuit 146).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhong teaches: wherein said speaker enclosure has a gluing surface configured to be glued to a corresponding internal surface of said cavity (any external portion of at least 136 can be said to have a gluing surface configured to be glued to an internal surface of, for example, 118).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhong teaches: wherein said gluing surface entirely surrounds said front opening (as shown).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhong teaches: wherein said gluing surface lies at least partially on a plane that is oblique with respect to said diaphragm (i.e. corners of 136).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhong teaches: wherein said speaker enclosure has an auxiliary back opening that directly faces said second hole (top openings of 136).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhong teaches: wherein the device is an eyewear (Figs. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US 10904667 B1), in view of Sprague et al. (US 20160316304 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhong teaches: further comprises at least a microphone configured to generate a microphone signal (Col. 5, ln 8-10; Col. 25-35). Zhong does not specifically teach: said processing unit being configured to receive said microphone signal, to elaborate said microphone signal generating a speaker signal and to transmit said speaker signal to said speaker. In a related field, Sprague teaches the use of microphones on a worn frame to receive input signals which are then processed and output via transducers of the frame ([0006]-[0010]: “In some embodiments, a hearing assistance device may include a frame configured to be worn on the head of a user. The frame may include a bridge configured to be supported on the nose of the user. A first transducer may be coupled to the frame. The first transducer may include at least two microphones configured to receive an audio signal including speech. The at least two microphones are positioned such that: a first lag microphone is situated at or near a rear portion of a first side of the frame; and a second microphone is situated at or near a front portion of the frame; a converter configured to convert and to amplify the audio signal to an amplified representation of the audio signal; and a second transducer for emitting the amplified representation of the audio signal to a first earphone coupled to a first ear of the user, where at least a portion of the first earphone is removably coupled to at least a portion of the frame, such that when the first earphone is in contact with the portion of the frame, the first earphone is configured to emit the amplified representation of the audio signal”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhong, in view of Sprague, to process the microphone signal which may include speech input, for output to the speaker of Zhong. Motivation for doing so would be to allow the frame of Zhong to perform the function of hearing assistance to the user.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhong, as modified by Sprague, further teaches: wherein said microphone is connected to said processing unit through an auxiliary printed circuit board (FPC 146 of Zhong would interface with processor of Sprague), said processing unit being mounted on a printed circuit board (as modified), said printed circuit board and auxiliary printed circuit board being positioned adjacent to each other between a back wall of said speaker enclosure and a temple cover of said temple (Fig. 2; Col. 7, ln 5-43). Zhong, in view of Sprague, does not specifically teach separate printed circuit board and auxiliary printed circuit board (Zhong teaches a flexible printed circuit board 146). However, providing separate printed circuit boards instead of a singular circuit board for processing of speaker/microphone signals separately would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Motivation for doing so would lie in allowing individual components to be manufactured for a particular purpose (i.e. speaker output vs microphone input) prior to assembly of the frame.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW A EASON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2624