DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in
FR on 09/29/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR 2310416 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishibashi et al. US 20180334097 A1 (“Ishibashi”).
For claim 1, Ishibashi discloses a method for assisting the driving of a vehicle implemented by an assistance system (See at least Abstract of Ishibashi – “… A monitoring system includes: a monitoring device that outputs a warning when detecting abnormality of a monitoring target person in an interior of a vehicle…”) comprising a controller (See at least [0027] of Ishibashi – “… The arithmetic unit 33 is a portion that integrally controls the components of the monitoring system 1… performs … state monitoring of the monitoring target person … a warning output… includes an electronic circuit … a known microcomputer …”), a seat (See at least [0024] of Ishibashi – “… The monitoring device 3 … monitors the state of the driver sitting on the driver's seat …”), at least one sensor for detecting the movement of an occupant of the seat (See at least [0025] – “… The detection unit 31 detects the state of the monitoring target person … is constituted of a detector such as a stereo camera …” and [0032] of Ishibashi – “…the determination unit 33a may perform state determination of the monitoring target person OB based on movement of the head part of the monitoring target person …”), and at least one seat equipment item capable of operating in a plurality of operating modes (See at least [0026] – “… output unit 32 may include at least one of a speaker that outputs auditory information such as a voice and a warning sound, a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character, a device that outputs tactile information such as …vibration of a seat… “ and [0041] of Ishibashi – “… If the determination unit 33a determines … the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … to output auditory information … may control the output unit 32 to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …” Examiner notes that the seat equipment operates in a plurality of operating modes, i.e., either outputting auditory, visual, or tactile information when needing to attract attention of the person or not outputting information), the method comprising the following steps:
a) initializing a counter (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… the determination unit 33a determines whether the control cycle is the first control cycle … the determination unit 33a starts to count the elapsed time after the state is changed … the determination unit 33a resets count of the elapsed time…”);
b) detecting a first stationary posture of the occupant for a period longer than a first defined duration (See at least [0041] of Ishibashi – “… When the position of the head part of the monitoring target person OB is returned to the normal region T1 and remains in the normal region T1 for a certain time or more, and it is determined that the monitoring target person OB is in the normal state in a subsequent control cycle, the determination unit 33a resets count of the elapsed time…”);
c) incrementing the counter by one value (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… the determination unit 33a determines whether the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed … If it is determined that the control cycle is not the first control cycle after the state is changed … proceeds to the next control cycle… the determination unit 33a starts to count the elapsed time after the state is changed… and continues to count the elapsed time…”);
d) controlling the operation of the at least one seat equipment item in an operating mode (See at least [0026] – “… output unit 32 may include at least one of a speaker that outputs auditory information such as a voice and a warning sound, a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character, a device that outputs tactile information such as …vibration of a seat… “ and [0041] of Ishibashi – “… If the determination unit 33a determines … the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … to output auditory information … may control the output unit 32 to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …”);
f) when a second stationary posture is detected for longer than a second defined duration, incrementing the counter by one value (See at least [0038]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… The determination unit 33a determines whether the head part of the monitoring target person OB is positioned in the attention attracting region T2 for a certain time or more to determine whether the monitoring target person OB is in the attention attracting state … when the position of the head part of the monitoring target person OB remains in the attention attracting region T2 in a subsequent control cycle, the determination unit 33a does not reset the count of the elapsed time, and continues to count the elapsed time…”);
g) comparing the counter value with a threshold (See at least [0039]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… the determination unit 33a determines whether a warning state determination period set in advance has elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state … If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32…”);
h) when the counter value equals the threshold, generating an alert signal to assist the driver (See at least [0038]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… The determination unit 33a determines whether the head part of the monitoring target person OB is positioned in the attention attracting region T2 for a certain time or more to determine whether the monitoring target person OB is in the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person… controls the output unit 32 to output auditory information such as “Concentrate on checking the situation” by voice … for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … may control the output unit 32 to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …”).
For claim 2, Ishibashi discloses wherein when the counter value is below the threshold (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the warning state determination period has not elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting…”), the method comprises the following steps:
- controlling a change in the operating mode of the at least one seat equipment item and controlling the operation of the at least one seat equipment item in the changed operating mode (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the warning state determination period has not elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting… the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … controls the output unit 32 to output auditory information such as “Concentrate on checking the situation” by voice … for attracting attention of the monitoring target person…”), and
- returning to step f) (See at least [0041] of Ishibashi – “…the determination unit 33a starts to count the elapsed time after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… when the position of the head part of the monitoring target person OB remains in the attention attracting region T2 in a subsequent control cycle, the determination unit 33a … continues to count the elapsed time…” and Fig. 4 of Ishibashi – Return block).
For claim 3, Ishibashi discloses wherein the assistance system comprises a plurality of seat equipment items (See at least [0026] – “… output unit 32 may include at least one of a speaker that outputs auditory information such as a voice and a warning sound, a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character, a device that outputs tactile information such as …vibration of a seat… “ and [0041] of Ishibashi – “… If the determination unit 33a determines … the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … to output auditory information … may control the output unit 32 to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …”), and wherein when the counter value is below the threshold (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the warning state determination period has not elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting…”), the method comprises the following steps:
- controlling the operation of another seat equipment item (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the warning state determination period has not elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting… the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person…”), and
- returning to step f) (See at least [0041] of Ishibashi – “…the determination unit 33a starts to count the elapsed time after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… when the position of the head part of the monitoring target person OB remains in the attention attracting region T2 in a subsequent control cycle, the determination unit 33a … continues to count the elapsed time…” and Fig. 4 of Ishibashi – Return block).
For claim 6, Ishibashi discloses wherein the method further comprises the following steps:
i) detecting a movement of the seat occupant after a second stationary posture is detected (See at least [0041]-[0043] of Ishibashi – “… the determination unit 33a starts to count the elapsed time after the state is changed to the attention attracting state. When the position of the head part of the monitoring target person OB is returned to the normal region T1 and remains in the normal region T1 for a certain time or more, and it is determined that the monitoring target person OB is in the normal state… the determination unit 33a determines whether the monitoring target person OB is in the warning state based on the detection result of the monitoring target person … The determination unit 33a determines whether the head part of the monitoring target person OB is positioned in the warning region T3 for a certain time or more to determine whether the monitoring target person OB is in the warning state… If it is determined that the monitoring target person OB is not in the warning state (No at Step ST5), the determination unit 33a determines that the monitoring target person OB is in the normal state…”),
j) determining the duration between the start of operation of the at least one seat equipment item, and/or the start of operation of the other seat equipment item, and the detection of the occupant's movement (See at least [0048] of Ishibashi – “…the operation controller 33b determines whether a support starting determination period set in advance has elapsed after the state is changed to the warning state, that is, determines whether the warning has continued for the support starting determination period set in advance …”);
k) generating an output signal representative of the determined duration (D) (See at least [0049] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the support starting determination period has elapsed after the state is changed to the warning state at Step ST10 (Yes at Step ST10), the operation controller 33b advances the process to Step ST11… In this case, the operation controller 33b outputs the support request signal to the vehicle ECU 107 …”),
l) returning to step a) (See at least [0049] of Ishibashi – “…the operation controller 33b outputs the support request signal to the vehicle ECU 107 … The arithmetic unit 33 then ends the current control cycle, and proceeds to the next control cycle…” and Fig. 4 of Ishibashi – Return block).
For claim 7, Ishibashi discloses wherein the assistance system further comprises a display screen suitable for displaying images (See at least [0026] of Ishibashi – “… output unit 32 may include at least … a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character…”), and wherein the method further comprises a step of modifying the display parameters of the image content displayed on the display screen, when the determined duration is greater than a first limit value (See at least [0038]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… The determination unit 33a determines whether the head part of the monitoring target person OB is positioned in the attention attracting region T2 for a certain time or more to determine whether the monitoring target person OB is in the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 … to output visual information… to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …”).
For claim 9, Ishibashi discloses wherein the assistance system further comprises a speaker and/or display screen (See at least [0026] of Ishibashi – “… output unit 32 may include at least one of a speaker that outputs auditory information such as a voice and a warning sound, a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character…”), and wherein the method further comprises a step of displaying and/or audio broadcasting a value representative of the determined duration and/or counter values (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Ishibashi – “… If it is determined that the warning state determination period has not elapsed after the state is changed to the attention attracting state… If the determination unit 33a determines that the control cycle is the first control cycle after the state is changed to the attention attracting… the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output auditory information such as “Concentrate on checking the situation” by voice…”).
For claim 10, Ishibashi discloses a driving assistance system for a vehicle (See at least Abstract of Ishibashi – “… A monitoring system includes: a monitoring device that outputs a warning when detecting abnormality of a monitoring target person in an interior of a vehicle…”), the system comprising a seat (See at least [0024] of Ishibashi – “… The monitoring device 3 … monitors the state of the driver sitting on the driver's seat …”), at least one sensor for detecting the movement of an occupant of the seat (See at least [0025] – “… The detection unit 31 detects the state of the monitoring target person … is constituted of a detector such as a stereo camera …” and [0032] of Ishibashi – “…the determination unit 33a may perform state determination of the monitoring target person OB based on movement of the head part of the monitoring target person …”), and at least one seat equipment item capable of operating in a plurality of operating modes and a controller configured to implement the assistance method according to claim1 (See at least [0026]-[0027] – “… output unit 32 may include at least one of a speaker that outputs auditory information such as a voice and a warning sound, a display that outputs visual information such as an image and a character, a device that outputs tactile information such as …vibration of a seat… The arithmetic unit 33 is a portion that integrally controls the components of the monitoring system 1… performs … state monitoring of the monitoring target person … a warning output… includes an electronic circuit … a known microcomputer …” and [0041] of Ishibashi – “… If the determination unit 33a determines … the state is changed to the attention attracting state … the operation controller 33b controls the output unit 32 to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person … to output auditory information … may control the output unit 32 to output visual information, tactile information, and the like to output information for attracting attention of the monitoring target person …” Examiner notes that the seat equipment operates in a plurality of operating modes, i.e., either outputting auditory, visual, or tactile information when needing to attract attention of the person or not outputting information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of Shimizu et al. US 20210101512 A1 (“Shimizu”).
For claim 4, Ishibashi discloses wherein the at least one seat equipment item comprises at least one vibrating device comprising a support and a vibrating element movable relative to the support (See at least [0026] of Ishibashi – “… output unit 32 may include at least … a device that outputs tactile information such as …vibration of a seat…” Examiner notes that the tactile devices on a seat vibrate and move relative to its installation surface on the seat to induce a vibration of the seat).
Ishibashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the step of controlling a change in the operating mode of the vibrating device comprises changing the vibration frequency of the vibrating element and/or changing the vibration amplitude of the vibrating element and/or changing the vibration duration.
However, Shimizu, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the step of controlling a change in the operating mode of the vibrating device comprises changing the vibration frequency of the vibrating element and/or changing the vibration amplitude of the vibrating element and/or changing the vibration duration (See at least [0103] – “… when it is determined as Yes in step S12, controller 160 drives actuators 140 with a vibration waveform for fatigue (S13). The vibration waveform for fatigue may be a vibration waveform that can recover the fatigue of the driver, and for example, may be a vibration having a frequency sufficient for improving the blood flow of the driver. The vibration waveform for fatigue has a higher frequency than the vibration waveform for alertness described later, and for example, the frequency may be 70 Hz or higher, more preferably 80 Hz or higher, and further preferably 90 Hz or higher…” and [0110] of Shimizu – “When the pressure distribution fluctuates in a constant cycle (Yes in S22), controller 160 drives actuators 140 with the vibration waveform for alertness … The vibration waveform for alertness has a lower frequency than the vibration waveform for fatigue, and the frequency is, for example, 50 Hz or less, more preferably 30 Hz or less, and further preferably 15 Hz or more and 30 Hz or less. In addition, the vibration waveform for alertness may be a vibration having a strength that can promote alertness to the driver. It should be noted that step S23 is an example of the control step…”). Thus, Ishibashi discloses a monitoring system for a person sitting in a seat of a vehicle that monitors different postures and movements of the person, durations of the detected postures, number of control cycles for the system, and outputs information for warning the person being monitored by outputting auditory, visual information or vibrating the seat when detection thresholds are met, while Shimizu teaches a system that controls vibration frequencies of seat actuators to recover a fatigue of a driver and uses different vibration frequencies to promote alertness to the driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and driving assistance system as disclosed in Ishibashi to include the feature of changing the vibration frequency of the vibrating element as taught by Shimizu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to drive the actuators with a vibration waveform for fatigue that improves the blood flow of the driver and another waveform that does not cause a discomfort to the sitting driver as specified in at least [0103] and [0110] of Shimizu.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of Han et al. US 20240375553 A1 (“Han”).
For claim 5, Ishibashi discloses wherein the seat comprises a squab, a backrest hinged to the squab (See at least Fig. 3 of Ishibashi – seat backrest is attached to the seat cushion).
Ishibashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one seat equipment item comprises an actuator capable of driving the pivoting of the backrest relative to the squab, and wherein the step of controlling the operation of the at least one seat equipment item comprises a step of controlling the driving in rotation of the backrest relative to the squab through an angle of between 3% and 6% of the total angular travel of the backrest by the actuator.
However, Han, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one seat equipment item comprises an actuator capable of driving the pivoting of the backrest relative to the squab (See at least [0070] of Han – “… the second driving part 130 may include at least one of at least one motor that controls the reclining angle of the seat to a specific angle…”), and wherein the step of controlling the operation of the at least one seat equipment item comprises a step of controlling the driving in rotation of the backrest relative to the squab through an angle of between 3% and 6% of the total angular travel of the backrest by the actuator (See at least [0070] – “… the second driving part 130 may include at least one of at least one motor that controls the reclining angle of the seat to a specific angle…” and [0157] of Han – “… the seat control apparatus may control the reclining angle of the seat 550 in a range of a foremost angle point 510 to a rearmost angle point 520…” Examiner notes that the seat control apparatus is capable of controlling the driving in rotation of the backrest relative to the seat cushion through an angle of between 3% and 6% of the total angular travel of the backrest by the motor). Thus, Ishibashi discloses a monitoring system for a person sitting in a seat of a vehicle that monitors different postures and movements of the person, durations of the detected postures, number of control cycles for the system, and outputs information for warning the person being monitored by outputting auditory, visual information or vibrating the seat when detection thresholds are met, while Han teaches a seat control apparatus that uses a controller and a motor to control the reclining angle of a seat through a range of angles from a foremost angle to a rearmost angle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and driving assistance system as disclosed in Ishibashi to include the feature of the at least one seat equipment item comprising an actuator capable of driving the pivoting of the backrest relative to the squab, and wherein the step of controlling the operation of the at least one seat equipment item comprises a step of controlling the driving in rotation of the backrest relative to the squab through an angle of between 3% and 6% of the total angular travel of the backrest by the actuator as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control the reclining angle of the seat in a range as specified in at least [0157] of Han.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to for containing allowable subject matter, but would be allowable if the claim rejections from previous sections of this office action were resolved.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of record is Ishibashi et al. US 20180334097 A1 (“Ishibashi”), Shimizu et al. US 20210101512 A1 (“Shimizu”), and Han et al. US 20240375553 A1 (“Han”).
Ishibashi discloses a monitoring system for a person sitting in a seat of a vehicle that monitors different postures and movements of the person, durations of the detected postures, number of control cycles for the system, and outputs information for warning the person being monitored by outputting auditory, visual information or vibrating the seat when detection thresholds are met.
Shimizu teaches a system that controls vibration frequencies of seat actuators to recover a fatigue of a driver and uses different vibration frequencies to promote alertness to the driver.
Han teaches a seat control apparatus that uses a controller and a motor to control the reclining angle of a seat through a range of angles from a foremost angle to a rearmost angle.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record, taken individually or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the following claimed subject matter:
“wherein the assistance system further comprises a communication interface, a speaker and/or a display screen, the communication interface being intended to communicate with a cell phone, and wherein when the predetermined duration is greater than a second limit value, the method comprises a step of delaying the display of at least one mini-message on the display screen and/or delaying the broadcasting of at least one audio message by the speaker, the mini-message and the audio message having been received by the cell phone”
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668