DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 5/13/26. By virtue of this amendment, claims 6 and 14 are cancelled and claims 21-22 are newly added, thus, claims 1-5, 7-13, 15-22 are currently presented in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 5/13/26, clam 1 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Ota et al (US Pub. No: 2023/0108612) has been withdrawn. But they are not persuasive or overcome prior art of Song et al.
Furthermore, Examiner does not see different an equalizer subcircuit and NxM power stages to compare amplifier and switching circuit of Song. See figure 4 of Application only disclose the equalizer subcircuit and the NxM power stages (such as power or current or voltage) for each Micro-LED and specification of Applicant does not show “coupling or connecting” for NXM power stages to compare the switching circuits of Song et al and figure 4 of Song discloses output regulate voltage of amplifier(434a) to a gate of switching circuit(44a) and a source of switching circuit (44a)to providing current/voltage/power for one of power stages as claimed.
Therefore, the non-final mailed on 3/9/26 are remain rejected as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11,15-18,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Song (US Pub. Song et al (US Pub. No: 20220418069)).
With respect to claim 1, Song discloses a lighting circuit configured to control an N-by-M cluster of micro-light emitting diodes (micro-LEDs) [paragraphs 3-4 “micro-LED lighting system can include an LED array matrix”], wherein N and M are positive integers 230, the lighting circuit comprising: an amplifier circuit 434 configured to receive a reference voltage and output a regulated voltage [paragraph 52]; an equalizer subcircuit; and NxM power stages configured to drive NxM mirco-LEDs, wherein equalizer subcircuit is configured to output the regulated voltage to each of the NxM power stages [paragraph 14 “use PWM control typically include, in each pixel, a micro-LED, a PWM switch, and a transistor…all of the micro-LEDs, or subsets of the micro-LEDs, receive the same current control signal, so multiple transistor gates are connected to the same control line”; paragraph 43 “generates an individual PWM signal 215 for each pixel in the pixel array 230”].
Song also disclose wherein the equalizer subcircuit comprises a plurality of switches (PWM) that are arranged and controlled to output the regulated voltage to each of the NxM power stages to regulate a source and a gate of each of the NxM power stages. Paragraphs [14,19,43] and figure 4.
With respect to claim 21, Song et al disclose, wherein the amplifier circuit is connected
to a particular power stage via one or more of the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit
only at times with the particular power stage is controlling a particular micro-LED to be in an
ON state. Figure 4.
With respect to claim 2, Song et al disclose, wherein the lighting circuit is configured to control the N-by-M cluster within a matrix of the micro-LEDs associated with a vehicle headlamp (paragraphs 3-4 ) show micro-LED lighting system can include an LED array matrix and automotive headlights.
With respect to claim 7, Song et al disclose, wherein the NxM power stages comprise power transistors that are controlled via pulse modulation signals to deliver current to the NxM mirco-LEDs, wherein different pulse modulation signals for different ones of the power transistors are defined by controlling the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit. Paragraphs [14-15, 43].
With respect to claim 8, Song et al disclose, wherein controlling the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit is based on logic signals that define a number of pulse width modulation (PWM) quanta, wherein the PWM quanta define ON-OFF states for each of the NxM mirco-LEDs within a PWM duty cycle. Abstract, paragraphs [4,18-20].
With respect to claim 9, Song et al disclose, wherein output of each of the NxM power stages is connected to the equalizer subcircuit, wherein the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit further includes feedback switches, wherein the equalizer subcircuit is configured to deliver a feedback signal to the amplifier, wherein the feedback signal is defined by controlling the feedback switches based on the logic signal. Paragraphs [18,48].
With respect to claim 10, Song et al disclose in figures 2-3, wherein output of each of the NxM power stages is connected to the equalizer subcircuit, wherein the equalizer subcircuit is configured to deliver a feedback signal to the amplifier. Paragraphs [18,48].
With respect to claim 11, Song et al disclose, a method of controlling an N-by-M cluster of micro-light emitting diodes (micro-LEDs), wherein N and M are positive integers(paragraphs [3-4]) , the method comprising: receiving, by an amplifier circuit(paragraph [52] for an amplifier), a reference voltage; outputting, by the amplifier circuit, a regulated voltage to an equalizer subcircuit; outputting, by the equalizer subcircuit, the regulated voltage to each of NxM power stages; and driving, by the NxM power stages, NxM mirco-LEDs based on the regulated voltage. Paragraph 14 “use PWM control typically include, in each pixel, a micro-LED, a PWM switch, and a transistor…all of the micro-LEDs, or subsets of the micro-LEDs, receive the same current control signal, so multiple transistor gates are connected to the same control line”; paragraph 43 “generates an individual PWM signal 215 for each pixel in the pixel array 230”].
Song also disclose wherein the equalizer subcircuit comprises a plurality of switches (PWM) that are arranged and controlled to output the regulated voltage to each of the NxM power stages to regulate a source and a gate of each of the NxM power stages. Paragraphs [14,19,43] and figure 4.
With respect to claim 15, Song et al disclose, wherein the NxM power stages comprise power transistors that are controlled via pulse modulation signals to deliver current to the NxM mirco-LEDs, the method further comprising controlling the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit based on the pulse modulation signals. Paragraphs [14-15, 43].
With respect to claim 16, Song et al disclose, wherein controlling the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit is based on logic signals that define a number of pulse width modulation (PWM) quanta, wherein the PWM quanta define ON-OFF states for each of the NxM mirco-LEDs within a PWM duty cycle. Abstract, paragraphs [4,18-20].
With respect to claim 17, Song et al disclose, further comprising: delivering output of each of the N+M power stages back to the equalizer subcircuit, wherein the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit further includes feedback switches; and delivering a feedback signal from the equalizer subcircuit to the amplifier, wherein the feedback signal is defined by controlling the feedback switches based on the logic signal. Paragraphs [18-21,48,53].
With respect to claim 18, Song et al disclose, wherein output of each of the NxM power stages is connected to the equalizer subcircuit, wherein the equalizer subcircuit is configured to deliver a feedback signal to the amplifier. Paragraphs [18-21,48,53].
With respect to claim 21, Song et al disclose, wherein the amplifier circuit is connected
to a particular power stage via one or more of the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit
only at times with the particular power stage is controlling a particular micro-LED to be in an
ON state. Figure 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Song et al (US Pub. No: 20220418069) in view of Doherty et al (US Pub. No: 2021/0317326).
With respect to claim 3, Song et al disclose, wherein each of the NxM power stages in figure 1.
Song et al do not disclose each of the NxM power stages are arranged on circuit areas that have a pitch less than 100 micrometers.
Doherty et al disclose the micro-LED has a size smaller than 100 micrometers. In another embodiment, the micro-LED has a size smaller than 50 micrometers as show in paragraph [113].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Doherty et al into the headlamp of Song to control improve high brightness and suitable for various applications.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Song et al (US Pub. No: 20220418069) in view of SEO et al (US Pub. No:2024/0072081).
With respect to claims 4 and 12, Song et al disclose switching circuits (432a, 444a), amplifier circuit(434a) in figure 4 and paragraphs 52-54.
Song et al do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the NxM power stages comprises a source follower power stage.
SEO et al disclose a drive transistor DX is connected to a current source (not shown) located outside the plurality of pixels PX and operates as a source follower buffer amplifier. Paragraphs [29 and 34].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of SEO et al into the headlamp of Song to control ON/OFF current for the headlamp.
Claims 5, 13, 19-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Song et al (US Pub. No: 20220418069) in view of Van Lier et al (US Pub. No:2022/0375397).
With respect to claims 5, 13, Song et al disclose in figure 2, the matrix for N=5, M=5.
Song et al do not explicitly disclose wherein N = 2; and M = 2.
Van Lier et al disclose a light source array in a 4×4 matrix can include four 2×2 segments. Paragraphs [156-157].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Van Lier et al into the headlamp of Song to provide the matrix which includes N=2, M=2 instead of N=5, M=5 for the headlamp.
With respect to claim 19, Song et al disclose, a lighting system comprising: a matrix of micro-light emitting diodes (micro-LEDs)(paragraphs [3-4], a plurality of lighting circuits (figures 3-4 , two pixel assemblies 410a and 410b), each configured to control a unique N-by-M cluster of the micro-LEDs, wherein N and M are positive integers(230), wherein each of the plurality of lighting circuits (two pixel assemblies 410a and 410b)comprises: an amplifier circuit (434a or 434b)configured to receive a reference voltage and output a regulated voltage(paragraph [52]); an equalizer subcircuit; and NxM power stages configured to drive NxM mirco-LEDs, wherein equalizer subcircuit is configured to output the regulated voltage to each of the NxM power stages. Paragraph 14 “use PWM control typically include, in each pixel, a micro-LED, a PWM switch, and a transistor…all of the micro-LEDs, or subsets of the micro-LEDs, receive the same current control signal, so multiple transistor gates are connected to the same control line”; paragraph 43 “generates an individual PWM signal 215 for each pixel in the pixel array 230”] and Song also disclose wherein the equalizer subcircuit comprises a plurality of switches (PWM) that are arranged and controlled to output the regulated voltage to each of the NxM power stages to regulate a source and a gate of each of the NxM power stages. Paragraphs [14,19,43] and figure 4 and
Song et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the matrix includes greater than 2000 micro-LEDs.
Van Lier et al disclose a matrix includes greater than 2000 micro-LEDs. Paragraph [133] shows a display is a 2×3 matrix of LED devices, a micro-LED display can also have significantly more devices, such as between 2000 and 1,000,000 micro-LED pixels.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Van Lier et al into the headlamp of Song to increase more brightness or more intensity for the headlamp.
With respect to claim 20, Song et al disclose, in figure 1, wherein the lighting system comprises a vehicle headlamp.
With respect to claim 22, Song et al disclose, in figure 4, wherein the amplifier circuit is connected to a particular power stage via one or more of the plurality of switches of the equalizer subcircuit only at times with the particular power stage is controlling a particular micro-LED to be in an ON state.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844