Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I-A (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 4/20/26 is acknowledged. Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ring mechanism” and “retention element” in claim 6.
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the aforementioned limitation:
The generic place holders “mechanism” and “element” are identified as a replacement for the generic “means for,” and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“mechanism” and “element” are modified by the functional language “configured to removably engage with the aerosol can.” The generic placeholders are set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, claim 6 is given a broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the applicant’s Specification and equivalents – described in applicant’s [0027]-[0031] and [0035].
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 1 (and claims 2-7 by dependency):
“each tab of the pair of tabs is positioned to restrict engagement with a corresponding pad of the pair of opposing pads…” (claim 1) – It is unclear what is meant by “restrict engagement.” In particular, it is unclear whether the phrase requires that the tabs physically impede user access to the pads, prevent actuation of the pads, or merely prevent the pads from performing their intended function of releasing the cap from the aerosol can. For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted broadly as meaning that the tabs are positioned such that, while intact, the pads are prevented from performing their intended cap removal function.
“a corresponding pad of the pair of opposing pads” (claim 1) – It is unclear what each recited pad corresponds to. Specifically, it is unclear whether each pad corresponds to one of the tabs, to the other pad of the pair of opposing pads, or to some other structure. The examiner recommends expressly describing the corresponding objects – for example, if this is applicant’s intent, convey that each tab corresponds to a particular pad. For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted as referring to one of the pads within the recited pair of opposing pads as corresponding to the other.
“a pair of tabs positioned relative to the sidewall and outward relative to the pair of opposing pads” (claim 1) – The relative term “outward” fails to provide an objective boundary for determining the spatial relationship between the tabs and the pads. In particular, it is unclear whether “outward” refers to a radial, axial, circumferential, or other direction. For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted as requiring that the tabs be positioned radially outward of the pads when the cap is viewed in plan view.
35 USC § 102 Rejection
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Appal (US 4,962,864).
Regarding claim 1, Appal discloses a tamper evident cap (2) configured to engage with an aerosol can, the tamper evident cap comprising:
a sidewall (inside of 8) and a top surface (inside of 6), the sidewall and the top surface define an inner cavity (interior of cap 2 bounded by 6 and 8);
a pair of opposing pads (29, 30) movably positioned relative to the sidewall and configured to release the tamper evident cap from the aerosol can;
and a pair of tabs (22, 24) positioned relative to the sidewall and outward relative to the pair of opposing pads (when looking down on cap 2, items 22 & 24 are outward from items 29 & 30), wherein each tab of the pair of tabs is positioned to restrict engagement with a corresponding pad of the pair of opposing pads (each tab-like portion (22, 24) of removable member (14) is positioned such that, while member (14) remains intact, the pair of opposing squeeze pads (29, 30), which correspond as opposing pads to one another, cannot function as intended to release and remove the cap from the aerosol can; it should be noted that the claim does not require that “each tab” correspond to “a corresponding pad of the pair of opposing pads”), wherein each tab of the pair of tabs is at least partially removable from the sidewall (2:44-46).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Appal further discloses wherein the pair of tabs are removable from the sidewall without the use of a tool (1:24-26; 1:68-2:2; 2:47-48).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Appal further discloses wherein each tab and the corresponding pad define a gap therebetween (distance between 22/24 and 29/30), wherein the gap is sized to fit at least a portion of a user's finger (distance is inherently capable of fitting an undefined portion of a finger).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Appal further discloses wherein each tab of the pair of tabs further defines a frangible section (16, 18, 25-28) positioned between each tab and the sidewall, wherein each tab is removable from the sidewall along the frangible section.
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations in claim 4, Appal further discloses wherein each tab and the corresponding pad define a gap that opens relative to a first edge of each of the tab and the corresponding pad, wherein the frangible section of each tab is positioned relative to a second edge of the tab (Figs. 2, 3, 4, and 7).
Claims 6 and 7 have not been fully examined with respect to the prior art because they depend from an indefinite base claim and further recite additional limitations that may require further search and consideration following amendment to the claims and before potentially marking these claims as allowable. MPEP § 2173.06.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SPE DAVID ANGWIN whose telephone number is (571)-270- 3735. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754