Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180132295 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”) in view of NPL IEEE P802.11-REVme/D3.0, April 2023 to IEEE Computer Society (hereinafter “IEEE”)
Claim 1
Wang teaches an electronic device [Wang; Fig 2B Item 202], comprising:
a transceiver [Wang; Fig 2B Item 220] configured to communicate over a wireless network[Wang; Fig 2B Item 216]; and
a processor [Wang; Fig 2B Item 218], communicatively coupled to the transceiver, and configured to:
receive [Wang; Para. 0011 “ The receiver is configured to receive a FILS discovery (FD) frame from an AP” ], using the transceiver and from a second electronic device [Wang; Fig 2C Item 270], a first information element (IE) [Wang; Para. 0070 - “FILS Discovery (FD) frame,”] comprising a first set of pointers [Wang; Para. 0103, 0104 “ a fixed-length four octet coding” “a variable-length coding of up to four octets” ] indicating a first set of security suites; [Wang; Para. 0103, 0104 “ The RSNE 800 includes a group data cipher suite field 802, which may be four bits long; a pairwise cipher suite list field 804, which may be eight bits long, allowing up to two pairwise suites; an AKM suite list field 806, which may be eight bits long, allowing up to two AKM suites; an optimized RSN capabilities field 808, which may be eight bits long; and a group management cipher suite field 810, which may be four bits long.”] [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
transmit [Wang; Para. 0110 “ enable the STA to transmit” , Para. 0123 “enable a STA to initiate association”], using the transceiver and to the second electronic device, a second IE comprising a second set of pointers indicating a second set of security suites selected from the first set of security suites indicated by the second electronic device; [Wang; Para. 0011 “ determine to associate with the AP based on the received FD frame. The transmitter is configured to transmit an association request frame to the AP.” ]
use the second set of security suites for communicating with the second electronic device. [Wang; Para. 0043 “ Each of the base stations 214 a, 214 b may be any type of device configured to wirelessly interface with at least one of the WTRUs 202 a, 202 b, 202 c, 202 d to facilitate access to one or more communication networks” ]
While Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1 Wang fails to explicitly teach the claimed limitations, however, IEEE teaches:
“receive, using the transceiver and from the second electronic device, a response indicating that the second electronic device confirms the second set of security suites” [IEEE; Page 698 – 707; Table 9-62, 9-63; Shows the structure of the association request and response in the frame body which contains information confirming selection of security. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Wang as IEEE provides the explicit standard and definition for completing the association of Wang who relies on IEEE 802.11.
Claim 2:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a memory storing a first security suite table and a second security suite table, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the second set of security suites from the first and second security suite tables using the first set of pointers in the first IE. [Wang; Para. 0108-0111 – Tables 1 and 2 ]
Claim 3:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive the first IE in a beacon frame. [Wang; Para. 0070 - “ a modified short beacon frame” ]
Claim 4:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive the first IE in a probe response frame. [Wang; Para. 0123 “ probe response frames, encoded in the SSID IE.” ]
Claim 5:
Wang and IEEE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive the response indicating that the second electronic device confirms the second IE in an association response frame. [Wang; Para. 0011, 0043 – For access to network services it would be a logical step for providing an association response to an association request as known in the art. ] [IEEE; Page 698 – 707; Table 9-62, 9-63; Shows the structure of the association request and response in the frame body which contains information confirming selection of security. ]
Claim 6:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second IE using an association request frame. [Wang; Para. 0011 “ determine to associate with the AP based on the received FD frame. The transmitter is configured to transmit an association request frame to the AP.” ]
Claim 7:
Wang and IEEE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second IE in response to a selection of one or more credentials at the electronic device. [Wang; Para. 0011, 0043 – The association request requires the station to choose (e.g. select) security (e.g. credentials). ] [IEEE; Page 698 – 707; Table 9-62, 9-63; Shows the structure of the association request and response in the frame body which contains information confirming selection of security. ]
Claim 8:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first IE or the second IE comprises a group suite identifier (ID) selector field and one or more pairwise suite ID selector fields. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Claim 9:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the first IE or the second IE further comprises a number of suite ID selectors field indicating a number of the one or more pairwise suite ID selector fields. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Claim 10:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the group suite ID selector field of the first IE includes a pointer of the first set of pointers indicating a row in a first security suite table. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Claim 11:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the group suite ID selector field of the second IE includes a pointer of the second set of pointers indicating the row in the first security suite table. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Claim 12:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more pairwise suite ID selector fields of the first IE include one or more pointers of the first set of pointers indicating a row in a second security suite table. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Claim 13:
Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the one or more pairwise suite ID selector fields of the second IE include a single pointer of the second set of pointers selected from the one or more pointers of the first set of pointers of the first IE. [Wang; Para. 0102-0110, Fig. 7-11, Table 1 – Wang discloses the format of the optimized robust security network element (RSNE) including group suite identifier, pairwise suite ID and bits representing pointers. The tables further displays column and row. ]
Regarding claims 14-20 they are method and device claims essentially corresponding to the above recitations, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432