Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming the double patenting rejection.
Reason for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior arts fail to teach
the invention comprising: enabling a first resource to assert a first identity associated with the first resource, wherein the first resource resides in a first tenancy provided by a cloud service provider (CSP); enabling the first resource to assert a second identity associated with a second resource residing in a tenancy of a customer of the CSP, wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; obtaining, for the first resource, information identifying the second resource, the information identifying the second resource representing a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of a resource endpoint associated with the second resource; and obtaining, for the first resource, the second identity associated with the second resource based on the information identifying the second resource and a first token for the first resource; and accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer.
Double Patenting
Instant Application
1. A method comprising: enabling a first resource to assert a first identity associated with the first resource, wherein the first resource resides in a first tenancy provided by a cloud service provider (CSP); enabling the first resource to assert a second identity associated with a second resource residing in a tenancy of a customer of the CSP, wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; and accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer.
11. A system comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising: enabling a first resource to assert a first identity associated with the first resource, wherein the first resource resides in a first tenancy provided by a cloud service provider (CSP); enabling the first resource to assert a second identity associated with a second resource residing in a tenancy of a customer of the CSP, wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; and accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer.
17. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by a computer system that, when executed by one or more processors of the computer system, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: enabling a first resource to assert a first identity associated with the first resource, wherein the first resource resides in a first tenancy provided by a cloud service provider (CSP); enabling the first resource to assert a second identity associated with a second resource residing in a tenancy of a customer of the CSP, wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; and accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer.
Patent 12137145
1. A method comprising: obtaining, for a first resource residing in a service tenancy of a plurality of service tenancies provided by a cloud service provider (CSP), a first identity associated with the first resource and information identifying a second resource, wherein the information identifying the second resource represents a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of a resource endpoint associated with the second resource and wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; obtaining a first token for the first resource using the first identity, the first token enabling the first resource to assert the first identity; obtaining, for the first resource, a second identity associated with the second resource using the first token and the information identifying the second resource, wherein the second resource is created in a customer tenancy provided by the CSP; obtaining a second token for the first resource using the second identity, the second token enabling the first resource to assert the second identity; and using, by the first resource, the second token to access another resource residing in the customer tenancy.
10. A system comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising: obtaining, for a first resource residing in a service tenancy of a plurality of service tenancies provided by a cloud service provider (CSP), a first identity associated with the first resource and information identifying a second resource, wherein the information identifying the second resource represents a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of a resource endpoint associated with the second resource and wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; obtaining a first token for the first resource using the first identity, the first token enabling the first resource to assert the first identity; obtaining, for the first resource, a second identity associated with the second resource using the first token and the information identifying the second resource, wherein the second resource is created in a customer tenancy provided by the CSP; obtaining a second token for the first resource using the second identity, the second token enabling the first resource to assert the second identity; and using, by the first resource, the second token to access another resource residing in the customer tenancy.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by a computer system that, when executed by one or more processors of the computer system, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: obtaining, for a first resource residing in a service tenancy of a plurality of service tenancies provided by a cloud service provider (CSP), a first identity associated with the first resource and information identifying a second resource, wherein the information identifying the second resource represents a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of a resource endpoint associated with the second resource and wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource; obtaining a first token for the first resource using the first identity, the first token enabling the first resource to assert the first identity; obtaining, for the first resource, a second identity associated with the second resource using the first token and the information identifying the second resource, wherein the second resource is created in a customer tenancy provided by the CSP; obtaining a second token for the first resource using the second identity, the second token enabling the first resource to assert the second identity; and using, by the first resource, the second token to access another resource residing in the customer tenancy.
Claim 1 is non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12137145 in view of Elmenshawy et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0409345. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12137145 does not claim accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer. Elmenshawy teaches accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer ([79]-[85], e.g., accessing, by the second resource, a third resource (e.g., object storage system) by asserting the first identifier/identity, wherein the third resource resides in the client’s tenancy). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Elmenshawy’s teaching because by doing so it would allow resources in different tenancies of a cloud computing system to interact with each other, thus improving the access control of the system.
Except for the identified elements above, claim 1 of 12137145 contains every elements of claim 1 in the instant application and thus anticipate the claim of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier claim and as such is unpatentable over non-provisional obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 11 and 17 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 15 of U.S. Patent 12137145 in view of Elmenshawy for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elmenshawy et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0409345 (hereinafter Elmenshawy).
As per claim 1, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
enabling a first resource to assert a first identity associated with the first resource, wherein the first resource resides in a first tenancy provided by a cloud service provider (CSP) ([79]-[85], e.g., enabling second resource to assert an identifier/identity associated with a second resource, wherein the second resource is a compute instance as part of providing the cloud service);
enabling the first resource to assert a second identity associated with a second resource residing in a tenancy of a customer of the CSP, wherein the first resource is a sub-resource of the second resource ([79]-[85], e.g., enabling the second resource to assert another identifier/identity associated with a first resource residing in the client’s tenancy, wherein the second resource is upon which the first resource is built); and
accessing, by the first resource, a third resource by asserting the second identity, wherein the third resource resides in the tenancy of the customer ([79]-[85], e.g., accessing, by the second resource, a third resource (e.g., object storage system) by asserting the first identifier/identity, wherein the third resource resides in the client’s tenancy).
As per claim 2, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy further teach wherein the first tenancy is a service tenancy of a plurality of service tenancies provided by the CSP ([10][11][36]), wherein the service tenancy represents a provisioning platform for provisioning, configuring, and managing a plurality of cloud resources associated with a plurality of cloud services provided by the CSP ([113][115]).
As per claim 3, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy further teach obtaining a first token for the first resource using the first identity ([48][79]-[85]); and using the first token to enable the first resource to assert the first identity ([48][79]-[85], e.g., obtaining a digital certificate for second resource using the identifier/infrastructure identifier).
As per claim 6, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy further teach obtaining a second token for the first resource using the second identity ([82][52][79]-[85]); and using the second token to enable the first resource to assert the second identity ([79]-[85]).
As per claim 7, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6 above. Elmenshawy further teach wherein the second token represents a resource principal session token associated with the second resource, the resource principal session token representing a temporary session token and a secure credential associated with the second resource that enables the second resource to authenticate itself to one or more resources provided by the CSP ([52][59][60]).
As per claim 9, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy further teach wherein the first identity represents a resource principal identity associated with the first resource that enables the first resource to be authorized to access a plurality of cloud resources provided by the CSP ([43][49][70]) and wherein the first identity associated with the first resource is obtained from a control plane associated with a service that owns the first resource in the first tenancy provided by the CSP ([69][106]).
As per claim 10, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy further teach wherein the second identity for the second resource represents a resource principal identity associated with the second resource that enables the second resource to be authorized to access a plurality of cloud resources provided by the CSP and wherein the second identity for the second resource is obtained from a customer control plane associated with the second resource ([87]-[89]).
As per claims 11 and 17, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above. See [144] and figure 15 for a system comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to perform processing of claim 1.
As per claims 12 and 19, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 above.
As per claim 13, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 above.
As per claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 above.
As per claim 18, it is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmenshawy.
As per claim 4, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3 above. Although Elmenshawy teach wherein the first token represents a resource principal session token associated with the first resource, wherein the resource principal session token and a secure credential associated with the first resource that enables the first resource to authenticate itself to a plurality of cloud resources provided by the CSP ([43][49][70]), however Elmenshawy is silent in regards to resource principal session token represents a temporary session token. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include resource principal session token (e.g., digital certificate) represents a temporary session token because by doing so it would allow the resource principal session token (e.g., digital certificate) to be enabled only within a time period, thus improving the security of Elmenshawy’s system.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmenshawy in view of Pandiri et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0097763.
As per claim 8, Elmenshawy teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Elmenshawy is silent in regards to wherein the tenancy of a customer of the CSP represents an account created for the customer of the CSP that subscribes to one or more services provided by the CSP. Pandiri teaches wherein the tenancy of a customer of the CSP represents an account created for the customer of the CSP that subscribes to one or more services provided by the CSP ([4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pandiri’s teaching with Elmenshawy’s system in order to allow a customer to access the services under this tenancy, thus improving the security and access control of Elmenshawy’s system.
As per claims 16 and 20, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 above.
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454