DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinette (US 12,036,501) in view of Goto (WO 2016/195009 A1).
With regards to Claims 1, 11, 12, and 18-20:
Robinette teaches:
A filter, part 15, which comprises a combination of fiberglass and activated charcoal which reads on applicant's claimed collection pad comprising an impregnated filter material which is porous which reads on applicant's claimed plurality of perforations through which air is configured to pass upon rotation of the fan blade (See Robinette Paragraph 65, 79) A mount, part 45, which reads on applicant's claimed attachment mechanism attached to the filter, part 15, which reads on applicant's claimed collection pad and to the support, part 20, and to the fan blade. (See Robinette Paragraph 56-58)
Removing mold spores, dust particles, and pollen. (See Robinette Paragraph 2)
Robinette does not explicitly teach:
(Claim 1) The filter comprises polyester impregnated with an air purifying matter.
(Claim 11) The polyester material is impregnated with activated coconut shell carbon.
(Claim 12) The activated coconut shell carbon material has a surface area in excess of 1200 m2/gram.
Goto teaches:
A nonwoven fabric which comprises polyester and coconut shell activated carbon which has a surface area of 1500 m2/gram. (See Goto Example 1 Pg. 10 and 11 and pg. 5 paragraphs 4-7)
The filter is configured to remove 0.3 micron particulates or larger. (See Goto pg. 9 and 10)
Robinette teaches the claimed invention except for Robinette does not explicitly teach a polyester material which comprises an embedded coconut shell activated carbon material. Goto teaches that a polyester filter comprising a coconut shell activated carbon inclusion with a surface area disclosed at 1500 m2/gram which reads on applicant's claimed in excess of 1200 m2/gram and that the surface area is a known result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the filter of Robinette as taught by Goto in order to remove scents as discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a known result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Robinette teaches it is desirable to remove mold spore and plant pollens from the air. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would appropriately size the filter pores to be capable of removing mold spores and plant pollens. Additionally, Goto teaches that the filter is capable of removing particulates of 0.3 microns or larger which reads on applicant's claimed range of 0.1 to 100 microns (Claim 19) and 4 to 6 microns (Claim 20) for size of particles the pores are capable of removing and that pore size and particulate removal size are known result effective variables. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize pores of the filter of Robinette as taught by Goto in order to remove mold spores and plant pollen as taught by Robinette as discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a known result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
MERV rating is the result of testing a filter, this rating does not add any additional structure to the filter itself. A MERV rating of 5 equates to a particle size of 3.0 to 10 microns are captured with an efficiency of greater than or equal to 20% (See EPA NPL “What is a MERV rating”). As detailed above with respect to particle capture the filter would be expected to meet these criteria. The courts have held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112
With regards to Claims 2-4 Robinette further teaches:
A strip of the impregnated polyester blend is attached to an edge of the collection pad, it is a strip which is attached to the attachment mechanism which is at the bottom of the filter pad and the rest of the collection pad is attached to the mount, part 45, via this strip. (See Robinette Fig. 1 and Paragraphs 56-58)
The edge of the collection pad is along a length of the collection pad and the pad is configured to be rotatably moveable around the length relative to the strip of impregnated polyester blend as it is not attached along the height of the filter.
The attachment mechanism, mount part 45 and support part 20, is configured to be affixed to the fan blade adjacent to a trailing edge of the blade of the fan. (See Robinette Paragraphs 74-76 and 12A-12B see part 95)
With regards to Claims 5-10 Robinette further teaches:
“Filter 15 can be joined to mount 45 using any desired mechanism, such as (but not limited to) a snap fit arrangement, mechanical attachments (e.g., screws, rivets, clasps, clips, hooks), VELCRO®, hinges, and the like.” Velcro® is a well-known hook fastener. And “the support can be further attached to connector joint 30a using any desired method (e.g., the use of magnets, screws, adhesive, welding, clips, bolts, ties, VELCRO®, pins, screws, etc.).” (See Robinette Paragraph 58-60)
(Claim 5) Which reads on applicant's claimed hook fastener which comprises an adhesive side and a teeth side opposite the adhesive side wherein the teeth side is coupled to the collection pad and the adhesive side is coupled to the blade of the fan.
(Claim 6 and 7) the location of the hook fastener on the collection pad or filter and the mount is a matter of choice and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The attachment mechanism, mount part 45 and support part 20, is configured to be affixed to the fan blade adjacent to a trailing edge of the blade of the fan. (See Robinette Paragraphs 74-76 and 12A-12B see part 95)
(Claim 8) Applicant’s claimed connection between the collection pad and the blade of the fan is rendered obvious by the connection between the support and to the connector, which connects to the blade of the fan, by a mechanical connection as a plurality of snap buttons is rendered obvious as another known method of mechanical attachment.
(claim 9) Robinette teaches magnets as a known method of attachment between the filter which reads on applicant's claimed collection pad, mount and support, which reads on applicant's claimed attachment means, and the fan blade via the connector as detailed above.
(Claim 10) The attachment means comprises an adhesive strip as detailed above.
With regards to Claims 13, 14, 15 Robinette further teaches:
The filter can include one or more sorbent filter materials including carbon, zeolite, and the like which reads on applicant's claimed zeolite, alumina potassium, and a combination of zeolite and activated coconut shell carbon.
Robinette in view of Goto discloses the claimed invention except for the specific set of material choices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the filter of Robinette to have a coconut shell activated carbon as taught by Goto, or zeolite as taught by Robinette, or alumina potassium which is another known sorbent, or a combination of these sorbents as taught by Robinette, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In the instant case sorbents are obvious because Robinette teaches that including additional known sorbents allows the filter to remove odors from the air and choosing one or multiple of a set of known sorbents to perform that function is obvious. See MPEP 2144.07
With regards to Claim 16 and 17 Robinette teaches:
The support, part 20, on which the mount, part 45, is attached to the filter, part 15, has a length of 5-20 inches, a width of 1-10 inches, and a thickness of 0.1-2 inches. The filter, part 15, is proportional in length to the support (See Robinette Fig. 1 and Paragraphs 56-58) and while the dimensions of the filter are not explicitly taught would be expected to have a similar length, width, and thickness appropriate for filtering the air.
Robinette discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed dimensions the filter having a length between 10 and 20 inches, a width between 3.5 and 5.5 inches, and a thickness between 1/8 inch and 1 inch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the specific dimensions claimed would not change the function of the filter element, and thus do not provide a structural difference from the prior art filter element. See MPEP 2144.04(IV-A)
In the alternative Robinette renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Robinette of appropriate mount and thus filter dimensions as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Contact Information
/BRIT E. ANBACHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
BRIT E. ANBACHT
Examiner
Art Unit 1776