Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200304791 A1-Koo et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Koo”), in view of US 20190387241 A1-Kim et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Koo discloses a method performed by a video decoding device for decoding a current block (Fig. 2), the method comprising:
obtaining a multiple-transform-selection index from a bitstream ([0141]; [0151]) and obtaining inverse-quantized residual signals of the current block from the bitstream ([0075-0076]);
composing a plurality of multiple-transform-selection groups for the current block (Fig 8 shows multiple groups), wherein each of multiple-transform-selection groups comprises one or more transforms (Fig. 8 shows at least one transform in each group);
selecting a multiple-transform-selection group from the multiple-transform- selection groups ([0129], wherein group may be determined; [0131, wherein groups may be selected);
deriving a transform kernel from the multiple-transform-selection group by using the multiple-transform-selection index ([0134-0135]; [0149]); and
generating inverse-transformed residual signals by inversely transforming the inverse-quantized residual signals by using the transform kernel ([0075-0076]; [0248]).
wherein deriving the transform kernel is performed based on selecting one transform kernel among a predetermined number of transform candidates included in the selected multiple-transform-selection group (Fig 8, [0133-0136]),
wherein the predetermined number is determined based on a value of the inverse-quantized residual signals ([0153-0154]).
Koo fails to disclose wherein the predetermined number is determined based on a magnitude of the inverse-quantized residual signals
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses wherein the predetermined number is determined based on a magnitude of the inverse-quantized residual signals (According to instant applicant’s Specification [0154], [0154] as described above, when the residual signals are small in magnitude and few in number, the coding efficiency can be improved by reducing the number of MTS candidates to reduce the overhead for MTS signaling. Furthermore, when the residual signals are large in magnitude and there are a large number of the residual signals, the coding efficiency may be improved by utilizing a larger number of MTS candidates to cope with the diversity of the more complex signals. Accordingly, different groups of MTSs may be utilized depending on the following conditions and combinations of one or more conditions. Therefore, to be consistent with applicant’s spec, Kim teaches this concepts in [0138-0139])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Koo to disclose wherein the predetermined number is determined based on a magnitude of the inverse-quantized residual signals as taught by Kim, to improving complexity by applying the primary transform only to a predefined region. The complexity may increase when combinations of various transforms (or transform kernels) (e.g., DCT2, DST7, DCT8, DST1, DCT5, etc.) such as MTS is optionally applied to the primary transform. In particular, as the size of the coding block (or transform block) increases, various transforms need to be considered, thereby remarkably increasing the complexity ([0365], Kim)
.
Regarding claim 2, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the inverse-quantized residual signals comprises: decoding quantized residual signals from the bitstream ([0270], decoding inverse quantization); and generating the inverse-quantized residual signals inversely quantizing the quantized residual signals ([0276]).
Regarding claim 3, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises a primary transform ([0098-0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more transforms correspond to a fixed transform kernel ([0171, preset is interpreted as fixed)).
Regarding claim 5, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises at least one or more adaptive transform kernels0141], transform kernels, wherein composing the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises: decoding, from the bitstream, at least one index indicating the at least one or more adaptive transform kernels ([0202], wherein index as to which transform is to be applied).
Regarding claim 6, Koo discloses the method of claim 3, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises a fixed transform kernel for the primary transform ([0217]), and further comprises at least one or more adaptive transform kernels (Fig 8), wherein composing the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises: decoding, from the bitstream, at least one index indicating the at least one or more adaptive transform kernels ([0141] adaptive index).
Regarding claim 7, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the multiple-transform-selection groups comprise: some multiple-transform-selection groups that comprise at least one or more fixed transform kernels ([0171]); and other remaining multiple-transform-selection groups that comprise at least one or more adaptive transform kernels (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 8, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on whether the current block is an intra block or I block or a predictive/bi-predictive block or P/B block ([0129], [0161], Fig 8).
Regarding claim 9, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on a magnitude of a quantization parameter of the current block, a current frame, or a current sequence ([0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on an intra- prediction mode of the current block (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on a width, height, or size of the current block ([0188]).
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 12, wherein encoding performs the opposite od decoding (fig.1, encoding)
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 13, quantization is the opposite of inverse quantization)
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 14.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487