Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 2/2/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koo does not disclose varying the number of transform candidates depending on a block’s characteristics, as claimed in claim 1. The examiner notes that there is nothing in claim 1 that requires varying the number of transform candidates depending on a block’s characteristics. Koo discloses selecting kernels based on a predetermined number of transform candidates included in the selected multiple transform selection group in fig. 8. In addition, Koo discloses wheren the predetermined number is determined based on a value of inverse quantized residuals in [0153-0154]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A1 as being anticipated by US 20200304791 A1-Koo et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Koo”).
Regarding claim 1, Koo discloses a method performed by a video decoding device for decoding a current block (Fig. 2), the method comprising:
obtaining a multiple-transform-selection index from a bitstream ([0141]; [0151]) and obtaining inverse-quantized residual signals of the current block from the bitstream ([0075-0076]);
composing a plurality of multiple-transform-selection groups for the current block (Fig 8 shows multiple groups), wherein each of multiple-transform-selection groups comprises one or more transforms (Fig. 8 shows at least one transform in each group);
selecting a multiple-transform-selection group from the multiple-transform- selection groups ([0129], wherein group may be determined; [0131, wherein groups may be selected);
deriving a transform kernel from the multiple-transform-selection group by using the multiple-transform-selection index ([0134-0135]; [0149]); and
generating inverse-transformed residual signals by inversely transforming the inverse-quantized residual signals by using the transform kernel ([0075-0076]; [0248]).
wherein deriving the transform kernel is performed based on selecting one transform kernel among a predetermined number of transform candidates included in the selected multiple-transform-selection group (Fig 8, [0133-0136]),
wherein the predetermined number is determined based on a value of the inverse-quantized residual signals ([0153-0154]).
.
Regarding claim 2, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the inverse-quantized residual signals comprises: decoding quantized residual signals from the bitstream ([0270], decoding inverse quantization); and generating the inverse-quantized residual signals inversely quantizing the quantized residual signals ([0276]).
Regarding claim 3, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises a primary transform ([0098-0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more transforms correspond to a fixed transform kernel ([0171, preset is interpreted as fixed)).
Regarding claim 5, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises at least one or more adaptive transform kernels0141], transform kernels, wherein composing the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises: decoding, from the bitstream, at least one index indicating the at least one or more adaptive transform kernels ([0202], wherein index as to which transform is to be applied).
Regarding claim 6, Koo discloses the method of claim 3, wherein each of the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises a fixed transform kernel for the primary transform ([0217]), and further comprises at least one or more adaptive transform kernels (Fig 8), wherein composing the multiple-transform-selection groups comprises: decoding, from the bitstream, at least one index indicating the at least one or more adaptive transform kernels ([0141] adaptive index).
Regarding claim 7, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the multiple-transform-selection groups comprise: some multiple-transform-selection groups that comprise at least one or more fixed transform kernels ([0171]); and other remaining multiple-transform-selection groups that comprise at least one or more adaptive transform kernels (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 8, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on whether the current block is an intra block or I block or a predictive/bi-predictive block or P/B block ([0129], [0161], Fig 8).
Regarding claim 9, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on a magnitude of a quantization parameter of the current block, a current frame, or a current sequence ([0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on an intra- prediction mode of the current block (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Koo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the multiple-transform-selection group comprises: selecting a different multiple-transform-selection group based on a width, height, or size of the current block ([0188]).
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 12, wherein encoding performs the opposite od decoding (fig.1, encoding)
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 13, quantization is the opposite of inverse quantization)
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 14. In addition, claim 14 have been interpreted above as nonfunctional descriptive material under MPEP 2111.05(III) and the case law cited therein because it recites “A computer readable storage medium storing the bitstream”. As such, claim 14 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. In other words, the proper interpretation of claim 14 is merely a machine-readable media in which the media is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored wherein the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. Koo discloses a computer readable medium in [0376]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487