DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 10 November 2025 for application number 18/900,054. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 1-13 and 21-27 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 12/23/24; 6/18/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 21-25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (WO 2020/014563).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a method for picture prediction, implemented in an encoder (figs. 2-4) and comprising:
determining a reference value of a first colour component of a current block in a picture (pars. 124-126, wherein the reference value of the first colour component of the current block is a first colour component value of a neighbouring sample of the current block (pars. 124-129, where luma corresponds to a first colour component);
performing filtering on the reference value of the first colour component of the current block to obtain a filtered reference value (par. 30, where down sampling corresponds to filtering); and
obtaining a model parameter of a prediction model using the filtered reference value, wherein the prediction model is used to map a value of the first colour component of the current block to a predicted value of a second colour component of the current block, and the second colour component is different from the first colour component (par. 131-135, where chroma corresponds to a predicted value of a second colour component).
Regarding claim 2, see teachings of claim 1. Ma further discloses further comprising: filtering the first colour component of the current block (pars. 134-135).
Regarding claim 3, see teachings of claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein obtaining the model parameter of the prediction model using the filtered reference value comprises: obtaining a reference value of the second colour component of the current block, wherein the reference value of the second colour component of the current block is a second colour component value of a neighbouring sample of the current block; and obtaining the model parameter of the prediction model using the filtered reference value and the reference value of the second colour component of the current block (pars. 124-129).
Regarding claim 4, see teachings of claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein performing filtering on the reference value of the first colour component of the current block to obtain the filtered reference value comprises: performing a first adjustment processing on the reference value of the first colour component of the current block and updating the reference value of the first colour component of the current block, when a resolution of the second colour component of the picture is different from a resolution of the first colour component of the picture, wherein the first adjustment processing is down-sampling filtering; and performing filtering on the reference value of the first colour component of the current block to obtain the filtered reference value (pars. 130-135).
Regarding claim 5, see teachings of claim 1. Ma further discloses further comprising: filtering the reference value using a preset processing mode according to the reference value of the first colour component of the current block, wherein the preset processing mode comprises at least one of: filtering and grouping (par. 30, where down sampling corresponds to filtering).
Regarding claim 7, see teachings of claim 1. Ma further discloses further comprising: mapping the value of the first colour component of the current block according to the prediction model, to obtain the predicted value of the second colour component of the current block (pars. 131-135).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the references, alone or in combination, discloses wherein performing filtering on the reference value of the first colour component of the current block to obtain the filtered reference value comprises: performing a second adjustment processing on a reference value of the second colour component of the current block and updating the reference value of the second colour component of the current block, when a resolution of the second colour component of the picture is different from a resolution of the first colour component of the picture, wherein the second adjustment processing is down-sampling.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486