Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circular tube and the auxiliary structure/hole in the guide part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (claims 4 and 5)
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/900,141 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach a pallet foot, comprising a guide portion and a support portion located below the guide portion, wherein an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion, the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper, a cavity is formed in the support portion, and the cavity is connected with the stretching space.
Since claim 1 is anticipated by the claims of the co-pending application, it is not patentably distinct therefrom. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of the application is in effect a species of the generic invention of co-pending application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 is anticipated (fully encompassed) by the claims of the co-pending application, it is not patentably distinct there from, regardless of any additional subject matter present in co-pending application claims.
For claims 8 and 9, the co-pending application fails to specifically teach the dimensions between the guide and support portions. This includes: the upper dimension of the guide portion is smaller or equal to twice of an overall dimension of the support portion and an overall dimension of the support portion is smaller or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion and the lower dimension of the guide portion being smaller than or equal to the overall dimension of the support portion plus 5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of the co-pending application by sizing the guide and supports portions accordingly, to provide a more balanced and sturdier pallet support. Please note that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges between their dimensions would involve only routine skill in the art. MPEP2144.04.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-5, 7 and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/900,141 (reference application) in view of GB937354. The co-pending application teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a foot having a support and guide portion. For claim 2, the co-pending application fails to teach a ground protection structure at the bottom of its support portion. GB’354 teaches a ground protection structure (7,6) at the bottom of its support portion (8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of the co-pending application by adding the ground protection structure of GB’354 there under, for additional support.
For claims 3-5 and 7, GB’354 teaches the specific shapes of the guide and support portions (see Fig. 2), i.e. the guide portion is in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone; the stretching space inside the guide portion is also in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone; and the support portion is in a shape of a circular tube, a square tube, a rectangular tube or a polygonal tube, and teaches an auxiliary hole (11) in the support portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the guide and support configurations of GB937354 for its foot, for aesthetic reasons, foot strength, etc. and to provide a drainage port(s) therein.
For claim 5, the co-pending application, modified, fails to teach that the guide portion includes an auxiliary hole(s). However, the examiner takes Official notice that adding holes on a foot structure is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of the co-pending application by adding a hole(s) therein, for drainage purposes.
For claims 10-13, see rejections above for claims 8 and 9.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/900,141 (reference application) in view of Nash (WO0071431). The co-pending application teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a foot having a support and guide portion. For claim 6, the co-pending application fails to teach that an elongation portion is provided at a top of the guide portion, and the elongation portion extends upwards along an upper side of the guide portion. Nash teaches an elongation portion (c) is provided at a top of the guide portion, and the elongation portion extends upwards along an upper side of the guide portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of the co-pending application by adding the elongation portion of Nash thereon, to elongate the vertical dimension of the foot for a taller support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB937354. GB’354 teaches a pallet foot (Fig. 2), comprising a guide portion (9) and a support portion (8) located below the guide portion, wherein an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion, the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper, a cavity is formed in the support portion, and the cavity is connected with the stretching space. Wherein a ground protection structure (7,6) is provided at a bottom of the support portion. Wherein the guide portion is in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone, and the stretching space inside the guide portion is also in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone. Wherein the support portion is in a shape of a circular tube, a square tube, a rectangular tube or a polygonal tube. As best understood, wherein the support part is provided with auxiliary structures (11), and the auxiliary structures are auxiliary holes. Wherein the guide portion is welded or integrally formed with the support portion.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nash (WO0071431). Nash teaches a pallet foot (Fig. 4), comprising a guide portion (a; see annotated figure below) and a support portion (b) located below the guide portion, wherein an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion, the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper, a cavity is formed in the support portion, and the cavity is connected with the stretching space. Wherein a ground protection structure (30) is provided at a bottom of the support portion. Wherein the guide portion is in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone, and the stretching space inside the guide portion is also in a shape of an inversed pyramid, a polygonally taper or an inverted cone. Wherein the support portion is in a shape of a circular tube, a square tube, a rectangular tube or a polygonal tube. Wherein the guide portion is welded or integrally formed with the support portion. Wherein an elongation portion (c) is provided at a top of the guide portion, and the elongation portion extends upwards along an upper side of the guide portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nash (WO0071431). As stated above, Nash teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a foot with a guide portion (9) and a support portion (8). For claim 5, Nash fails to teach that the guide and support portions include an auxiliary hole(s). However, the examiner takes Official notice that adding holes on a foot structure is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of GB’354 by adding a hole(s) in the guide and support portions, for drainage purposes.
For claims 8-13, Nash fails to specifically teach the dimensions between the guide and support portions. This includes: the upper dimension of the guide portion of is smaller or equal to twice of an overall dimension of the support portion (claims 8, 10 and 11) and an overall dimension of the support portion is smaller or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion, and the lower dimension of the guide portion is smaller than or equal to the overall dimension of the support portion plus 5 mm (claim 9, 12 and 13). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of Nash by sizing the guide and supports portions accordingly, to provide a more balanced and sturdier pallet support. Please note that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges between their dimensions would involve only routine skill in the art. MPEP2144.04.
Claims 5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB937354. As stated above, GB’354 teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a foot with a guide portion (9) and a support portion (8). For claim 5, GB’354 fails to teach that the guide portion includes an auxiliary hole(s). However, the examiner takes Official notice that adding holes on a foot structure is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of GB’354 by adding a hole(s) therein, for drainage purposes.
For claims 8-13, GB’354 fails to specifically teach the dimensions between the guide and support portions. This includes: the upper dimension of the guide portion of GB’354 appears to be equal to twice of an overall dimension of the support portion (claims 8, 10 and 11) but the drawings are not to scale and GB’354 fails to specifically teach an overall dimension of the support portion is smaller or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion, and the lower dimension of the guide portion is smaller than or equal to the overall dimension of the support portion plus 5 mm (claim 9, 12 and 13). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the foot of GB’354 by sizing the guide and supports portions accordingly, to provide a more balanced and sturdier pallet support. Please note that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges between their dimensions would involve only routine skill in the art. MPEP2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references 20250382094; 20250178784; 20250382096; and 2844344 teach various pallet structures.
Wilkens
January 22, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637