DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 21-40 are pending of which claims 22, 28 and 35 are in independent form.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues, on page 7 of the “Remarks”, that “The Examiner improperly made the present Office Action a Final Action. The Examiner has changed the basis for the rejection of claims 21, 28, and 35 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102. For example, on page 5 of the Final Office Action, in the response to arguments section, the Office maps Applicant's explanation to extraction heuristics in FIG. 3E, 102- 8-1 - 102-8-3 (and to an unrelated user interface in paragraph 39). Such a mapping was not provided in the prior office action, and was not necessitated by amendment. The basic thrust of the rejection has changed because the prior office action did not map Applicant's explanation to extraction heuristics in FIG. 3E, 102-8-1 - 102-8-3 (and to the unrelated user interface in paragraph 39). Therefore, according to MPEP 706.07(a), the present action cannot be made Final. Applicant requests withdrawal of the Finality of the present Action pursuant to MPEP 706.07(a) and 706.07(d).”.
Examiner’s Repones:
Examiner respectfully disagrees, there has been no new prior art added to the rejection. The sectioned mentioned in the “Remarks”, refer to response to arguments, which examiner provided addition section of the same prior art for reinforcement of the rejection. Examiner did not change the body of the rejection. Even if the examiner has chosen to use new section of the same prior art, it would have been considered rejection reinforcement, and would still be considered proper.
Accordingly, applicant’s argument is simply not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 101 (Abstract Idea), remarks made by the applicant.
Examiner specifies that, the newly added amendments do not overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection.
With respect to step 2A, Prong One:
The claims recite the following core steps:
Determining that a value of an attribute of an incomplete record is missing,
Extracting, using ML models, a proposed value for that attribute from a corpus of documents,
Providing an explanation for the extraction using the ML models.
These steps amount to, identifying missing info (mental process); analyzing a document to infer or predict a value (mathematical concept/algorithm); generating an explanation for the results (organizing/presenting information), which are all considered abstract.
The claims fall within:
Mental Process (identifying missing fields, review documents, infer values, and explain reasoning),
Information Analysis Evaluation (extract and proposing values based on review),
Data Collection and Presentation (Gathering data from corpus and providing explanation).
With respect to step 2A, Prong Two:
The claims are generic computer components preforming their routine functions. The claims recite:
Analytic services,
ML models,
Programmatic interface,
A corpus of documents.
The claims FAIL to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not:
Improve training techniques or inference efficiency,
Improve data storage or retrieval mechanism,
Improve ML model architecture,
Provide a new technical mechanism for handling incomplete records,
Improve computer functionality.
No step ties the claimed operation to a specific technological constraint or transforms the abstract idea into a technical solution to a technical problem.
The claims simply use ML models as tools to perform the abstract idea, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application. The analytics service is a generic processing environment. The programmatic interface simply output the results.
As mentioned above, none of the elements in the claims impose meaningful limits or provide a technological improvement. There are no recited improvements to database structures, embedding generation hardware, computer memory, or processor operation.
Everything is simply implemented by a computer performing generic data processing.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12130863 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) using AI or ML for efficient attribute extraction.
With respect to step 1 of the patent subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Independent claim 35 directed to a non-transitory computer-accessible storage media, which is directed to one of the four statutory subject matters. Independent Claim 28 is directed to a system, including one or more processors and a memory, which is a machine. Independent claim 21 is directed to a method, which is a process. All other claims depend on claims 1, 6 and 16. As such, claims 1-20 are directed to a statutory category.
With respect to step 2A, Prong One, prong one, the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Specifically, the following limitations recite mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The claims recite the following core steps:
Determining that a value of an attribute of an incomplete record is missing,
Extracting, using ML models, a proposed value for that attribute from a corpus of documents,
Providing an explanation for the extraction using the ML models.
These steps amount to, identifying missing info (mental process); analyzing a document to infer or predict a value (mathematical concept/algorithm); generating an explanation for the results (organizing/presenting information), which are all considered abstract.
The claims fall within:
Mental Process (identifying missing fields, review documents, infer values, and explain reasoning),
Information Analysis Evaluation (extract and proposing values based on review),
Data Collection and Presentation (Gathering data from corpus and providing explanation).
With respect to step 2A, Prong Two, prong two, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The following limitations are considered “additional elements” and explanation will be given as to why these “additional elements” do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims are generic computer components preforming their routine functions. The claims recite:
Analytic services,
ML models,
Programmatic interface,
A corpus of documents.
The claims FAIL to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not:
Improve training techniques or inference efficiency,
Improve data storage or retrieval mechanism,
Improve ML model architecture,
Provide a new technical mechanism for handling incomplete records,
Improve computer functionality.
No step ties the claimed operation to a specific technological constraint or transforms the abstract idea into a technical solution to a technical problem.
The claims simply use ML models as tools to perform the abstract idea, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application. The analytics service is a generic processing environment. The programmatic interface simply output the results.
As mentioned above, none of the elements in the claims impose meaningful limits or provide a technological improvement. There are no recited improvements to database structures, embedding generation hardware, computer memory, or processor operation.
Everything is simply implemented by a computer performing generic data processing.
With respect to Step 2B. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations are directed to a computer readable storage medium, computer, memory, and processor, at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitations on the scope of the claim. In addition, pages 2-5 of the published instant specification describe generic off‐the‐shelf computer‐based elements for implementing the claimed invention, which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. Such generic, high‐level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer‐based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent‐eligible, as noted at pg.74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo. Further, See, e.g., Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359‐60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093‐94 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("Just as Diehr could not save the claims in Alice, which were directed to 'implement[ing] the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer', it cannot save O/P's claims directed to implementing the abstract idea of price optimization on a generic computer.") (citations omitted). See also, Affinity Labs of Texas LLC v. DirecTV LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 1257‐1258 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of a GUI does not make a claimpatent‐eligible); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, 792 F.3d 1363, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("the interactive interface limitation is a generic computer element".).
The additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality ("similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claims in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer,") as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and they operate in a well‐understood, routine, and conventional manner.
MPEP § 2106.0S(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec ... ; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC ... ; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc ... ; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc ... ;
• Performing repetitive calculations, Flook ... ; Bancorp Services v. Sun Life ... ;
• Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp ... ; Ultramercial ... ;
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc ... ;
• Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank ... ; and
• A web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent
• Corp. v. Active Network, Inc. ...
. . . Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The dependent claims have been fully considered as well, however, similar to the findings for claims above, these claims are similarly directed to the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims. The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Examiner further indicates that the remaining claims also fall with 35 USC 101 (abstract idea) for at least the same reasons.
Regarding claims 22, 29 and 36,
The claim recites:
The corpus documents include a web page.
This is merely a specific type of data source, used by abstract analytic process. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea (data extraction and inference). It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 23, 30 and 37,
The claim recites:
explanation comprises an indication of signals, obtained by applying rules to documents.
This is merely an information analysis and explanation generation (abstract). Applying “rules” to determine signals is algorithmic process, is recognized as abstract. Explanation is still presentation of information.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 24, 31 and 38,
The claim recites:
specific rule types (text pattern rule, absence indicator rule, enumeration-based rule).
This is merely reciting specific algorithms, which are considered mathematical concepts. Does not require any unconventional model, processing architecture, or technical improvements.
The is simply narrowing the abstract idea used in the already abstract inference step.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 25, 32 and 39,
The claim recites:
generating the rules based on analysis of example documents.
This is merely data analysis, which is a mental process/mathematical algorithm. There is no specific technical mechanism for rule-based generation provided; only the results. This does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 26, 33 and 40,
The claim recites:
obtaining, a plurality of signals via rules, and explanation includes a fraction of signals that agree.
Calculating and comparing signals and computing a fraction is a mathematical evaluation (mathematical algorithm). No change to the generic computer implementation. This does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 27, and 34,
The claim recites:
the explanation includes content from a particular section of a plurality of sections of a document.
Identifying and referencing a document section is merely information retrieval, which is a mental process. This does not improve document storage, indexing, data structure, or computer functionality. This is merely focused on selection and presenting content.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar; Govind et al. (US 20220284392 A1) [Chandrasekhar] in view of Balakrishnan; Ramanan et al. (US 20220058227 A1) [Balakrishnan].
Regarding claim 21, 28 and 35, Chandrasekhar discloses, a computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, by an analytics service, that a value of an attribute of a record which is to be included in a collection of records is missing (Attribute-keys that have a fixed set of possible key-value can be predicted by the classification output. In addition, one or more imputation models may also be employed by the attribute inference module 106-3 to infer attribute-keys. Imputation models can be used to complete absent attribute-keys that are dependent on the presence of other proximate attribute-keys. The imputation models may utilize extracted attributes as well as attribute distribution histograms, and attribute key-value distribution histograms. The task of the imputation models is framed as that of filling in the other missing attribute-keys given a surrounding context created by the presence of existing attribute-keys ¶ [0050]. Also see claim 2);
extracting, using one or more machine learning models, a particular proposed value of the attribute from a corpus of documents (The computer system initiates an extraction and inference mode that utilizes the classification tree, the plurality of attribute lists and the plurality of extraction heuristics to output a normalized record categorizing at least one product record's input data according to the classification tree's product-description taxonomy, the extraction and inference mode and generates: (i) a predicted product category by feeding the respective product record into one or more machine learning (ML) models that tracks the classification tree; (ii) at least one extracted attribute by feeding the respective product record and the predicted product category into the one or more machine learning (ML) models; (iii) an extracted product record based on the extracted attribute, the respective product record and the predicted product category; (iv) at least one inferred attribute by feeding the extracted product record into the one or more machine learning (ML) models; (v) a merged product record based on adding the inferred attribute to the extracted product record; and (vi) the output normalized product record including (a) at least one numeric data value of the merged product record standardized according to the attribute-master list and (b) at least one textual data value of the merged product record standardized according to at least one of the attribute-allowed-values list and the attribute-equivalent-values list ¶ [0008]. Also see ¶ [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0060]).
However, Chandrasekhar does not explicitly facilitate an incomplete record; providing, via one or more programmatic interfaces of the analytics service, an explanation for the extraction, using the one or more machine learning models, of the particular proposed value for the attribute.
Balakrishnan discloses, an incomplete record (product input data maybe incomplete…¶ [0095], [0097]; augmented product data generated based on incomplete input data ¶ [0106]; incomplete/unstructured product descriptions processed ¶ [0126], [0148], examiner specifies that the predictor explicitly identifies that product data records are incomplete, i.e. missing attribute values required for complaint record, thereby determining that an attribute value is missing);
providing, via one or more programmatic interfaces of the analytics service, an explanation for the extraction, using the one or more machine learning models, of the particular proposed value for the attribute (labels derived from weak signals and voting rules ¶ [0053]; ML model trained using features of document elements and corresponding output labels identifying product attributes [0067]; ML produces probabilistic label ¶ [0069]; signal (keywords, patterns, HTML features) used to determine attribute relevance ¶ [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Balakrishnan’s system would have allowed Chandrasekhar to facilitate an incomplete record; providing, via one or more programmatic interfaces of the analytics service, an explanation for the extraction, using the one or more machine learning models, of the particular proposed value for the attribute. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Chandrasekhar's reference, because it would be desirable to be able to collect information about products and their attributes on the web in an automated fashion to develop an advantageous dataset containing information about the many products in the world.
Regarding claim 22, 29 and 36, the combination of Chandrasekhar and Balakrishnan discloses, wherein the corpus of documents includes a web page (Balakrishnan: A computer system and method may be used to generate a product catalog from one or more websites. One or more product pages on the websites may be identified and parsed. Attribute information may be identified in each page. A learning engine may be utilized to predict at least one attribute value. The attribute information and the predicted attribute value may be stored in a database [Abstract]. Also see ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claims 23, 30 and 37, the combination of Chandrasekhar and Balakrishnan discloses, wherein the explanation comprises an indication of one or more signals, obtained by applying one or more rules to one or more documents of the corpus, of presence of a value of the attribute in the one or more documents (Balakrishnan: Method 600 for identifying product attributes in a page may be implemented in a plurality of ways. Four embodiments will be described herein, including machine learning, identification of meta tags, applying known patterns in a Document Object Model (DOM) structure, and image segmentation ¶ [0066]. Also see attributes associated with machine learning models ¶ [0067]-[0069]. The HTML elements may include a product title 611, product rating 612, price 613, product description 614, size 615, quantity 616, shopping cart button 617, and about button 618. The HTML elements may be identified automatically by analyzing text patterns, though the identity of what the HTML elements correspond to may not be known until after method 600 is performed ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 24, 31 and 38, the combination of Chandrasekhar and Balakrishnan discloses, wherein the one or more rules comprise one or more of: (a) a text pattern based rule, (b) an attribute absence indicator rule, or (c) an enumeration based rule (Balakrishnan: Method 600 for identifying product attributes in a page may be implemented in a plurality of ways. Four embodiments will be described herein, including machine learning, identification of meta tags, applying known patterns in a Document Object Model (DOM) structure, and image segmentation ¶ [0066]. Also see attributes associated with machine learning models ¶ [0067]-[0069]. The HTML elements may include a product title 611, product rating 612, price 613, product description 614, size 615, quantity 616, shopping cart button 617, and about button 618. The HTML elements may be identified automatically by analyzing text patterns, though the identity of what the HTML elements correspond to may not be known until after method 600 is performed ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 25, 32 and 39, the combination of Balakrishnan, Chandrasekhar and Li discloses, generating the one or more rules based at least in part on analysis of one or more example documents which contain respective values of the attribute (Balakrishnan: In one embodiment, product database 315 comprises a full-document store or free-text database. The product database 315 may store the full text identifying the products, attributes, and available attribute values. For example, a database entry for a product may include information about all the attributes and all the potential values of those attributes ¶ [0087]. FIG. 7C illustrates a variety of exemplary interaction elements that may be used in an automated interaction system ¶ [0018]. FIG. 7F illustrates an exemplary process by which a UCE system is applied to a plurality of the product page variations to automatically extract the attributes and attribute values from product page variations ¶ [0021], [0057]).
Regarding claims 26, 33 and 40, the combination of Balakrishnan, Chandrasekhar and Li discloses, obtaining, by applying one or more rules, a plurality of signals associated with presence of a value of the attribute in one or more documents of the corpus, wherein the explanation comprises an indication of a fraction of the plurality of signals which agree with one another (Balakrishnan: ).
Regarding claims 27 and 34, the combination of Balakrishnan, Chandrasekhar and Li discloses, wherein the explanation comprises content of a particular section of a plurality of sections of a particular document of the corpus, wherein the particular proposed value is extracted, at least in part, from the particular section (Balakrishnan: FIG. 6C illustrates an exemplary method 620 for using a machine learning model to identify product attributes on a product page. In step 621, a machine learning model is trained to identify product attribute based on features of HTML elements. The features of the HTML elements may comprise any of the properties and aspects described herein, such as CSS properties, computed properties, and coordinates. The machine learning model may be trained with training examples comprising feature sets of HTML elements and their corresponding output labels identifying what product attribute they correspond to, or whether they do not correspond to a product attribute. By training on the training examples, the internal parameters of the machine learning model may be adjusted to learn a model for classifying HTML elements to product attributes based on their features ¶ [0067], [0073] and [0079]).
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
3/20/2026
/MOHAMMAD S ROSTAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154