Detailed Action
Applicant amended claims 1-2, 12-13, 15 and 20, canceled claim 18-19, added claims 21-22 and presented claims 1-17 and 20-22 for reconsideration on 01/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
It is not clear whether the claim requires one or both of the following: “wherein the condition comprises an error rate exceeding a threshold, a resource usage level exceeding a threshold”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims1, 3-14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SESHADRI et al., Pub. No.: US 2023/0185855 A1 (Seshadri).
Claim 1. Seshadri teaches:
A method comprising:
detecting, by a log data system, an event associated with data operations of a data storage system; (¶¶ 20, 22-24, an event of interest is detected and stored based on an ingest configuration: “Ops-ingest 206 can include an in-memory matcher 208 configured to identify and/or tag event data from any log data during processing that corresponds to particular events of interest…These events of interest can be included as part of an ingest configuration that is received at log intelligence application 212 and log data indexing service 214. The ingest configuration can also include instructions for how processed unindexed log data files are organized…the instructions specify groupings of particular types of log entries into corresponding log data files. For example, all log entries associated with software development environments can be grouped in a first data file while all log entries associated with operational environments can be grouped in a second data file. This type of grouping can be specified in the ingest configuration and can reduce a number of log data files that need to be searched when a query specifies a search for log entries associated only with a particular environment”)
accessing, by the log data system based on the detection, a stored log definition file in a log definition namespace, the stored log definition file defining a log data structure format, wherein the stored log definition file is selected from a plurality of stored log definition files based on one or more properties of the event; (¶¶ 20, 22-24, the ingest configuration is a log definition file accessed for formatting/groupings of particular types of log entries as specified)
generating, by the log data system based on the log definition, log data in the log data structure format for the event; (¶¶ 20, 22-24, a log definition file, an ingest configuration is accessed for formatting/groupings of particular types of log entries as specified)
identifying, by the log data system based on the log data structure format, a log rule for the log data; and (¶¶ 20, 22-24, it is also determined whether the log data should be saved in a cloud storage or another storage: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
applying, by the log data system, the log rule to the log data. (¶¶ 20, 22-24, it is also determined whether the log data should be saved in a cloud storage or another storage: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
Claim 12. Seshadri teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a cloud-based log data system and from an on-premises endpoint system, log data associated with operations of the on-premises endpoint system, wherein the log data is generated by the on-premises endpoint system based on a stored log definition file that is selected, by the on-premises endpoint system, from a plurality of stored log definition files and that defines a log data structure format in which the log data is generated, the log data structure format mapped to a log rule specifying that the log data be sent from the on-premises endpoint system to the cloud-based log data system; (¶¶ 20, 22-24 a log definition file, an ingest configuration, is accessed for formatting/groupings of particular types of log entries as specified; it is also determined whether the log data should be saved in a cloud storage or another storage: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
detecting, by the cloud-based log data system based on the log data, a condition associated with the operations of the on-premises endpoint system; and; (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a “cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data” based on a condition)
initializing, by the cloud-based log data system based on the condition, a transition from the on-premises endpoint system sending additional log data to the cloud-based log data system to the on-premises endpoint system sending the additional log data to an on-premises log data system. (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a cloud storage or another storage based on a condition: “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as A WS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.…Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
Claim 20. Seshadri teaches:
A computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for:
receiving, from an on-premises endpoint system, a subset of log data associated with operations of the on-premises endpoint system, wherein the subset of log data is generated by the on-premises endpoint system based on a stored log definition file that is selected, by the on premises endpoint system, from a plurality of stored log definition files and that defines a log data structure format in which the subset of log data is generated, the log data structure format mapped to a log rule specifying that the subset of log data be sent from the on-premises endpoint system to a cloud-based log data system; (¶¶ 20, 22-24 a log definition file, an ingest configuration, is accessed for formatting/groupings of particular types of log entries as specified; it is also determined whether the log data should be saved in a cloud storage or another storage: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
detecting, based on the log data, a condition associated with the operations of the on-premises endpoint system; and; (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a “cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data” based on a condition)
initializing, based on the condition, a transition from the on-premises endpoint system sending additional log data to a cloud-based log data system to the on-premises endpoint system sending the additional log data to an on-premises log data system. (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a cloud storage or another storage based on a condition: “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as A WS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.…Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
Claim 3. Seshadri
The method of claim 1, wherein the applying the log rule to the log data comprises:
detecting, based on the log data, a condition associated with the operations of an on-premises endpoint system; and (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a cloud storage or another storage based on a condition: “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as A WS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.…Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
initializing, based on the condition, a transition from the on-premises endpoint system sending additional log data to the log data system to the on-premises endpoint system sending the additional log data to a second log data system. (¶¶ 20, 23, log data is stored in a cloud storage or another storage based on a condition: “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as A WS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.…Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
Claim 4. The method of claim 3, wherein the condition comprises a resource usage level exceeding a predetermined threshold. (¶¶ 23-24, “a particular event of interest” can be any event such as “a resource usage level exceeding a predetermine threshold”)
Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 5. The method of claim 3, wherein the initializing the transition comprises providing metadata associated with the transition to the second log data system. (¶¶ 20-23, metadata/location of a particular storage has to be provided for storing log data in the particular location: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”)
Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the applying the log rule to the log data comprises selecting, from a plurality of storage locations, a storage location for the log data based on the log data structure format. (¶¶ 18, 20, 22-24, log data is stored in a cloud storage and/or another storage according to a format associated with the storage: “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as AWS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.”)
Claim 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of storage locations comprises an on-premises storage location and a cloud-based storage location. (¶¶ 20, 22-24, log data is stored in storges “housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage”)
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the applying the log rule to the log data comprises retaining the log data for a specified time period. (¶¶ 20- 21, wherein “long or short-term storage” and “historical events” suggests that log data is retained as required for a specified time period to be quired as “historical event”)
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request for a portion of the log data; and identifying, based on the log data structure format, the portion of the log data. (¶¶ 30-31, a query is processed for retrieving a requested portion of data log stored in a particular location/format: “Since log file storage 110 may have the log data files stored in multiple locations or across multiple storage arrays, additional efficiency can be realized by assigning each execution core files that are located in only a subset of the storage locations”)
Claim 10. The method of claim 9, wherein the identifying the portion of the log data comprises:
extracting an embedded query from the request, wherein the embedded query comprises a set of metadata values corresponding to one or more fields associated with the log data structure format; and matching the set of metadata values to the portion of the log data. (¶¶ 28-29, a request is a submitted query from which query parameters/criteria are extracted for retrieving requested portions of log data)
Claim 11. The method of claim 9, further comprising generating, based on the log data structure format in response to the request, summary data associated with the portion of the log data. (¶ 28, wherein “The query…to search only the identified files for the requested information… the file location information can be accompanied by an actual or estimated number of records matching the criteria from the submitted query in each file” suggests a summary from particular log files are generated)
Claim 16. The method of claim 12, further comprising:
establishing, by the on-premises endpoint system, a connection with the on-premises log data system; (¶¶ 20-23, a connection has to be established for sending log data to another storage: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”) a connection has to be established for sending data to an on-premises server)
ceasing, by the on-premises endpoint system based on an indication of a cooling-off period received from the cloud-based log data system, the connection. (¶¶ 20-23, 27, a connection has to be established/ceased for sending log data to a cloud storage or another storage; a cooling-off period is a condition determined by ops-ingest for sending a particular log data to a particular location: “log data can be retained on a computing system that generated it for a predetermined amount of time but offloading the log data is fairly standard since it generally takes up substantial amounts of storage space as it accumulates over time”, “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”, “data files can be grouped/partitioned based on customer defined query conditions before persisting the log data files to log storage 110…each data file can be associated with only a single type of environment…such as …a staging environment and a production environment”)
Claim 17. The method of claim 12, further comprising aggregating the log data with the additional log data using a synthesizer block. (¶¶ 20, 25, 29-30, wherein “Log data storage system 112 can take the form of large storage arrays housed on the premises of a large corporation and/or cloud storage hosted on a cloud provider such as AWS, Azure, Google Cloud Platform, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, etc.” and “Since log file storage 110 may have the log data files stored in multiple locations or across multiple storage arrays, additional efficiency can be realized by assigning each execution core files that are located in only a subset of the storage locations… aggregation core 410 may also be leveraged to search for and query one or more of the log data files identified by log data indexing service 214” indicates that based on the location of log data and additional log data in a cloud storage and another storage, requested log data is retrieved and aggregated)
Claim 21. The method of claim 1, wherein the stored log definition file defines fields for the log data structure format, the fields include a log identifier field. (¶ 24, wherein “the instructions specify groupings of particular types of log entries into corresponding log data files. For example, all log entries associated with software development environments can be grouped in a first data file while all log entries associated with operational environments can be grouped in a second data file” suggests the instruction comprises a log identifier field)
Claim 22. The method of claim 1, wherein the stored log definition file comprises a log identifier and selecting the stored log definition file from the plurality of stored log definition files comprises: generating an identifier corresponding to the event based on the one or more properties of the event; matching the identifier corresponding to the event to the log identifier of the stored log definition file. (¶ 24, wherein “the instructions specify groupings of particular types of log entries into corresponding log data files. For example, all log entries associated with software development environments can be grouped in a first data file while all log entries associated with operational environments can be grouped in a second data file” suggests matching an identifier of a particular environment with events generated by the particular environment)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Seshadri as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Dhanapal et al., "An effective mechanism to regenerate HTTP flooding DDoS attack using real time data set” (Dhanapal).
Claim 2. Seshadri taught the method of claim 1; Seshadri did not but Dhanapal discloses, wherein the generating the log in the log data structure format comprises generating the log data in an efficient binary format. (Dhanapal, wherein log data is stored in “compressed binary logs file format”)
Seshadri discloses generating a unified format because different computing systems can output raw log data in different formats . It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing wherein the generating the log in the log data structure format comprises generating the log data in an efficient binary format because doing so would further provide for converting different formats to a binary format as desired for achieving the same predictable result of processing and storing log data.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Seshadri as applied to the claims above, in view of Examiner's Official Notice.
Claim 15 recites, The method of claim 14, wherein the metadata comprises an indication of a cooling-off period.
Specification, ¶ 369 discloses: “…The metadata may include any suitable metadata associated with the on-premises endpoint system, such as an IP address associated with the on-premises endpoint system, a cooling-off period associated with the on-premises endpoint system (e.g., a defined temporary period during which log data will be sent to an on-premises log data system instead of to a cloud-based log data system), an identifier associated with the on-premises endpoint system, a product type associated with the on-premises endpoint system, and/or a product name associated with the on-premises endpoint system”; ¶ 371, “…The cooling-off period may be based on an expiry date, such as an expiry of the authentication token…”.
The examiner takes official notice that any suitable metadata such as a “cooling-off period” which that depends on a particular need of an application based on a design choice, can be used as a condition for utilizing a system provided tool such as “Ops-ingest” for storing data in an alternative location. Seshadri explicitly provided “Ops-ingest” for “determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Seshadri by using any suitable metadata such as “an indication of a cooling-off period” for achieving the same predictable result of routing data to be saved “in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data” as disclosed by Seshadri, ¶¶ 20-23: “Ops-ingest is also generally responsible for determining whether a subset of the incoming log data containing a particular log event or series of log events should also be saved in a rapid access cloud storage location or in a server owned by the entity running the servers generating the log data”.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reason.
Applicant argues, “Seshadri does not disclose stored log definition files that define log data structure formats, log definition namespaces in which log definition files are stored, or selection of a stored log definition file from plural stored log definition files based on properties of detected events. Moreover, Seshadri' s unified format ingest process teaches away from such elements. For at least these reasons, Seshadri does not disclose "accessing, by the log data system based on the detection, a stored log definition file in a log definition namespace, the stored log definition file defining a log data structure format, wherein the stored log definition file is selected from a plurality of stored log definition files based on one or more properties of the event" as recited in claim 1”. Remarks, 10-11.
In response, Seshadri discloses the amended feature as shown above, for example in rejection of claim 1. Moreover, “Seshadri' s unified format ingest process teaches away from such elements” as mentioned by Applicant is not supported. Furthermore, storage of data in different storages as needed is very well known in the art as disclosed by Seshadri and additional references provided in previous office actions. For example, see, Kent, Karen, and Murugiah Souppaya. "Guide to computer security log management." sec. 3 for a typical log management infrastructure comprising log generation, log analysis and storage and log monitoring: “The first tier contains the hosts that generate the log data. Some hosts run logging client applications or services that make their log data available through networks to log servers in the second tier…The second tier is composed of one or more log servers that receive log data or copies of log data from the hosts in the first tier. The data is transferred to the servers either in a real-time or near-real-time manner, or in occasional batches based on a schedule or the amount of log data waiting to be transferred. Servers that receive log data from multiple log generators are sometimes called collectors or aggregators. Log data may be stored on the log servers themselves or on separate database servers…”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHSEN ALMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159