DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The presence of claim limitations that are preceded by the phrases “wherein” often raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim limitations (see MPEP §2111.04). The Examiner has interpreted the limitations following the phrase “wherein” as positively being claimed (i.e. the claim limitations are required and/or the claim limitations following the “wherein clause” limits the structure), where “wherein” is being used as a transitional phrase.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The amendment to the specification received on January 22, 2026 is acceptable. The specification objections are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YODA (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2004-197687 A, a machine translation was provided with the foreign reference in the IDS filed on 10/31/2025, and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 1, YODA discloses: a compressor (1) comprising:
a casing (70) that is horizontally elongated or vertically elongated (see Figure 1 that shows horizontally elongated);
an electric motor (10, 11, 16; 71, 73) housed in the casing (see Figure 1);
a compression mechanism (20) (see Figure 1, ¶0011) configured to be driven by the electric motor to compress a refrigerant (see ¶0010);
a plurality of supporting portions arranged between an inner peripheral surface of the casing and an outer surface of the electric motor (see Figure 4 that shows a plurality of supporting portions, where the different supporting portions have either a notch (72) or a cutout (74)), the plurality of supporting portions being configured to support the electric motor in the casing (see Figure 4, ¶0005); and
a reduction mechanism provided in the casing (see Figure 4, where the reduction mechanism is that the motor is surrounded),
wherein a plurality of predetermined spaces (72, 72) are formed between the inner surface of the casing and the outer surface of the electric motor (see Figure 4), the plurality of predetermined spaces being separated by the supporting portions (see Figure 4),
wherein the reduction mechanism is configured to reduce a resonant mode that is excited in the plurality of predetermined spaces by operation of the electric motor (the claimed limitation directed to “the reduction mechanism is configured to reduce a resonant mode that is excited in the plurality of predetermined spaces by operation of the electric motor”, is considered as a functional limitation. It should be appreciated that the applicant’s functional language in the claims does not serve to impart patentability. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114. Furthermore, YODA is capable of performing the claimed function since the stator appears to have significant mass due to smaller openings (72, 74), and therefore, mass of a part changes the resonant mode, and therefore, YODA meets the functional claim limitation). and
wherein in a cross section orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the casing, the plurality of predetermined spaces are formed asymmetrically with respect to a plane of symmetry passing through a cylindrical axis center of the casing (see Figure 4, where the different sections are asymmetrical due to different size of the supporting portions that are defined between openings (72, and 74).
Regarding claim 3, YODA discloses: the reduction mechanism includes the plurality of supporting portions arranged so that all the predetermined spaces have different volumes (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, YODA discloses: the supporting portions are formed on the inner peripheral surface of the casing (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, YODA discloses: in the reduction mechanism, at least one of the plurality of predetermined spaces is different in circumferential length from the other predetermined spaces (see Figure 4 where there are different lengths between (72 and 74) versus (72 and 72)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the compressor of YODA in view of KURITA (Taiwan Patent Publication TW I639770 B, a machine translation is provided with the foreign patent publication in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 15, YODA discloses: the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the electric motor is driven at a variable frequency.
Regarding claim 15, KURITA teaches: the electric motor is driven at a variable frequency (see Page 3 under the First Embodiment).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the electric motor is driven at a variable frequency in the compressor of YODA, in order to adjust the operating capacity of the compressor (see Page 3 under the First Embodiment of KURITA).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YODA in view of NORIO (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2013-002288 A, a machine translation was provided with the foreign reference in the IDS filed on 9/27/2024 and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 16, YODA discloses: the casing (2, 3, 4, 5) includes a cylinder (21), however fails to disclose the compression mechanism includes a screw rotor inserted into the cylinder and having a screw groove, and a gate rotor meshing with the screw groove, and in the cylinder, a compression chamber is formed by the gate rotor and the screw groove, since the compressor is a vane compressor.
Regarding claim 16, NORIO teaches: the casing includes a cylinder (16) (see Figure 1),
the compression mechanism includes
a screw rotor (40) inserted into the cylinder and having a screw groove (see Figures 1-3, and 5), and
a gate rotor (50) meshing with the screw groove (see Figures 1-3 and 5), and
in the cylinder, a compression chamber is formed by the gate rotor and the screw groove (see Figures 1-3 and 5, ¶0059-¶0063).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have swapped the compression mechanism in the compressor of YODA, since a substitution of one known element (i.e. a vane compressor) for another known element (i.e. the compression mechanism is a screw and gate compression mechanism that includes a screw rotor inserted into the cylinder and having a screw groove, and a gate rotor meshing with the screw groove, and in the cylinder, a compression chamber is formed by the gate rotor and the screw groove) requires only routine skill in the art and would have produced predictable results (i.e. compression of the refrigerant).
Regarding claim 17, NORIO further teaches: the screw groove includes three screw grooves (¶0029, see Figures 3 and 5, NORIO discloses having six screw grooves and therefore, meets the limitation of having three screw grooves, since the limitation does not limit that the compressor has only three screw grooves).
Regarding claim 18, NORIO further teaches: the screw groove includes six screw grooves (¶0029, see Figures 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 19, NORIO further teaches: the screw rotor includes one screw rotor, two screw rotors, or three screw rotors (see Figures 3 and 5 that shows one screw rotor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 and the claims that depend from it have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection based on applicant’s amendment. In addition, the new grounds of rejection is based on prior art from the IDS filed on October 31, 2025.
Please see the rejection above that utilizes a new rejection, where the argued limitations are disclosed in the new prior art of YODA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on October 31, 2025 also is the basis of the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/Mary A Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746