DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 07 August 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 9, 12, and 19 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 11, 13-18, and 20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 11 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10, 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Currently amended claims 8, 10, 18 and 20 are identical to the original filed claims, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (US 20230189192 A1), referred herein as Talebi in view of Cui et al. (US 12040953 B2), referred herein as Cui, Ghosh (US 20230328104 A1), referred herein as Ghosh and Balmakhtar (US 20240187846 A1), referred herein as Balmakhtar.
Regarding Claim 1, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches a method of providing a virtual world service, the method comprising (Talebi [0042] AMF, LMC, LMF, UDM, OAM, GMLC, LCS client, NEF and AF are example network functions which may be implemented either as a network element on a (dedicated) hardware, and/or a network node as depicted FIG. 4, or as a software instance running on a (dedicated) hardware and/or shared hardware, or as a virtualized function instantiated on an appropriate platform):
receiving, by a service-based architecture (SBA), a first registration request from a user equipment (UE) (Talebi [0163] SBA Service Based Architecture; [0249] In an example, the 5G system may support roaming with home routed traffic and/or local breakout traffic in the visited PLMN. An example 5G architecture may be service-based and the interaction between network functions may be represented in two ways. (1) As service-based representation (depicted in example FIG. 1), where network functions within the control plane, may enable other authorized network functions to access their services; [0261] during a registration procedure in a PLMN, in case the network decides that the UE 100 should be served by a different AMF 155 based on network slice(s) aspects, the AMF 155 that first received the registration request may redirect the registration request to another AMF 155 via the RAN 105 or via direct signaling between the initial AMF 155 and the target AMF 155; [0258] In an example, when a UE 100 registers with a PLMN, if the UE 100 for the PLMN has a configured NSSAI or an allowed NSSAI, the UE 100 may provide to the network in RRC and NAS layer a requested NSSAI comprising the S-NSSAI(s) corresponding to the slice(s) to which the UE 100 attempts to register, a temporary user ID if one was assigned to the UE, and/or the like. The requested NSSAI may be configured-NSSAI, allowed-NSSAI, and/or the like);
receiving, by the SBA, a second registration request Talebi [0380] Existing technologies may support access of a wireless device to a network via another network. The wireless device may register with a first network. The wireless device may use the first network to attempt access to a second network. The access to the first network may be associated with onboarding (e.g., obtaining credentials for access to the second network) and/or underlay (e.g., using the first network, an underlay network, to access the second network, an overlay network, via an interworking function of the second network); Claim 5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a second registration request message comprising credentials to access the second network; [0200] A network function may be implemented either as a network element on a dedicated hardware, and/or a network node as depicted in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, or as a software instance running on a dedicated hardware and/or shared hardware, or as a virtualized function instantiated on an appropriate platform);
Talebi does not teach the request for a virtual object. However Cui teaches
receiving, by the SBA, a second registration request for a virtual object related to the UE through a virtual avatar function (VAF) in a virtual world (Cui FIG. 1: 1286 Virtual network; col. 5, ln. 53-64: A first user 202 is physically located at a table, such as in a park as illustrated. The first user 202, via a UE, can send a request to the network equipment 102 to play the game. Since another user is not physically at the same location as the first user 202, the network equipment 102 can coordinate the merging of resources from the physical network 122 and from the virtual network 126 in order to fulfill the request. Thus, the metaverse service that is output, in this example, as perceivable in the physical world includes a second user 204, represented as an avatar. Further, the game 206 can also be virtually represented as an avatar within the physical environment);
Talebi in view of Cui further teaches
acquiring parameters for the UE, the virtual object, and the virtual world by an artificial intelligence function (AIF) (Cui col. 7, ln. 54-58: Based on this feedback data, as well as other data, the selection component 106 and/or other system components can modify one or more parameters and/or resources from the physical network 122 and/or the virtual network 126 for providing metaverse services in the future; col. 8, ln60-65: The various aspects (e.g., in connection with providing metaverse services in 4G communication networks, 5G communication networks, 6G communication networks, new radio communication networks, and/or other advanced networks) can employ various artificial intelligence-based schemes); and
Talebi does not, but Ghosh teaches
generating, by the AIF, a view proposal and a configuration proposal based on the parameters and a circle of protection (COP), wherein the COP includes a policy Ghosh [0014] some proposals have been presented based on the management of security events generated by IoT devices; [0018] (iii) using smart contracts defined by the installed security and privacy policies in a multi-layered geofenced digital twin ecosystem and/or network, embodiments of the present invention enable confidential, integral, secure, governed and provenanced data exchange between all the interacting twins for multifarious twin dependencies like operational, status, procedural, simulation and predictive and integrity of the physical devices corresponding to the discrete or composite twin… using artificial intelligence (AI) on the historical metrics data, embodiments of the present invention generate insights, classify incidents and hence provide enhanced policy models for predicting an event to be a policy breach); “for predicting and responding to situations of abuse or harassment” are intended use language that has no patentability weight herein.
transmitting, by the AIF, the view proposal for the virtual object to the VAF (Ghosh [0032] Any sharing of data may adhere to encryption based on smart contracts, these encryption keys or codes may be defined by the policies installed in the corresponding geofence/s to which the physical device and its twin belongs to. Thus, component 122 may ensure any data sharing adheres to an encryption based on smart contracts by storing and applying the encryption keys or codes defined by the policies installed in the corresponding geofence); and
In view of Balmakhtar, the prior art further teaches
transmitting, by the AIF, the configuration proposal for the virtual world to a virtual mesh function (VMF) (Balmakhtar [0035] The SBA can provide a complete service mesh with service discovery, load balancing, encryption, authentication, and authorization for interservice communication; [0050] device 304 connects to a virtual mesh private network service using secure tunnel 320).
Cui discloses mobile communications to metaverse services in advanced networks, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Talebi to incorporate the teachings of Cui, and applying the virtual item comprises at least one avatar representing at least a first user to the implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems.
Doing so would provide a facilitate metaverse service orchestration and hybrid software defining network control with policy enabled multiple input multiple output in advanced networks.
Ghosh discloses a computer-implemented method, a computer program product, and a system for digital asset data governance and security, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Talebi to incorporate the teachings of Ghosh, and applying the smart contracts, the security, privacy policies and privileges to the implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems.
Doing so would enable confidential, integral, secure, governed and provenanced data exchange between all the interacting twins for multifarious twin dependencies like operational, status, procedural, simulation and predictive and integrity of the physical devices corresponding to the discrete or composite twins.
Balmakhtar discloses a secure tunnel within a non-3GPP network to connect to a 5G core network (5GCN) via a non-3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) service of the 5GCN, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Talebi to incorporate the teachings of Balmakhtar, and applying the hierarchical 5G service mesh and the virtual mesh private network service to the implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems.
Doing so would provide a unified security framework for operating a data communication system to serve user equipments (UEs) via a secure tunnel that enables, for example, security features, such as IP traffic inspection and prevents distributed denial-of-service (DDOS) attacks.
Regarding Claim 3, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising receiving, by the VAF, the second registration request for the virtual object from the UE through a modified user plane function (mUPF) (Talebi [0204] session management function, SMF 160, may include one or more of the following functionalities (one or more of the SMF 160 functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160): session management (e.g. session establishment, modify and release, including tunnel maintain between UPF 110 and AN 105 node), UE 100 IP address allocation & management; [0209] User plane function(s) (UPF 110) may handle the user plane path of PDU sessions. A UPF 110 that provides the interface to a data network may support functionality of a PDU session anchor).
Regarding Claim 4, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches further comprising receiving, by the VAF, the second registration request for the virtual object through an IPSec tunnel configured between the VAF and the mUPF (Talebi [0379] in order for the UE to maintain an IPSec tunnel to network 2, a PDU session in network 1 may be required. As depicted in FIG. 22, and FIG. 23, the UE may register to the network 1 (e.g., NPN). The UE may request service in order to setup an IPsec tunnel to the N3IWF. The service request may need to indicate the specific service (connection to the PLMN/network 2)).
Regarding Claim 5, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the mUPF, the second registration request for the virtual object from the UE, and transferring an IPSec tunnel request to the VAF (Talebi [0306] if a new UPF 110 is selected by the SMF 160 to replace the old (intermediate) UPF 110-2, the SMF 160 may include a data forwarding indication. The data forwarding indication may indicate to the UPF 110 that a second tunnel endpoint may be reserved for buffered DL data from the old I-UPF. [0307] In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. In case the UPF 110 may allocate CN tunnel info, the UPF 110 may provide DL CN tunnel info for the UPF 110 acting as PDU session anchor and UL CN tunnel info (e.g., CN N3 tunnel info) to the SMF 160. If the data forwarding indication may be received, the new (intermediate) UPF 110 acting as N3 terminating point may send DL CN tunnel info for the old (intermediate) UPF 110-2 to the SMF 160. The SMF 160 may start a timer, to release the resource in the old intermediate UPF 110-2).
Regarding Claim 6, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising sending, to the SBA by the AIF, a first request for a first parameter for the UE (Cui col. 7, ln. 54-58: Based on this feedback data, as well as other data, the selection component 106 and/or other system components can modify one or more parameters and/or resources from the physical network 122 and/or the virtual network 126 for providing metaverse services in the future; col. 8, ln60-65: The various aspects (e.g., in connection with providing metaverse services in 4G communication networks, 5G communication networks, 6G communication networks, new radio communication networks, and/or other advanced networks) can employ various artificial intelligence-based schemes).
Regarding Claim 7, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches further comprising sending, to the VAF, by the AIF, a second request for a second parameter for the virtual object (Cui col. 11, ln. 28-31: The HSDO 512 can create the metaverse service 520 based on various parameters and based on a determination that elements from the physical side and the virtual side are needed to fulfil the request… of when the “person” is not at the same location as the user that sent the service request, the metaverse service 520 can output the “person” as an avatar with a physical network of the service requestors, as discussed with respect to FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising sending, by the AIF, a request for a parameter for the virtual world to the VMF through a modified network exposure function (mNEF) (Balmakhtar [0034] The SBA can include a Network Exposure Function (NEF) 222, a NF Repository Function (NRF) 224 a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF) 226, and other functions such as a Service Communication Proxy (SCP); [0039] During session establishment or modification, the SMF 214 also interacts with the PCF 212 over the N7 interface and the subscriber profile information stored within the UDM 208).
Regarding Claim 10, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising sending, by the AIF, a request for a parameter for the virtual object to the VAF through a modified network exposure function (mNEF) (Cui col. 11, ln. 28-35: The HSDO 512 can create the metaverse service 520 based on various parameters and based on a determination that elements from the physical side and the virtual side are needed to fulfil the request. For example, the HSDO 512 can create the metaverse service 520 based on one or more community objectives and/or one or more community intents).
Regarding Claims 11-20, Talebi in view of Cui, Ghosh and Balmakhtar teaches a system for providing a virtual world service, the system comprising (Talebi [0042] AMF, LMC, LMF, UDM, OAM, GMLC, LCS client, NEF and AF are example network functions which may be implemented either as a network element on a (dedicated) hardware, and/or a network node as depicted FIG. 4, or as a software instance running on a (dedicated) hardware and/or shared hardware, or as a virtualized function instantiated on an appropriate platform):
The metes and bounds of the claims substantially correspond to the limitations set forth in claims 1-10; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07 August 2026, with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Examiner notes that independent claims 1 and 11 have been amended to include new limitation. Examiner finds these limitations to be unpatentable as can be found in above detail action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617