DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2022/0255936 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) in view of US Pub. 2022/0232446 to Qiao et al. (hereinafter Qiao).
In regard claim 1, Wang teaches or discloses a computing system to implement a core network (see paragraph [0014], at least some of the HSS 106, the PGW 108, the AAA server 110, the H-PCRF 112h, the V-PCRF 112v, the MME/SGSN 118, the SGW 120, the ePDG 125 and the AAA proxy 128 may be located in the core network, e.g. the EPC) of a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) (see paragraphs [0011] and [0013], the V-PLMN 100v comprises a Mobility Management Entity/Serving General packet radio service Support Node (MME/ SGSN) 118, a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120, a Visited-Policy and Charging Rules Function (V-PCRF) 112v, an ePDG 125 and an AAA proxy 128), the computing system comprising:
one or more processing devices (see Fig. 14); and
one or more computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processing devices cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising (see Fig. 14):
identifying a packet data gateway (PGW) of a home public land mobile network
(HPLMN) associated with a user equipment connected to the core network of the VPLMN (see paragraphs [0014], [0322], [0323, [0325], [0327], and [0328], the identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be received from the non-3GPP access gateway 705 via a GTP interface or a PMIP interface. The AAA node 710 indicated in the identify information may be a visited-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a VPLM 100v, and it may be a home-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a HPLMN 100h);
sending, to the PGW via a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol
(GTP) proxy, a create session request message (CSRM) having a forward indication flag set to a first value (see paragraphs [0258], and [0281], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured. The ePDG 125 sends a Create Session Request message to the PGW 108 including the Identity of the home AAA server 110 received in the final authentication answer in step 1104);
receiving, from the PGW via the GTP proxy, a response message comprising a PGW identifier associated with the PGW responsive to the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraph [0340], the AAA node 710 indicated in the received identity information may be a home AAA server when the UE 101 is roaming. The identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be a Diameter identity of the AAA node 710);
sending, to an HPLMN home subscriber server (HSS) via a mobility management entity (MME), a notify request comprising the PGW identifier as an anchor point, the anchor point corresponding to a handover operation (see paragraphs [0008], [0013], [0024], [0025], [0157], and [0166], the H-PLMN 100h comprises a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 106, a PGW 108, an Authentication, Authorization, Accounting (AAA) server 110, a Home-Policy and Charging Rules Function (H-PCRF) 112h and Operator's IP Services 115. The HSS 103 in the H-PLMN 100h is arranged to be connected to the MME/SGSN 118 in the V-PLMN 100v and to the AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. In roaming scenarios, the non-3GPP access (i.e. the ePDG 125) first sends the authentication and authorization request to a AAA proxy 128 in the V-PLMN 00v which further forwards the request to a AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. The AAA server 1 110_1 sends an Update PGW Id Request message to the HSS 106. The PGW transmits, to the selected AAA node, a request message for the UE. The request message is a request for authorization of the UE to access the EPC service via the non-3GPP access network).
Wang may not explicitly teach or disclose the forward indication flag being set to the first value.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraphs [0116], the second MME 2 may send to the second SGW 2 create session request message comprising one or more of the following information: bearer context(s) with PDN GW addresses and TEIDs (for GTP-based S5/S8) or GRE keys (for PMIP-based S5/S8) at the PDN GW(s) for uplink traffic, serving network, and/or UE time zone per PDN connection to the second SGW 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang by including the forward indication flag being set to the first value suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to enhance features and functionalities in $G systems read in paragraph [0020].
In regard claims 2, 12, and 19, Wang teaches or discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the handover operation is a handover attempt between a voice service from the VPLMN to a Voice over Wireless Local Area Network (VoWLAN) service (see paragraphs [0075], [0098], [0216], and [0256], the UE 101 discovers the trusted non-3GPP IP access network 104 and determines to transfer its current sessions (i.e. handover) from the currently used 3GPP network 102 to the discovered trusted non-3GPP IP access network 104. This is applicable to a connection request from the UE 101 for both initial attach over the non-3GPP access network 103 and a handover of the UE 101 from the 3GPP network 102 to the non-3GPP access network 103).
In regard claims 3 and 13, Wang teaches or discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the core network of the VPLMN (see paragraph [0014], the ePDG 125 and the AAA proxy 128 may be located in the core network, e.g. the EPC. With at least some of these nodes, the EPC provides services such as handling of data, voice and SMS to and from the UE 101) comprises:
the GTP proxy (see paragraph [0022], a GPRS Tunneling Protocol (GTP) based interface);
a serving gateway (SGW) (see paragraphs [0011], and [0014], the V-PLMN 100v comprises a Mobility Management Entity/Serving General packet radio service Support Node (MME/SGSN) 118, a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120, a Visited-Policy and Charging Rules Function (V-PCRF) 112v, an ePDG 125 and an AAA proxy 128); and
a mobility management entity (MME) (see paragraph [0015], S6a is the interface between the MME/SGSN 118 and the HSS 103 for authentication and authorization),
wherein the GTP proxy (see paragraph [0022], GTP) is to:
receive, from the SGW, the CSRM (see paragraphs [0258], and [0281], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message);
select the PGW of the HPLMN (see paragraphs [0024], [0117], needs to first select an AAA server 110 or an AAA proxy 128 for access authentication and authorization. The AAA server 110 selected by PGW 108 may be different from the AAA server 110 that was selected by ePDG 125 during the non-3GPP connection set up for the same UE 101);
modify the CSRM with the forward indication flag set to the first value (see paragraphs [0230], [0258], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured. The PGW 108 sends a CCR-I message (if initial attach) or a CCR-U message (if handover) to the PCRF 112);
send, to the PGW, the CSRM (see paragraphs [0060], [0104], and [0137], the ePDG 125 sends a Create Session Request message to the PGW 108);
receive, from the PGW, the response message comprising the PGW identifier (see paragraph [0163], the PGW 108 sends a Create Session Response message to the ePDG 125. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 605); and
send, to the SGW, the response message (see paragraphs [0244], and [0272], the PGW 108 accepts the session creation request upon successful authorization by sending a Create Session Response message to the ePDG 125. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 905).
Wang may not explicitly teach or disclose the forward indication flag being set to the first value.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraphs [0116], the second MME 2 may send to the second SGW 2 create session request message comprising one or more of the following information: bearer context(s) with PDN GW addresses and TEIDs (for GTP-based S5/S8) or GRE keys (for PMIP-based S5/S8) at the PDN GW(s) for uplink traffic, serving network, and/or UE time zone per PDN connection to the second SGW 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang by including the forward indication flag being set to the first value suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to enhance features and functionalities in $G systems read in paragraph [0020].
In regard claim 4, Wang teaches or discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the core network of the VPLMN comprises:
the GTP proxy (see paragraphs [0022] and [0023], note that PMIP or GTP may be used for either trusted or untrusted access connectivity with EPC based on the operators' choice);
a serving gateway (SGW) (see paragraphs [0011] and [0013], a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120);
a mobility management entity (MME) (see paragraphs [0011], [0013], and [0014],the term MME/SGSN 118 refers to either an MME node, or a SGSN node or a node where the MME and the SGSN are co-located in one node, i.e. a combined MME and SGSN node),
wherein the SGW (see paragraph [0011], a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120) is to:
receive, from the MME, the CSRM (see paragraph [0163], [0230], and [0230], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured);
receive, from the GTP proxy, the response message comprising the PGW identifier (see paragraphs [0213], [0234], [0244], and [0272], when the GTPv2 protocol is used, the Create Session Request message is extended to comprise the identity of the AAA node 710 which is used by non-3GPP access gateway 705 for authentication and authorization of the UE 101 to access the EPC service via the non-3GPP access network 103. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 905);
send, to the GTP proxy, responsive to receiving the CSRM from the MME, the
CSRM (see paragraphs [0163], [0272], and [0244], the PGW 108 sends a Create Session Response message to the ePDG 125. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 605. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 1005);
receive, from the GTP proxy, the CSRM (see paragraphs [0230], [0258], and [0283], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message); and
send, to the MME, responsive to receiving the CSRM from the GTP proxy, the response message (see paragraphs [0011], [0013], and [0163]).
In regard claim 5, Wang teaches or discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the core network of the VPLMN comprises:
the GTP proxy (see paragraph [0022], a GPRS Tunneling Protocol (GTP) based interface);
a serving gateway (SGW) (see paragraph [0011], a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120); and
a mobility management entity (MME) (see paragraph [0011], the term MME/SGSN 118 refers to either an MME node, or a SGSN node or a node where the MME and the SGSN are co-located in one node, i.e. a combined MME and SGSN node), wherein the MME is to: select the SGW and the PGW (see paragraphs [0341], [0342], and [0368]); and
generate the CSRM that identifies the GTP proxy as the selected PGW (see paragraphs [0213], and [0244]);
send, to the SGW, the CSRM (see paragraphs [0060], [0104], and [0137], the ePDG 125 sends a Create Session Request message to the PGW 108);
receive, from the SGW, the response message (see paragraphs [0213], [0234], [0244], and [0272], when the GTPv2 protocol is used, the Create Session Request message is extended to comprise the identity of the AAA node 710 which is used by non-3GPP access gateway 705 for authentication and authorization of the UE 101 to access the EPC service via the non-3GPP access network 103. The Create Session Response message is a response to the Create Session Request message in step 905); and
update, to the HSS of the HPLMN, the PGW identifier (see paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0157], and [0159], the PGW 108 sends an update PGW address message to the AAA server 110 to inform the AAA server 110 of its PGW identity and the APN corresponding to the UE's 101 PDN connection).
In regard claims 7 and 14, Wang teaches or discloses the VPLMN of claim 1, wherein the notify request comprises an information element comprising the PGW identifier (see paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0064], and [0091]).
In regard claims 8 and 15, Wang teaches or discloses the VPLMN of claim 1, wherein the PGW identifier is a PGW node name information element (see paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0064], and [0091]).
In regard claims 10 and 17, Wang teaches or discloses the VPLMN of claim 1, wherein the CSRM having the forward indication flag set to the first value is sent to the PGW via the GTP proxy responsive to detecting a handover attempt between a voice-over-LTE service and a voice-over-Wi-Fi service (see paragraphs [0258], [0262], [0281], and [0283], GW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured. The PGW 108 sends a CCR-I message (if initial attach) or a CCR-U message (if handover) to the PCRF 112).
Wang may not explicitly teach or disclose the forward indication flag being set to the first value.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraph [0116], the second MME 2 may send to the second SGW 2 create session request message comprising one or more of the following information: bearer context(s) with PDN GW addresses and TEIDs (for GTP-based S5/S8) or GRE keys (for PMIP-based S5/S8) at the PDN GW(s) for uplink traffic, serving network, and/or UE time zone per PDN connection to the second SGW 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang by including the forward indication flag being set to the first value suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to enhance features and functionalities in $G systems read in paragraph [0020].
In regard claim 11, Wang teaches or discloses a method of operating a core network (see paragraph [0014], at least some of the HSS 106, the PGW 108, the AAA server 110, the H-PCRF 112h, the V-PCRF 112v, the MME/SGSN 118, the SGW 120, the ePDG 125 and the AAA proxy 128 may be located in the core network, e.g. the EPC) of a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) (see paragraphs [0011] and [0013], the V-PLMN 100v comprises a Mobility Management Entity/Serving General packet radio service Support Node (MME/ SGSN) 118, a Serving GateWay (SGW) 120, a Visited-Policy and Charging Rules Function (V-PCRF) 112v, an ePDG 125 and an AAA proxy 128), the method comprising:
identifying a packet data gateway (PGW) of a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) associated with a user equipment connected to the core network of a VPLMN (see paragraphs [0322], [0323, [0325], [0327], and [0328], the identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be received from the non-3GPP access gateway 705 via a GTP interface or a PMIP interface. The AAA node 710 indicated in the identify information may be a visited-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a VPLM 100v, and it may be a home-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a HPLMN 100h);
sending, to the PGW via a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol (GTP) proxy, a create session request message (CSRM) having a forward indication flag set to a first value (see paragraphs [0258], [0281], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured. The ePDG 125 sends a Create Session Request message to the PGW 108 including the Identity of the home AAA server 110 received in the final authentication answer in step 1104);
receiving, from the PGW via the GTP proxy, a response message comprising a PGW identifier associated with the PGW responsive to the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraphs [0340], the AAA node 710 indicated in the received identity information may be a home AAA server when the UE 101 is roaming. The identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be a Diameter identity of the AAA node 710);
sending, to an HPLMN home subscriber server (HSS) via a mobility management entity (MME), a notify request comprising the PGW identifier as an anchor point, the anchor point corresponding to a handover operation (see paragraphs [0008], [0013], [0024], [0025], [0157], and [0166], the H-PLMN 100h comprises a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 106, a PGW 108, an Authentication, Authorization, Accounting (AAA) server 110, a Home-Policy and Charging Rules Function (H-PCRF) 112h and Operator's IP Services 115. The HSS 103 in the H-PLMN 100h is arranged to be connected to the MME/SGSN 118 in the V-PLMN 100v and to the AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. In roaming scenarios, the non-3GPP access (i.e. the ePDG 125) first sends the authentication and authorization request to a AAA proxy 128 in the V-PLMN 00v which further forwards the request to a AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. The AAA server 1 110_1 sends an Update PGW Id Request message to the HSS 106. The PGW transmits, to the selected AAA node, a request message for the UE. The request message is a request for authorization of the UE to access the EPC service via the non-3GPP access network).
Wang may not explicitly teach or disclose the forward indication flag being set to the first value.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraph [0116], the second MME 2 may send to the second SGW 2 create session request message comprising one or more of the following information: bearer context(s) with PDN GW addresses and TEIDs (for GTP-based S5/S8) or GRE keys (for PMIP-based S5/S8) at the PDN GW(s) for uplink traffic, serving network, and/or UE time zone per PDN connection to the second SGW 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang by including the forward indication flag being set to the first value suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to enhance features and functionalities in $G systems read in paragraph [0020].
In regard claim 18, Wang teaches or discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media storing computer-readable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform the operations comprising (see paragraph [0348], a first computer program may comprise instructions which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (e.g. the processor 1408) to carry out at least some of the method steps. A first carrier may comprise the first computer program, and the first carrier is one of an electronic signal, optical signal, radio signal or computer readable storage medium):
identifying a packet data gateway (PGW) of a home public land mobile network
(HPLMN) associated with a user equipment connected to the core network of the VPLMN (see paragraphs [0322], [0323, [0325], [0327], and [0328], the identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be received from the non-3GPP access gateway 705 via a GTP interface or a PMIP interface. The AAA node 710 indicated in the identify information may be a visited-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a VPLM 100v, and it may be a home-AAA server when the PGW 108 is comprised in a HPLMN 100h);
sending, to the PGW via a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol
(GTP) proxy, a create session request message (CSRM) having a forward indication flag set to a first value (see paragraphs [0258], [0281], PGW 108 receives the Create Session Request message, and initiates IP-CAN session establishment (if initial attach) or modification (if handover) with the PCRF 112 if a PCC procedure is configured. The ePDG 125 sends a Create Session Request message to the PGW 108 including the Identity of the home AAA server 110 received in the final authentication answer in step 1104);
receiving, from the PGW via the GTP proxy, a response message comprising a PGW identifier associated with the PGW responsive to the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraphs [0340], the AAA node 710 indicated in the received identity information may be a home AAA server when the UE 101 is roaming. The identity information may be received in a Create Session Request message or a Proxy Binding Update message. The identity information may be a Diameter identity of the AAA node 710); and
sending, to an HPLMN home subscriber server (HSS) via a mobility management entity (MME), a notify request comprising the PGW identifier as an anchor point, the anchor point corresponding to a handover operation (see paragraphs [0008], [0013], [0024], [0025], [0157], and [0166], the H-PLMN 100h comprises a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 106, a PGW 108, an Authentication, Authorization, Accounting (AAA) server 110, a Home-Policy and Charging Rules Function (H-PCRF) 112h and Operator's IP Services 115. The HSS 103 in the H-PLMN 100h is arranged to be connected to the MME/SGSN 118 in the V-PLMN 100v and to the AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. In roaming scenarios, the non-3GPP access (i.e. the ePDG 125) first sends the authentication and authorization request to a AAA proxy 128 in the V-PLMN 00v which further forwards the request to a AAA server 110 in the H-PLMN 100h. The AAA server 1 110_1 sends an Update PGW Id Request message to the HSS 106. The PGW transmits, to the selected AAA node, a request message for the UE. The request message is a request for authorization of the UE to access the EPC service via the non-3GPP access network).
Wang may not explicitly teach or disclose the forward indication flag being set to the first value.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses the forward indication flag being set to the first value (see paragraphs [0116], the second MME 2 may send to the second SGW 2 create session request message comprising one or more of the following information: bearer context(s) with PDN GW addresses and TEIDs (for GTP-based S5/S8) or GRE keys (for PMIP-based S5/S8) at the PDN GW(s) for uplink traffic, serving network, and/or UE time zone per PDN connection to the second SGW 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang by including the forward indication flag being set to the first value suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to enhance features and functionalities in $G systems read in paragraph [0020].
Claims 9, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Qiao as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pub. 2023/0319514 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
In regard claims 9, 16, and 20, Wang and Qiao may not explicitly teach or disclose the VPLMN of claim 8, wherein the PGW node name information element is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) identifier associated with the PGW.
However, Kim teaches or discloses the PGW node name information element is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) identifier associated with the PGW (see paragraphs [0350], [0463], and [0464], the AMF shall discover the SMF instance by an NF/NF service discovery procedure using the FQDN for the S5/S8 interface received from the MME as a query parameter. The AMF may revoke DNN and PGW-C+SMF FQDN for S5/S8 interface in the UDM using Nudm_UECM_Update service operation. If the PGW-C+SMF in which the PDU sessions support EPS interworking is changed for the same DNN, the AMF can update the DNN and new PGW-C+SMF FQDN for S5/S8 interface in the UDM using Nudm_UECM_ Update service operation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify nodes for handing access to EPC services via a non-3GPP network of Wang and session creation for wireless device of Qiao by including the PGW node name information element is a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) identifier associated with the PGW suggested by Kim. This modification would provide to receive a join request for participate in multicast communication an allocation request message EBI allocation for a unicast QoS flow corresponding to multicast QoS flow read in paragraph [0007].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476