Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 21, and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 21, and 22 recites the limitation "the heart" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kofidis (US 20220047387 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kofidis teaches
a heart valve repair system (100, Fig. 1B, ¶0008) comprising:
an implantable leaflet (2, Fig. 1B) having a coaptation edge (edge of 2, Fig. 2) and an annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2);
multiple chords (3, Fig. 1B) for connecting said coaptation edge to a native structure (4, Fig. 2) of the heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074),
each said chord (3, Fig. 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (ends of 3, Figs. 1A & 2);
a fixation mechanism (8, Fig. 1B) associated with each said chord (3, Fig. 1B) for attaching said distal end of each said chord to said native structure (4, Fig. 2) of said heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074); and
at least one annulus attachment device for securing said annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2) of said implantable leaflet to an annulus of said heart valve (sutures used to attach ring portion 601A to the patient's annulus, ¶0093); wherein:
the coaptation edge is rolled up (601A, Fig. 6A ¶0089);
the annulus edge is rolled up (605A, Fig. 6A ¶0089; and
the native structure is a papillary muscle (4, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kofidis teaches
wherein the implantable leaflet comprises a tissue material (human, bovine or porcine pericardium, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 5, Kofidis teaches
wherein said tissue material comprises mammal tissue (human, bovine or porcine pericardium, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 6, Kofidis teaches
wherein the tissue material comprises a synthetic material (biodegradable polymers, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 7, Kofidis teaches
further comprising a fixation mechanism (9, Fig. 1A) for attaching a proximal end of each said chord (3, Fig. 1A) to said implantable leaflet (2, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 21, Kofidis teaches
a heart valve repair system (100, Fig. 1B, ¶0008) comprising:
an implantable leaflet (2, Fig. 1B) having a coaptation edge (edge of 2, Fig. 2) and an annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2);
multiple chords (3, Fig. 1B) for connecting said coaptation edge to a papillary muscle (4, Fig. 2) of the heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074),
each said chord (3, Fig. 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (ends of 3, Fig. 2);
a fixation mechanism (8, Fig. 1B) associated with each said chord (3, Fig. 1B) for attaching said distal end of each said chord to said papillary muscle (4, Fig. 2) of said heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074); and
at least one annulus attachment device for securing said annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2) of said implantable leaflet to an annulus of said heart valve (sutures used to attach ring portion 601A to the patient's annulus, ¶0093).
Regarding claim 22, Kofidis teaches
a heart valve repair system (100, Fig. 1B, ¶0008) comprising:
an implantable leaflet (2, Fig. 1B) having a coaptation edge (edge of 2, Fig. 2) and an annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2);
a chord (3, Fig. 1B) for connecting said coaptation edge to a papillary muscle (4, Fig. 2) of the heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074),
said chord (3, Fig. 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (ends of 3, Fig. 2);
a fixation mechanism (8, Fig. 1B) associated with said chord (3, Fig. 1B) for attaching said distal end of said chord to said papillary muscle (4, Fig. 2) of said heart (Fig. 2, ¶0074); and
at least one annulus attachment device for securing said annulus edge (edge of 1, Fig. 2) of said implantable leaflet to an annulus of said heart valve (sutures used to attach ring portion 601A to the patient's annulus, ¶0093); wherein:
the coaptation edge is rolled up (601A, Fig. 6A ¶0089); and
the annulus edge is rolled up (605A, Fig. 6A ¶0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofidis in view of Neethling et al. (US 20060193885 A1) hereinafter, Neethling.
Regarding claim 4, Kofidis does not teach wherein said tissue material comprises a calcification-resistant implantable biomaterial. However, Neethling teaches an implantable biomaterial (abstract, Neethling)
wherein said tissue material comprises a calcification-resistant implantable biomaterial (calcification resistant biomaterial comprising cross-linked collagen, ¶0058, Neethling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kofidis by incorporating the teaching above as taught by Neethling in order to prevent calcification, calcification can result in undesirable stiffening or degradation of the biomaterial (¶0128, Neethling).
Conclusion
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774