Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/27/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN110589176) in view of Erschen (U.S. Pat. No. 10046884) in further view of EP ‘375 (EP3670375).
With respect to claim 1, Ye discloses a carrying pallet, comprising a frame (Fig. 1, plate 4), a support structure (Fig. 6, plurality of u-shaped plates 7) and a plurality of feet (support feet 2), wherein the frame (plate 4) comprises a plurality of first beam frames which are connected in sequence in an end to end manner (“boarding 4 is composed of four vertically arranged sheet metal are fixed by welding”), the support structure (plurality of u-shape plates 7) comprises a plurality of second beam frames (u-shaped plates 7) which are distributed side by side and at intervals (Fig. 6 shows u-shaped plates 7 arranged next to each other), each of the plurality of feet (support feet 2) is installed between every two adjacent first beam frames (sheet metal of plate 4) of the plurality of first beam frames (Fig. 5, support feet 2 are located at each corner where each individual sheet metal piece of plate 4 meets the adjacent piece of sheet metal), and each the plurality of second beam frames (u-shaped plates 7) respectively adopts any one of a first structure, a second structure, a third structure and a fourth structure; the first structure comprises a first rectangular tube with a rectangular cross section, and the first rectangular tube is internally provided with a plurality of first columns which are vertically arranged; the second structure comprises a second rectangular tube with a square cross section and a third rectangular tube with a square cross section, the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube are arranged one above another, a plurality of second columns, which are vertically arranged, are arranged between the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube, and two ends of each of the plurality of second columns respectively stretch into the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube; the third structure comprises a U-shaped profile (u-shaped plates 7 each comprise a u-shaped beam), and the U-shaped profile is internally provided with a plurality of third columns (Figs. 2 and 6, each u-shaped profile 7 has a plurality of cannulas 6 fixed to an inside of the u-shaped profiles); and the fourth structure comprises an upper L-shaped profile and a lower L-shaped profile, the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile are arranged one above another, and a plurality of fourth columns are arranged between the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile.
Ye fails to disclose each of the plurality of first beam frames respectively adopts any one of a first structure, a second structure, a third structure and a fourth structure; the first structure comprises a first rectangular tube with a rectangular cross section, and the first rectangular tube is internally provided with a plurality of first columns which are vertically arranged; the second structure comprises a second rectangular tube with a square cross section and a third rectangular tube with a square cross section, the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube are arranged one above another, a plurality of second columns, which are vertically arranged, are arranged between the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube, and two ends of each of the plurality of second columns respectively stretch into the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube; the third structure comprises a U-shaped profile, and the U-shaped profile is internally provided with a plurality of third columns; and the fourth structure comprises an upper L-shaped profile and a lower L-shaped profile, the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile are arranged one above another, and a plurality of fourth columns are arranged between the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile.
Erschen discloses each of a plurality of first beam frames (Fig. 1, perimeter members 30) respectively adopts any one of a first structure, a second structure, a third structure and a fourth structure; the first structure comprises a first rectangular tube with a rectangular cross section, and the first rectangular tube is internally provided with a plurality of first columns which are vertically arranged; the second structure comprises a second rectangular tube with a square cross section and a third rectangular tube with a square cross section, the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube are arranged one above another, a plurality of second columns, which are vertically arranged, are arranged between the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube, and two ends of each of the plurality of second columns respectively stretch into the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube; the third structure comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig. 5, perimeter members 30 have a u-shaped profile), and the U-shaped profile is internally provided with a plurality of third columns (Fig. 1, plurality of support tubes 40 are provided within the u-shaped perimeter members 30); and the fourth structure comprises an upper L-shaped profile and a lower L-shaped profile, the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile are arranged one above another, and a plurality of fourth columns are arranged between the upper L-shaped profile and the lower L-shaped profile.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Ye by replacing the vertical sheet metal strips with u-shaped supports having support tubes, such as taught by Erschen, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional vertical load support along the edges of the pallet and to further provide structure for receiving additional aligning rods (such as pins 28 of Erschen or insert rods 14 of Ye) for aligning and organizing items stored on the pallet.
The combination (Ye in view of Erschen) fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of feet comprises a guide portion and a support portion located below the guide portion, an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion, the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper, a cavity is formed in the support portion, the cavity communicates with the stretching space, the guide portion is disposed at a corresponding corner of the frame, outer sidewalls of the guide portion are connected with the frame, and an overall dimension of the support portion is smaller than or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion.
EP ‘375 discloses a plurality of feet (Abstract, “plurality of replaceable feet”) comprises a guide portion (Fig. 8, upper part 12) and a support portion (lower part 11) located below the guide portion (12), an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion (Fig. 8, top of upper part 12 is open), the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper (lower end of upper part 12 has a tapered portion that tapers inward), a cavity is formed in the support portion (Fig. 8 shows lower part 11 has an open cavity), the cavity communicates with the stretching space (cavity of lower part 11 and upper part 12 are connected by the tapered portion), the guide portion is disposed at a corresponding corner of the frame (Fig. 3, the upper part 12 of each foot 1 is located at a corner of the perimeter frame of pallet 2 as shown in Figs. 29-32), outer sidewalls of the guide portion are connected with the frame (Figs. 3 and 29-32 show feet 1 are connected to pallet 2, therefore the outer sidewalls of upper part 12 of each foot 1 is connected with the perimeter frame of pallet 2), and an overall dimension of the support portion (lower part 11) is smaller than or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion (Fig. 8 shows the entire lower part 11 of a foot 1 fits inside the upper part 12 of another foot 1, therefore the overall dimension of the lower part 11 is smaller than the overall dimension of the upper part 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Ye in view of Erschen such that each of the plurality of feet comprises a guide portion and a support portion located below the guide portion, an opening is formed in a top of the guide portion, the guide portion is internally provided with a stretching space in a shape of a reverse taper, a cavity is formed in the support portion, the cavity is connected with the stretching space, and the guide portion is disposed at a corresponding corner of the frame, as taught by EP ‘375, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily stack the pallets in a nested arrangement and reduce the height of the resulting stack (EP ‘375, Abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Ye in view of Erschen in further view of EP ‘375 discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Ye) further discloses wherein a baffle plate (Fig. 1, guard board 8) is arranged on an outer side of each of the plurality of first beam frames (Figs. 1 and 2 guard board surrounds plates 4 as modified by Erschen).
With respect to claim 3, Ye in view of Erschen in further view of EP ‘375 discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Ye) further discloses a panel (support plate 1), wherein the panel (1) is installed on a top of the frame (plate 4) and a top of the support structure (plurality of u-shaped plates 7).
With respect to claim 4, Ye in view of Erschen in further view of EP ‘375 discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Ye) further discloses wherein a plurality of first auxiliary holes (blind holes 3) are formed in the panel (support plate 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
U.S.C. §103 Rejection - Ye (CN110589176) in view of Erschen (U.S. Pat. No. 10046884)
Applicant has amended the Independent Claim 1 to more appropriately define the rectangular tube structures of the first and second structures, and has further included the limitations of claim 5 as well as the limitation “outer sidewalls of the guide portion are connected with the frame, and an overall dimension of the support portion is smaller than or equal to a lower dimension of the guide portion.”
The Examiner notes that the newly amended claim 1 overcomes the rejection made in the non-final rejection (dated 3/25/2026) over Ye (CN110589176) in view of Erschen (U.S. Pat. No. 10046884). However, Ye in view of Erschen in further view of EP ‘375 (EP3670375) discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
On pages 21-23 of the Arguments/Remarks (6/24/2026), Applicant states that “the first columns 402 are located inside the first rectangular tube, and the second columns [503] are arranged between the second rectangular tube and the third rectangular tube. Therefore, the arrangement of the insertion tube in Ye is different from the arrangement of the first and second columns in the amended claim 1 of the present application”. The first column 402 and first rectangular tube 401 as shown in Fig. 12 are associated with the first structure of claim 1, and the second columns 503 and second/third rectangular tubes 501, 502 as shown in Fig. 13 are associated with the second structure of claim 1.
The language of claim 1 requires the plurality of first beam frames and the plurality of second beam frames to adopt “any one of a first structure, a second structure, a third structure and a fourth structure”, therefore the second beam frames of Ye (u-shaped plates 7) only need to adopt only one of these structures. In this case, the u-shaped plates 7 adopt the third structure as claimed. Therefore, the argument regarding the first and second structures is moot.
As mapped in the non-final rejection (3/25/2026) and the final rejection above, the U-shaped plates 7 adopt the third structure comprising a U-shaped profile (u-shaped plates 7 each comprise a u-shaped beam), and the U-shaped profile is internally provided with a plurality of third columns (Figs. 2 and 6, each u-shaped profile 7 has a plurality of cannulas 6 fixed to an inside of the u-shaped profiles). Note that Applicant has not presented an argument against the u-shaped plates of Ye adopting the third structure.
Applicant similarly argues that first beam frames (adjacent sheet metal plates 4 of Ye as modified to be perimeter members 30 of Eschen) is different from the first columns 402 and first rectangular tube 401 of the first structure and the second columns 503 and second/third rectangular tubes 501, 502 of the second structure. As stated above, the plurality of first beam frames as claimed are required to adopt “any one of a first structure, a second structure, a third structure and a fourth structure”, therefore the first beam frames of Ye in view of Eschen (perimeter members 30) only need to adopt one of these structures. In this case, the perimeter members 30 adopt the third structure as claimed. Therefore, the argument regarding the first and second structures is moot.
As mapped in the non-final rejection (3/25/2026) and the final rejection above, the perimeter members 30 adopt the third structure comprising a U-shaped profile (Fig. 5, perimeter members 30 have a u-shaped profile), and the U-shaped profile is internally provided with a plurality of third columns (Fig. 1, plurality of support tubes 40 are provided within the u-shaped perimeter members 30). Note that Applicant has not presented an argument against the perimeter members of Ye in view of Eschen adopting the third structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Ye by replacing the vertical sheet metal strips with u-shaped supports having support tubes, such as taught by Erschen, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional vertical load support along the edges of the pallet and to further provide structure for receiving additional aligning rods (such as pins 28 of Erschen or insert rods 14 of Ye) for aligning and organizing items stored on the pallet. On page 22, Applicant states that the support tube 40 of the perimeter member 30 “is not used for supporting the load-bearing function, and the pin 28 plays the role of supporting the load-bearing function.” While this statement was made in reference to the load-bearing functions of the first and second structures and not the third structure, the Examiner notes that the support tubes 40 are welded into place on the frame members 30 (Col. 3, lines 49-50) as shown in Fig. 12 and would therefore function as load-bearing support by virtue of being a rigid vertical column fixed between two horizontally-extending portions of frame member 30.
On pages 23-24 of the Arguments/Remarks (6/24/2026), Applicant states that the support feet of Ye are different than the feet of the amended claim 1. Examiner agrees. However, EP ‘375 discloses the structural limitations related to the feet of amended claim 1 as mapped in the claim 5 rejection of the non-final (3/25/2026).
Applicant states that “when the feet 1 [of EP ‘375] are stacked, the lower portion of the upper foot 1 is supported on the tapered portion of the section a of the lower foot 1, which is different from the solution in amended claim 1 of the present application.” Applicant does not provide an argument or an explanation of how the feet of EP ‘375 are different from the feet as claimed in amended claim 1, but states “when the pallets are stacked, the foot of the pallet can be stretched into the stretching space and supported by the support portion separately to realize no large space between the upper pallet and the lower pallet during stacking, and the space is effectively saved, which not only limits the position of the support portion, but also enhances the stress stability of the support portion.”
While this structural relationship of stacked pallets is not claimed in the amended Claim 1, the Examiner notes that EP ‘375 does disclose “the lower part (11) having a cross section smaller than the upper part (12), so that when stacking one pallet (P) on top of another pallet (P), the feet (1) can be fitted thus reducing the height of the resulting stack” (Abstract) and clearly shows (Fig. 8) that the lower portion 11 extends into the tapered area (“stretching space”) to some degree.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Ye in view of Erschen to have hollow, stackable feet, such as taught by EP ‘375, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily stack the pallets in a nested arrangement and reduce the height of the resulting stack (EP ‘375, Abstract) to save space during transport or storage of the pallets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637
August 28, 2026