Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, “the third device” lacks antecedent basis, i.e. claim 1 only introduces two devices, the server and the client, leaving the scope indefinite.
For purposes of applying prior art, because the client device is performing steps (i)-(ii) as required by claim 1, the third device will be interpreted to refer to the client device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2014/0267564 A1 (hereinafter Pourashraf) in view of U.S. Patent Application 2018/0091564 A1 (hereinafter Ivov).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “A method for transferring video for generating avatars in a three-dimensional virtual environment, comprising: (a) receiving, at a server, a plurality of video streams, each captured from a camera on a device of a user navigating within the three-dimensional virtual environment; … (c) sending, to the client device, … metadata describing the plurality of video streams; (d) receiving, from the client device, and indication of which of the plurality of video streams to receive, the indication being based on … the metadata; (e) based on the indication, selecting the subset of the plurality of video streams; and (f) transmitting the selected subset of the plurality of video streams to the client device” are taught by Pourashraf (Pourashraf, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 113-208, describes a virtual video conferencing system, wherein each user is represented in a 3D virtual environment with an avatar displaying a video stream captured by a camera on the user’s device, e.g. paragraphs 118-157. Pourashraf teaches that the central server 201 may receive the video streams from each user/client device and transmits a subset of the user/client video streams to each user/client device, e.g. paragraphs 129, 157, where the user/client devices may perform the selection of the subset of user/client video streams based on visibility criteria evaluated on metadata indicating the positions of the other user/client avatars, e.g. paragraphs 134-137, 142-146, 157, 200, i.e. as claimed the server 201 (a) receives the plurality of client video streams, (c) sends position metadata describing each of the avatars associated with the client video streams to each client, where (d) each client uses the metadata to identify a visible subset of avatars which are indicated to the server as a selection of a visible subset of the plurality of client video streams, and (e)(f) in response the server sends the respective selected visible subsets of the plurality of video streams to each respective client device.)
The limitation “wherein the client device is configured to (i) for each respective video stream from the selected subset, generate an avatar in the three-dimensional virtual environment, a position of the avatar controlled by a user captured in the respective video stream and (ii) render, for display on the client device and from a perspective of a virtual camera controlled by a client device user, a three-dimensional virtual environment including the avatars generated in (f)(i)” is taught by Pourashraf (Pourashraf, e.g. paragraphs 119, 123, 124, 128, 130-133, figure 3b, teaches that each client device renders images of the 3D virtual environment from a virtual camera/viewpoint associated with the avatar of the user/client device, and displays the avatars of the subset of other users/clients determined to be visible, where said avatars are represented at a position controlled by the user/client of the associated avatar, and display the corresponding video stream on the surface of the avatar, as shown in figure 3b.)
The limitations “based on server resource availability, determining a number of streams to send to a client device, wherein the server resource availability is determined based on the server’s available CPU and bandwidth capacity; sending, to the client device, the determined number and metadata describing the plurality of video streams; receiving, from the client device, and indication of which of the plurality of video streams to receive, the indication being based on the determined number and the metadata” is not explicitly taught by Pourashraf (Pourashraf, e.g. paragraph 156, teaches that the visibility culling reduces the amount of data and bandwidth requirements of the network, and, e.g. paragraphs 183-184, suggests that bandwidth usage may be improved by selectively reducing the quality of client video streams based on relative distance between a viewing client’s avatar and other avatars which are visible to the viewing client, but Pourashraf does not suggest determining a number of streams to send to the client device based on server resource availability used to limit the number of selected visible video streams, wherein the server resource availability is based on the server’s available CPU and bandwidth capacity.) However, this limitation is taught by Ivov (Ivov, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 17-92, describes a system for managing video conference servers which receive and retransmit a plurality of participant video streams to respective other participant devices for display using a selective forwarding unit (SFU) that dynamically adapts the number and quality of streams forwarded to each participant dependent on the current resource utilization of the server. Ivov, e.g. paragraphs 17-19, 38-42, teaches that the SFU evaluates a plurality of metrics to determine and compare system load values to load threshold values in order to identify whether the system resources are being overused or underused and adapt the streams accordingly, wherein the plurality of metrics include CPU usage and bandwidth usage evaluated as a percentage of total CPU/bandwidth capacity as in paragraphs 39-40, i.e. the claimed server resource availability determined based on the server’s available CPU and bandwidth capacities. Further, Ivov, e.g. paragraphs 29-32, 43-46, 60, 69, 73-75, teaches that the dynamic adaptation of the number and quality of the streams may prioritize some streams over others according to factors such as participant selection or audio levels, and the dynamic adaptation selects, for each participant computing device, a particular number of streams based on the current resource availability, i.e. the number of streams may be decreased when system resources are overused and increased when underused, corresponding to the claimed determining a number of streams to send to the client device based on server resource availability. It is additionally noted that Ivov, e.g. paragraph 32, teaches that the selection of the subset of streams may be based on one or more factors, including selection by participant computing devices, i.e. Ivov’s SFU is compatible with the client device stream subset selection taught by Pourashraf, e.g. paragraphs 129, 134-141, 157, 200, teaching that the client devices can perform the visibility evaluation and visible subset selection as an alternative to having the server perform the evaluation and selection, including, e.g. paragraph 184, the client identifying which subset of streams may be transmitted at lower quality, and analogous to Pourashraf’s client performing visibility based avatar/video stream selection and distance based quality selection, Pourashraf’s client could perform Ivov’s stream subset selection, i.e. selecting a number of the highest priority streams from Pourashraf’s visible subset of streams according to a received parameter indicating the maximum number of video streams that the user/client device may currently stream concurrently from the server.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourashraf’s virtual video conferencing system to include Ivov’s selective forwarding unit in order to allow the server to dynamically adapt to overuse and underuse of system resources while minimizing the negative effects on the user experience, e.g. Ivov, paragraphs 4-9. As noted above, in the modified system, Pourashraf’s client would perform Ivov’s stream subset selection, i.e. selecting a number of the highest priority streams from Pourashraf’s visible subset of streams according to a received parameter indicating the maximum number of video streams that the user/client device may currently initiate concurrently from the server.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein determining (b) comprises determining the number based on a number of video streams the server is already providing” is taught by Pourashraf in view of Ivov (Ivov, e.g. paragraph 44, teaches that in simple scenarios where all the streams have the same bitrate, the participant computing devices currently streaming the highest number of streams may be selected for disabling one or more streams, i.e. reducing the number determined in step (b) to a lower number based on a number of video streams the server is currently providing to the participant/client computing device. Ivov, e.g. paragraphs 45, 46, further discloses using an equation to measure the effect on a given participant computing device which would caused by reducing the number of streams for said given participant computing device based in part on the current number of streams the given participant computing device is receiving ni, i.e. reducing the number determined in step (b) to a lower number for a given participant/client device by calculating the effect on the given participant/client device based on the current number of streams the given participant computing device is receiving ni. In both instances the number of streams determined for each participant computing device is based, in part, on a current number of streams the server is already providing to the participant/client computing device, as claimed.)
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the limitations "(g) collecting a performance metric of the server, wherein the determining (b) comprises determining the number based on the performance metric” and “wherein the performance metric is at least one of latency, packet loss, or bandwidth conditions” are taught by Pourashraf in view of Ivov (Ivov, e.g. paragraphs 38-40, describes exemplary metrics used to measure system load in order to determine whether system resources are overused or underused, corresponding to the claimed step (g) of claim 3, including a number of dropped packets over a particular time period, i.e. a packet loss metric, and outgoing bitrate, i.e. a bandwidth condition metric, corresponding to the metrics of claim 4.)
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “wherein the client device is configured to generate the avatar by texture mapping respective frames of the respective video stream onto a three-dimensional model at the position” is taught by Pourashraf (Pourashraf, e.g. paragraphs 123, 130, figures 3b, 8, shows that each avatar is a 3D model, i.e. a display object with a curved screen, the user’s id, a virtual viewpoint lens, and a pedestal underneath the display object, and displaying the live video frames on the sub-portion of each respective avatar is texture mapping, i.e. although Pourashraf does not use the term, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such a process is within the scope of a texture mapping operation.)
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 3 and 4 above.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above, except the limitations are recited with respect to the client device operations.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2014/0267564 A1 (hereinafter Pourashraf) in view of U.S. Patent Application 2018/0091564 A1 (hereinafter Ivov) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0281060 A1 (hereinafter Swanson).
Regarding claim 5, the limitations “calculating a global maximum number of streams for the server, wherein determining (b) comprises adjusting the server resource availability based on the global maximum number of streams” are not explicitly taught by Pourashraf in view of Ivov (While Ivov, e.g. paragraphs 31, 48-57, describes determining per-conference maximum stream numbers in addition to per-participant device maximum stream numbers, where each participant device is constrained by their respective conference’s maximum stream number as in paragraph 31, Ivov does not explicitly suggest further using a global maximum number of streams for the server.) However, this limitation is taught by Swanson (Swanson, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 20-128, describes a system for managing video conference servers which receive and retransmit a plurality of client video streams to respective other client devices for display using control parameters to manage server resources. Swanson, e.g. paragraphs 48-52 explains that depending on various factors, the server may have insufficient bandwidth to send all of the data to the client devices, and the control parameters can be used to establish limits for communication between users, e.g. paragraphs 55-61, and may be automatically discovered by the server based on current resource availability, e.g. paragraphs 79, 95. Swanson, e.g. paragraphs 59-61, 88, 108-110, further indicates that some of the control parameters may be a numerical limit on the number of data streams that each user/client can use concurrently, each conference can use concurrently, and the total number provided by the system concurrently, and the parameters are enforced either by preventing the initiation of a data stream violating the parameter or terminating another data stream having a lower priority. That is, analogous to Ivov’s per-participant/client number of streams being limited by Ivov’s per-conference number of streams, Swanson teaches further including a per-server number of streams used to limit the per-conference and/or per-participant/client numbers of streams.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourashraf’s virtual video conferencing system, including Ivov’s selective forwarding unit, to include Swanson’s maximum total number of data streams control parameter as one of the performance metrics and overuse thresholds used in Ivov’s selective forwarding unit to determine the number of streams which each participant/client device can stream based on current server resource availability. As noted above, Ivov's selective forwarding unit already operates using equivalent per-participant/client and per-conference numbers, such that including Swansons’ maximum total number of data streams as an additional metric/threshold is a simple extension to Ivov’s selective forwarding unit to consider an additional overuse threshold.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2014/0267564 A1 (hereinafter Pourashraf) in view of U.S. Patent Application 2018/0091564 A1 (hereinafter Ivov) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0086203 A1 (hereinafter Morris).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “for each respective video stream from the plurality of video streams: (h)determining whether the position of the avatar controlled by a user captured in the respective video stream is within the vicinity of the virtual camera; and (i) when the position is determined to be in the vicinity of the virtual camera, transmitting the position to the client device” is not explicitly taught by Pourashraf in view of Ivov (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, in the modified system, Pourashraf’s client would perform Ivov’s stream subset selection, i.e. selecting a number of the highest priority streams from Pourashraf’s visible subset of streams according to a received parameter indicating the maximum number of video streams that the user/client device may currently initiate concurrently from the server. While Pourashraf, e.g. paragraph 200, teaches that the selection by the client may include the server simply generating an environment map identifying the current position, orientation, and movement of each avatar in the virtual environment and providing the environment map to each client, Pourashraf does not suggest that each client device receives a subset of the environment map corresponding to the avatars/client devices that are determined to be in the vicinity of the viewing user/client avatar/viewpoint, i.e. Pourashraf distributes the full map to every user/client device.) However, this limitation is taught by Morris (Morris, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 35-125, describes a virtual environment video conferencing system for a plurality of users, where a subset of video feeds are provided to user/client devices depending on the virtual position and orientation of the viewing user/client device avatar relative to the virtual position and orientation of the respective avatars of other users, e.g. paragraphs 38-48. Further, Morris, e.g. paragraph 88, 102-105, figure 2B, teaches that an environment map of connected user/client devices may be divided into cells, and each user/client device limits consideration to other user/client devices that are in the same or a neighboring cell, rather than all of the connected user/client devices represented in the environment map. It is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as an improved use of processing and bandwidth compared to Pourashraf’s sending the entire environment map to every client, although not explicitly stated by Morris, i.e. a reduced number of user/client devices are considered for selection by each respective client/user device, reducing processing requirements, and a reduced amount of environment map data is transmitted to the user/client device, reducing bandwidth requirements.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourashraf’s virtual video conferencing system, including Ivov’s selective forwarding unit, to use Morris’ cell divided user/client device environment map to send each user/client device the subset of cells containing and neighboring each user/client device avatar’s virtual position in the environment in order to reduce the processing and bandwidth used by each user/client device, as noted above. In the modified system, Pourashraf’s client would perform Ivov’s stream subset selection, i.e. selecting a number of the highest priority streams from Pourashraf’s visible subset of streams according to the maximum number of video streams that the user/client device may initiate concurrently from the server, as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, where each user/client device would receive a subset of cells of the environment map data corresponding to the cells containing and neighboring the receiving user/client device’s avatar’s virtual position rather than the entire environment map, as taught by Morris.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2014/0267564 A1 (hereinafter Pourashraf) in view of U.S. Patent Application 2018/0091564 A1 (hereinafter Ivov) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 10,952,006 B1 (hereinafter Krol).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “providing to the client device a web application executable by a web browser in the client device, the web application including instructions that, when executed in the web browser, cause the client device to perform (i)-(ii)” is not explicitly taught by Pourashraf in view of Ivov (Pourashraf, e.g. paragraph 210, indicates that the user/client devices may execute a software application to perform the inventive method, i.e. providing the client device with an application performing steps (i)-(ii), but does not specifically address a web browser based application.) However, this limitation is taught by Krol (Krol, e.g. abstract, cols 3-19, describes a virtual environment video conferencing system for a plurality of users, where a subset of video feeds are provided to user/client devices depending on the virtual position of the viewing user/client device avatar relative to the virtual position of the respective avatars of other users, e.g. cols 15-16. Further, Krol, e.g. col 7, line 54 - col 8, line 53, teaches that the conference application may be a downloaded web application executed in a web browser, rather than a generic software application as in Pourashraf’s system)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourashraf’s virtual video conferencing system, including Ivov’s selective forwarding unit, to use a web browser based application as taught by Krol, because Pourashraf is agnostic regarding the type of software application executed on the user/client device, and Krol, describing an analogous system, suggests the system may be implemented using a web browser.
Conclusion
/ROBERT BADER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611