Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 09/27/2024, 01/18/2025, 06/26/2025, 09/12/2025, 02/25/2026, 06/12/2026, and 08/24/2026 have been received. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 10, 12 – 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) and further in view of Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) teaches a method comprising:
forming a buffer layer comprising a Gallium Nitride (GaN) material (Fig. 4; buffer layer 132 is being interpreted as a buffer layer. See [0023] and Fig. 1 for buffer layer 132 being formed from GaN epitaxial layer 130);
forming a barrier layer (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184 is being interpreted as a barrier layer) comprising a GaN material ([0039]) above the buffer layer (Fig. 4), such that a hetero-interface is defined between the buffer layer and the barrier layer, the hetero-interface being arranged to form a two-dimensional charge carrier gas (Fig. 4; 2 DEG 182 and [0039]);
forming a dielectric layer (Fig. 4; GaN cap layer 186 or isolating GaN layer 188) over the barrier layer (Fig. 4), …
However, Odnoblyudov remains silent regarding:
… the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm; and
in each of the holes:
growing a first semiconductor layer on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole, the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer where the first semiconductor layer is grown;
growing at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer within the hole above the first semiconductor layer; and
growing a second semiconductor layer within the hole above the at least one LED active layer, the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1) teaches an array structure (Figs. 1 – 2); wherein a dielectric layer (Fig. 1; insulating layer 31) defining an array of holes ([0041] teaches insulating layer 31 having a plurality of openings 32) through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of a substrate 11 (Fig. 1), each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm (Koide teaches in [0051] that a width for an opening (e.g., Fig. 3; width ) larger than 40 μm is likely to incur cracks in the structure defining the openings. Thus, Koide teaches that a width of a hole in the column direction is less than 40 μm, e.g., between 1μm and 40μm). Examiner asserts that Koide’s teaching of a dielectric layer including a plurality of holes at the light-emitting device level of the device may be applied to the disclosure of Odnoblyudov at a level between (inclusive) an upper portion of the HEMT device and an upper portion of the LED device (Fig. 4). Further, examiner asserts that modifying Odnoblyudov’s device to include the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, as taught by Koide, would additionally yield each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, as Koide teaches forming the opening to the substrate 11; wherein the examiner understands Koide’s substrate to be similar to Odnoblyudov’s HEMT layer 150A. Thus, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach a method comprising the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, which would be an obvious method step to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of forming a dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Koide’s dielectric layer is comparable to Odnoblyudov’s dielectric layer because both are layers proving electrical isolation in an array of micro-LEDs at a level in contact with the light-emitting diode structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of forming a dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm with the predictable result of selectively forming light-emitting devices.
Further, Koide teaches forming light-emitting diodes in the each of the openings ([0015]). Thus, the examiner asserts that Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach in each of the holes:
growing a first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; first clad layer 22) on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole (combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide), the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type (Koide: [0042] teaches that first clad layer 22 contains Si-doped n-GaInN) that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer where the first semiconductor layer is grown (yielded through the combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide. See [0035] – [0036] and Figs. 2 of Odnoblyudov as it relates to Fig. 4; HEMT layer 150A. The examiner understands Odnoblyudov to teach that the barrier layer may be doped, e.g., n-type disclosed in [0035] – [0036]. Also, Koide teaches “growth” in [0051]);
growing at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer (Koide: Fig. 1; light emitting layer 23) within the hole above the first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1); and
growing a second semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; second clad layer 25) within the hole above the at least one LED active layer (Koide: Fig. 1), the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer (Koide teaches that second clad layer 25 containing p-GaInN).
Thus, examiner asserts that Koide’s light emitting diode structure mirrors that of Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode (e.g., Fig. 4), and therefore it would be obvious to place Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode within openings of a dielectric layer of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of forming a micro-LED structure in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Koide’s method of forming a micro-LED structure in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, at minimum, permits selective growth of the micro-LED layers. This known benefit in Koide’s method is applicable to the method of Odnoblyudov as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devices that use analogous micro-LED elements. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of forming a micro-LED structure in a hole defined by the dielectric layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Koide’s method with forming Odnoblyudov’s micro-LED elements in a hole defined by the dielectric layer and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein
the at least one LED active layer formed within each hole has an upper surface which is below a top of the dielectric layer (Koide: Fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the forming of the dielectric layer comprises:
growing the dielectric layer (Odnoblyudov teaches epitaxially growing the GaN epitaxial layer 130 in at least [0023]); and
etching the array of holes into the dielectric layer (Koide teaches in [0051] a method of etching the SiO2 layer (the first dielectric layer) to form the openings and thus would be obvious).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of etching the dielectric layer to form the array of holes, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of etching is expressly provided by Koide, stating that the first dielectric layer is etched to form the openings therein ([0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Odnoblyudov to include Koide’s method of etching the dielectric layer to form the array of holes, with the motivation of selectively growing the layer of the micro-LED structure. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of etching openings in an epitaxially grown layer to further selectively grow the layers of the micro-LED structure within.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
forming a plurality of contact layer areas (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov shows contact electrode, e.g., drain electrode 164C, over buried contacts 195, i.e., a plurality of contact layer areas. Additionally, see the transparent electrode 16 and the cylindrical bonding electrode 17 in Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide, i.e., a plurality of contact layer areas) above the dielectric layer (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov and Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide), each of the contact layer areas providing an electrical contact for the second semiconductor layers formed in a respective subset of the holes (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov and Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
the buffer layer comprises GaN (Odnoblyudov: Fig. 5; GaN epitaxial layer 130 including buffer layer 132. See [0023]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 5, wherein:
the barrier layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
the two-dimensional charge carrier gas comprises a two-dimensional electron gas (Odnoblyudov: [0039]).
Regarding independent claim 12, Odnoblyudov teaches a LED array, comprising:
a buffer layer comprising a Gallium Nitride (GaN) material (Fig. 4; buffer layer 132 is being interpreted as a buffer layer. See [0023] and Fig. 1 for buffer layer 132 being formed from GaN epitaxial layer 130);
a barrier layer comprising a GaN material (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184 is being interpreted as a barrier layer. Also see [0039]) formed above the buffer layer (Fig. 4), such that a hetero-interface is defined between the buffer layer and the barrier layer, the hetero-interface being arranged to form a two-dimensional charge carrier gas (Fig. 4; 2 DEG 182 and [0039]);
a dielectric layer (Fig. 4; GaN cap layer 186 or isolating GaN layer 188) formed over the barrier layer (Fig. 4), …
However, Odnoblyudov remains silent regarding:
… the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm; and
in each of the holes:
a first semiconductor layer formed on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole, the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer where the first semiconductor layer is grown;
at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer formed within the hole above the first semiconductor layer; and
a second semiconductor layer formed within the hole above the at least one LED active layer, the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1) teaches an array structure (Figs. 1 – 2); wherein a dielectric layer (Fig. 1; insulating layer 31) defining an array of holes ([0041] teaches insulating layer 31 having a plurality of openings 32) through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of a substrate 11 (Fig. 1), each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm (Koide teaches in [0051] that a width for an opening (e.g., Fig. 3; width ) larger than 40 μm is likely to incur crack in the structure defining the openings. Thus, Koide teaches that a width of a hole in the column direction is less than 40 μm, e.g., between 1μm and 40μm). Examiner asserts that Koide’s teaching of a dielectric layer including a plurality of holes at the light-emitting device level of the device may be applied to the disclosure of Odnoblyudov at a level between (inclusive) an upper portion of the HEMT device and an upper portion of the LED device (Fig. 4). Further, examiner asserts that modifying Odnoblyudov’s device to include the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, as taught by Koide, would additionally yield each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, as Koide teaches forming the opening to the substrate 11; wherein the examiner understands Koide’s substrate to be similar to Odnoblyudov’s HEMT layer 150A. Thus, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach a method comprising the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, which would be an obvious method step to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Koide’s dielectric layer is comparable to Odnoblyudov’s dielectric layer because both are layers proving electrical isolation in an array of micro-LEDs at a level in contact with the light-emitting diode structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm with the predictable result of selectively forming light-emitting devices.
Further, Koide teaches forming light-emitting diodes in the each of the openings ([0015]). Thus, examiner asserts that Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach in each of the holes:
a first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; first clad layer 22) formed on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole (combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide), the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type (Koide: [0042] teaches that first clad layer 22 contains Si-doped n-GaInN) that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer (yielded through the combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide. See [0035] – [0036] and Figs. 2 of Odnoblyudov as it relates to Fig. 4; HEMT layer 150A. The examiner understands Odnoblyudov to teach that the barrier layer may be doped, e.g., n-type disclosed in [0035] – [0036]) where the first semiconductor layer is grown (combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide. Koide teaches “growth” in [0051]);
at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer (Koide: Fig. 1; light emitting layer 23) formed within the hole above the first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1); and
a second semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; second clad layer 25) formed within the hole above the at least one LED active layer (Koide: Fig. 1), the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer (Koide teaches that second clad layer 25 containing p-GaInN).
Thus, examiner asserts that Koide’s light emitting diode structure mirrors that of Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode (e.g., Fig. 4), and therefore it would be obvious to place Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode within openings of a dielectric layer of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s micro-LED structure disposed in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Koide’s method of forming a micro-LED structure in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, at minimum, permits selective growth of the micro-LED layers. This known benefit in Koide’s method is applicable to Odnoblyudov’s LED array as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devices that use analogous micro-LED elements. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s micro-LED structure disposed in a hole defined by the dielectric layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Koide’s method with forming Odnoblyudov’s micro-LED elements in a hole defined by the dielectric layer and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 12, wherein
the at least one LED active layer formed within each hole has an upper surface which is below a top of the dielectric layer (Koide: Fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 12, further comprising:
a plurality of contact layer areas (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov shows contact electrode, e.g., drain electrode 164C, over buried contacts 195, i.e., a plurality of contact layer areas. Additionally, see the transparent electrode 16 and the cylindrical bonding electrode 17 in Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide, i.e., a plurality of contact layer areas) formed above the dielectric layer (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov and Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide), each of the contact layer areas providing an electrical contact for the second semiconductor layers formed in a respective subset of the holes (Fig. 5 of Odnoblyudov and Figs. 1 – 2 of Koide).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 12, wherein:
the buffer layer comprises GaN (Odnoblyudov: Fig. 4; GaN epitaxial layer 130 including buffer layer 132. See [0023]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 15, wherein:
the barrier layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) (Odnoblyudov Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184).
Regarding independent claim 20, Odnoblyudov teaches a LED display comprising an LED array, the LED array comprising:
a buffer layer comprising a Gallium Nitride (GaN) material (Fig. 4; buffer layer 132 is being interpreted as a buffer layer. See [0023] and Fig. 1 for buffer layer 132 being formed from GaN epitaxial layer 130);
a barrier layer comprising a GaN material (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184 is being interpreted as a barrier layer. Also see [0039]) formed above the buffer layer (Fig. 4), such that a hetero-interface is defined between the buffer layer and the barrier layer, the hetero-interface being arranged to form a two-dimensional charge carrier gas (Fig. 4; 2 DEG 182 and [0039]);
a dielectric layer (Fig. 4; GaN cap layer 186 or isolating GaN layer 188) formed over the barrier layer (Fig. 4), …
However, Odnoblyudov remains silent regarding:
… the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm; and
in each of the holes:
a first semiconductor layer formed on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole, the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer where the first semiconductor layer is grown;
at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer formed within the hole above the first semiconductor layer; and
a second semiconductor layer formed within the hole above the at least one LED active layer, the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1) teaches an array structure (Figs. 1 – 2); wherein a dielectric layer (Fig. 1; insulating layer 31) defining an array of holes ([0041] teaches insulating layer 31 having a plurality of openings 32) through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of a substrate 11 (Fig. 1), each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm (Koide teaches in [0051] that a width for an opening (e.g., Fig. 3; width ) larger than 40 μm is likely to incur crack in the structure defining the openings. Thus, Koide teaches that a width of a hole in the column direction is less than 40 μm, e.g., between 1μm and 40μm). Examiner asserts that Koide’s teaching of a dielectric layer including a plurality of holes at the light-emitting device level of the device may be applied to the disclosure of Odnoblyudov at a level between (inclusive) an upper portion of the HEMT device and an upper portion of the LED device (Fig. 4). Further, examiner asserts that modifying Odnoblyudov’s device to include the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, as taught by Koide, would additionally yield each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, as Koide teaches forming the opening to the substrate 11; wherein the examiner understands Koide’s substrate to be similar to Odnoblyudov’s HEMT layer 150A. Thus, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach a method comprising the dielectric layer defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, which would be an obvious method step to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Koide’s dielectric layer is comparable to Odnoblyudov’s dielectric layer because both are layers proving electrical isolation in an array of micro-LEDs at a level in contact with the light-emitting diode structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s dielectric layer structure defining an array of holes through the dielectric layer, each hole exposing a respective area of the barrier layer, each of the holes having a respective width of between 1μm and 40μm with the predictable result of selectively forming light-emitting devices.
Further, Koide teaches forming light-emitting diodes in the each of the openings ([0015]). Thus, examiner asserts that Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach in each of the holes:
a first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; first clad layer 22) formed on the area of the barrier layer that is exposed by the hole (combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide), the first semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type (Koide: [0042] teaches that first clad layer 22 contains Si-doped n-GaInN) that matches a p-type or n-type conductivity type of the area of the barrier layer (yielded through the combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide. See [0035] – [0036] and Figs. 2 of Odnoblyudov as it relates to Fig. 4; HEMT layer 150A. The examiner understands Odnoblyudov to teach that the barrier layer may be doped, e.g., n-type disclosed in [0035] – [0036]) where the first semiconductor layer is grown (combination of Odnoblyudov and Koide. Koide teaches “growth” in [0051]);
at least one light emitting diode (LED) active layer (Koide: Fig. 1; light emitting layer 23) formed within the hole above the first semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1); and
a second semiconductor layer (Koide: Fig. 1; second clad layer 25) formed within the hole above the at least one LED active layer (Koide: Fig. 1), the second semiconductor layer having a p-type or n-type conductivity type that is different from the p-type or n-type conductivity type of the first semiconductor layer (Koide teaches that second clad layer 25 containing p-GaInN).
Thus, examiner asserts that Koide’s light emitting diode structure mirrors that of Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode (e.g., Fig. 4), and therefore it would be obvious to place Odnoblyudov’s light emitting diode within openings of a dielectric layer of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s micro-LED structure disposed in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Koide’s method of forming a micro-LED structure in a hole defined by the dielectric layer, at minimum, permits selective growth of the micro-LED layers. This known benefit in Koide’s method is applicable to Odnoblyudov’s LED array as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devices that use analogous micro-LED elements. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include Koide’s micro-LED structure disposed in a hole defined by the dielectric layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Koide’s method with forming Odnoblyudov’s micro-LED elements in a hole defined by the dielectric layer and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) and further in view of Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1) and Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; Odnoblyudov2).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 5; however, Odnoblyudov remains silent wherein:
the barrier layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a barrier layer 160, which may be AlGaN or InGaN ([0058]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be interchangeable with InGaN for a barrier layer, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material with InGaN for the barrier layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer wherein AlGaN may be substituted with InGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s barrier layer and Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to prevent the diffusion of impurities. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s InGaN material for their disclosed barrier layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 15; however, Odnoblyudov remains silent wherein:
the barrier layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a barrier layer 160, which may be AlGaN or InGaN ([0058]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be interchangeable with InGaN for a barrier layer, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material with InGaN for the barrier layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer wherein AlGaN may be substituted with InGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s barrier layer and Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to prevent the diffusion of impurities. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s InGaN material for their disclosed barrier layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) and further in view of Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1), Odnoblyudov2 et al. (US 20180204941 A1), and Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
… the barrier layer comprises AlGaN (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184) …
However, Odnoblyudov remains silents wherein:
the buffer layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) having a first concentration of Aluminum; and …
the barrier layer having a second concentration of Aluminum, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a buffer layer 130, wherein the buffer layer 130 may include at least one of AlN, AlGaN, or AlN/AlGaN ([0126]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be suitable buffer layer material, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s at least GaN material with AlGaN, or AlN/AlGaN for the buffer layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Additionally, see [0059] and [0096] of Koide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s material for the buffer layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer formed from AlGaN or AlN/AlGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer and Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to improve device manufacturability with regards to the epitaxial growth of the micro-LED layers, preventing lattice mismatch. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s material for the buffer layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s AlGaN or AlN/AlGaN material for their disclosed buffer layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1) teaches aluminum, indium, gallium and magnesium dopant profiles in Fig. 6 ([0098]). In Fig. 6, the horizontal axis represents a depth/distance from the surface of the light emitting diode, such that the contact layer, the first AlGaN semiconductor layer, the second AlGaN semiconductor layer, the light generating region of InAlGaN semiconductor (containing three well layers and four barrier layers), the third AlGaN semiconductor layer, the buffer layer, and GaN substrate sequentially arranged along the horizontal axis moving in the positive direction. Further, the vertical axis indicates the concentrations (or atom counts per second) of the main constituents (Al, In, Ga, Mg). Examiner asserts that this teaching would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the method of forming an aluminum concentration such that the buffer layer includes a first concentration of Aluminum and the barrier layer includes a second concentration of Aluminum with the second concentration being greater than the first concentration because Akita’s Fig. 6 teaches a higher aluminum concentration at a depth associated with a barrier layer (e.g., barrier layer 37d) compared to a depth associated with the buffer layer 15. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the method wherein the buffer layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) having a first concentration of Aluminum; and the barrier layer comprises AlGaN having a second concentration of Aluminum, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration as disclosed through Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Odnoblyudov2, and Akita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration is implicitly provided by Akita, showing the improvement of optical output via varying dopant concentrations in Fig. 9 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, with the motivation of improving carrier injection of the semiconductor layers and the optical output of the light-emitting diode. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 12, wherein:
the barrier layer comprises AlGaN (Fig. 4; aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) layer 184) …
However, Odnoblyudov remains silents wherein:
the buffer layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) having a first concentration of Aluminum; and …
having a second concentration of Aluminum, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a buffer layer 130, wherein the buffer layer 130 may include at least one of AlN, AlGaN, or AlN/AlGaN ([0126]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be suitable buffer layer material, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s at least GaN material with AlGaN, or AlN/AlGaN for the buffer layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Additionally, see [0059] and [0096] of Koide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s material for the buffer layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer formed from AlGaN or AlN/AlGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer and Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to improve device manufacturability with regards to the epitaxial growth of the micro-LED layers, preventing lattice mismatch. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s material for the buffer layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s AlGaN or AlN/AlGaN material for their disclosed buffer layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1) teaches aluminum, indium, gallium and magnesium dopant profiles in Fig. 6 ([0098]). In Fig. 6, the horizontal axis represents a depth/distance from the surface of the light emitting diode, such that the contact layer, the first AlGaN semiconductor layer, the second AlGaN semiconductor layer, the light generating region of InAlGaN semiconductor (containing three well layers and four barrier layers), the third AlGaN semiconductor layer, the buffer layer, and GaN substrate sequentially arranged along the horizontal axis moving in the positive direction. Further, the vertical axis indicates the concentrations (or atom counts per second) of the main constituents (Al, In, Ga, Mg). Examiner asserts that this teaching would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the method of forming an aluminum concentration such that the buffer layer includes a first concentration of Aluminum and the barrier layer includes a second concentration of Aluminum with the second concentration being greater than the first concentration because Akita’s Fig. 6 teaches a higher aluminum concentration at a depth associated with a barrier layer (e.g., barrier layer 37d) compared to a depth associated with the buffer layer 15. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the method wherein the buffer layer comprises Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) having a first concentration of Aluminum; and the barrier layer comprises AlGaN having a second concentration of Aluminum, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration as disclosed through Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Odnoblyudov2, and Akita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration is implicitly provided by Akita, showing the improvement of optical output via varying dopant concentrations in Fig. 9 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Aluminum, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Aluminum, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, with the motivation of improving carrier injection of the semiconductor layers and the optical output of the light-emitting diode. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) and further in view of Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1), Odnoblyudov2 et al. (US 20180204941 A1), Seong et al. (US 20120061641 A1), and Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1; however, Odnoblyudov remains silent wherein:
the buffer layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN) having a first concentration of Indium; and
the barrier layer comprises InGaN having a second concentration of Indium, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration.
Regarding the method wherein the barrier layer comprises InGaN, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a barrier layer 160, which may be AlGaN or InGaN ([0058]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be interchangeable with InGaN for a barrier layer, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material with InGaN for the barrier layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer wherein AlGaN may be substituted with InGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s barrier layer and Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to prevent the diffusion of impurities. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s InGaN material for their disclosed barrier layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, the examiner asserts that due to the similar function of Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer 130 and barrier layer 160, it would be obvious to include the same materials of Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer 160 in the buffer layer 130; i.e., since Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer 160 may be AlGaN or InGaN, the AlGaN material taught for the buffer layer (See [0126]) may be replaced with InGaN in Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer with reasonable expectation of success for preventing the diffusion of impurities and providing good electrical isolation. This is further supported by, in the same field of endeavor, the disclosure of Seong et al. (US 20120061641 A1) wherein they teach that gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), or the like may be used as the buffer layer 110 ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong’s teaching of a buffer layer including gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong, is expressly provided by Seong, stating that gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), or the like may be used as the buffer layer 110 ([0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong’s teaching of a buffer layer including gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), with the motivation of appropriate selecting material to epitaxially grown the semiconducting layers of the micro-LED structure. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of lattice matching.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1) teaches aluminum, indium, gallium and magnesium dopant profiles in Fig. 6 ([0098]). In Fig. 6, the horizontal axis represents a depth/distance from the surface of the light emitting diode, such that the contact layer, the first AlGaN semiconductor layer, the second AlGaN semiconductor layer, the light generating region of InAlGaN semiconductor (containing three well layers and four barrier layers), the third AlGaN semiconductor layer, the buffer layer, and GaN substrate sequentially arranged along the horizontal axis moving in the positive direction. Further, the vertical axis indicates the concentrations (or atom counts per second) of the main constituents (Al, In, Ga, Mg). Examiner asserts that this teaching would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the method of forming an indium concentration such that the buffer layer includes a first concentration of Indium and the barrier layer includes a second concentration of Indium with the second concentration being greater than the first concentration because Akita’s Fig. 6 teaches a higher Indium concentration at a depth associated with a barrier layer (e.g., barrier layer 37d) compared to a depth associated with the buffer layer 15. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the method wherein the buffer layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN) having a first concentration of Indium; and the barrier layer comprises InGaN having a second concentration of Indium, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration as disclosed through Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Odnoblyudov2, Seong, and Akita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration is implicitly provided by Akita, showing the improvement of optical output via varying dopant concentrations in Fig. 9 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, with the motivation of improving carrier injection of the semiconductor layers and the optical output of the light-emitting diode. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the LED array of claim 12, wherein:
the buffer layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN) having a first concentration of Indium; and
the barrier layer comprises InGaN having a second concentration of Indium, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration.
Regarding the method wherein the barrier layer comprises InGaN, in the same field of endeavor, Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20180204941 A1; hereafter Odnoblyudov2) teaches a barrier layer 160, which may be AlGaN or InGaN ([0058]). Odnoblyudov2 teaches AlGaN to be interchangeable with InGaN for a barrier layer, and thus substituting Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material with InGaN for the barrier layer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer to include Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer wherein AlGaN may be substituted with InGaN, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Odnoblyudov’s barrier layer and Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to prevent the diffusion of impurities. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Odnoblyudov’s AlGaN material for the barrier layer by replacing it with Odnoblyudov2’s InGaN material for their disclosed barrier layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, the examiner asserts that due to the similar function of Odnoblyudov2’s buffer layer 130 and barrier layer 160, it would be obvious to include the same materials of Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer 160 in the buffer layer 130; i.e., as Odnoblyudov2’s barrier layer 160 may be AlGaN or InGaN, the AlGaN material taught for the buffer layer 130 (See [0126]) may be replaced with InGaN with reasonable expectation of success for preventing the diffusion of impurities and providing good electrical isolation. This is further supported by, in the same field of endeavor, the disclosure of Seong et al. (US 20120061641 A1) wherein they teach that gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), or the like may be used as the buffer layer 110 ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong’s teaching of a buffer layer including gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong, is expressly provided by Seong, stating that gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), or the like may be used as the buffer layer 110 ([0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Odnoblyudov’s buffer layer to include InGaN, as taught by Odnoblyudov2, further in view of Seong’s teaching of a buffer layer including gallium nitride (GaN), aluminium gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), with the motivation of appropriate selecting material to epitaxially grown the semiconducting layers of the micro-LED structure. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of lattice matching.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Akita et al. (US 20050151154 A1) teaches aluminum, indium, gallium and magnesium dopant profiles in Fig. 6 ([0098]). In Fig. 6, the horizontal axis represents a depth/distance from the surface of the light emitting diode, such that the contact layer, the first AlGaN semiconductor layer, the second AlGaN semiconductor layer, the light generating region of InAlGaN semiconductor (containing three well layers and four barrier layers), the third AlGaN semiconductor layer, the buffer layer, and GaN substrate sequentially arranged along the horizontal axis moving in the positive direction. Further, the vertical axis indicates the concentrations (or atom counts per second) of the main constituents (Al, In, Ga, Mg). Examiner asserts that this teaching would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the method of forming an indium concentration such that the buffer layer includes a first concentration of Indium and the barrier layer includes a second concentration of Indium with the second concentration being greater than the first concentration because Akita’s Fig. 6 teaches a higher Indium concentration at a depth associated with a barrier layer (e.g., barrier layer 37d) compared to a depth associated with the buffer layer 15. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the method wherein the buffer layer comprises Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN) having a first concentration of Indium; and the barrier layer comprises InGaN having a second concentration of Indium, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration as disclosed through Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Odnoblyudov2, and Akita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration is implicitly provided by Akita, showing the improvement of optical output via varying dopant concentrations in Fig. 9 ([0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the semiconducting layers of Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, Seong, and Odnoblyudov2, to include Akita’s teaching of Indium dopant profiles wherein the buffer layer comprises a first concentration of Indium, the barrier layer comprises a second concentration of Indium, and the second concentration being greater than the first concentration, with the motivation of improving carrier injection of the semiconductor layers and the optical output of the light-emitting diode. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of Akita’s teaching of aluminum dopant profiles.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20170170232 A1) and further in view of Koide et al. (US 20030087462 A1), and Clarke et al. (W.R. Clarke, M.Y. Simmons, C.T. Liang, G.K. Sujan, Ballistic Transport in 1D GaAs/AlGaAs Heterostructures, Reference Module in Materials Science and Materials Engineering, 2016, ISBN 9780128035818, https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-803581-8.09401-7.).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Odnoblyudov, further in view of Koide, teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
the two-dimensional charge carrier gas comprises a two-dimensional hole gas (Odnoblyudov: [0039]).
Examiner is asserting it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to alter the doping from N-type to P-type with the known result producing a two-dimensional hole gas (wherein one of ordinary skill in the art knows N-type doping yields a two-dimensional electron gas). Further, Examiner points to Clarke et al. (W.R. Clarke, M.Y. Simmons, C.T. Liang, G.K. Sujan, Ballistic Transport in 1D GaAs/AlGaAs Heterostructures, Reference Module in Materials Science and Materials Engineering, 2016, ISBN 9780128035818, https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-803581-8.09401-7.) who teaches how N-type or P-type doping leads to a two-dimensional electron gas or a two-dimensional hole gas, respectively (See Fig. 1 of Clarke. Also provided below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the dopant types of Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include p-type dopants to form a two-dimensional hole gas, further in view of Clarke, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the dopant types of Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include p-type dopants to form a two-dimensional hole gas, further in view of Clarke, is expressly provided by Clarke’s discussion regarding Fig. 1, stating that p-type dopant forms a two-dimensional hole gas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the dopant types of Odnoblyudov’s LED array to include p-type dopants, as disclosed by Clarke, with the motivation of forming a two-dimensional hole gas. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of p-type doping versus n-type doping.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20100140629 A1 considered for Fig. 3A – 3F teaching a forming an array of micro-LEDs within holes of a mask.
US 20150041822 A1 considered for its teaching of relevant materials, particularly for the buffer layer 120.
US 20190088820 A1 considered for its teaching of relevant materials, particularly for the buffer layer 24.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897