Claims 1 and 4-15 are pending in this application.
DETAILED ACTION
1 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
2 This action is responsive to the applicant’s election without traverse received by the office on October 12, 2026. Election of claims 1, 4-9 and the newly added claim 15 is acknowledged. Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Therefore, claims 1, 4-9 and 15 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
3 Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is not ended with a period. Claim 1 should be ended with a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitations “the general formula (1) is any one selected from a tetraalkylammonium halide, and a halide, hydroxide, or carboxylate of any one selected from chloride, a choline derivative, glycine and a glycine derivative”. It is unclear what the chemical name of the compound that represented by the claimed formula (1)? And also, it is unclear what the counter anion X- represents? Is it representing halide, choline, glycine or a glycine derivative? Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “molecular weight of 100,000 or more”. It is unclear what the unit used for the claimed molecular weight of the fibroin? Correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the fibroin has a concentration of from 5 mass% to 40 mass%”. It is unclear if the mass % with respect to the total mass of the aqueous solution? or with respect to the total mass of the fibroin?. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
6 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Wang et al., (CN 113603901 A). English translation of the Patent No. (CN 113603901 A) is used in this Office action.
Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) teaches an aqueous solution comprising silk fibroin and quaternary ammonium compound include tetraethyl ammonium hydroxide that reads on the claimed formula (I), when in the claimed formula (I), R1 to R4 are alkyl groups and X- is hydroxide group as claimed in claims 1, 4-6 and 9 (see English abstract), and wherein the fibroin has a concentration of 23.56 wt.% as claimed in claim 8 (see page 14, Fig. 7-9). Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) teaches a silk fibroin identical to claimed silk fibroin which inherently should have same molecular weight as those claimed in claim 7. Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) teaches all the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (CN 113603901 A). English translation of the Patent No. (CN 113603901 A) is used in this Office action.
Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) teaches an aqueous solution comprising silk fibroin and quaternary ammonium compound include tetraethyl ammonium hydroxide that reads on the claimed formula (I), when in the claimed formula (I), R1 to R4 are alkyl groups and X- is hydroxide group as claimed (see English abstract).
The instant claims differ from the teaching of Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) by reciting the amount of the compound represented by the claimed formula (I) to be in an amount of from 0.1 mass% to 50 mass% with respect to a mass of the fibroin dissolved in the aqueous solution.
However, Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A) clearly teaches the concentration of the quaternary ammonium alkali aqueous solution is 0.5 to 4.0M (see English abstract).
Therefore, in view of the teaching of Wang et al., (CN’ 901 A), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of the quaternary ammonium compounds in the aqueous solution in order to get the maximum effective amounts of these compounds, and, thus, the person of the ordinary skill in the art would expect such an aqueous composition to have similar results to those claimed, absent unexpected results.
Conclusion
/EISA B ELHILO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761