DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on September 27, 2024. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Relevant Technical Information Submittal Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that the present application, Application No. 18/900,326 (“the Application”) identified by the foreign family application, “WO2022CN122834;” and “WO2024065475,” “may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 27, 2024, April 3, 2025 and on April 14, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7, 11, 12 and 16-19 (each on line 1) recite the limitation “the sidelink resource.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation.
For the purpose of examination in this Office Action, the limitation is construed to mean “a sidelink resource.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2025/0227757) (“Rastegardoost”).
Regarding claim 1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method (Fig. 38) for use in a first wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#2), the method comprising:
Receiving (¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”), from a second wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#1; ¶[0508], “the first UE may transmit a signal, e.g., a control signal (SCI and/or MAC-CE), indicating COT sharing indication with the second UE.”), a sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”); used for performing a sidelink transmission in an unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) after a slot with an index n (¶[0506], "the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3”. See, Fig. 38, the slot m occurs at n + O), and
performing the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) after the slot with the index n based on the sidelink resource indication (See, ¶[0510], The second UE may determine a starting time of the shared COT, e.g., the portion of the total COT duration that is shared with the second UE, e.g., for the second UE's transmissions;” and ¶[0511], “The second UE may determine one or more transmissions (e.g., control signals and/or transport blocks) via transmission occasions/resources in slots m to m+3.” See, Fig. 38, the slots m to m+3 occur after slot n).
Regarding claim 2/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication comprises a channel occupancy time sharing indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) received at the slot with the index n (¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”) and a time offset X (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+X (¶[0510], The second UE may determine a starting time of the shared COT, e.g., the portion of the total COT duration that is shared with the second UE, e.g., for the second UE's transmissions…… “For example, the shared COT may start at the beginning (e.g., before a first symbol of) slot n+O.”).
Regarding claim 3/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) comprises a sidelink offset l (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”) and a sidelink duration d (See, Fig. 38, “d;” and ¶[0510], The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a first duration of the shared COT, D (e.g., in ms or slots/symbols).”) for the slot n (See, Fig. 38, “n;” and ¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+l+i, where i=0,1,…,d-1 (See, Fig. 38, slots m, m+1, m=2 and m+3; and ¶[0506], “the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3.”).
Regarding claim 4/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a priority threshold (See, e.g., ¶[0275], “A parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List in the field may indicate a list of 64 thresholds. In an example, a wireless device may receive first sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a first priority. The wireless device may have second SCI to be transmitted. The second SCI may indicate a second priority. The wireless device may select a threshold from the list based on the first priority in the first SCI and the second priority in the second SCI.” See, also, ¶[0308]. Alternatively, see, ¶[0497], “The first transmission may be associated with a first priority (e.g., PHY priority). The first UE may determine a CAPC for the first channel access procedure associated with the first transmission. For example, the CAPC may be based on the first priority. For example, the CAPC may be highest or lowest CAPC allowed/defined/configured for the first transmission.” See, also, ¶[0416], “the UE may determine the CAPC, e.g., based on one or more priorities (e.g., PHY priority and/or logical channel priority) of one or more SL transmissions (e.g., the corresponding SL transmission);” and Fig. 30.) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”.), and
wherein a priority value (¶[0308], “The SCI may further indicate a priority value (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-Priority)…. a priority indicated by the priority value may be a layer 1 priority (e.g., physical layer priority)”) of data in the sidelink transmission (¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI); and ¶[0507], “The transmission may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH and/or PSFCH and/or S-SSB transmission.”) is smaller than or equal to the priority threshold for the associated sidelink grant (See, ¶[0308], “The wireless device may exclude the third resources from the candidate resource set based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the third resources being higher than an RSRP threshold (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List)…. A smaller priority value may indicate a higher priority of the sidelink transmission.” Accordingly, because only SL resources, satisfying the RSRP Threshold corresponding to the priority value of PSSCH being transmitted, can be selected as the candidate resources, the priority of the PSSCH must be higher that the priority threshold (i.e., higher than the minimum priority required for the RSRP threshold). That is, the priority value needs to be smaller than the threshold.).
Regarding claim 5/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a destination identifier (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing;” and ¶[0255], The SCI format 2-A may comprise a plurality of fields indicating the following information;” and ¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”), and
wherein a receiver of the sidelink transmission is associated with the destination identifier for the sidelink grant (¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”).
Regarding claim 6/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a sidelink grant with a priority value (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device;” and ¶¶[0242]-[243], “The following information may be transmitted by means of the SCI format 1-A.” “A priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be a physical layer (e.g., layer 1) priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be determined based on logical channel priorities of the sidelink transmission”.); and
in response to the sidelink grant being associated with the priority value (See, above), and
in response to the first wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#2) acquiring a sidelink channel access (See, ¶[0507], “a first UE (UE #1) may initiate a COT, e.g., upon a successful first LBT operation/channel access procedure;” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”) priority for each logical channel (¶[0383], the MCOT may be defined and/or configured per priority class, logical channel priority, and/or device specific.”), the method further comprising:
selecting the logical channels (¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing of logical channels and/or mapping between logical channels and transport channels.”) of which Channel Access Priority Class, CAPC, value (¶[0416], “the UE may determine the CAPC, e.g., based on one or more priorities (e.g., PHY priority and/or logical channel priority) of one or more SL transmissions (e.g., the corresponding SL transmission)”) is not larger than the priority value (¶[0497], “the CAPC may be highest or lowest CAPC allowed/defined/configured for the first transmission”. Only those logical channels with higher priority value than the CAPC is allowed.) ; and
performing a sidelink Logical Channel Prioritization procedure (See, Figs. 2A and 2B; and ¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may be configured to perform …. priority handling between logical channels of the UE 210 by means of logical channel prioritization”.).
Regarding claim 7/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”.); and
in response to the sidelink grant being associated with a destination identifier (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing;” and ¶[0255], The SCI format 2-A may comprise a plurality of fields indicating the following information;” and ¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”), the method further comprising:
selecting the destination identifier associated to the sidelink grant (¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”); and
performing a sidelink Logical Channel Prioritization procedure (See, Figs. 2A and 2B; and ¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may be configured to perform …. priority handling between logical channels of the UE 210 by means of logical channel prioritization”.).
Regarding claim 8/1, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method (Fig. 38) for use in a second wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#1”), the method comprising:
Transmitting (¶[0508], “the first UE may transmit a signal, e.g., a control signal (SCI and/or MAC-CE), indicating COT sharing indication with the second UE.”), to a first wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#2”), a sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”); used for allowing a sidelink transmission in an unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) after a slot with an index n (¶[0506], "the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3”. See, Fig. 38, the slot m occurs at n + O).
Regarding claim 9/8, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 8 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication comprises a channel occupancy time sharing indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) received at the slot with the index n (¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”) and a time offset X (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+X (¶[0510], The second UE may determine a starting time of the shared COT, e.g., the portion of the total COT duration that is shared with the second UE, e.g., for the second UE's transmissions…… “For example, the shared COT may start at the beginning (e.g., before a first symbol of) slot n+O.”).
Regarding claim 10/8, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 8 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) comprises a sidelink offset l (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”) and a sidelink duration d (See, Fig. 38, “d;” and ¶[0510], The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a first duration of the shared COT, D (e.g., in ms or slots/symbols).”) for the slot n (See, Fig. 38, “n;” and ¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+l+i, where i=0,1,…,d-1 (See, Fig. 38, slots m, m+1, m=2 and m+3; and ¶[0506], “the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3.”).
Regarding claim 11/8, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 8 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a priority threshold (See, e.g., ¶[0275], “A parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List in the field may indicate a list of 64 thresholds. In an example, a wireless device may receive first sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a first priority. The wireless device may have second SCI to be transmitted. The second SCI may indicate a second priority. The wireless device may select a threshold from the list based on the first priority in the first SCI and the second priority in the second SCI.” See, also, ¶[0308]. Alternatively, see, ¶[0497], “The first transmission may be associated with a first priority (e.g., PHY priority). The first UE may determine a CAPC for the first channel access procedure associated with the first transmission. For example, the CAPC may be based on the first priority. For example, the CAPC may be highest or lowest CAPC allowed/defined/configured for the first transmission.” See, also, ¶[0416], “the UE may determine the CAPC, e.g., based on one or more priorities (e.g., PHY priority and/or logical channel priority) of one or more SL transmissions (e.g., the corresponding SL transmission);” and Fig. 30.) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”.), and
wherein a priority value (¶[0308], “The SCI may further indicate a priority value (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-Priority)…. a priority indicated by the priority value may be a layer 1 priority (e.g., physical layer priority)”) of data in the sidelink transmission (¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI); and ¶[0507], “The transmission may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH and/or PSFCH and/or S-SSB transmission.”) is smaller than or equal to the priority threshold for the associated sidelink grant (See, ¶[0308], “The wireless device may exclude the third resources from the candidate resource set based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the third resources being higher than an RSRP threshold (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List)…. A smaller priority value may indicate a higher priority of the sidelink transmission.” Accordingly, because only SL resources, satisfying the RSRP Threshold corresponding to the priority value of PSSCH being transmitted, can be selected as the candidate resources, the priority of the PSSCH must be higher that the priority threshold (i.e., higher than the minimum priority required for the RSRP threshold). That is, the priority value needs to be smaller than the threshold.).
Regarding claim 12/8, Rastegardoost discloses a wireless communication method comprising all elements recited in claim 8 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a destination identifier (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing;” and ¶[0255], The SCI format 2-A may comprise a plurality of fields indicating the following information;” and ¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”), and
wherein a receiver of the sidelink transmission is associated with the destination identifier for the sidelink grant (¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”).
Regarding claim 13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#2;” and Fig. 15, #1502), comprising:
a communication unit (Fig. 15, #1522), configured to receive (¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”), from a second wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#1; ¶[0508], “the first UE may transmit a signal, e.g., a control signal (SCI and/or MAC-CE), indicating COT sharing indication with the second UE.”), a sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”); used for performing a sidelink transmission in an unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) after a slot with an index n (¶[0506], "the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3”. See, Fig. 38, the slot m occurs at n + O), and
at least one processor (Fig. 15, #1518), configured to perform (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) after the slot with the index n based on the sidelink resource indication (See, ¶[0510], The second UE may determine a starting time of the shared COT, e.g., the portion of the total COT duration that is shared with the second UE, e.g., for the second UE's transmissions;” and ¶[0511], “The second UE may determine one or more transmissions (e.g., control signals and/or transport blocks) via transmission occasions/resources in slots m to m+3.” See, Fig. 38, the slots m to m+3 occur after slot n).
Regarding claim 14/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication comprises a channel occupancy time sharing indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) received at the slot with the index n (¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”) and a time offset X (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+X (¶[0510], The second UE may determine a starting time of the shared COT, e.g., the portion of the total COT duration that is shared with the second UE, e.g., for the second UE's transmissions…… “For example, the shared COT may start at the beginning (e.g., before a first symbol of) slot n+O.”).
Regarding claim 15/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource indication (Fig. 38, “COT sharing indication”) comprises a sidelink offset l (See, Fig. 38, “O;” ¶[0510], “The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a time/slot/symbol offset, O.”) and a sidelink duration d (See, Fig. 38, “d;” and ¶[0510], The COT sharing indication may comprise a field indicating a first duration of the shared COT, D (e.g., in ms or slots/symbols).”) for the slot n (See, Fig. 38, “n;” and ¶[0510], “the second UE may receive the COT sharing indication in slot n.”), and
wherein the sidelink transmission in the unlicensed carrier (¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier.”) is performed no earlier than a slot with an index n+l+i, where i=0,1,…,d-1 (See, Fig. 38, slots m, m+1, m=2 and m+3; and ¶[0506], “the second UE may determine that the COT starts in a first symbol of slot m, and has a first duration of four slots, comprising slot m to slot m+3.”).
Regarding claim 16/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a priority threshold (See, e.g., ¶[0275], “A parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List in the field may indicate a list of 64 thresholds. In an example, a wireless device may receive first sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a first priority. The wireless device may have second SCI to be transmitted. The second SCI may indicate a second priority. The wireless device may select a threshold from the list based on the first priority in the first SCI and the second priority in the second SCI.” See, also, ¶[0308]. Alternatively, see, ¶[0497], “The first transmission may be associated with a first priority (e.g., PHY priority). The first UE may determine a CAPC for the first channel access procedure associated with the first transmission. For example, the CAPC may be based on the first priority. For example, the CAPC may be highest or lowest CAPC allowed/defined/configured for the first transmission.” See, also, ¶[0416], “the UE may determine the CAPC, e.g., based on one or more priorities (e.g., PHY priority and/or logical channel priority) of one or more SL transmissions (e.g., the corresponding SL transmission);” and Fig. 30.) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”.), and
wherein a priority value (¶[0308], “The SCI may further indicate a priority value (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-Priority)…. a priority indicated by the priority value may be a layer 1 priority (e.g., physical layer priority)”) of data in the sidelink transmission (¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI); and ¶[0507], “The transmission may be PSCCH and/or PSSCH and/or PSFCH and/or S-SSB transmission.”) is smaller than or equal to the priority threshold for the associated sidelink grant (See, ¶[0308], “The wireless device may exclude the third resources from the candidate resource set based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the third resources being higher than an RSRP threshold (e.g., indicated by a higher layer parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List)…. A smaller priority value may indicate a higher priority of the sidelink transmission.” Accordingly, because only SL resources, satisfying the RSRP Threshold corresponding to the priority value of PSSCH being transmitted, can be selected as the candidate resources, the priority of the PSSCH must be higher that the priority threshold (i.e., higher than the minimum priority required for the RSRP threshold). That is, the priority value needs to be smaller than the threshold.).
Regarding claim 17/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a destination identifier (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing;” and ¶[0255], The SCI format 2-A may comprise a plurality of fields indicating the following information;” and ¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”) and a sidelink grant (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”), and
wherein a receiver of the sidelink transmission is associated with the destination identifier for the sidelink grant (¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”).
Regarding claim 18/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a sidelink grant with a priority value (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device;” and ¶¶[0242]-[243], “The following information may be transmitted by means of the SCI format 1-A.” “A priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be a physical layer (e.g., layer 1) priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be determined based on logical channel priorities of the sidelink transmission”.); and
the at least one processor (Fig. 15, #1518) is configured to perform, in response to the sidelink grant being associated with the priority value (See, above), and
in response to the first wireless terminal (Fig. 38, “UE#2) acquiring a sidelink channel access (See, ¶[0507], “a first UE (UE #1) may initiate a COT, e.g., upon a successful first LBT operation/channel access procedure;” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device”) priority for each logical channel (¶[0383], the MCOT may be defined and/or configured per priority class, logical channel priority, and/or device specific.”):
selecting the logical channels (¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing of logical channels and/or mapping between logical channels and transport channels.”) of which Channel Access Priority Class, CAPC, value (¶[0416], “the UE may determine the CAPC, e.g., based on one or more priorities (e.g., PHY priority and/or logical channel priority) of one or more SL transmissions (e.g., the corresponding SL transmission)”) is not larger than the priority value (¶[0497], “the CAPC may be highest or lowest CAPC allowed/defined/configured for the first transmission”. Only those logical channels with higher priority value than the CAPC is allowed.) ; and
performing a sidelink Logical Channel Prioritization procedure (See, Figs. 2A and 2B; and ¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may be configured to perform …. priority handling between logical channels of the UE 210 by means of logical channel prioritization”.).
Regarding claim 19/13, Rastegardoost discloses a first wireless terminal comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Rastegardoost discloses further that the sidelink resource (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “a second UE (e.g., UE #2) may determine a shared COT, e.g., in a sidelink resource pool configured in an unlicensed sidelink carrier”) is associated with a sidelink grant with a priority value (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “the UE may use a type of channel access procedure… that is indicated in a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing and/or a type of LBT … to be used for the receiving device .. during the COT acquired and/or shared by the transmitting device;” and ¶¶[0242]-[243], “The following information may be transmitted by means of the SCI format 1-A.” “A priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be a physical layer (e.g., layer 1) priority of the sidelink transmission. For example, the priority may be determined based on logical channel priorities of the sidelink transmission”.); and
the at least one processor (Fig. 15, #1518) is configured to perform, in response to the sidelink grant being associated with a destination identifier (See, e.g., ¶[0428], “a SL grant scheduling the sidelink transmission (e.g., via DCI or SCI);” and ¶[0421], “the grant (e.g., uplink grant and/or a sidelink grant) may comprise an indication of the COT sharing;” and ¶[0255], The SCI format 2-A may comprise a plurality of fields indicating the following information;” and ¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”):
selecting the destination identifier associated to the sidelink grant (¶[0260] Destination ID of a receiver (e.g., a receiving wireless device) of the sidelink transmission”); and
performing a sidelink Logical Channel Prioritization procedure (See, Figs. 2A and 2B; and ¶[0080], “The MACs 212 and 222 may be configured to perform …. priority handling between logical channels of the UE 210 by means of logical channel prioritization”.).
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 August 13, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See ZTE Corporation’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202404-069, pp 1 & 2 (listing the Application as “WO2022CN122834;” and “WO2024065475”), Retrieved from the Internet<URL: https://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=8495&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=3aa96d> (Year: 2024). A copy of the ISLD-202404-069 is being provided herewith.